check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spanish style Oceanfront Condo Complex-Direct Beach Access, Jacuzzi & Pool

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
townhome
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
4 - 6 nights

Description

Encinitas Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Bathrooms, (Sleeps 7-9)

Call for best rates! Huge 2200 square foot single level townhome on top floor with a tropical flair! This quiet end unit was once owned by Danny DeVito, has three very large bedrooms and bathrooms, an oceanfront view balcony, there are private stairs to the beach, a bluff top deck with 180 degree ocean views, pool and jacuzzi, chaise lounges, tables and chairs for relaxing!

One block north of Moonlight Beach, with pedestrian and vehicle security gates. Soaring cathedral rough hewn cedar ceilings, and a wood-burning fireplace in the living room. The front balcony from the Living Room has patio table seating and a barbecue grill. Relax with your pina coladas while enjoying the fresh ocean breezes, in this gorgeous tropical setting.

Two Master suites, plus a third Bedroom and Bath, Grand Gourmet Chef's Kitchen that faces out to the living and dining room, and wonderful ocean views from all!

The western master suite has a king-size bed, cable TV, 25 foot ceiling and is overlooking a tropical secluded bamboo forest. The eastern master suite also has a king-size bed, 25 foot ceiling and great morning sunshine with city views. Bedroom three has single twin beds, plus a roll-away bed for an additional single. Included in this bedroom is a rare old library, city views, a computer desk with a printer for your use which includes High-speed Internet Access.

The living room has cable TV, DVD and CD players, and a queen size sleeper sofa. Parking on-site is a tandem private garage for two cars.

Moonlight Beach is the focal point of all summer activities in the city of Encinitas. Indisputably the finest location for a resort property within city limits!

Large free form Swimming Pool, eight-person jacuzzi spa, Striking 'Old World' Spanish architecture with very tropical grounds.

This gorgeous unit, (and two more that I may have available for your dates) is adjacent to the Historic Pacific Coast Highway Beach Business District and is immediately proximate to the white sandy beaches of Moonlight Beach with permanent lifeguard headquarters, a tennis court, tot lot, concession stand, fire rings, showers and public facilities. Pura vida!

Keywords: Condo, small community of 6 condos, sharing use of pool, jacuzzi and direct access to the beach.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Chris by email, Eileen by phone
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 26, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Spanish style Oceanfront Condo Complex-Direct Beach Access, Jacuzzi & Pool
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews
3

Convenient location, great for larger groups, but

  • 3 of 5

The size and layout of this condo near Moonlight Beach are the highlights of this condo. The rooms were spacious, but overall the condo is tired and needs a major face lift from removing wallpaper (even on the ceilings) to cleaning the rugs and furniture. If the reference to Danny DeVito has you thinking luxury, think again. The condo needed cleaning on arrival, and though I told the manager it was dirty in a very detailed letter, they never offered to send someone clean. The excuse for the overall grunge feel was that the owners had used it last and they did their own cleaning. Sorry, not a good excuse. If someone paid $225 to clean the condo behind them and I am paying the same to leave it clean for the next person, well, I should have walked into a freshly cleaned condo.

The unit itself is very well laid out for a family or friends traveling together. The kitchen is modestly stocked for cooking, but there are not enough chairs to go around the dining room table if there are more than four people in the unit, and if you try to sit in the "game room" chairs (slingback chairs) you will find yourself reclining at a level not made for eating as your face will be at least two feet back from the table and just at the level of table itself.

The management company is not responsive to fixing any issues, and when we requested a rebate of our cleaning deposit it took four days to resolve. I guess the final straw for me was when the manager stated

"Hi Teresa, if anyone should pay it, it should be the owner, and the housekeepers were paid out the day it was cleaned (from the previous guest) and they did clean it." SO should I just accept that this is the way it is?

"The problem is, our policy is to report any housekeeping issue right away, so that Eileen can contact the housekeepers that clean for the Smiths to go back and take care of any issues within the 24 hours or so of arrival." WE DID contact you - but no results.

"Or are you asking me to give you money out of my pocket even though I did not receive it? Chris*" SERIOUSLY. You don't get a fee for managing, you didn't collect the rent, the damage deposit and the cleaning fee?

I did tell the manager less than 16 hours after arrival. I also said I didn't plan on putting all of the issues in a review on VRBO. But seriously. If you want to take a chance on a dirty condo to clean on vacation, please do book with this Management Company.

PS: I own 4 vacation rentals and a bed and breakfast. I know clean.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First Teresa J, I want to thank you again, as all of your suggestions were passed on to the owner and the owner's housekeeping staff; and followed up on. I also am including the excerpts from your notes below, as you did note that you did not report any issues the first day as you thought that we would ask you to leave. Of course we would not have done so, we would have sent the housekeepers over to correct any issues as I explained to you. When you did contact me, I received (I think) 3 different emails. At the start, you gave me lots of little hints of what could improve the guests experience. Starting and ending with these excerpts: Your words: "Let me start by saying this condo is a good value for a large family gathering, especially with three bathrooms, the pool, the hot tub and the proximity to the beach. Most of the amenities are greatly valued = beach towels, plenty of bath towels and the size of the kitchen along with the view of the ocean......" at the end of the note: "Please do not misunderstand my intent here. It is to help make for even better reviews with a few improvements. Some of my comments about the general conditions..." and- "I do have pictures of everything so you can share with your cleaners the areas they should pay closer attention to. Again, this is not for a review on any site, this is for your records only. The condo is perfect for a family gathering in a beautiful city by the sea." After all of this, you decided that I should pay you the amount of your cleaning fee. Since I am not in charge of the cleaners, they had already been paid, so I did go to the owner and requested it. She did make an offer to you, but received no response. I did expect that your word was your word, but that was not the case. Again, I did what I could at the time and tried to help you out, and am sorry that the amount you wanted was not what the owner was willing to agree to. Teresa, neither myself or Eileen was ever in any way rude to you, we tried to understand what it was you wanted during your stay, and I am sorry if you feel that we did not fulfill your expectations. If you want to contact me again for me to talk to the owner, feel free to do so.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Family vacation condo

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at this condo in mid April. There was plenty of space for our family of 5, plus 2 grandparents as well. The well-stocked kitchen provided a great budget-friendly opportunity of cooking some meals in. Downtown Encinitas is less than a mile away, and Moonlight beach is only a few blocks away. We used the pool almost every day. This unit on the second floor was private and quiet. This place is conveniently located about 30-45 minutes from, and about an hour from Disneyland. We are hoping to visit again soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gina, we love to get these reviews for the owner to see! Come back soon- your business is appreciated! Chris*
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful family time

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay there during Thanksgiving holiday. It gave us an opportunity to be together under one roof, with all the comforts of home. Stores, shops and sites were conveniently located and only a few steps from the beach. We appreciate you opening up your home to us....will definitely recommend to friends and family. Josie Lopez

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Josie, would love to have you back! Chris*
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We loved staying at this ...

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this condo! There

was tons of space for all of us & we

enjoyed the proximity (1 block)to

Moonlight Beach. The views from the

pool and spa area were beautiful & we

especially enjoyed the stairs to the

beach. Encinitas is a great little town

& we hope to return soon.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
honolulu, HI
5

I have to admit I was a l...

  • 5 of 5

I have to admit I was a little afraid to see what this condo was going to look like since it said, "Old Spanish Style" or something like that, but it was the best place we stayed at on our whole trip (and we stayed at the Crowne Plaza). A WONDERFUL place to stay at(not old at all) especially if travelling with multiple families for the rooms are large and each one had it's own bathroom. It was clean, spacious, well stocked with whatever you might need, and OOHHHHH so comfortable...they even had carpet in the bathroom. Location was extremely convenient for all the kiddie parks, yet close enough to every day conveniences like trader joe's and places to eat. As a plus, the owners were really easy to work with!!! Both the adults and the children enjoyed staying at this condo.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Diego, CA
5

My family came into town ...

  • 5 of 5

My family came into town and we spent a week at the condo in early June. It was a fabulous place and the kids LOVED having the pool and the beacch stairs so close. All my siblings said they want to make it a yearly trip!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Legoland, Del Mar Thoroughbred Racing, Cedros Design District, Fairgrounds, Wild Animal Park, Gaslamp District, Seaport Village, Sea World, La Jolla, Fire Rings, easy drive to Disneyland

Rates & Availability

Encinitas Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas or New Years Week
Dec 28 2016 - Jan 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$465
From
$470
Fri,Sat
$2,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
February and early March
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$325
From
$345
Thu,Fri
$1,990
$7,400
 
 
Spring Holiday weeks
Mar 17 2017 - Apr 22 2017
6 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Fri,Sat
$2,500
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 23 2017 - May 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
$335
From
$355
Fri,Sat
$2,050
 
 
Memorial-Early Summer
May 25 2017 - Jun 11 2017
4 night minimum stay
$450
From
$475
Fri,Sat
$2,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High Summer
Jun 12 2017 - Sep 4 2017
6 night minimum stay
$635
From
$655
Fri,Sat
$3,850
 
 
Glorious September-Oct
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
$345
From
$385
Fri,Sat
$2,150
 
 
Mid Oct-Nov Non-Holidays
Oct 15 2017 - Nov 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$330
From
$365
Fri,Sat
$2,050
$7,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 27 2017
6 night minimum stay
$450
From
$475
Thu,Fri
$2,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas or New Years Week
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 2 2018
6 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Glorious September-mid October
Sep 3 2018 - Oct 14 2018
4 night minimum stay
$345
From
$385
Fri,Sat
$2,150
$8,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$290
From
$320
Fri,Sat
$1,800
$6,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $40
Turnover/Cleaning Fee $220
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Encinitas Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Master 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Bathroom 3 is also a guest bath, jack and jill doors
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master King Suite - 1 king
    Master King 2 - 1 king
    Twins - 2 twin/ single , Also available 1 Queen air mattress, one roll-away
  • King size beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3) Two singles and one roll-away bed supplied, Queen air mattress (1) and Queen sofa Bed in Living room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach supplies include boogie boards, umbrella and beach chairs

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties