check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Karen McLeod-Kowalik

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Le Petit Manoir Vitrac: Best possible location, Sarlat 5 min, Pool, Close to all - Le Rosier - Le Petit-Manoir

13 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Sarlat-la-Canéda Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Best location, Sarlat 5 min, Pool, WiFi, Many years of enthusiastic guests

Best possible location for visiting the most beautiful and historic part of the Dordogne region - Charm and comfort - Beautiful and peaceful environment - Many years of enthusiastic guests - Awarded official French government 4 star rating in 2008 –Warm and friendly welcome - 5 minutes from Sarlat - 900 m from Dordogne river - Wi-Fi - Sat TV - Private garden with barbecue - Chlorine-free heated private pool for Les Chenes and shared for Le Pommier, Les Rosier and Le Bois.

Within the golden triangle of Montfort, Beynac and Sarlat, five kilometers south of Sarlat and near the 12th century village of Vitrac, we have an ideally located property of exceptional beauty. The property consists of a group of vast and imposing original stone buildings surrounded by three hectares (7 acres) of park and private forest. A prized south of Sarlat location, just a few hundred meters from the Dordogne river, yet within five minutes by car (even in July and August) from the medieval charm of Sarlat, the capital of Perigord Noir, its excellent restaurants, shops, markets and festivals. Both quiet and peaceful, but close to everything and not isolated. Our three charming gîtes, Le Pommier, Le Rosier and Le Bois, are perfect for your self catering holiday rental while you explore the beautiful Dordogne valley. Very comfortable and full of character, each has a large private garden, barbecue and use of a chlorine free heated swimming pool. Official 4 star rating.

SARLAT: Sarlat is by far the most important tourist site in the region. Over a million visitors discover or re-discover this medieval jewel every year. It has one of the largest medieval urban areas in the world and the greatest number of historical monuments per square kilometer in Europe. Starting in 1964 the town has been restored and renovated revealing a veritable treasure trove of Medieval and Renaissance art to the public. The 1978 film version of “Les Miserables” was filmed extensively in Sarlat, but also in nearby Domme, with the stunning Beynac Castle standing in for the famous Toulon Jail. Sarlat’s wonderful architecture and medieval style buildings and stone roofs have made a backdrop for a score of other top motion pictures since, which has added to it’s fame and it’s fortune.

BEYNAC: The cliff-clinging Chateau de Beynac soars 150 meters straight up above the Dordogne river. Apart from the impressive location, Chateau de Beynac is also a fascinating castle to visit and explore. You can see many of the ancient rooms, dungeons, kitchens and living quarters. In 1189 Richard the Lionheart, the king of England, seized the castle by scaling the cliffs below and entering through the toilet holes that are suspended out over the cliff. They are still there today and can be visited. Beynac has served as a location for several films, including Jeanne d'Arc by Luc Besson, in 1999.

OTHER THINGS TO SEE : Our own personal website contains a comprehensive guide of all the must-see attractions in the Black Perigord including a map, beautiful photos and a brief description in five languages. You will also find a map of nearby stores and recommended bakeries (with opening hours and days closed), pharmacies, post office, bike rentals, a farm selling directly fresh foie gras products, etc. and a lot of other useful information.

More Details

Details for Le Rosier - Le Petit-Manoir 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 2 Bathrooms

Sleeps 4 in two bedrooms. Possibility of up to six with an additional bedroom and bath in a garden room a few steps away (supplement) Fully equipped kitchen, satellite TV, computer with internet access, Wi-Fi, private garden & barbecue.

Our family lives on the property and we are here to give you the warmest welcome. Le Rosier has the official 4 star rating from the French government.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Karen McLeod-Kowalik (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About Karen McLeod-Kowalik

I am originally from Houston and live in France with my family since 2001 and love it. I garden a lot, play piano, go on walks, teach English to local French kids, and travel in the off-season.

Karen McLeod-Kowalik purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Karen McLeod-Kowalik chose Perigord Noir

A few quotes from our Guest Book:

This is a little piece of paradise in the heart of the beautiful Dordogne.

What a magic spot you have here in France.

You have a beautiful property.

Thanks for creating such a pleasant refuge from the world.

This setting is truly beautiful and well located.

The gite is perfect; we loved the pool and the gardens.

This is undoubtedly the most well-equipped gite I have ever stayed in!

The cottage was just what we needed- we could not have asked for more.

…the grounds are marvelous…

What a wonderful place to stay!

We will recommend this place to any travelers we meet.

Le Petit Manoir has been the perfect location for us to explore the Dordogne.

We absolutely love the gîte and its location.

The property is located in the best possible place for exploring the Dordogne.

The location was ideal and close to many beautiful attractions.

Easy access to plenty of great places.

It's been one of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in!

The accommodation was suberb - thank you!!

Level of specification seldom found or even imagined in a holiday let.

The gîte itself is utterly charming…

The Gite is incredibly cozy and beautifully decorated.

We were charmed by your lovely gite.

Everything was perfect…

Le Petit-Manoir was absolutely terrific.

Lives up to its website...

…we feel like cherished guests…

Le Petit Manoir - hideaway for the soul.

We confess having experienced PARADISE!

We arrived tired - we leave renewed.

We had a great time in Petit-Manoir. It's like a little paradise.

It would be hard to say enough about how wonderful our stay was.

We've stayed in gites before which were nice but this was simply wonderful.

This will be our only place to stay in future.

The peace and tranquility is superb.

XXXXX ratings are spot on!

The accommodations were fantastic.

A beautiful gite in a stunning area!

This place is one of the loveliest places I've been to!

Staying at Le Petit Manoir is an unbelievable treat

Guestbook comments from the owner

Words can't adequately express how special our week with friends in the Dordogne was. The accommodation here and your warm welcome made it a little corner of paradise for us. It is a perfectly safe place for the kids to run free and we all made good us e of the pool, garden and all three gites. This part of Perigord is divine! There is just so much to see and do. You would need at least a month to do it justice. One perfect week made for a very memorable 50th birthday for Michelle and planted a seed of an idea for more holidays.

Thank you so much.
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 49

Reviews

5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Le Rosier - Le Petit-Manoir
average rating of 5.0 based on 62 reviews
5

A hidden gem in the Dordogne

  • 5 of 5

We have rented many properties in France, Spain and Italy over the the past 30 years and this is the best we have ever stayed at. The location is perfect for the main sights, canoeing and restaurants. The property is well set out and equipped, the grounds are beautiful and Karen and Peter were excellent owners. We will definitely return.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful experience in the Dordogne... Not sure how it would have been improved...

  • 5 of 5

I booked this apartment (actually two - the Rosier and the Pommier) - almost a year before our planned trip this summer, based on the description, pictures and great location. The experience during our two week stay exceeded all expectations.

My family has always preferred the self-catering/apartment style of travel - basically, go to a location, settle in and explore from there. These apartments suited our needs perfectly. Both apartments were well-maintained and as described on the website. The amenities listed on their website description were all there. The only slight negative was that the wireless internet was a little slow - we had quite a few smart devices attached. For those who like to do a bit of cooking, the kitchens were both well equipped. The apartments themselves are comfortably furnished and both had very nice outdoor seating areas where we ate most of our dinners - the seating/garden area with the Rosier apartment was particularly nice with wisteria, grape vines and lots of flowering plants.

The grounds of the complex are beautiful and well-kept and several of our party made frequent use of the pool.

The location, just outside of Vitrac is very convenient for touring the region. Sarlat is the largest town in the immediate area and we went there several times - both for the market days (wednesdays and saturdays), but also for getting the essential grocery items at the "normal" large stores. During our two weeks we managed to spend time in Monfort, la Roque-Gageac, Beynac, Rocamadour, Domme, Monpazier, Belves, and some others. These apartments are also well situated for some longer day trips - close to the prehistoric caves (Grotto Font de Gaume, Lascaux II, etc.), Oradour-sur-Glane, Bordeaux, Carcassonne, Toulouse, etc.

Upon arrival we were met Karen who got us acquainted with the property. Karen was great to work with - she's an American transplant and, while I'm sure her French is good, it was nice to be able to converse fluently in "American"! She was always around when we needed her and she provided us some great information and tips, including a recommendation to eat at the restaurant Cabanoix in Domme, which was fantastic. She works very hard in taking care of the property and it shows.

The bottom line is that I will look to return to this property on my next visit to the area and would unabashedly recommend it to anyone looking for a top-notch experience in this most beautiful part of France.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

fabulouse week in Sarlat

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I travelled from San Sebastian to Sarlat and received a very warm welcome from Karen and Peter. We booked Le Rosier for one week and it had everything you could possibly want to make it a home from home. Very clean and a perfect location as a base for touring the Dordogne. We had a fabulous week and. would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to visit this area.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Holiday at Le Rosier in Le Petit Manoir

  • 5 of 5

Le Rosier is a well equipped holiday cottage with its own garden. It shares the site with two other cottages and the owner's house nearby. The owners, who speak English, are very helpful and welcoming. The location is perfect for walking and there are numerous interesting historical sites in the area. We very much enjoyed our stay in Le Rosier

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Le Petit-Manoir

  • 5 of 5

I am usually wary about glowing, gushing reviews but I find myself writing one. Le Petit-Manoir is everything one could wish for in a holiday home. Karen and Peter were welcoming, on hand if needed but never intrusive. The facilities in the gite were first rate and the whole property was one of beauty, peace and tranquillity, apart from the shouts of our grandchildren enjoying the pool. Our visit coincided with a heatwave, so we appreciated the shade, the thick walls and the air conditioning,( as well as the pool). The area offers a mulititude of activities: castles, cavemen and canoes; boat trips, buildings and bastides: not forgetting the gastronomy for which the Perigord noir is famous.

Vitrac was a short walk down to the Dordogne and, although the uphill walk back tired septuagenarian legs and lungs, the younger members of the family took it in their stride as they did on several other walks in the area. The only thing Vitrac lacked was a shop or Depot de pain, but , with a bit of forethought ,the supermarkets of Sarlat were only ten minutes away by car.

I could go on but enough to say that Karen and Peter have created(and are creating) an excellent gite; one we would be most happy to return to in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

perfect, perfect location

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location, we will be back.Big thanks to Karen.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Kilometres
Bergerac
Nearest Ferry
640 Kilometres
St Malo
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Sarlat
Nearest Motorway
25 Kilometres
Souillac
Nearest Beach
220 Kilometres
Car: necessary

Best location * Charm and comfort * Beautiful and peaceful environment * Private garden with barbecue * Chlorine-free heated swimming pool * 5 minutes from Sarlat * 900 meters from Dordogne river * International TV * Computer with internet access and Wi-Fi for your laptop.

Situated in the center of the most beautiful and historic part of the Dordogne. Landscape of unforgettable beauty, dotted with hundreds of castles, rock-sculpted villages, ancient stone farm houses and caves decorated with 15 000 year-old pre-historic art. The must see villages of Beynac, Castelnaud, Domme and La Roque-Gageac are 4 to 10 km to the west. To the north are world famous Lascaux, caves and many prehistoric sites and museums in or around Les Eyzies are (23km) , including Font-de-Gaume, one of the last caves in Europe with prehistoric paintings still open to the public. Vitrac and Carsac, starting points for canoeing the most scenic stretch of the Dordgone river are 1 and 5 km away.

Other Activities: Canoeing, Hot Air Ballooning, Prehistoric Caves

Why our property? Here a few quotes from our Guest Book:

This is a little piece of paradise in the heart of the beautiful Dordogne.

What a magic spot you have here in France.

You have a beautiful property.

Thanks for creating such a pleasant refuge from the world.

This setting is truly beautiful and well located.

The gite is perfect; we loved the pool and the gardens.

This is undoubtedly the most well-equipped gite I have ever stayed in!

The cottage was just what we needed- we could not have asked for more.

…the grounds are marvelous…

What a wonderful place to stay!

We will recommend this place to any travelers we meet.

Le Petit Manoir has been the perfect location for us to explore the Dordogne.

We absolutely love the gîte and its location.

The property is located in the best possible place for exploring the Dordogne.

The location was ideal and close to many beautiful attractions.

Easy access to plenty of great places.

It's been one of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in!

The accommodation was suberb - thank you!!

…level of specification seldom found or even imagined in a holiday let.

The gîte itself is utterly charming…

The Gite is incredibly cozy and beautifully decorated.

We were charmed by your lovely gite.

Everything was perfect…

Le Petit-Manoir was absolutely terrific.

Lives up to its website...

…we feel like cherished guests…

Le Petit Manoir - hideaway for the soul.

We confess having experienced PARADISE!

We arrived tired - we leave renewed.

We had a great time in Petit-Manoir. It's like a little paradise.

It would be hard to say enough about how wonderful our stay was.

We've stayed in gites before which were nice but this was simply wonderful.

This will be our only place to stay in future.

The peace and tranquility is superb.

TripAdvisor ratings are spot on!

The accommodations were fantastic.

A beautiful gite in a stunning area!

This place is one of the loveliest places I've been to!

…staying at Le Petit Manoir is an unbelievable treat.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sarlat-la-Canéda Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$919
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
High 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,435
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$919
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$706
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Final clean,sheets,towel $73

CANCELLATIONS: 90 days or more prior to arrival: full refund. 60 to 90 days prior to arrival: deposit forfeited. Less than 60 days or no shows: amounts paid will not be reimbursed. For rentals of three weeks or more all deadlines are increased by 30 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sarlat-la-Canéda Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Third bedroom (with second bathroom) is optional in a charming building a few steps away and sharing the same garden.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers