This spacious, yet comfy house is walking distance to the Univ of Memphis
Grace and Rob Thompson
- english, german
About Grace and Rob Thompson
We are in our late 30s, parents, dog owners, active, readers, movie lovers, and enjoy hosting friends both old and new. Also, we love Memphis! Grace is a lifelong Memphian (minus a stop at Auburn Univ.) and Rob has "only" been here 20 years (including stops at Rhodes College and University of Memphis) but has made up for lost time. We love Memphis BBQ, Graceland, and the Civil Rights Museum, but we also love Memphis' cool public parks and off-the-beaten-path restaurants. (Rob only has one place left on the local newspapers' list of 100 places to eat in Memphis before you die!) Rob works hard in real estate, and Grace works even harder as a stay-at-home mom. We have been hosting for two years and enjoy meeting new people. We put a lot of love into remodeling our place, and we think you will really love it too.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Pets will be considered based on size and breed. A
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Stylish and Spacious Bungalow
Great space near University of Memphis! The hosts were communicative and helpful. Two large bedrooms in the main house and two smaller bedrooms in the back house—all well decorated. Comfortable beds, good water pressure, and good AC. Three bathrooms total. Great for groups. Only critique would be that there aren’t a lot of full-sized drinking glasses. Would stay again!
Great overnight stay!
We enjoyed our stay! Great area. Great space! Grace was very informative and answered any questions I had. We stayed in both the main and back house. Our kids loved the yard to run around in! I would definitely recommend to anyone.
Cute and comfortable!
The house was very cute and nicely kept. We felt comfortable the entire stay.
Had a great time, close to everything.no problems with any thing
Clean, charming, family-friendly in a great location
This is not the first time we've stayed in a place run by these owners. They do a fantastic job, both in setting up a place with interesting decor and also being very responsive. We've used vrbo/air bnb quite a bit and you won't find better hosts. They've done a great job accommodating and anticipating needs. There's a big backyard with plenty of room, off-street parking, and it's a very safe neighborhood with lots of charm. Super clean house that feels safe and pleasant. There was plenty of room for our family of six and everyone was comfortable.
I also can't say enough about the location. It's central to everything but the best part is what's in walking distance. Don't forget to walk down to eat at Las Delicias, or to walk over to the enormous park nearby for jogging, strolling, golfing, the Dixon Gallery and Gardens (very highly rated), and the gorgeous, kid-friendly Botanic Garden with Big Backyard. The mall is just so-so but there are are several cool outlets (Pottery Barn, Williams-Sonoma, Nordstroms) within less than a mile or two, as well as Memphis's legendary food: Gibson's Donuts (just get glazed...Alton Brown calls it the country's best donut), Gus's Fried Chicken, Huey's Burgers, Chings Wings, and Brother Junipers. Also a good indie bookstore and a Sprouts Farmers Market. I love downtown and midtown, but honestly you could have an amazing stay in Memphis and never leave a two-mile or so radius.
Issues with the property.Close to everything we wanted
Our stay had high points and low points. The TV only had 8 channels ( 3 were home shopping club, 2 were kid's stations and one was classic black and white movies) Pretty unbelievable. There were issues with the property. There had been a leak in the ceiling of the main house living room and upon arrival, it was stained brown and looked like it could fall in at any time. A 2 foot piece of it fell early in morning on day 2, leaving plaster and debris all over the couch, table and floor. We had a two year old staying and he or anyone on the couch would have been hurt (the debris broke a bust on the table). The property manager replied quickly to our call and had someone clean up the mess and a handyman nailed a piece of wood over the hole left in the ceiling. On Saturday, the toilet in the back house stopped flushing and smelly water backed up into the shower. Once again, the handyman came out and eventually fixed it. But we had a wedding that night and none of the 4 people staying in the back house could shower or use the bathroom in the back house to get ready for the wedding. Very inconvenient when there are 8 people trying to dress for a wedding. We did like the pass through room. It was great for our grandson. The beds were comfortable too. Freezer was dirty - had bits of food in it. The marble table in the front house dining room had broken, sharp edges right at the level of my grandson's forehead,So we had to keep him out of that room. I think a little more attention to maintenance detail a would make this a much better stay experience There was no offer of at least a partial refund to offset all of the issues. That is why the rating is so low..
We're sorry again for the issues that were happening during your stay. We did send a message about the ceiling at the beginning of your stay to let you know that we had had a leak that was fixed but that we had not had a chance to get the ceiling repaired before you arrived. We definitely try to pay close attention to all of the details, and we take guest feedback seriously. We apologize again for the issues and hoped that our quick response to you was helpful. The ceiling and the plumbing issue have since been resolved.