Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Central Chamonix Penthouse Apartment, 3 beds, 2 baths Amazing Views

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 624 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Central Chamonix. 3 bedroom penthouse apartment. Fantastic balcony views

Penthouse apartment, 3 beds, 2 bathrooms, wood burning fire, amazing mountain views with 2 large balconies.

1. 5 minutes walk to purchase lift pass and ski bus stop for ski area access to Argentiere, Le Tour and Les Houches ski areas.

5 minutes walk to apres ski, restaurants and town centre.

Skiing with small Children, 8 minutes walk to the Planards ski area, ideal for those very new to skiing, or introducing small children to skiing for the first time. Lovely apartment, amazing long range views from the large balconies.

Top apartment, on 3rd floor with short, wide, easy on the legs steps, apartment has private access allowing you to leave boots outside apartment door to warm for the next morning.

A few minutes walk to the nearest lift, ski hire, apres bars, restaurants. Free Town bus stops outside the apartment, great for bringing home the shopping. This apartment is the top apartment in a chalet building, it is on the 3rd floor but the stairs are well lit, short and wide and easy on the legs. It has private access on the 3rd floor, this means you can leave boots etc outside the apartment door and they are warm for the next morning. The apartment has a traditional feel with wood beams and vaulted high ceilings, but all the modern facilities with BOSE surround sound, Sky & French TV with great wireless internet. The balconies are a real feature offering views over the Town, the Brevent Ski area, and in the distance Les Houches Ski area. From the large lounge and double bedroom window, you do not feel 'overlooked'

3 bedrooms: 1 large bedroom with ensuite and 2 single beds. 1 bedroom with 2 single beds, 1 bedroom with full height windows and a double bed. Sofa bed in lounge.

Free designated parking outside apartment building.

Cozy log fire

See cancellation policy.

Chamonix is probably best known as the skiing and alpine capital of the world. A 'buzzing' town, equally busy during the Summer and Ski season with a wide array of sporting and sedate leisure activities. Peace and quiet, great nightlife, and superb scenery that can be enjoyed at whichever pace suits you. Only 1 hour from Geneva Airport with regular and cheap shared transfers, Chamonix is the perfect place to come for a weekend break or a week's holiday. This traditional town is at the foot of Mont-Blanc and hosted the first winter Olympic Games in 1924.

More Details

Owner
Dawn Phillips
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Kilometres
Geneva
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Kilometres
Chambre Neuf
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Plan Praz
Nearest Train
0.4 Kilometres
Chamonic-Mont-Blanc
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Kilometres
Chambre Neuf, La Boccalatte, Tiger Tiger, Alan Per
Nearest Ski
0.5 Kilometres
Aguille Du Midi
Nearest Beach
85 Kilometres
Annecy
Car: not necessary

Central Chamonix Penthouse apartment, 3 beds, 2 bath, wood burning fire, Mountain views with 2 large balconies. Reasons to book this apartment:

1. 4 minutes walk to purchase lift pass and ski bus stop for access to Agentiere, Le Tour and Les Houches ski areas. Bus stop is 2nd stop of bus route, so almost guaranteed to get a seat (very important when holding skis and with children)

2. Ski access information. When booking this apartment, I will send detailed information on how to access each ski area using the ski buses and the quickest and most efficient way, minimising walking and time.

3. 5 minutes walk to apres ski, restaurants and town centre.

4. Skiing with small Children, 8 minutes walk to the Planards ski area, ideal for those very new to skiing.

5. Lovely apartment, amazing long range views from the large balconies.

6. Top apartment, on 3 rd floor with short, wide, easy on the legs steps, apartment has private access allowing you to leave boots to warm for the next morning.

Few minutes walk to the nearest lift Aguille Du Midi/Planards. Central but quiet location with Ski hire, lift pass, apres bars, shops and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Peace and quiet, great nightlife, and superb scenery that can be enjoyed at whichever pace suits you. Only 1 hour from Geneva Airport with regular and cheap shared transfers, Chamonix is the perfect place to come for a weekend break or a week's holiday. This traditional archtecture town is at the foot of Mont-Blanc and hosted the first winter Olympic Games in 1924

Amenities

Chamonix Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Building Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 624 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • There is a house bathroom with full size bath and shower attachment, WC. En-suite shower room. Additional separate house WC.Towels provided
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , A cozy room with a fantastic large window and amazing views
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Ensuite shower room and private balcony
  • Bed 1: A cosy double bedroom with full height windows and door to balcony offering amazing views from your pillow! Bed 2: Twin room with velux window. Bed 3: Larger twin room with door to private balcony and ensuite bathroom. Possible for extra guest bed in this room Single Sofabed in lounge, blow-up single bed for occasional guest overnight.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Central Chamonix Penthouse Apartment, 3 beds, 2 baths Amazing Views
average rating of 4.6086955 based on 23 reviews
1

A Horrible place

  • 1 of 5

Stay away from this place. This place, the owner and their agent are all part of a scam. Whoever is writing good reviews for this property could be owner's family members or friends. You will be wasting your time by looking at this property. The picture shown is old. The property is run down and didn't look anything like this. I will number down my experiences :-

1. You need to be a home inspector to stay in this place. The owner "orders" you to examine every nook and corner and every furniture and fixtures in the apartment to locate any damages even before you open your bags that you hauled up through three floors up. And there are many!!!. If you miss out any of those, the owner will blame you for the damages. And there goes your security.

2. There is very little hot water in the apartment unless you risk your life to open the electric service panel and poke your finger through live wires to flip some switch. If you get electrocuted, it is your fault, not the owners.

3. There is no guaranteed parking space as indicated in the listing. When I reached the apartment, I could not find any parking space. So I called the owner but no answer. Then I called the agent who said there is no designated parking, better park in the neighboring street.

3. The furniture's especially the bed frames might have been picked up from some dumping yard or garage sales. The bed frames (all) keep on collapsing. My wife and daughter fell to the floor and hit their head. And the owner had the audacity to blame me for this!!!. I have photos of broken bed frames. If you don't want to increase the number of bones in your body, better stay away.

4. You can forget the security deposit. This is the real scam. We are a family of 6 with 4 small children age 4 - 15. Owner came back with the ultimate lie that we stole the patio furniture of a neighbor. I couldn't believe this guy. We traveled from New York to this place to steal some cheap plastic furniture. And he blames we were outside at 3 AM. I asked for proof and didn't had any further contacts from the owner. I contacted home away and they tried to contact but unsuccessful. I am trying to get the money back through Home Away.

Bottom line, the rent may be cheap but you can forget the security deposit. Owner is willing to make false accusation against you. Hey, you are here to enjoy your vacation. You don't want to deal with this kind of people to spoil your good time. There are plenty of other decent places in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you feel dissatisfied. The company managing the apartment provided feedback from several complaining resident owners within the apartment building regarding the guest behaviour and damages during your stay. This apartment has been rented for 6 years and we have never had such adverse feedback following a guest stay. The security deposit is automatically returned by the rental website, the owner/apartment manager has to provide proof of disturbance and damage to the rental website in order for the security deposit to be retained.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning property with incredible views from both balconies . Best in chamonix

  • 5 of 5

Chamonix and Mont Blanc were breathtaking and to be able to sit on the huge balconies to watch sunrise and sunset was beyond anything we could have imagined. The apartment is tradustional with its wooden features and has everything you ever need . Just off the main thoroughfare means you get plenty of peace but the action is 5 mins away if you want it. Big supermarket 5 min walk away as are chair lifts, cable cars and glacier trains... so you don't even use your car! Owners Direct... please make it clear which property on the road it is as there are two the same and we weren't sure.... (it's the second one down the hill) and ensure keysafe code sent as we had to contact the owner.... who came back to us in five minutes so was fine.... and we did only book that day so may have missed the automatic email ). Bin and recycling are around the front of the property tucked away... so be useful to have that detail

In the flat)

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely apartment in good location - just needs a bit more care

  • 3 of 5

We arrived at the apartment to find that there were no keys in the key safe for us.....and, after calling the owner, I was told to call the agent and when the agent didn't answer I had to call another number. I would have expected the owner to have done that for me.

When we were let in to the apartment, it wasn't ready and the agent didn't know we were arriving, so we had to wait until they came and sorted out the bedding for us.

A few other small gripes.....the single beds kept collapsing which could be annoying having to remove the bedding and mattress to rebuild the bed when you just want to go to sleep. The microwave didn't work as a microwave...just as a grill or oven. The double room is very small and you need to climb over the bed to get in or out.

Those small problems aside, the apartment is very nice having large balconies with great views. The stairwell is looking quite tatty and could do with painting and it's a long climb to the top after a long day skiing.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi thanks for your review and we are pleased you had a great stay. Regarding keys, it was a function of the previous renter not replacing them to lock box, this self access method keeps cost down, however, we can arrange 'meet and greet' but this adds £60 to your rental cost. The oven/ microwave has been replaced, if you had let Apex they would have replaced during your stay and the same with the issue with beds.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun Weekend Ski Trip for a group of 5 friends

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 5 (2 couples, 1 single) spent a long weekend at Dawn's apartment. We found the apartment to be comfortable and well-located. You are right around the corner from the ski shuttle/mini-bus (Mulet) which can get you pretty close to the ski areas. Alternatively, you can ride the Mulet to one of the main bus stops, and take a bus that will drop you off right at the lifts/gondolas. We were also only a 5-10 minute walk from the main pedestrian area with plenty of shops and restaurants. There is a Carrefour grocery store a 5-10 minute walk away and the kitchen is well-equipped for cooking.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Chamonix apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is in a great location and is within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, with a bus stop literally seconds from the front door.

There are great views from the apartment and it has spacious balconies on both sides. Inside, the apartment is warm and spacious, with everything you could possibly need. There is also a secure ski/storage room in the basement of the building.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location with plenty of space.

  • 5 of 5

Six of us easily fit into this fantastic apartment located central to all things Chamonix.

The space was clean with two bathrooms and a separate shower in the master bedroom. There are two balconies in each side of the building with unbelievable views.

The apartment is right next to the local LeMullet stop and a short walk to Chamonix Sud bus terminal. Downtown is a very short and enjoyable walk.

There are several local markets in close proximity, so you can either eat in or out.

Ski storage was secure in the basement.

Apartment access was easy, we had no issues.

If we were to return to Chamonix we would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $264.69
Additional Guest Fee $20.36 per person per night
Pet Fee $135.74
Damage Deposit $271.48

CANCELLATION POLICY £200 security deposit is NON refundable if the booking is cancelled, rental cost is refundable for cancellations on the following terms:.. greater than 8 weeks full rental cost refunded, minus £200 security deposit. 6-8 weeks – 50% of rate refunded. 4-6 weeks – 25% of rate refunded. Less than 4 weeks – no refund.
Please indicate number of people and which beds you wish to have made up.
BEDS Please specify which beds to make up. Bedroom 1 is 2 single beds with ensuite. Bedroom 2 is 2 single beds and Bedroom 3 is 1 Double bed. If you HAVE NOT specified, then the minimum number of beds will be made up: For example if the party is 3 people then then 2 x ensuite twin + 1 x Twin will be made up unless advised otherwise. If you require bed changes during your stay this will incur a call out fee of £40 plus the extra linen (£20pp)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund