Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Central Chamonix Penthouse Apartment, 3 beds, 2 baths Amazing Views

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 624 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Wireless Internet
  • Fireplace

Overview

About the property

Central Chamonix. 3 bedroom penthouse apartment. Fantastic balcony views

Penthouse apartment, 3 beds, 2 bathrooms, wood burning fire, amazing mountain views with 2 large balconies.

1. 5 minutes walk to purchase lift pass and ski bus stop for ski area access to Argentiere, Le Tour and Les Houches ski areas.

5 minutes walk to apres ski, restaurants and town centre.

Skiing with small Children, 8 minutes walk to the Planards ski area, ideal for those very new to skiing, or introducing small children to skiing for the first time. Lovely apartment, amazing long range views from the large balconies.

Top apartment, on 3rd floor with short, wide, easy on the legs steps, apartment has private access allowing you to leave boots outside apartment door to warm for the next morning.

A few minutes walk to the nearest lift, ski hire, apres bars, restaurants. Free Town bus stops outside the apartment, great for bringing home the shopping. This apartment is the top apartment in a chalet building, it is on the 3rd floor but the stairs are well lit, short and wide and easy on the legs. It has private access on the 3rd floor, this means you can leave boots etc outside the apartment door and they are warm for the next morning. The apartment has a traditional feel with wood beams and vaulted high ceilings, but all the modern facilities with BOSE surround sound, Sky & French TV with great wireless internet. The balconies are a real feature offering views over the Town, the Brevent Ski area, and in the distance Les Houches Ski area. From the large lounge and double bedroom window, you do not feel 'overlooked'

3 bedrooms: 1 large bedroom with ensuite and 2 single beds. 1 bedroom with 2 single beds, 1 bedroom with full height windows and a double bed. Sofa bed in lounge.

Free designated parking outside apartment building.

Cozy log fire

See cancellation policy.

Chamonix is probably best known as the skiing and alpine capital of the world. A 'buzzing' town, equally busy during the Summer and Ski season with a wide array of sporting and sedate leisure activities. Peace and quiet, great nightlife, and superb scenery that can be enjoyed at whichever pace suits you. Only 1 hour from Geneva Airport with regular and cheap shared transfers, Chamonix is the perfect place to come for a weekend break or a week's holiday. This traditional town is at the foot of Mont-Blanc and hosted the first winter Olympic Games in 1924.

More Details

Owner
Dawn Phillips
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

Amenities

Chamonix Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Building Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 624 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • There is a house bathroom with full size bath and shower attachment, WC. En-suite shower room. Additional separate house WC.Towels provided
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , A cozy room with a fantastic large window and amazing views
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Ensuite shower room and private balcony
  • Bed 1: A cosy double bedroom with full height windows and door to balcony offering amazing views from your pillow! Bed 2: Twin room with velux window. Bed 3: Larger twin room with door to private balcony and ensuite bathroom. Possible for extra guest bed in this room Single Sofabed in lounge, blow-up single bed for occasional guest overnight.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Central Chamonix Penthouse Apartment, 3 beds, 2 baths Amazing Views
average rating of 4.8 based on 20 reviews
3

Lovely apartment in good location - just needs a bit more care

  • 3 of 5

We arrived at the apartment to find that there were no keys in the key safe for us.....and, after calling the owner, I was told to call the agent and when the agent didn't answer I had to call another number. I would have expected the owner to have done that for me.

When we were let in to the apartment, it wasn't ready and the agent didn't know we were arriving, so we had to wait until they came and sorted out the bedding for us.

A few other small gripes.....the single beds kept collapsing which could be annoying having to remove the bedding and mattress to rebuild the bed when you just want to go to sleep. The microwave didn't work as a microwave...just as a grill or oven. The double room is very small and you need to climb over the bed to get in or out.

Those small problems aside, the apartment is very nice having large balconies with great views. The stairwell is looking quite tatty and could do with painting and it's a long climb to the top after a long day skiing.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi thanks for your review and we are pleased you had a great stay. Regarding keys, it was a function of the previous renter not replacing them to lock box, this self access method keeps cost down, however, we can arrange 'meet and greet' but this adds £60 to your rental cost. The oven/ microwave has been replaced, if you had let Apex they would have replaced during your stay and the same with the issue with beds.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun Weekend Ski Trip for a group of 5 friends

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 5 (2 couples, 1 single) spent a long weekend at Dawn's apartment. We found the apartment to be comfortable and well-located. You are right around the corner from the ski shuttle/mini-bus (Mulet) which can get you pretty close to the ski areas. Alternatively, you can ride the Mulet to one of the main bus stops, and take a bus that will drop you off right at the lifts/gondolas. We were also only a 5-10 minute walk from the main pedestrian area with plenty of shops and restaurants. There is a Carrefour grocery store a 5-10 minute walk away and the kitchen is well-equipped for cooking.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Chamonix apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is in a great location and is within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, with a bus stop literally seconds from the front door.

There are great views from the apartment and it has spacious balconies on both sides. Inside, the apartment is warm and spacious, with everything you could possibly need. There is also a secure ski/storage room in the basement of the building.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location with plenty of space.

  • 5 of 5

Six of us easily fit into this fantastic apartment located central to all things Chamonix.

The space was clean with two bathrooms and a separate shower in the master bedroom. There are two balconies in each side of the building with unbelievable views.

The apartment is right next to the local LeMullet stop and a short walk to Chamonix Sud bus terminal. Downtown is a very short and enjoyable walk.

There are several local markets in close proximity, so you can either eat in or out.

Ski storage was secure in the basement.

Apartment access was easy, we had no issues.

If we were to return to Chamonix we would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manchester
4

Perfect

  • 4 of 5

Fabulous location

Well equipped

Significantly more space than most ski accommodation - although bedrooms small to manouvre around plenty of storage ,

Bonus this year as very little snow in Chamonix we found we could bus into Courmeyer.

The ski pass was discounted and enabled us to use the luge and ice skate for free. The town Christmas markets were on too. The shuttle bus around town stops on the side road for the chalet, which saves walking in ski boots.

Highly Recommend

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Casablanca, morocco
5

A good choice !

  • 5 of 5

We ( family of 5 ) stayed in the summer and we really liked the location, as we had no car it was no problem to reach easily the shops ; restaurants and train station ( yet no noise disturbance of the train .. )In front of the door stops a free bus " le mullet" that can even take you a bit further to the other side of town. It was a quiet and safe and clean area, and a carrefour supermarket is a short walk away behind the appartment (we used the shortcut to reach it) .The fact that it had three bedrooms was a plus so all kids had there own room ; the rooms are not large but just perfectly fine, and have build in cupboards . The ceiling is sloping so just be aware if you are very tall. I can imagine the woodstove being really cosy in the winter too. We also found that the neigbours / other people in the building are all very quiet which was nice, and chamonix is a nice town. Oh and indeed nice views from the balcony, where you can sit and enjoy. thank you dawn .

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Kilometres
Geneva
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Kilometres
Chambre Neuf
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Plan Praz
Nearest Train
0.4 Kilometres
Chamonic-Mont-Blanc
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Kilometres
Chambre Neuf, La Boccalatte, Tiger Tiger, Alan Per
Nearest Ski
0.5 Kilometres
Aguille Du Midi
Nearest Beach
85 Kilometres
Annecy
Car: not necessary

Central Chamonix Penthouse apartment, 3 beds, 2 bath, wood burning fire, Mountain views with 2 large balconies. Reasons to book this apartment:

1. 4 minutes walk to purchase lift pass and ski bus stop for access to Agentiere, Le Tour and Les Houches ski areas. Bus stop is 2nd stop of bus route, so almost guaranteed to get a seat (very important when holding skis and with children)

2. Ski access information. When booking this apartment, I will send detailed information on how to access each ski area using the ski buses and the quickest and most efficient way, minimising walking and time.

3. 5 minutes walk to apres ski, restaurants and town centre.

4. Skiing with small Children, 8 minutes walk to the Planards ski area, ideal for those very new to skiing.

5. Lovely apartment, amazing long range views from the large balconies.

6. Top apartment, on 3 rd floor with short, wide, easy on the legs steps, apartment has private access allowing you to leave boots to warm for the next morning.

Few minutes walk to the nearest lift Aguille Du Midi/Planards. Central but quiet location with Ski hire, lift pass, apres bars, shops and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Peace and quiet, great nightlife, and superb scenery that can be enjoyed at whichever pace suits you. Only 1 hour from Geneva Airport with regular and cheap shared transfers, Chamonix is the perfect place to come for a weekend break or a week's holiday. This traditional archtecture town is at the foot of Mont-Blanc and hosted the first winter Olympic Games in 1924

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chamonix Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Rate 9
Apr 23 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$323
 
 
Rate 12
Sep 8 2017 - Dec 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$323
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,005
 
 
New Year
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 5 2018
6 night minimum stay
$2,264
 
 
ski
Jan 6 2018 - Feb 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$1,158
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $26 per night, per additional guest
 
ski
Feb 3 2018 - Feb 16 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,158
 
 
ski Feb 1/2 term
Feb 17 2018 - Feb 23 2018
4 night minimum stay
$2,070
 
 
Rate 6
Feb 24 2018 - Mar 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
From
$168
Fri,Sat
$1,229
 
 
Rate 7
Mar 24 2018 - Apr 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$1,028
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$103
$582
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $129.36
Refundable damage deposit $258.72
Cleaning & Linen Fee $252.26

CANCELLATION POLICY £200 security deposit is NON refundable if the booking is cancelled, rental cost is refundable for cancellations on the following terms:.. greater than 8 weeks full rental cost refunded, minus £200 security deposit. 6-8 weeks – 50% of rate refunded. 4-6 weeks – 25% of rate refunded. Less than 4 weeks – no refund.
Please indicate number of people and which beds you wish to have made up.
BEDS Please specify which beds to make up. Bedroom 1 is 2 single beds with ensuite. Bedroom 2 is 2 single beds and Bedroom 3 is 1 Double bed. If you HAVE NOT specified, then the minimum number of beds will be made up: For example if the party is 3 people then then 2 x ensuite twin + 1 x Twin will be made up unless advised otherwise. If you require bed changes during your stay this will incur a call out fee of £40 plus the extra linen (£20pp)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties