check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alexandros Kostalas

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, greek

Beachfront cottage with spacious garden on the Aegean island of Evia

9 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Messapia Cottage Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 8

*** Special August Offer / Between 14th and 24th of August 10% DISCOUNT ***

This beach front cottage is surrounded by a 1,5 acre garden that offers a beautiful natural settings for complete relaxation and private sunbathing.

The cottage offers visitors the best of both worlds - the sea to the front and open countryside views to the rear. Perfect for long stays, this property is ideal for small or bigger families.

It is a two floor detached property. The ground floor is approx. 70 M2. A fully equipped kitchen is located downstairs together with a dining area and spacious sitting room that opens to the patio and beachfront garden. In addition, one bathroom with toilet, basin and a shower. Two of the four double bedrooms are located on the ground floor, with one more bathroom with toilet, basin and shower, in between them.

Upstairs, the first floor is approx. 40 M2 with two more double bedrooms, a small lobby with fridge and a bathroom with toilet, basin and shower. On the first floor there is spacious terrace that offers spectacular views over the front garden and the euboean gulf. In this nice terrace you can enjoy your coffee during the day, or your glass of wine during the sunset and evening.

Politika, the village: This holiday cottage is located in Northern Evia, on the beach of Politika Village (Paralia Politikon) just one and half hour drive from Athens and 20 minutes from Chalkis. Politika that belongs to the municipality of Messapion, it is a graphic village in the Northern Evian Gulf, at the feet of the mountain Kantili. It abstains 22 km from Chalkis, and 8 km from Psahna capital of municipality Messapion.

The village is consisted of two parts, the main part, and the beach.

There are a lot of traditional tavernas and cafes around the square of the village, only 5 minutes drive from the cottage, where someone can enjoy greek 'meze', 'tsipouro', greek coffee, frape, and relax under the shadow of large 'platania' (trees). But also one can find mini markets, tobaco stores, press kiosks, bakeries, laundrettes, groceries and other essentials.

On the seaside part of the village, within a short walking distance from the cottage, there are a lot of fresh fish taverns, and local pub/restaurants. Also there is a nice pavement for walking, along the beach.

Evia, the island: Euboea (Evia) is the second largest Greek island in area and population, after Crete. The narrow Euripus Strait separates it from Boeotia in mainland Greece.

The island is linked to mainland by two bridges, one from Chalkis, the capital of the island, also accessible from Thebes, and the other which bypasses Chalkis and is more easily accessible from Athens.

The bridge that bypasses Chalkis is a new suspended bridge, The High Bridge.

Evia island offers great travelling opportunities. You can make a lot of excursions through mountain areas and discover lovely traditional villages, and also swim in the blue sea of Aegeo Pelagos, or calm waters of Euboic Sea. In Chalkida, the capital of the island, there are many night clubs and all over Euboea there are lovely restaurants and cafes.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Alexandros Kostalas (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, greek

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Alexandros,



I, and my family, would like to say you how wonderful was the time we had this summer in your nice cottage ! Everything was great, even the beach bar, that our kids found great, as they met there greek friends from Politika !



We would like also to ask you news from the little cat. When we arrived a mother and her little cat was there, but the mother disappeared and we took care of the little cat, which was really nice. We hope everything is ok.



And we would like to say you also that the gardenkeeper and Rania were very nice, and helpful with us.



Thanks for everything, and we hope we'll have the chance to come back !

Best regards,

Agnes
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.4
based on 9 traveler reviews

Beachfront cottage with spacious garden on the Aegean island of Evia
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 10 reviews
5

Amazing hosts

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoy our stay, the beach is right on the doorstep and we had the opportunity to tour the island. Our host regularly checked if we needed anything and even assisted with our first shoppings. The air conditioner kept us cool during hot hours, there was a refreshing breeze during nights which made our stay even more enjoyable. The village is very nice, it was crowded as this was the high season, but still friendly and lot's of restaurants. We even managed to visit Acropolis museum which is less than a 1.30h drive.

Jonathan and Family

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A nice garden with perfect sea and beach view in a sunny Greece

  • 3 of 5

You should rent the house for the spacious garden and the beach and sea at the end of the property. This is really beautiful with a sea that is calm and a nice view on the mountains. The space in the house is OK although the kitchen is rather small. But nothing to worry about because you live outside. The kitchen is old and honestly it needs to be replaced. The worktop is broken and is not hygienic anymore. The bathrooms have no showers only a shower head without a clip for hanging. There is a list of things that should be available in the house but it is not complete so check the things you need! They will make sure you have it right away. The air conditioners are not working perfect. Especially on ground floor it is still hot in the rooms during the night. The total maintenance of the house is on a slightly lower level, the same impression you get from the pictures. But the price is reasonable for what you will get.

The garden is nice and spacious with a lot of chairs and place to relax. Somehow the gardener is there at least three times a day, and we think one time per day should be enough because suddenly he is on the property without any announcement several times per day.

There is a beach club nearby, you hear loud music during the weekends in the afternoon and evening. During the other days of the week you can hear the music but for us all this was no problem. Consider this when renting the house.

We would recommend it for people looking for an easy and simple stay in the area not worrying too much about the maintenance level of the house.

This area of Avia is poor. The nearest bigger city Chalkida is nice for a visit. Don't expect a city with a lot of culture and it has again many poor areas. The nicest part of the island (we think) is going east or north. Beautiful nature with small villages. It will take you at least a one hour drive to go to these parts of the island and make sure you have a good car because of the condition of the roads. If you want nice beaches and more tourists go south. Also at least a one hour drive. Athens is about 1,5 hours drive.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honest review. We will work to improve kitchen and I am sure it will be in your highest specs. Every year we make an addition or improvement but this is a cottage thus there is room for improvement. I am not sure what you mean when suggesting about the showers? There is a plan to extent the ground annex which will allow us to build a bigger shower room -but this extension depends whether we will be able to raise the funds. Once again thank you for your valuable input which will certainly assist us to improve our cottage! Alexandros
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great

  • 4 of 5

We spent two weeks and have perfect holiday. House are confort, not modern, but have all necessary for normal life. Garden are huge, with lot of different trees, fruits... Beach in front of the house is only ours. If you want to realy relax, this is perfect place.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent time; amazing hosts!

  • 5 of 5

The location of this house is just the best, it really does have the sea at the end of the garden and the water is clean, clear warm and almost private. Fantastic! The village is small and quiet even in August. The restaurants are authentically Greek and haven't been spoiled by tourists! Loved them. As for the house, spotlessly clean and very well provided.

Thank you so much for a lovely holiday.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

Dear Alexandros, I, and my family, would like to say you how wonderful was the time we had this summer in your nice cottage ! Everything was great, even the beach bar, that our kids found great, as they met there greek friends from Politika ! We would like also to ask you news from the little cat. When we arrived a mother and her little cat was there, but the mother disappeared and we took care of the little cat, which was really nice. We hope everything is ok. And we would like to say you also that the gardenkeeper and Rania were very nice, and helpful with us. Thanks for everything, and we hope we'll have the chance to come back ! Best regards, Agnes

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is an excellent place to spend a long period of time, as we did. It is spacious and has a large garden with many different sitting places under the shades of big trees. Being right on the beach is unique in this area. The gardener and his family helped us beyond what was required Only drawbacks are the stony beach (bring beach shoes!) and the noise on weekends of the nearby cafe and water sports club but even that it cannot be heard inside the house and in the garden. Suitable fir children and elderly people.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you kind comments, we hope to see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
117 Kilometres
El. Venizelos
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Local Port
Nearest Ferry
30 Kilometres
Aidipsos
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Chalkis
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Local Port
Nearest Beach
1 Metres
beach in front of the cottage
Car: recommended

This greek traditional family cottage is located in Northern Evia, on the beach of Politika Village (Paralia Politikon), just one and half hour driving from Athens, and 20 minutes driving from Chalkis. Politika village, that belongs to the municipality of Messapion, it is a graphic village in the Northern Evian Gulf, at the feet of the mountain Kantili. It abstains 22 km from Chalkis, and 8 km from Psahna capital of municipality Messapion.

The village is consisted of two parts, the inland part, and the beach. See more details here: http://greekresort.blogspot.gr/p/politika-village.html

Euboea (Evia) is the second largest Greek island in area and population, after Crete. The narrow Euripus Strait separates it from Boeotia in mainland Greece. In general outline it is a long and narrow, seahorse-shaped island; it is about 150 kilometres (93 mi) long, and varies in breadth from 50 kilometres (31 mi) to 6 kilometres (3.7 mi). Its general direction is from northwest to southeast, and it is traversed throughout its length by a mountain range, which forms part of the chain that boundsThessaly on the east, and is continued south of Euboea in the lofty islands of Andros, Tinos and Mykonos.

The island is linked to mainland by two bridges, one from Chalkis, the capital of the island, also accessible from Thebes, and the other which bypasses Chalkis and is more easily accessible from Athens.

The bridge that bypasses Chalkis is a new suspended bridge, The High Bridge.

Evia island offers great travelling opportunities. You can make a lot of excursions through mountain areas and discover lovely traditional villages, and also swim in the blue sea of Aegeo Pelagos, or calm waters of Euboic Sea. In Chalkida, the capital of the island, there are many night clubs and all over Euboea there are lovely restaurants and cafes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Messapia Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Autumn 2016
Sep 19 2016 - Oct 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$818
$3,183
 
 
Spring 2017
Mar 1 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$818
$3,183
 
 
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Sep 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,026
$3,884
 
 
Autumn 2017
Sep 16 2017 - Oct 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$818
$3,183
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$818
$3,183
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

25% deposit required with booking, balance 45 days before start of holiday.
Cancellation policy
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
For inquiries contact us by email (using the contact form below) or telephone

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Messapia Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 110 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Free Local Calls
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties