check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Wendy Waghorn

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

16th Century Manor House Barn, Near Dartmouth,Coast & Dartmoor.Free WIFI

20 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Totnes Barn Rental Photos and Description

Barn Grade 2 Listed

Pridhamsleigh Manor House Farm is a 16th Century Grade II listed property situated on the Southern edge of Dartmoor National Park and Ashburton. The Manor House and Barns have undergone a massive restoration by the present owners over the past two years, and offer a unique property converted in a contemporary fashion, still retaining the character, beams and quirkiness associated with this type of property. The furnishings are stylish, yet homely and comfortable.The property overlooks an attractive courtyard,with rolling hills, forests and beautiful views all around.FREE WI FI

Plenty for the children, with snooker table, Nintendo Wi and dressing up box, plus toys and Board games.

The barns are an ideal base from which to explore many areas of the South Hams and Dartmoor.

Dartmouth, Totnes,Salcombe and Bigbury On Sea are some of the beautiful locations nearby. Dartmoor National Park is just metres away where you can walk, ride, fish, nearby historic towns such as Tavistock and Widecombe in the Moor and a wide variety of spectacular landmarks.

Please note discount prices for smaller families and couples can be applied

Local Attractions: Dartmoor National Park – Dartmoor National Park is the largest area of open country in England covering some 368 square miles. It is an exceptionally beautiful place to visit at any time of the year, with wide expanses of open moorland, wooded gorges and tumbling rocky rivers.

Buckfast Abbey – A modern Benedictine Abbey with wonderful stained glass windows and gardens. The famous Buckfast tonic wine and honey can be purchased in the gift and produce shops.

The Butterfly Farm and Otter Sanctuary – Situated near the South Devon Steam Railway station. Feed the otters and enjoy the wonderful butterflies in a tropical setting. You can even be an otter keeper for the day!

South Devon Railway – Relax and enjoy the unspoilt views of the river Dart from the comfort of a South Devon Railway, steam or vintage diesel train from Buckfastleigh to Totnes.

Towns: ASHBURTON– A very attractive Stannary town dating from Saxon times. It has a superb selection of antique and craft outlets, together with many interesting shops and eating places, and a lovely bakery, making fresh bread and cakes daily.

BUCKFASTLEIGH Vibrant, lively and with a touch of mystery surrounding it, you’ll discover that Buckfastleigh is one of the most diverse towns in South Devon. The town is dominated by the Benedictine Buckfast Abbey and is a mix of ancient and modern attractions surrounded by miles of prime Devon countryside, wild moorlands and hidden valleys to explore.

TOTNES – An Elizabethan market town with lots of interesting shops and eating places and the ruins of a Norman castle. From the quay take a relaxing boat trip to Dartmouth.

DARTMOUTH– Only a 35 minute drive away, Dartmouth is a Historic town full of narrow streets, art galleries, delicatessens and other interesting shops. It is home to the world renown Britannia Royal Naval College.

Pridhamsleigh Cavern: Opposite Pridhamsleigh Manor Farm is Pridhamsleigh Cavern this is the second longest cave system in Devon and has been accessible for at least 2 centuries. It was presumably revealed, like most Devon caves, by quarrying. A large entrance portal leads to an insignificant crawl into the rest of the system - about 700 metres of so of complex, maze like muddy passages through which a variety of routes can be taken.

If you wish to visit the cave please approach by approved route through the orchard containing the ancient dove cote. There is a fee of £1.50 to the farmer payable down the chute in the wooden kiosk at the gated entrance.

VIEW THIS VIDEO TO SEE MORE OF THE PROPERTY AND THE LOCAL AREA :

http://vimeo.com/43343315

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Wendy Waghorn (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Wendy Waghorn

Wendy and Graham bought this 16th Century Manor House and Barns to renovate and have used their extensive experience to create a welcome, comfortable home from home.

Wendy worked as a Fashion Buyer for over 20 years and then spread her talents to Buying Home furnishings, Interior Design and property Developing. She was even filmed for Homes under the Hammer BBC TV.Graham worked for the BBC for 25 years as a Director of Photography and Freelance when Film Unit closed. Graham's artistic talents have been invaluable in the restoration work. We are now very proud grandparents and our children/grandchildren have been very much involved in the preparation of the Manor for our guests, trying to get a perspective from all ages.

Wendy Waghorn purchased this barn in 2011

Why Wendy Waghorn chose South Hams

We used to have a small holiday apartment in Bigbury on Sea, so we knew this area, and loved it. Dartmouth, Salcombe, Hopes Cove and Bigbury have been holiday destinations for our family for years. The property came up at Auction and was in a sorry state.

We wanted to breathe new life into the property and gives others a chance to enjoy the ambience of this beautiful old building.

Don't worry all mod cons in this old property!

What makes this barn unique

There is a Magic about the place. It is very large. The barns are enormous. It resembles a French Manor House, and we have just added a beautiful 60 year old Olive Tree to our Courtyard which adds a softer touch to the beautiful solid stonework of the buildings.

It is a long journey renovating a property like this and all the money from the holiday bookings are going back into the property, so you are helping a part of old England to be restored by staying here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Wendy, We would like to say Thank you for our beautiful holiday in the Old Dairy Barn.We felt very comfortable and the cottage was the best accommodation we have stayed in so far in the UK. It is so beautiful and lovely, we are going to miss it.

We enjoyed staying in Great Britain very much, even driving on the left hand side of the road! There is so much to see,and so much to miss.

Thank you very much, We look forward to returning.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 20 traveler reviews

16th Century Manor House Barn, Near Dartmouth,Coast & Dartmoor.Free WIFI
average rating of 4.75 based on 21 reviews
5

Stunningand beautifully restored barn

  • 5 of 5

My family and I came to stay at the beautiful dairy barn 13th-20th of August 2016 after an horrendous journey down we were greeted by Wendy who was so helpful and welcoming the barn is true to description and had absolutely everything a family could need it so well layer out and really just beautiful thank you again Wendy we will be booking again next time we holiday inDevon and will certainly be recommending to friends and family 😀

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your brilliant review, I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and loved the Barn. We will be happy to welcome you and your family for a return visit. Best wishes, Wendy and Graham.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a very nice property and tastefully decorated.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Dairy Barn, it was a great venue to share with our family from the USA.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your 5 star review, I am so glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. It is a superb space for socialising with family and friends. It was a pleasure to meet and chat with you, I was very impressed with the morning fitness routines and the jogging! Best wishes, Wendy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
4

Family holiday home on the edge of Dartmore

  • 4 of 5

This beautifully converted Dairy Barn provided us with spacious living area allowed us not to crowd each other but giving opportunity for quality family time together. Plenty of games to occupy us, whatever the age - dressing up and toys for the younger ones, games and books for both young and old, inside and out in the sheltered shared but private courtyard. The barn was well equipped and nicely decorated with homely touches. Fresh flowers greeted us on arrival. We found we had easy access both to Dartmoor and to the coast, where the beach at Bigbury-on-Sea proved popular with plenty of golden sand.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your excellent review! I am so glad you had fun with your family,I agree Bigbury sands are wonderful, and Dartmoor is breathtaking, with views for miles. Best wishes, Wendy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great property for large families.

  • 4 of 5

Good location with easy access by car to local towns and coast. The Old Dairy Barn was everything we had hoped for and would have no hesitation in recommending for larger family groups. Wendy and Graham made us very welcome and I'm sure we will be back again in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you,it was a pleasure welcoming you and your family to stay, Best wishes, Wendy and Graham.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5

We had an enjoyable stay at the Dairy Barn. The size of the unit was perfect for our extended family, which consisted of grandparents, parents and children! The children and adults both enjoyed the courtyard space. Plenty of comfortable seating and space to spread out. The barn was convenient to nearby towns for shopping, grocers, restaurants and sights - yet, it was off the beaten path. The kitchen is well equipped. The barn also has laundry facilities, lots of books (for adults and children), and toys/entertainment for everyone in the family. The owners are friendly, accessible and very accommodating. This area of England is one not to be missed. Devon is simply breathtaking and there is so much to see, all within a short distance. This holiday was one my family thoroughly enjoyed. I highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kelly, that is really kind. It was a pleasure to welcome your lovely family to our Barn. It is always great when guests enjoy the "Old World charm" of our 16th and 18th century Buildings. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and what wonderful weather! We would be happy to welcome you back if you get the chance to stay again. Beat wishes, Wendy and Graham
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful relaxing Barn stay in sunny Devon!

  • 5 of 5

A Christmas we will never forget - the property, location & hospitality were all faultless, we even lucked out with the weather! My family celebrated my Mum's (special..) birthday on Xmas Eve & Xmas at the Old Dairy Barn, & we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The open plan kitchen / dining area upstairs is a perfect layout for social meals, & there is plenty of other 'living room' space for relaxing (opening presents) reading, playing on the Wii, watching movies: whatever takes your fancy. When it all gets too much, the downstairs bedrooms provide a perfect escape. Thank you Wendy for all that you did to make our holiday extra special.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your family were a pleasure to deal with from Booking to staying. I am so glad your Mum enjoyed her Birthday treat, as you say it is brilliant to have fond memories of a landmark Birthday, especially when it falls at Christmas. You were very lucky with the weather, it is great fun to walk along a sandy beach on Xmas or New Years Day. We do try to make everything perfect for our guests, so it is really brilliant when we are appreciated. You are very welcome back to Pridhamsleigh Manor when you next get the chance! Happy New Year, from Wendy and Graham
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Exeter Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Ashburton/Buckfast
Nearest Ferry
22 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Stover Golf Course
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Totnes
Nearest Motorway
18 Miles
M5 Junc 31
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Ashburton
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Plymouth Dry Ski
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Broadsands,Preston Beach,Blackpool Sands,
Car: recommended

The history of Pridhamsleigh Manor on the borders of Dartmoor dates back to the 16th Century when it was one of Devons most important properties.Tradition has it that in the 1700's Pridhamsleigh was lost as a gambling debt by the Gould family.

Pridhamsleigh Manor is on the southern edge of Dartmoor,close to the historic towns of Ashburton and Buckfastleigh.

The Old Dairy Barn (1860's) is a perfect base from which to explore many areas of the South Hams the coast and Dartmoor. If you have a love of the sea then places such as Dartmouth, Bigbury On Sea and Salcombe easily come to mind or explore Dartmoor where you can walk, ride, fish, white water kayak on the river Dart and visit historic towns such as Tavistock and Widecombe in the Moor.

There are fantastic pubs in Ashburton and nearby on Dartmoor where good food can be enjoyed in a true country pub setting.

PLEASE NOTE The Manor House and Barns have undergone considerable renovation, Google Earth does not show this.

Other Activities: White water canoeing

Golf: Stover Golf Club offers an 18 Hole Parkland Golf Course which is an excellent challenge of golf for all abilities. This James Braid designed course is an example of the very best of the South West.

The course is set in 200 acres of parkland with some of the prettiest golf holes in Devon. Extensive, mature woodlands and water, feature on a number of holes.

The Club is situated very close to the A38 Plymouth Expressway, just 15 minutes from Exeter, 20 minutes from Plymouth and just 3 miles from Newton Abbot making the course very accessible to both members and visitors.

Stover Golf Club is one of the most popular courses in South Devon. Visitors are most welcome and will appreciate the setting, warm welcome and friendly and intimate atmosphere of the Club.

The Best Parkland Course in the South West... You Decide!

Set in parkland with some of the prettiest golf holes in Devon. Extensive, mature woodlands and water, feature on a number of holes - the 5952 yards, par 69 provides an interesting and enjoyable challenge to golfers of all abilities.

The Front-9, offer a number of feature holes, with recent improvements adding to its attraction and challenge. The Back-9, is narrower and requires good course management and with again the recent additions adding to its charm.

The cosy lounge, adjacent to Liverton Brook, with its trout and bird-life; enjoys a superb view of the 1st hole.

Ski: Situated above the Plym valley near the A38, Plymouth Ski and Snowboard Centre is easy to get to from places in Devon, Cornwall and Somerset.

The centre is open throughout the year and offers skiers and snowboarders of all levels the facilities to practice and learn new skills. With three slopes to choose from including the longest artificial slope in the South West, Plymouth Ski and Snowboard Centre is the perfect place to practice and learn new skills.

On site an exhilarating 650 meter toboggan run and exciting Sno-tube rides. Our facilities here in Plymouth are ideal for meetings, conferences, weddings, parties and a host of ancillary activities. There is a fully stocked and licensed bar and restaurant on site.

Get in touch

Plymouth Ski Centre

Alpine Park

Plymouth

Devon

PL6 8LW

UK

Photos

Rates & Availability

Totnes Barn Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn 2016
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 21 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,071
 
 
Winter 2016
Oct 22 2016 - Dec 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,103
 
 
Christmas & New Year
Dec 18 2016 - Dec 30 2016
6 night minimum stay
$1,557
 
 
2017
Jan 7 2017 - Mar 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$973
 
 
Easter 2017
Mar 25 2017 - Apr 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,168
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 15 2017 - May 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,038
 
 
May Half Term
May 20 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,298
 
 
Early Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Jul 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,168
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 22 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,622
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $195

Please note there may be an additional charge for Easter, Half terms and Christmas.Dogs are charged at £25 each.
We will be pleased to advise a rate if you email the number of people staying.
Free Wifi
Heating and hot water included
All bedding and towels supplied
Payment Methods Accepted
BACS Transfer
Visa Credit
Visa Debit
MasterCard Credit
MasterCard Debit
Maestro
ONLY ONE PAYMENT PER HOL

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Totnes Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 190 m²
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Plus sink, & shaver socket
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Plus sink and shaver socket.
  • Both bathrooms have showers not a bath. They are of a good size, and have fresh towels supplied (not to be used for swimming or the beach please) Plenty of hot water on demand. Lovely new fittings, and tiled floors. Baby bath, changing mats and potty available.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , 1 z bed or cot can be added to this room for a child
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 1 cot can be added to this room if required
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib , 1 Z bed or cot can be added to this room for a child
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 Cot or Z bed can be added to this room if required
  • The beds all have fresh cotton Terence Conran or similar bedding all made up. The main double bedroom has a double wardrobe, and one of the twin bedrooms has a double wardrobe.This room would also fit a cot or single airbed. The third double bed room has a wardrobe and storage.This room will also fit a cot if required. All rooms have bedside tables, and mirrors, and lamps. The 2nd double bedroom is not very large, but adequately fits a double bed which you can walk around. There is a large chest of drawers just outside this room All bedrooms are on the ground floor and face onto the courtyard.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The lounge/Dining/kitchen area of this barn is on the first floor. It gives a vast area to sit and relax.Seats about 14 In one section is the TV area with two double sofas and armchair.Plus superb comfy corner sofa,seat 5/6 In another area is an assortment of comfortable and fun seats, ,and a Pool table. This area also has a book case with assorted books, local places of interest, and children books and games. We also have a music centre with some CD's. The kitchen and dining area is raised from the lounge, and has a breakfast bar where 2 or 3 people could easily sit. The hob and oven are built into the oak breakfast bar. There is a return of worktops with a sink and cupboards. This has a kettle, toaster, and Microwave on it. We have supplied plenty of crockery and cutlery and cooking essentials. There is a Fridge/Freezer,and a dishwasher machine. The dining area has a dining table and chairs,for 8/10 /12 people and another comfortable seating area for morning coffee.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties