check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand


Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, italian

Villa in Taormina countryside with stunning view to the sea & the Mount Etna

16 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Messina province Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms for 9 persons , private swimming pool

The spacious sitting/dining room with its ornate fireplace and traditional furnishings lead onto the oval terrace. Pine trees surround the terrace on which there is a working stone font - the ideal setting for an evening aperitif watching the flaming Etna volcano as well as dinner on those balmy evenings. The bedrooms are all simply but comfortably and colourfully decorated with shutters leading out onto the front garden. Alternatively, when the Sicilian sun becomes too overbearing one can cool off in the large pool behind the house. Palm, avocado and olive trees around the pool provide some shade over parts of the terrace where again some stunning views to the sea and the Mount Etna can be appreciated. We believe lovers of Sicily and also those new to the many fascinations of this island will love the opportunity to stay in this traditional classic home within such easy access of so many popular destination.

  • children welcome
Valeria (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, italian

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family of 4 and I usually go on holiday to places with cooler climates like Wales,Ireland and Scotland to visit friends and family or Austria for holidays, but this year we decided to do something different and go to Sicily. We definitely were not disappointed, the house we stayed in was almost like a palace, with lots of elegant paintings, a big marble staircase and a terrace with one of the best views we have ever seen. The weather was perfect, much warmer than in the UK, but we never got too hot thanks to the large swimming pool we had all to ourselves! There were also some very comfortable chairs round the pool for us to sunbathe in and an umbrella for shade in case it got too hot. The maid was very kind and helpful, always leaving the house clean and tidy so that we had more time to visit the Etna and the beautiful town of Taormina. Our trip up Etna was the adventure of our lives, the children (aged 8 and 10) loved feeling the warm rocks, digging just a few cm to find snow in August and running down the volcano at the end and our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Our trip to Taormina was also a great success, there were lots of Italian shops where we bought souvenirs and and cafes in which we tasted an Italian type of ice cream called a granita which we had never seen before! We also had a fantastic time at the seaside, there are so many different beach resorts that we went to a different one everyday. Our favourite was called 'Isola Bella' which means beautiful Island in Sicily. This resort is about 200m away from a lovely little island surrounded by beautiful fish. Our youngest child even found a bright red starfish! We had a spectacular stay in Sicily which we will never forget. I would strongly recommend this holiday to anybody.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 3


based on 16 traveler reviews

Villa in Taormina countryside with stunning view to the sea & the Mount Etna
average rating of 4.625 based on 19 reviews


  • 5 of 5

This property, which oozes old-world charm, has stunning views of Mt. Etna, lots of places to explore and discover antiquities, and an orange grove through which to stroll. Our group of eight spent a fabulous week enjoying the pool, the formal dining room, and the outdoor terrace, perfect for cocktails. We twice used the services of the in-house chef for excellent dinners, although, as is the Sicilian custom, there was way too much food.

Virginia and Wayne Jeronimus

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect family holiday!

  • 5 of 5

We love visiting the villa and this was our second trip... of hopefully many more to come. The journey through the orange groves and up the hill is magical and our view of Mt. Etna - spectacular. We were a group of 6 but the house has ample rooms to sleep more... if you want to share the tranquility and peaceful ambiance that is. We would very much recommend staying here.

See you next year x

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Helen it was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family here again this year. I wait for you andit was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family here again this year. I wait and I send you my best wishes for your projects!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unique Sicilian Experience

  • 5 of 5

We were a family travelling with 3 kids and another family with kids and we found that the villa was perfect for our needs. We wanted a beautiful place to spend 2 weeks with our family and the villa was gorgeous and provided the best place for us to spend some amazing time together: the pool was big enough for everybody, the gorgeous orange and olive tree orchared provided the best place for walks, one of the terraces was built for a family barbeque and the other terrace provided us with an impressive view over Mount Etna as well as a spacious place to enjoy evenings with the family. The house is beautiful, full of a rich history and really elegant. Moreover, the host is very discrete, however close enough to be there whenever we needed her. Also, she is a very pleasant person, with amazing stories, who truly provided us with an amazing experience. Overall, the villa gave us a real feel of a true Sicilian experience, something we will always remember and we already planned to come back and discover more of Sicily's treasures.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Diana it was with a great pleasure that I have read that you and all your nice family had good time in Sicily and in my property! My mother, my brother Gabriele and me are very pleased that you have appreciated our "sicilian " hospitality and that you are planning to come back. Many thanks from my mother for your kind flower present. Best wishes Valeria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely, but aging property

  • 3 of 5

Lovely, but aging property just behind Giardini Naxos. Needs a better system for air-conditioning one room downstairs (the wall unit was broken and a unit brought in required the window to be left ajar). Plumbing in downstairs bathrooms needs to be checked as there was little to no water pressure in either bath/shower. Was a bit surprised at check out to have a discussion over whether we should pay for outdoor chairs (very old) where the fabric tore because we simply sat in them. Plastic silverware was counted to make sure that we had not taken any. Left a bad impression in what was otherwise a nice week.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Stacey! Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you had these difficulties and certainly will ensure that inconvenience as such is reduced to the minimum. Of course one has to remember that it is an old house (as clearly mentioned in the site) with some history and in spite of continuous refurbishing and technical fixes it will occasionally have breakdowns, that we are eager to learn about and immediately fix if we had not noticed beforehand. . As for the question of the outdoor chair and the plastic cutlery, I apologise if you felt uneasy. As you pointed out no cost was charged for the chair and counting the cutlery in front of you was in no way meant to check that you had not taken it: a misunderstanding that I will avoid in future. In this moment we have a group of 2 families that are very happy and we are all booked until October. Half of the next guests are people returning or friends of past guests. We do all our best to make our guests spend their holidays in the best way. We know that we have the high responsibility to ensure our guests the success of their vacation in terms of well-being, rest and lack of stress. … fortunately at the end you write that you spent a good week ... which is the most important thing !!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Historic property lacking basic service levels

  • 1 of 5

A historic villa in a beautiful location but unfortunately it has basic concerns and ones that should not be experienced when items were advertised;

1. Air conditioning unit not working in 1 of the 3 bedrooms with aircon (worth noting only 3 of the bedrooms have aircon the others have a fan only). Took 3 days to get it fixed which it wasn't so demanded a portable unit which we had to set up ourselves by directing the warm air pipe out of a window (fortunately it had a fly screen) and blocking up the rest of the window with towels

2. The pool is a good size but not cleaned properly, black mould on the tiles and green algae growing on all the steps leading into the pool suggesting it has not or been cleaned properly for some time!

3. A twin bedroom with aircon only had one bed made up so we had to take sheets off a double bed from another room not used

4. The same bed had blood stains on the pillow so this was swapped again with another room

5. The dishwasher broke after being used once and looking at the on/off button which stuck in the on position it has done so before as there were indentations all around the button! No replacement given so had to wash dishes for 5 days

The owner does not give a welcoming reception, was more interested in making sure we turned off the lights and aircon when we went out for the day and on the Saturday before we left someone actually entered the property and turned off all the air con units in the bedrooms and left the doors open!

Not recommended for a stay during the summer months and if already booked with a deposit make sure the above has been actioned before handing over the 50% cash payment.

Good points were the service by the cleaning ladies who offer a great meal service on a night with 2 days notice and the location of the property which is near to the local town and accessible to Taormina and the beaches.

If the owner spent some money on the property it could live up to it's perceived expectations

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was easy for us to identify the anonymous contributor, who did indeed have a bad week, which appears to have soured the memory somewhat! A week which included disputed breakages, and ourselves organizing the prompt assistance and hospitalization of a family member in his over nineties who had been, apparentely, left out in the sun too long. Of course everything went well thanks also to the fact that the city of Taormina has an excellent medical and hospital organization. Indeed there can be fragilities which are barely compatible with a week in Sicily at the height of summer. We have rented this old charming family house for several years and we have never come across so much grudge. We apologize for the problem with the dishwasher that created discomfort but we would like to clarify the other points on where the exaggeration is evident: • The mobile air conditioning unit was purchased within one hour from the complaint. • There are 2 rooms in the house that do not need to have conditioning air units being naturally very fresh, as reported in the house description (in fact we have never had complaints on that). • The pool cleaning has been guaranteed by the same person every day for many years. • Frankly the security in establishing that the “alleged” stain was blood makes us think that someone was exploring the house with a microscope ... • We believe that we provide an efficient and welcoming service, without impinging on the choices and privacy of our guests.¬ We leave it to our kinder readers to form their own opinion on the plausibility of the more colorful allegations. We are finally very upset that unlike many others, this family will not be returning, but in the case they would change their mind we will welcome them and will do all our best to guarantee all comforts and best possible as we usually do with all our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

brought back into the Gattopardi world...

  • 5 of 5

My and my group of friends' stay at this villa was a total delight. It is an autentic ancient aristocratic villa in the midst of a huge land cultivated with citruses and olive trees. The pool is beautiful, confortable, equipped with all one needs, large but elegant, immersed in green and with some very nice views. The villa was my favourite, I kept going up and down it, the architecture is nice and it is elegantly furnished in old classical Italian style, it is vast so that the individauls of a large family or group can still find privacy, their own reading or meditating corners... I loved the terrace too, it was night to sit there in the evening with a shawl and I could see the Etna erupting in the distance... I went jogging on the paths between orange and lemon trees, I was not able to tell the difference as some where still green and had beautiful perfumed flowers...there was also a little hill which reminded me of (and probably was?) those esoteric itineraries that aristocracy used to build in their parks between the 18th and 18th century, or even later? The feeling was to be living in the golden age of the Grand Tour! It was quiet around us, because we were away from the village, but it was not far from the beach nor the town of Taormina by car. We went for an excursion on the Etna, which was another overwelming experience. I am sure I'll be back again, probably with my family to continue exploring and especially to endulge again in the life of a Sicilian pricess of the past! Thank you Valeria and your staff, see you soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Luna I remember you and all your nice group! It has been a real pleasure having you all as guests. Thank you for the respect of the house and of the site. We were all impressed by the order you left the rooms when you left, those are things that say a bit about persons! See you soon Valeria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
38 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
40 Kilometres
Etna North
Nearest Train
4 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Giardini Naxos
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ski
45 Kilometres
Etna North
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Taormina, Giardini Naxos
Car: recommended


Taormina is one of the most sought after areas in Sicily, and it is easy to understand why. The combination of being on the beach, and at the same time within walking distance (with the help of the cable car) of the centre of Taormina suits many of our guest very well. This area of Sicily has much to offer besides Taormina and the beaches. Apart from the huge attraction of Mount Etna, try visiting some of the lesser known towns and villages on its flanks. You will be in for some pleasant surprises.


Nestled amongst bougainvillea citrus and olive plantations with outstanding views to Mount Etna, this Classic Sicilian home is an ideal base from which to explore the delights of Eastern Sicily. Only twenty minutes from Taormina with its famous amphitheatre and colourful streets and yet hidden away from the outside world, the San Martino Estate provides the opportunity for a very real Sicilian experience. Many of our guests have shown a growing interest in this island which is such a “melting pot” of cultures so we are delighted to offer this location. Having followed the long drive up the hill one finally reaches this princely family home surrounded by lush vegetation. Stepping inside one immediately notices the typically Sicilian nineteenth century furniture and objects d’art. Palm, avocado and olive trees around the pool provide some shade over parts of the terrace where again some stunning views to the sea and the Mount Etna can be appreciated. We believe lovers of Sicily and also those new to the many fascinations of this island will love the opportunity to stay in this traditional classic home within such easy access of so many popular destination.


Catania airport: 35km-22miles-40mins

Palermo airport: 290km-180miles-2hr50

Trapani airport: 370km-231miles-3hr55

Taormina centre: 20 min driving

Nearest beach: 10 min driving

Siracusa: 118km-73miles-1hr20

Mount Etna cable car: 62km-38miles-1hr10

Catania centre: 52km-32miles-45mins


Rates & Availability

Taormina Centre Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer mid season
Jun 27 2016 - Jul 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
Summer high season
Jul 31 2016 - Aug 28 2016
7 night minimum stay
Summer mid season
Aug 29 2016 - Sep 25 2016
7 night minimum stay
Ending Summer season
Sep 26 2016 - Oct 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
Low season
Oct 31 2016 - Dec 22 2016
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $549

The prices above are referred for groups of max 9 people babies/infants included. It is not allowed in the villa to organize parties or dinners with persons differents than the guests holidaysmaker. The extra services of cooking, the use of the villa and pool are exclusively for the people indicated at the time of reservation. It is possible to organize on demand a dinner or a tea party in another structure which is very close to the villa. The swimming pool is available from mid april to mid october, other periods only on demand paying an extra. In the price is included the cleaning service: 3 hours two days weekly, excluding Saturdays and Sundays. The heating is extra 30/50 euros daily on demand

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Messina province Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house (terraced)
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 m²
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 9 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • 9 garden chairs
  • 9 beach chairs
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties