check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Trish Haskell

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

*****Romantic Retreat Expansive Views and Fazio Golf at Rams Hill**********

32 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 30 nights

Overview

Borrego Springs House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The setting is romantic, inspired, open, and private. Enjoy the sweeping, panoramic view of Indian Head and the Anza-Borrego National Park from the master bed, living room, and patio. Listen to the soothing sounds of the desert and light a fire in our firepit on patio. See yourself totally RELAXING and enjoying mother nature in every direction. Rams Hill in Borrego Springs is San Diego's Best Kept Secret, only 90 minutes away from San Diego lies a hidden jewel that we have discovered and hope you will too! This is the most PEACEFUL place on the face of the earth. Borrego Springs was recently awarded the prestigious International Dark Sky Community Certification and rated by USA Today as the top 10 stargazing locations in the nation. More photo's and You Tube video of our home/information please go to our Facebook Page (see below). ATTENTION GOLFERS The Tom Fazio designed golf course is open to the public for play on November 7, 2015 to fantastic reviews and recently rated the #1 golf course in the US by Golf Digest. Our view is overlooking the lake and fairway of the 4th hole of the golf course. When the golf course is open, golfers tee off on the other side of the lake from us, so you get to watch them as they tee off. The Rams Hill Clubhouse and Restaurant is fully functional and has a wonderful outside patio with outstanding views. Learn more at Ramshillgolf.com. There are three other golf courses to play on in Borrego but Rams Hill is superior to all of them.

Upgraded, contemporary furnishings with Zen inspired luxurious feel.Take full advantage of all the activities available such as golf, swimming, tennis, hiking, biking, trail running, and more. Or, simply enjoy the quiet, peaceful, rejuvenating setting with expansive views while you relax on the patio or by the two pools. Some of the homes in the town of Borrego on VRBO don't offer a pool or jacuzzi and we wouldn't want to rent a house in the desert without a pool. We have two huge pools, a recreational and a lap pool which is heated all year, and a short walk from our house. We feel totally safe and secure at Rams Hill since we have a guard gate to enter the Rams Hill property.

Take an early morning to catch the spectacular sunrise views. Catch the sunset while relaxing from the back patio over looking the golf course and the Borrego Valley.

As you enter the living room you are surrounded by windows bringing the sense of the space, sunlight and quiet into the home. This beautiful two-bedroom, two-bath, 1400 square foot, contemporary home has new tile throughout. The master bedroom has its own sliding door to the patio facing the expansive views. Sleep restfully in our comfy bed with 550 thread count sheets. Wake in the morning to the morning light on the mountain view. The master bath is spacious with walk in closet and large oval deep tub for two. Every room has direct access to the outside. Absolutely breathtaking and light and bright!

The guest bedroom is separate and private. The décor is warm and inviting, with a window facing the eastern sunrise view, The back patio has a fun seating area and sliding glass doors face the interior courtyard.

Each day provides a new opportunity to enjoy the many outdoor activities available in Borrego Springs. Once the largest Thompson Grape growing region in the state, Borrego Springs area is now a veritable playground for those that like to enjoy nature and the Anza-Borrego State Park, play golf , several green grass courses in town, or lounge about the two pools at our Santa Fe swim complex at Rams Hill. The lap pool is heated year round.

Borrego Springs is the perfect place for bike riding since there are so few cars on the road and No stoplights. A perfect place to train for a triathlon. We also have three brand new Pickleball tennis courts and a new resurface Tennis Court in the Santa Fe Swim and Tennis Complex for you to use during your stay.

Catch a Big Horn Sheep or two in the Palm Canyon Trails or visit the wonderful 129 metal sculptures in the Galleta Meadows situated throughout the Borrego Valley. The dog park is coming back soon we heard. We have a Dog Park is coming back soon. More Photo's, video and information on our Facebook Page Todd and Trish Haskell Borrego Vacation Rental (see below).

Keywords: Borrego Springs, Rams Hill, Desert Vacation Rental, Private Home, Hotel, Montesoro, La Casa Del Zorro, Tom Fazio Golf, Anza Borrego State Park, Views, Privacy, Wildflowers, Facebook Todd and Trish Haskell Borrego Vacation Rental, Stargazing, Sunshine, Golf, Cycling, Pickleball

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Trish Haskell (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Trish Haskell

Todd and I have been together for twenty one years. We live at the beach in Cardiff By The Sea.

We run, hike, bike all through lovely Borrego. We also swim laps, play tennis, golf and now learning pickleball. And sometimes we just hang out and enjoy the sound of the birds and peace and quiet at our home.

Trish Haskell purchased this house in 2005

Why Trish Haskell chose San Diego County

Rams Hill in Borrego is a beautiful, peaceful and private desert community and offers one so much solitude. There are 3600 acres to roam on. The views are the best in the Borrego Valley since we sit up high. The sunrise in the mornings are the best at Rams Hill and was recently voted one the best places to watch the Sunrise by Sunset Magazine. Borrego is now one of the top places in the Nation according to USA Today to stargaze. The stars at night are better than any night sky that we have ever seen. Borrego was recently named an International Dark Sky Community, there are no stoplights in Borrego, no traffic, no pollution, no noise, no big box stores or chains. Our home at Rams Hill is surrounded by 650,000 acres of state park and will never get over developed and turn into a concrete jungle like Palm Springs. This is the real desert! It's not about what's here, it's about what's not here!!!!!!!

What makes this house unique

The views from the living room and master bedroom are some of the best on the Rams Hill property. The view is open and inspiring. The Santa Rosa Mountains are seen from every window in the living room. Indian Head can be seen from the master bed. BBQ's, sitting around the firepit, listening to the birds, watching the spectacular sunrise and sunsets are just a few things that we enjoy. The privacy, the peace and quiet, the night sky are some of the unique benefits of staying at our home. Nature is everywhere on this property from the owls to the jack rabbits, to the coyotes, to the selection of birds-a bird watchers paradise. It is never crowded ever here and offers one so much peace and solitude. AAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed in this private retreat and jem of a place to relax. Borrego Springs was recently awarded the prestigious International Dark Sky Community Certification and has long been a haven for stargazers, both professional and amateur. Rated by USA Today as one of the top 10 stargazing locations in the nation. Everytime we walk out our door at night we can't help but look up at the night sky. We are always in awe of the darkness and these magnificent stars above, we feel so lucky to be blessed with the most amazing place to stargaze. There aren't many places like this left in Southern California. Not everyone will get it and we hope you will be one of the lucky ones to visit one of the best kept secrets close to millions of people in San Diego.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fabulous "2" days in your beautiful desert home.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

5
based on 32 traveler reviews

*****Romantic Retreat Expansive Views and Fazio Golf at Rams Hill**********
average rating of 4.96875 based on 40 reviews
Carmel CA
5

What's not to love?

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to stay. My husband and I just finished a week there and we highly recommend it. The owners are terrific, responsive and helpful. Loved sitting outside at night looking at the stars, using an iPhone app to try and identify them. Nearby Ram's Hill Club has excellent food. If you want to sit outside at sunset, make a reservation. Also, the Italian restaurant out by the airport is pretty good, not fancy, but fine. The bed in the master was fine. Lots of lamps for reading. Two bathrooms so each person of the couple has his or her own. Spices and condiments are there as is information about what to do locally. Although we are not golfers, we heard others talk about how wonderful the course i. The home has a wonderful view of the course plus a pond with resident ducks.

There was a wonderful art show in town that weekend plus plenty of birders, hikers, cyclists, four wheelers, golfers, painters, swimmers and people looking for the spring wildflowers.

We did have a meal at nearby Zorro's and it made us wonder why anyone would go to a hotel in Borrego when they can enjoy a much better time here. Thanks to our hosts.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mel for staying at our home for the week. We also can't thank you enough for writing such a nice and positive review and letting guests know what you loved about our home and what you did while in Borrego. Our home is a chance for guests to get away from the hustle and bustle of normal life and it sure sounds like you enjoyed exactly what We love about living at Rams Hill. Thank you again for staying with us, please come back anytime! Trish H
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Carlsbad, Ca
5

Borrego Gem

  • 5 of 5

Loved this home! Everything about this home was perfect. The location, the views, the beds, the kitchen, the couches, chairs, tvs, bathrooms/showers... The front patio with views of the golf course and lake w/ Canadian Geese and the mountains due West were mesmerizing day and night... We actually made friends with a roadrunner(these birds are prehistoric wild animals) that came right up on the porch. The lighting in this home is excellent for reading or can be toned down for tv... Or completely turned off for star gazing from the recliners on the deck. We saw shooting stars all 4 nights we were there after the moon went down... We had read that there was objectional noise from the golf course equipment, but only heard mowers or blowers for maybe 10 minutes or so, every other day. Not a problem at all. We were not able to play golf anywhere in Borrego due to over-seeding of the ALL the courses... Oh well, had a great time anyway down at the pool and hanging at the house. The 2 bedrooms are seperated nicely for privacy and I think this home is perfect for a couple, 2 couples, or a small family... We really enjoyed this beautiful home and would/will go back in a heartbeat... Loved Borrego, love the house! Thanks

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great if you are a golfer

  • 4 of 5

Todd and Trisha are lovely, helpful hosts; their home is clean and comfortable and the views are amazing. However, the home is located directly on a golf course - a very well tended and well groomed golf course. We are not golfers and thus failed to realize what this proximity means. We learned quickly, however. We learned that it takes a lot of machine power to get those greens looking as pristine and well manicured as these are - a lot of very loud machine power that started variously at 6:00 and 6:30 a.m.! Thus our calm, restful retreat disappeared most mornings with the roar of a small tractor. We had to accept that sleeping in was just not going to be a feature of this vacation. Otherwise it was great.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Claudia, Thank you for your stay and we are glad you enjoyed your time here. Rams Hill was getting their course ready for the season and at that time they were using a blower machine for cleanup. We reported your complaint to Rams Hill golf management immediately and they said they would reduce the use of that blower. We have been out here and haven't been seeing it used. Hope you come back to Rams Hill again in the future because we still think it's the quietest place on earth!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles, Ca
5

The best VRBO rental we have had so far...

  • 5 of 5

This place was simply perfect for me and my hubby. Elegant décor, nice flow between rooms, everything is in its place, whatever you need is available. We enjoyed our evening view of the stars in the patio, our morning coffee and conversations amidst the magnificent view of the mountains. We decided that as much possible, we will plan to stay here again. Trish was extremely helpful and ensured that we have the info for their place and the town.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and we are glad you stayed with us at Rams Hill. We firmly believe that Rams Hill is the best place to stay while visiting Borrego and is a little slice of heaven.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

VRBO 86411

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Trish and Todd’s lovely home in beautiful Rams Hill. Each morning we sipped our coffee on the patio that overlooked the nearby pond with birds coming and going. And beyond the pond were mountains reflecting the light of the rising morning sun. Each evening we were awed by the amazing expanse of stars in the night sky.

The entire home is beautifully decorated. The kitchen provided everything we needed to prepare our dinners, the living room was a lovely place to relax, and the master bedroom-bathroom suite was luxurious.

Trish and Todd were immensely helpful. It was a pleasure working with them with regard to the details of our stay.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna, thank you again for staying with us and writing such a great review. We both have outside jobs besides our home in Borrego and we try really hard to make sure we respond in a timely manner to each guest requests. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at our property and appreciated all that wonderful things about staying at Rams Hill and Borrego that we enjoy as well. We always tell people it's not about what's here, it's about what's not here in little Borrego and we know you got it!!! Please come back for another visit when you need some alone time in nature. Thank you again! Todd and Trish
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Great Spot!

  • 5 of 5

Situated on the fourth hole of a championship golf course (that happily is scheduled to be reopened before the end of the year), this rental offers lots of natural light, an open and well laid out floor plan, and a choice of private outside areas. We were delighted at how quickly we felt completely at home! The location is ideal for anyone who enjoys outdoor activities, with a great tennis court/pool/hot tub area, and many opportunities for walking and cycling right in the neighborhood. We enjoyed our two months so much that we have already booked for next year!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
San Diego or Palm Springs
Nearest Golf
here in Rams Hill
Nearest Restaurant
in Clubhouse
Nearest Beach
80 Miles
San Diego Beaches
Car: necessary

Trail Running, Bicycling, Galetta Meadows, Best Sunrise viewing, Stargazing, Birding, Wildflowers (seasonal), Hiking Tours of the De-Anza National Park, Overland Jeep Tours, Huge Dog park on property at Rams Hill (Formly Montesoro). Tom Fazio Golf course is open for golf on Nov 15, 2014.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Borrego Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Savings season
May 16 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$750
$2,000
 
 
Prime season
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$950
$3,000
 
 
January Rate
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 31 2017
30 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
February Rate
Feb 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
27 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
Spring Rates
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
30 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$950
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $500

Posted rates include utilities and use of the swim and tennis complex. Thanksgiving and Christmas has a higher rate. Clean fee for monthly rentals is $200. Pet fee will apply. We do not split months during prime season monthly rentals go
1-last day of the month.

25% Deposit at time of reservation, balance due 45 days before your arrival.
Payment by credit card or paypal

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Borrego Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Guest Room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
High Speed Wired or Wireless Internet Connection 3 TV's, Cable and Digital TV, Pool area includes an Olympic-size lap pool, a lounging pool and hot tub, Tennis Courts, Creeks and Waterfalls, Tom Fazio Golf, Restaurant on site. Brand New Pickelball courts-three!!!!!!

Partner Offers