Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury 2 bedroom Apartment St.Pauls - Two Bedroom Apartment, Sleeps 8

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 861 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Two Bedroom Apartment, Sleeps 8

This is a good size 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment in a purpose-built building close to the London landmark St Paul's Cathedral in London's Zone 1. The property is ideally located for access to the City with easy transport links to the West End (Picadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, etc.) and a short walk to all that South Bank has to offer.

Guests staying at this property can enjoy a generous en suite master bedroom with fitted wardrobes and a private balcony at a fabulous location ideal for sightseeing at Smithfields Market, the City of London, Southbank and Covent Garden.

The property also comprises a lovely reception room renovated in the modern interior that features an ample dining space, a contemporary semi-open-plan kitchen, a second bedroom and a separate bathroom.

Please note the building is wheelchair accessible, however, the apartment has not been adapted for the wheelchair in all areas of the apartment.

The property is ideally located just moments from a whole host of local amenities including a Tesco Express Supermarket right by St Paul's Station for food essentials, the fabulous Smithfield Food Market, St Paul's Cathedral and many fashionable bars and restaurants including Gordon Ramsay's Bread Street Kitchen.

One New Change located right next to St Paul's Station is one of the largest shopping centres in Central London with shops such as Topshop, Hugo Boss, and Swatch as well as hairdressers, Boots pharmacy, and a breathtaking public roof terrace with views of the London skyline which also features a bar and restaurant.

The City of London is a 5-minute walk from the apartment with Bartholomew Close and the Law Courts nearby with the history of London's Roman ancestry all around. The Millenium Bridge walkway leads from St Paul's across the river to the grand Tate Modern art museum, The Shakespeare Globe Theatre, and Southbank with its breathtaking view of the River Thames.

To explore the history of London starts your trip by heading over to the Museum of London that takes you through history, from Roman times to the Jack The Ripper murder mystery. Located right next to The Museum of London is The Barbican Centre which is the largest performing arts centre in Europe that hosts classical and contemporary music concerts, theatre performances, film screenings and art exhibitions. It also houses a library, three restaurants, and a conservatory.

If you want to head over to the West End for a spot of shopping at Oxford Street, heading for a theatre play at Leicester square or just to enjoy the buzzy vibes of the city centre as Picadilly Circus, Covent Garden, the nearest underground stations are only a 5 minutes walk away. St. Paul's (Central Line) and Barbican station (Circle, Hammersmith&city, Metropolitan Line).

Another tube station, Moorgate (Northern line) is slightly further from the apartment, approximately 10-15 minutes walk.

Please note our apartments are self-serviced. We do provide basic supplies as shower gel, shampoo, toilet paper, tablets for the diswasher and washing machine to make your stay easier when you arrive, however, once you run out of the supplies, you need to buy your own.

When you have completed your booking, your point of contact before arrival Klara will contact you with a booking form for you to complete so that we can arrange your arrival. After that we will monitor your arrival details, one of our meet and greet will await you at the property that you have booked with keys and a warm welcome. They will be more than happy to assist you with any transport questions or give you recommendations of great restaurants and attractions.

If you have any questions do not hesitate to call or e-mail Klara and she will get back to you as soon as she can.

More Details

Owner
Klara
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great location and nice clean, good sized flat with all the amenities one could want.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 17

Amenities

Farringdon Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Floor Area:
  • 861 sq. ft.
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • - toilet , shower
    - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 is a full bathroom with a bath. Bathroom 2 is an ensuite to the bedroom and has a shower and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • - 1 king
    - 1 double
    - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Good sized double bedrooms with ample storage. Up to 8 guests maximum, using 2 king-size beds, and up to 4 extra beds.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

48% Complete
31% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Luxury 2 bedroom Apartment St.Pauls - Two Bedroom Apartment, Sleeps 8
average rating of 4.1714287 based on 52 reviews
3

Great Location, not well maintained

  • 3 of 5

We chose this apartment for two reasons: location and amenities. The location did not disappoint. Steps from St. Pauls and the City. Steps from Smithfield and the Barbican. Easy access to the Tube and buses. A great area and easy to get around.

Amenities are a different story. The apartment advertises as sleeping eight. We arrived and were told that one of the two bathrooms had a leak and we might not be able to use the shower. Two families amounting to seven people using one shower? Fortunately, we were then given the go ahead to use the shower despite the leak. But we were also told the oven was not working, and we could only use the smaller convection/microwave. The pots and pans in the unit are worn out. The nonstick pans have no coating left and are a cleaning nightmare. Later that night we tried to use the washer/dryer. It filled with water, with much of our clothing in it, and then stopped. It was never fixed during our four night stay. Eventually (a couple of days later when it became clear it was never going to be fixed and after a couple of floods when we tried to figure out the problem), we had to bail the water out of the washer by hand and retrieve our sopping clothing and find a laundromat. The next morning we discovered neither the coffee maker nor the toaster worked (the toaster literally started to fall apart when we attempted to use it). In fairness, these were replaced later that same day. The en-suite bathroom has no towel bars. The shower has no soap dish or any place to put shower items. There is literally no place to hang up a wet towel in the bathroom or the attached room. Under the sink there is a cupboard door that is cracked and chipping that appears to have been damaged when many previous users were forced to hang their wet towels over this wood door. Finally, on day three, the shower head in the main bathroom detached and hit one of our group while he was showering. The sleeping arrangements are two actual beds (sleeping 4 total) and fold out couch (sleeps two) and two chairs that convert into single beds. The chairs are so uncomfortable to sleep on as to be virtually useless except for small children. The construction work around the apartment didn't bother us at all but it does bring a lot of dust into the flat if you open the windows, but not the owners fault obviously. Would just not call this a luxury apartment, it's fine, but not luxury.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice apartment in a good location

  • 4 of 5

Stayed for 7 nights family of four adults. The apartment was nice, beds comfortable, kitchen had everything we needed for our stay. Main bathroom shower a tight squeeze getting into. Very close to underground tube, many pubs and market a short walk. My only complaint is the dryer it dose not work well. Clothes take a very long time to dry. (Not owners fault). Donna very helpful on our arrival. Would stay again when in London.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joan, Thank you so much for your time and sharing an honest review. It was a pleasure to host you. You're more than welcome to stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Overall great apartment in a good location

  • 5 of 5

Leading up to our visit, communication was very good! Klara arranged a taxi service to and from Gatwick for us. Gatwick is about 1.5 hours away. Had we known, we would have flown into Heathrow. (I believe taxi service to/from Gatwick is 181 pounds.)

Taxi service to/from the airport was flawless!! A driver was waiting for us when we landed, and our driver picked us up right on time when the time came to head back to the airport. The only glitch was that the construction right next to the apartment threw our driver off for our initial trip from the airport. Donna met us, and we had a very short walk to the apartment. Donna was very sweet upon check in, and she showed us around the apartment. The day before we had to go back to the airport, I emailed Klara to be sure our driver would be able to find us to pick us up. She contacted the taxi service and gave them very specific directions, and all was good, as our driver found us!!

What I wish we would have asked for would be more specific directions on how to use the stove and the washer/dryer. They were a little tricky to operate, but we googled for manuals and figured it out! I read in previous reviews that the oven was broken. It's still broken! That didn't matter to us because we didn't need it, but it could present an issue if you're planning on using it.

In the listing, a fitness room is advertised. There is NO FITNESS ROOM!! You must go to a nearby gym to work out (for an additional fee). There are also no electrical outlets in the two bathrooms. We bought an extension cord, and that solved that little problem! Apparently it's the law in the U.K. that no outlets may be in bathrooms unless they are a certain distance from a tub/shower.

The first day we were there, it was very stuffy in the apartment. There's no a/c. We opened all the windows, and we were able to keep the apartment at a nice temperature for our stay. The patio door was tricky to lock, so open it at your own risk!

All in all, it was a very nice place to stay, and we would rent it again if we are ever back in the city! It accommodated our family of 5 very nicely!! It was only a few minutes (walking) to St. Paul's Cathedral, and close to a couple of different Underground lines, markets, and restaurants. The construction mainly occurred when we were out exploring the city, so it really didn't bother us! If you're looking to sleep during the day though, it would be too noisy, as it's literally right outside the windows!!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly, thank you for your time to share your honest review. We take any feedback seriously and are glad to hear that you overall had a great experience with us. We’ve been collaborating with the taxi company for years, therefore I’m pleased to hear you did not have any problems with them. With regards to the electrical appliances, you should have asked Donna. She would be more than happy to explain how to use them any further as it can be slightly different from what you’re used to in your country. I’m sorry you struggled to use them. Unfortunately, we’re still waiting for the manufacturer to replace the oven as it was a manufacturer problem, however, the microwave in the kitchen can be used as an oven as well, this I’m sure was explained by Donna upon arrival. Regarding the fitness room, unfortunately, you have misunderstood the description in the listing. It is advertised as an additional activity available to do when staying in our apartment but not a part of the building. I’m sorry about that. You’re correct with the outlets. For safety reasons you won’t find any outlet in the bathroom, only outlets for shavers as they’re on lower voltage. That is something we can’t do anything with. Yes, there is a special trick to close the patio door, but it’s not only in our apartment, it is a UK discovery I feel 😊 I’m sorry this has not been explained to you upon arrival. I’ve already informed our meet and greets to make sure that guests will be always explained how to close the patio door. Regarding A/C, you won't find A/C almost anywhere in UK hotels or apartments as there is no need. Considering the weather in the UK, summer comes to London usually for a week or two maximum. You were the lucky ones If the temperature reached 25 degrees or more. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We hope to hear from you If you’re back in London one day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado
4

Great London location for family

  • 4 of 5

Stayed with family of 5 (3 teens) for 4 nights. Great kitchen, washer/dryer. Enough room to sleep everyone comfortably. Quiet, safe location, quick walk to underground, grocery and restaurants. Construction noise during the day, but did not bother us as we were out being tourists all day.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Beth. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Do not hesitate to contact us If you'll come back to London one day. Warm regards, London Dream House team.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bothell, WA
3

Not exceptional!

  • 3 of 5

We were able to sleep and cook minor meals comfortably, however, the showers yielded water that was scalding at first and then lukewarm after that. The construction posed problems to car service in every case. All in all was a comfortable base for exploring London however was not particularly "luxurious".

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We take any negative feedback seriously and we have looked into the matter further. Unfortunately, the construction is something we can't really do anything with. Our taxi drivers are aware of the construction, therefore they know the way how to get there. I'm surprised to hear they struggled to find it. With regards to the showers, I'm so sorry to hear you were not happy with it. We had them fixed recently and since then I have not heard about it, therefore I assumed all is working fine. If I would know about it I'll send someone to fix it. I hope you still enjoyed your time in London. Warm regards. London Dream House
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location,close to tube stations, restaurants but the area around it is a construction zone

  • 3 of 5

Our stay didn't start well with Tatiana not being there, even when we phoned ahead - then she didn't answer her phone for 10 minutes after we got there. The showers are not good, there is no place to put the soap and the shower handle in the ensuite fell off and the pressure is a trickle, there were 2 half rolls of toilet paper for a week. The oven did not work and all the instruction manuals are in a draw with no order to them and the bench top has stains all over it. The road closures around this area make getting a car to pick you up a nightmare. The location is fantastic with 2 tube stations, on different lines, within a 5 minute walk and there are banks, Tesco Express, restaurants and pubs close bye as well

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Phil. Firstly thank you for your comments which we appreciate, we take any negative feedback seriously. I’m sorry to hear you had to wait for Tatiana. She was with other guests of ours who arrived earlier but they were held at the airport, therefore she had to wait for them. The reason why she did not pick up the phone was that she was driving to the apartment to meet you. Thank you for pointing out to the showers. No one never really mentioned the missing space for the soap. We’ll definitely consider something to place to the shower. Regarding the shower which fell off, I did not know about it, otherwise, I would send someone to fix it. Unfortunately, the road closure has been there for at least a year as they’re building a new block of flats, therefore we can't really do anything about it. The road work is on only during normal working hours from Mon to Fri and Saturday only 09am – 1pm. I hope you still did enjoy your time in London in spite of the issues you had to face in the apartment. Warm regards, London Dream House
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The property is ideally located for the City or St Barts with easy access to the West End and a short walk to SouthBank.

The property is ideally located just moments from a whole host of local amenities in addition to the fabulous Smithfield market, St Paul's Cathedral and the many surrounding fashionable bars and restaurants. The nearest underground stations are St Paul's (Central Line) and Farringdon, Barbican (Circle Line, Hammersmith & City line and Metropolitan line).

The City is 5 min walk, Bartholomew Close and the Law Courts nearby and the history of London's Roman ancestry all around. The Millenium Bridge walkway leads from St Paul's across the river.

St Pauls Cathedral: Located within 300m, the present St Paul's is the fifth cathedral to have stood on the site since 604, and was built between 1675 and 1710, after its predecessor was destroyed in the Great Fire of London. This was the first cathedral to be built after the English Reformation in the sixteenth century, when Henry VIII removed the Church of England from the jurisdiction of the Pope and the Crown took control of the Church's life.

Among the events marked at St Paul's are royal occasions. In 1897 Queen Victoria chose to commemorate her diamond jubilee here. More recently Queen Elizabeth II has celebrated her jubilees at St Paul's , and also her 80th birthday in 2006. Royal weddings have been held here as well: the marriage of Catherine of Aragon to Prince Arthur in 1501 and famously the wedding of HRH the Prince of Wales to Lady Diana Spencer in 1981.

Millenium Bridge from St Pauls to Tate Modern: The Millennium Bridge, officially known as the London Millennium Footbridge, is a steel suspension bridge for pedestrians crossing the River Thames in London, England, linking Bankside with the City. It is located between Southwark Bridge (downstream) and Blackfriars Railway Bridge (upstream). The bridge is owned and maintained by the Bridge House Estates, a charitable trust overseen by the City of London Corporation. Construction of the bridge began in 1998, with the opening on 10 June 2000.

The southern end of the bridge is near Globe Theatre, the Bankside Gallery and Tate Modern, the north end next to the City of London School below St Paul's Cathedral. The bridge alignment is such that a clear view of St Paul's south facade is presented from across the river, framed by the bridge supports.

The Barbican Centre : The Barbican Centre is the largest performing arts centre in Europe.[1] Located in the City of London, England, the Centre hosts classical and contemporary music concerts, theatre performances, film screenings and art exhibitions. It also houses a library, three restaurants, and a conservatory. The London Symphony Orchestra and the BBC Symphony Orchestra are based in the Barbican Centre's concert hall.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • PRICES FOR UP TO 2 GUESTS. Additional cost for extra guests

    FREE INTERNET - WIFI

    NO SMOKING

    Clean-out fee

    2.95% charge for credit cards & Paypal transactions

You might like these similar properties