check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Island's Most Elegant and Unique Gulf-Front Beach House!

1 Review
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights


Minimum Stay


Placida House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our Key West inspired beach house is called "Lee's Gulf to Bay Hideaway" which is located directly on the beach on a five acre site with 200 feet of water frontage on both the Gulf and the Bay. Dramatic views of spectacular sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico can be seen from almost every room. The total site size is 200 feet by 1089 feet which offers the privacy and serenity that Florida's world-famous beaches offered years ago before condominiums appeared on the scene.

Our private home is located right on the beach. It has been renovated in 2006: new furnace; air conditioning; kitchen with new appliances, cupboards, and granite countertops; ceramic tile shower; hardwood floors; wood circular staircase to the bedroom loft; "old Florida-style" screened porch; and additional outdoor beach shower. Furnished with new furniture throughout the entire house with one king-size bed and four twin beds. Satellite TV with 100 plus channels, CD, DVD, and VCR. All new mattresses, linens, pot and pans, dishes, etc.

There is a deep-water and shallow dock that can accommodate three or four boats for those who have their own boat. Shelling and snorkeling are superb and the water is shallow and safe for the smallest of visitors.

Keywords: Gulf-Front Beach House

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2007
Call Owner


1 traveler review

The Island's Most Elegant and Unique Gulf-Front Beach House!
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews

Stay away from Lee's gulf to bay! or any Tarpon Rental for that matter

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I went on a 3 night getaway and stayed here at Lee's, based on the pictures we thought we were in for a cute little Florida beach cottage hideaway, well it's away from the crowds but so is the entire island, which by the way is amazing, quite and beautiful we will definitely be back but would never stay at another tarpon rental services property. When we walked in we were greeted by a fridge that smelled of last weeks fish catch, we ended up using our cooler for all of our supplies, the week before they had a water leak in the downstairs part of the house, maintenance stopped the leak, unplugged the hot water heater and we ended up taking a warm outside shower (cuz the water in the pipes was still warm) one night then the next night at around 8 we each got to take cold showers with no washcloths I informed then of this and they apologized but that was it, sent us a couple hand towels instead of washcloths, thanks. The next morning I found the water tank not plugged in, again thanks. They were again apologetic, they had no idea who would unplug the water tank, um maybe maintenance. Aside from that the house was NOT CLEAN by any means, dirty dishes we had to preclean before using, fans to dusty to turn on, air vents with very visible mold, I have pictures of this, yuck. Couch cushions very stained, so much so that we put a comforter from the bedroom on it so we could sit, not sure it was much cleaner though. All outside furniture is kinda gross, I understand its the beach but for what they charge to rent this place buy some new cheap plastic chairs or something, I mean they have a table outside but not one descent chair to sit around it on. The previous renter was nice enough to pick her blue acrylic nails off on the deck and housekeeping clearly did not sweep or really clean anything for that matter as they stayed right where she picked em. If your still interested in this rental think of the dead scorpion I found under the fridge when I realized that we had no ice being made from the freezer and maintenance was there the day before fixing this! I guess they forgot to reconnect the WATER line when they were fixing it. I was also told they deep clean all of the properties once a year, That's it! Yuk! They had every opportunity to make it right, refund us something or maybe invite us back to another one of there rentals in the future for a couple nights on them, but so far nothing they took our Money and just said sorry, stay away!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback on our property. We would like to address some of the items listed. Our office contacted you 3 days prior to your arrival to let you know there was an issue with the plumbing, and offered to move your reservation to another property that was beach front. You decided you wanted to stay where you were reserved, so we did let you know the plumbing problem had been fixed, and also that we had purchased a new grill and blender for your stay. When you arrived and notified us about the smell in the refrigerator, we immediately contacted the housekeeper to see if she had noticed any smell, and also sent someone by the same day to check it out. We did verify it had been cleaned, and sent baking soda to help absorb some of the smell. The comments about the cleanliness we take very seriously, and offered to send someone back out to the house to make it right. Our policy is that if a house is not cleaned suitably, the housekeeper is sent back out on their own time to remedy anything that is wrong. It is true we do “deep cleans” once a year to prepare the properties for the very busy rental season, and they are cleaned in between each and every rental. This was the email we sent when we received the complaint about the cleanliness: “ I am so very sorry that the house is not up to par!! We do a deep clean on the properties once a year, generally in the Fall, to get them ready for the crazy busy rental season. However, we are in the midst of changing out housekeepers and want to know these sorts of things, because not only do we want our guests to be happy, but we want good, quality people cleaning them! With regard to the scorpion, housekeepers would not normally move a refrigerator - I am sorry that little guy was under there..... but can you elaborate on some of the general items that are not up to standard? We want to be sure and correct it, and certainly address it with the housekeeper that cleaned prior to your arrival. If you'd like us to send someone back out to clean, we would be happy to - please let us know.” You declined, saying that you didn’t want anyone in the house cleaning while you were at the beach. When you explained that it was extremely dusty, and that there were cobwebs, etc., we again sent you this email: “We sincerely appreciate the honest feedback! Some of those items are to be maintained regularly, and others are to be done for deep cleans. However, it is the housekeeper's job to alert us...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Placida House Rental Rates


  • $1800-$2150/wk - $6250-$7350/mo
  • US Dollars
  • 12/15/08 - 07/31/08 .. $2150/week.
  • 12/15/08 - 07/31/08 .............. $7350/month.
  • 08/01/08 - 12/14/08 .. $1800/week.
  • 08/01/08 - 12/14/08 .............. $6250/month.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Placida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) located in the master bedroom, Double Beds (2) located in the lower level with a private entrance., Twin or Single Beds (2) located in the loft area
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
The property has two private docks on Charlotte Harbor for tying up your boat and / or fishing. Three sided screened-in porch offers dramatic sunrise and sunset views over the ocean. Unique outdoor shower located just outside beach house. Private access to lower level bedroom and sitting area.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties