check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alison McDonnell

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin, Can translate via Google Translate

Family Friendly Quiet Apartments- beside Trogir/Split, close to all amenities - Catherina - Apartment First Floor with gorgeous Sea View of Adriatic

7 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Okrug Gornji Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Penthouses and Apartments in 4 star complex.Amazing Seaview, 4 minutes to beach

Top and second and first floor Apartments and Penthouses on the Island of Ciovo. South Facing. 15 minute drive from Split airport. 3 minutes walk to beach. The apartment has all mod cons, including CD player, Digital TV and DVD. Apartment has safe for your personal belongings. Large living/dining area with seating for 6 people, kitchen with microwave, full cooker, fridge freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. Fresh bed linen and towels supplied. The bedrooms feature blackout blinds so your room doesn't get too bright in the early morning. Two full bathrooms are featured at the penthouses and apartments at Mavarcica. The beach bar is 3 minutes away and caters hot food all day. The pool area looks onto the Adriatic. The UNESCO protected town of Trogir is just five minutes away by car. Trogir is a walled medieval town dating back 2,400 years.

Welcome Pack and Entertainment Area: The entertainment area consists of a DVD and CD player. We have Satellite TV at all the accommodations. A welcome pack is provided for guests to use to make you familiar with Ciovo/Trogir. The pack includes details on the area, sites to see and recommendations of many restaurants and bars in Trogir and Ciovo. Important telephone numbers are listed and the pack includes maps of the surrounding area. Also a wide selection of cd's are available to use throughout your stay. An extensive list of artists are included that we think you will enjoy. We also have a variety of games at each penthouse - poker chip and card set, chess board, draughts board and jenja. The CD collection includes a wide range of artists.

Tourist Attractions: Some of the tourist attractions include Krka National Park – 72 Km of the Krka river and lakes with its wonderful waterfalls. Approximately 45 minutes by car from the apartment heading towards Sibenik. And a must see. Trogir – Is a jewel of a walled town with a wide waterfront promenade that encloses a maze of medieval streets. Trogir is a mere 5 mins by car or water taxi. Places of interest include Cathedral of St Lovro and Church of St. John the Baptist. 15th century town hall opposite the cathedral with a gothic yard. Island Hopping – The Islands of Brac and Hvar are easily accessible from the apartment. Regular ferry’s connect from Split to the Islands. Why not have an overnight and enjoy the beaches and town centre.

Find us on Facebook: You can now find us on Facebook - to like our page search under 'Apartment Rentals Croatia' or 'Split Rentals'. You can find out more about Ciovo and the apartments. I aim to add as much information as I can over the next while. But with your help everyone will benefit from information you upload. Become a fan (by clicking on the 'become a fan' link in the right hand corner of the page) and you'll be kept updated. You can chat, get or give advice, upload your photos and generally talk about your experience. Don't forget to upload some of your favourite pictures of Croatia. The Owners Website link below will direct you to our website.

More Details

Details for Catherina - Apartment First Floor with gorgeous Sea View of Adriatic 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathrooms

Apartment Number 1 is a ground floor apartment with panoramic views of the Adriatic.The apartment is furnished to a high standard with all the luxuries of home. There is a pool at the premises and the beach is a short stroll from the apartment (300 metres). There is a safe provided to ensure peace of mind for any valuable documents or belongings. The kitchen area is kitted out with all you might need to cook lunch and evening meals. All the local produce is amazingly fresh and it can be lovely having meals out on the balcony overlooking the sea view. The apartment has one double and one twin room. You also have the benefit of having two full large bathrooms. There are blackout blinds in the bedrooms. The open plan living area is very airy and spacious. The living area has doors out onto the balcony. The block at Mavarcica has a four star rating from the Croatian Tourist Board and we feel you'll thoroughly enjoy your stay should you decide to book with us.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Alison McDonnell (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin, Can translate via Google Translate

About Alison McDonnell

I'm working and living in Dublin, Ireland, I work as a marketer and photographer - I love both and have studied for a masters in the two.

We fell in love with Croatia from the first moment we got there. I manage a number of blocks on the island and I really enjoy helping guests make plans. I'm always available for a call or you'll get me on email.

Alison McDonnell purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Alison McDonnell chose Ciovo

These properties are ideal for exploring the Split area of Croatia, minutes to a beautiful bay and all amenities are within a short walking distance. We've had almost 100 reviews written over the years with an average rating of 4.8 out of 5.

What makes this apartment unique

The views from the apartments are spectacular, waking up each morning to them is a delight. The 2400 year old medieval town of Trogir is on your doorstep and must be seen and explored.

A little tip.. You can find some secluded beaches to the back of the apartment block - they are breathtaking and quiet and picturesque.

Also you must check out Duga bay, just up the road.

Leonardos and Srdela are excellent restaurants - tell Luka in Leos and Roberto in Srdela that I sent you.

Guestbook comments from the manager

5 out of 5 Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2013 Date of Stay: Aug 2013



Nous avons beaucoup apprécié notre séjour de 15 jours en CROATIE!

La position centrale de l'appartement permet d'adresser, à grande proximité, les visites de Split et de Trogir, mais aussi celles de Zadar, Sibenik, Promosten, Dubrovnik ... Par ailleurs, la mer est délicieuse à cette saison et il y a plein de petites criques où l'on peut se baigner très facilement.

L'appartement est très, très, confortable et extrêmement propre : le fait qu'il soit au RdC ne pose aucun problème. Je recommande la location d'un véhicule dès l'aéroport pour faciliter les visites et la logisitique (courses!) car si le chemin est en pente descendante pour se baigner, il faut revenir :-) ! Bien-sûr beaucoup de touristes à cette saison et le trafic pour accéder à TROGIR (une seul pont) s'en ressent), mais le jeu en vaut la chandelle : je recommande sans réserve!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

4.6
based on 7 traveler reviews

Catherina - Apartment First Floor with gorgeous Sea View of Adriatic
average rating of 4.571429 based on 11 reviews
3

Nice stay

  • 3 of 5

Very nice apartment with a beutiful view of the sea! The location is good but bring your walking boots or a car because there is some distance to beaches and supermarkets. The great thing is that there is a resturant in the same building as the apartments wich makes it very convinient. The service from the staff was brilliant and they are super friendly!

Great stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manchester
4

Spacious quality apartment with beautiful sea view

  • 4 of 5

We are a family of 4 with two 17 year old girls. The apartment was clean well equipped and as described. There were lovely views to the sea from spacious balcony.

The area around the pool was rather small and the was no shade during the heat of the day. That said it was as described and it was nice to have the option of a quick dip on returning to the apartment at the end of the day.

There was a handy restaurant (Luigi's) attached to the apartment. The food was good and reasonably priced. There was a little noise from the music played at the restaurant which might not be to everyone taste but wasn't a problem to us.

There was a small beach within around 5 mins walk but we preferred the main beach in Okrug Gornji which was a 20 min down hill walk. From the beach at Okrug you can get the boat taxi to Trogir which was a beautiful town, with lots of shops, restaurants and bars, a great place to people watch. There were a couple of supermarkets within 10/15 mins walk which had

everything we needed. It your reasonably fit happy to walk you won't need a car but some clients may find the walk back from the beach or supermarket hard work.

Overall we had a great time and really enjoyed the beach and taking various boat trips. Alison was very helpful and flexible and provided all the information we needed. Getting to the apartment was really easy, just a £20 taxi ride.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review. Beside the pool area is the restaurant with lots of shade (umbrellas) if guests need it. The restaurant closes relatively early so the music (which is kept low) is turned off well before bed. The supermarket is approximately 10 minutes away. Some guests rent a car and others don't. It can be helpful when exploring or picking up shopping but if you don't mind a short stroll then we recommend no car. Though if you're planning to explore more of the area the best and cheapest way to do it is by car. Let me know if you need any help booking a rental car. We love to have our guests return and hope to see many of you in future for more exploration of the area. Thanks again - Alison x
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dublin
5

Back to Villa Mavarica, June 2013

  • 5 of 5

We came back to Ciovo for a second time in June 2013. The place has further developed with more Restaurants and Bars to choose from.

We really enjoyed our stay this time around, the apartment was perfect...comfortable, clean and spacious. It has everything you need and if not there is plenty of information provided should you need anything. The pool in the complex is perfect for a refreshing swim when it gets hot and its so convenient to have the apartment upstairs.

The restaurant downstairs from the apartment has a fantastic inexpensive menu and caters for all tastes young and old.

We definitely recommend people venture into Trogir in the evenings to soak up the atmosphere and enjoy a fab meal from the many restaurants in the old town.

Take the water taxi form Trogir, its the best way to get there!

I cannot recommend Ciovo and Villa Mavarcica enough for a holiday and i hope to get back there again this year!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely holiday

  • 5 of 5

Lovely modern apartment. Management very helpful, good supply linen towels etc.Had a wonderful time, it was a quiet time so was very relaxing, going to the beach bars and into the beautiful town of Trogir was delightful, the taxi boat was a nice experience as you got a lovely view of the island from the sea. We hope to visit again and would take this apartment.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our Holiday :)

  • 5 of 5

Alison, Thank you for a wonderful stay at your beautiful apartment! My three friends and I stayed at Penthouse Mavarcica in Ciovo for nine nights. The weather was perfect and the place was nothing short of exceptional. Our holiday stay in Alison's apartment left a memorable impression of a clean, airy and comfortable penthouse with breathtaking views of the Adriatic - pictures don't do it justice. The penthouse itself had everything we needed and had some added extras like cd's, games and books.

There are two full bathrooms comfortably large. Waking up each morning to a stunning view of the pristine and peaceful waters of the Adriatic was something I'll never forget. We enjoyed delicious meals at the local restaurants but also made a few of our own using fresh local produce. Ciovo is a delightful little island and so handy to get to as you don't have to get a ferry - just take a bus or walk from Trogir. Trogir is a real delight, with its narrow streets and walls - you really need to experience this ancient walled city. I was thrilled to recognise Trogir when I viewed a Dr. Who episode that was recently filmed there. This ancient walled city is surrounded by restaurants and cafes on the waterfront, very relaxing. Buses to Split and other places are very frequent.

We would love to come back!

Leigh

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
France
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5

The view from the penthouse balcony is stunning. Sunlight sparkling on the sea and islands like jewels in the distance. We spent a week as 2 couples and having a beahroom each was a real luxury. Living accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Split
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Villa Katarina
Nearest Ferry
300 Metres
Ciovo
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Split
Nearest Train
50 Metres
No train, bus is closest at 50 metres
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Split
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Villa Katarina
Nearest Ski
200 Kilometres
Dubrovnik
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Ciovo
Car: not necessary

The Island of Ciovo is attached by bridge to Trogir (Medieval Town over 2500 years old). Trogir is called a 'little Venice', a town-museum of the medieval heritage. Its history goes back to the Hellenic times when it was known as Tragurion. UNESCO recognized its values and included it in the registry of the world monument heritage. Mediterranean climate. Trogir is a jewel of a walled town with a wide waterfront promenade that encloses a maze of medieval streets. Summer Music festivals with classical and folk concerts in churches and open squares. Numerous market stalls for shopping. Places of interest include: Krka National Park - Wonderful waterfalls and lakes. Islands of Brac and Hvar both accessible from Ciovo. Shopping in Split. Visit the Diocletian's Palace in Split. Come in the high season of July and August and you’ll find Ciovo vibrant with life with holidaymakers from all over Europe. Enjoy the local beaches, sun and coffee shops; taste local cuisine and the great weather

Other Activities: Snorkeling, Diving - Croatia is divers delight, clear and calm waters

Photos

Rates & Availability

Okrug Gornji Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Summer
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$135
Fri,Sat,Sun
$661
 
 
Early Season
Nov 1 2016 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$157
$661
 
 
Summer Rate 1
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$157
$717
 
 
Summer Rate 2
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$179
$964
 
 
Summer Rate 3
Sep 2 2017 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$157
$661
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$135
$661
$1,569
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

€100 breakage and key deposit to be given on arrival, this will be returned to you at the end of your stay. 10am checkout 3pm check in

Traveling from the UK, Wizzair and Easyjet offer good deals; Traveling from Ireland, Croatia Tours and Concorde Travel offer flight only deals; Traveling from Europe, Czech Airlines offer deals as do British Airways

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Okrug Gornji Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 80 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Town
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • The bedrooms also feature lockers, lamps and wardrobes. The windows have blackout blinds. We have a cot available - please request this at time of booking.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please use balcony as smoking area if necessary. Thanks. A personal CD collection will be available for guests to use while staying in the apartment. A welcome pack is provided in each apartment with details on the area, sites to see and recommendations of many restaurants and bars in Trogir and Ciovo. Important telephone numbers are listed and the pack includes maps of the surrounding area.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties