check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Laurence Berdeaux

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Sea front, exceptional views, charming and design house, sleeps 5

29 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Port-en-Bessin-Huppain House Rental Photos and Description

Ideal to visit the landing beaches, Omaha Beach, Arromanches, Bayeux

The landlady of 'La Maison sur le Quai' welcomes you in 'Un Bateau sous mon Transat', old fishermen's house located directly on the sea front in Port-en-Bessin, Normandy, on the landing beaches. In this stylish gite with charm, design and exceptional sea views, you will enjoy the sea view through the windows, from your bed and even from the shower, and the coming and going of the boats at high tide. At low tide, you can lounge on the sand in the outer harbour, at the foot of the house. Complete renovation in 2011-12, antique furniture and antique sailors’ objects mix with raw materials. New equipment and high degree of comfort. Quiet location. 2 steps away, direct sale from anglers every morning, close to all shops and restaurants, parking in front of the house, free garage and parking nearby. Ideal for 2 couples or a family with up to 5 people: 2 bedrooms (1 double and 1 triple), office, 3 bathrooms, table football. No pets.

In Normandy, in the Calvados, in the heart of the landing beaches, 10 km away from Arromanches, Bayeux and Omaha Beach (American cemetery of Colleville-sur-Mer), in a traditional fishing harbour and marina, genuine and preserved. Port-en-Bessin is particularly known for its Scallop fishing. The Bessin is a very nice region with a great historical richness (Bayeux's tapestry and Cathedral, manor-farms, castles, gardens, abbeys, landing beaches and museums, etc.). Beautiful countryside landscapes and Norman marshlands. On both sides of Port-en-Bessin, the coast allows nice walks along its long sand beaches and seaside resorts from the beginning of the century. The cultural centre of Port-en-Bessin regularly organises visits: auction, boat workshops and semaphore. Many sports...including Omaha Beach golf course on site, hikes, coastal path walks, fishing, walks on the old rigging, etc. 1h30 from the Mont Saint Michel, We fall in love with Honfleur, Deauville, Pays d'Auge, the Cotentin...

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Laurence Berdeaux (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Reviews

5
based on 29 traveler reviews

Sea front, exceptional views, charming and design house, sleeps 5
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful holiday! Port en Bessin is beautiful! We did not want to leave - the accommodations were terrific and we loved the location. Laurence set us up with everything we needed - she is lovely. The people we met there were friendly and helpful, as well. We are planning to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week in this perfect house

  • 5 of 5

Our stay Un Bateau Sous Mon Transat was perfection in every way. Laurence greeted us with fluent English and so kindly gave us wonderful insider information on local restaurants and bakeries. Words just can't describe how perfect this house is. Very clean and adorably decorated. I felt so at home one day I didn't leave the house! (ok, it was raining but still) Everything was just so perfect, perfect perfect!! We will be back in two years...don't change a thing. Thank you Laurence.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great Place - Great Views

  • 5 of 5

We spent two wonderful weeks last June at un Bateau sous Mon Transat. The apartment manageress, Mme. Berdeaux, gave us a warm, enthusiastic welcome in fluent English as she told us about the local places of interest and the features of the apartment.

Judging from the extensive cooking paraphernalia in the kitchen, I suspect she is a fellow foodie like us. In fact, when I asked which bakery in the area had the best croissant, she told us about this "secret, secret patisserie" in Bayeux which we were not allowed to tell anyone about. We never made it to the "secret, secret patisserie" because every time we drove there, we stopped at other markets and bakeries on the way, and as a result, we were too full to try the "secret, secret croissant." Maybe next time.

Mme. Berdeaux took care of any problems we had right away. For example, the TV menus kept appearing in Russian, and none of us could navigate to the English or French menus, so she got someone in to fix the problem. Also, the cover on the ironing board was torn, and she brought us a new one the next day. In general, the place was very clean and well-maintained. We especially appreciated the spotless washer and dryer and long kitchen table which was perfect for entertaining our friends.

If you decide to stay at un Bateau sous Mon Transat, be sure to take long, slow, romantic walks along the coast or on the breakwater. Before you go to bed at night, take time to enjoy the calming views of the orange ocean sunset visible from the upper floors of the apartment, and above all, see if you can get Mme. Berdeaux to tell you the location of the "secret, secret patisserie."

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Portland, Maine
5

This house, location, and hostess are exceptional in every way.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at 'Un Bateau' was wonderful. We, two American couples, all agree that our stay here in Port-en-Bessin was the highlight of our two weeks in France. It was ideal in every way: the location in such a picturesque and friendly town, the ocean, the fishing fleet and fish market, the street market, the shops, the Normandie coast, beaches, WWII history. What made our stay particularly memorable though was, specifically, this gite. The tasteful renovation and incredible attention to every detail was noticable wherever one looked. The owner's knack is to retain the old and incorporate the new using high quality craftsmanship in every phase: construction, appliances, fabrics, antique furnishings, decorative items, lighting. Her dedication to making it comfortable, beautiful, and charming was clear. Her design aesthetic was obvious and we thoroughly appreciated marvelling at it. It is fully equipped with high quality modern conveniences. The bathrooms are amazing. Although we were not travelling with children, we noticed that she has provided a play room with a supply of pails and shovels for the beach, games, and even a little row of rubber boots in varying sizes. I don't think it is possible to over emphasize the quality of this place.

Then, of course, there was Laurence, herself. She made everything so easy and was so very warm and hospitable. Quite simply, a lovely lady. It was a genuine pleasure to make her acquaintance and we hope to go back some day.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A great location for exploring the D-Day beaches.

  • 5 of 5

A very nice property, and the second house I have rented in Normandy (and I don't speak any French). This is a good choice for Americans as the owner Laurence speaks english, and she can help you out with a phone call or two. You have plenty of restaurants nearby and Laurence will recommend her favorites (or check Trip Advisor). Bayeux is also close by if you want to take a cab in for dinner (I recommend La Rappiere!) The kitchen in the house is well appointed, so you will have no problem if you want to eat in. The house has wifi too, I didn't watch any TV but it is there. There are markets within walking distance, and a couple of wine shops. I would say the house is good for a couple, or a couple with one to three teens. Oh, there is no door to the master bathroom, not a real problem though. There are 3 bathrooms total. Oh, ask about the hot water. You have to flip a breaker for hot water in the afternoon (easy to do). There is an energy saver built in, so you have to over ride it. The property is spotless and updated, so it is very nice. I highly recommend to fellow Americans, and it isn't far from Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery. I would recommend a private tour guide for exploring the beaches (whether one day or 5 days if you are going all week). Laurence leaves a lot of good info for you, so you will have plenty of info. We had a great time staying for the 70th anniversary of D-Day, thanks Laurence!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cbhicago, IL USA
5

Perfect In Every Way!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four had a FANTASTIC stay! The home is charming, and provides the perfect location for visiting the Normandy Beaches, Mont St. Michel, Bayeux, and the Pays d'Auge region. Also, Port-en-Bessin is a great place to explore with quaint restaurants, friendly people and harbor views (from almost every window in the home). Laurence is a joy to work with and even went out of her way to help us get a dinner reservation at her favorite restaurant that was completely booked for the evening. We have traveled all over the world, always renting homes, and this home is one our new favorites. Thanks, Laurence!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Carn-Carpiquet
Nearest Ferry
40 Kilometres
Ouistreham
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Bayeux
Nearest Motorway
40 Kilometres
Caen
Car: not necessary

Omaha Beach, Gold beach, D Day beaches, Charming gite in front of the sea in Normandy, Landing beaches, Sea shore, fisherman's house, rental in Port en Bessin, Un Bateau sous mon Transat (a boat under my deck chair), fishermen's house with sea view, sea view rental in Normandy, design gite in Normandy, landing beaches

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port-en-Bessin-Huppain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sept 2016
Aug 28 2016 - Oct 1 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 
 
Oct 2016
Oct 2 2016 - Oct 15 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,337
 
 
Vac TOussaint 2016
Oct 16 2016 - Nov 5 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 
 
PONT 11 NOV
Nov 10 2016 - Nov 13 2016
3 night minimum stay
$281
 
 
Basse saison
Nov 14 2016 - Dec 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Noel 2016
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 
 
Basse saison
Jan 8 2017 - Feb 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Vac Hiver 2017
Feb 5 2017 - Mar 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,337
 
 
Basse saison
Mar 5 2017 - Apr 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,113
 
 
Printemps 2017
Apr 2 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 
 
Été 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Aug 26 2017
14 night minimum stay
$1,967
 
 
Sept 2017
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 
 
Oct 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,337
 
 
Toussaint 2017
Oct 15 2017 - Nov 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 
 
Basse saison
Nov 6 2017 - Dec 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Noel 2017
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,517
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

- Les Forfaits 2016 sont tout compris sur base maximale de 5 PERSONNES occupant 2 chambres : forfait ménage de fin de séjour, les charges (eau, électricité, chauffage, wifi) et le linge de maison (draps, serviettes de toilette de marque, torchons) hors taxe de séjour. Lits prêts à votre arrivée. Des produits de première nécessité sont à votre disposition pour vous dépanner à l'arrivée (huile, vinaigre, sucre, sel, th

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Port-en-Bessin-Huppain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 120 m²
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , On the ground floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Exceptional sea view
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , Yesteryear charm, sea view through Velux
  • Un Bateau sous mon Transat boasts 3 bathrooms or shower rooms and toilets, each of them entirely tiled with a stylish and design charm, in mosaic or in earthenware (style subway), hand basins and brand plumbing fixtures with an uncluttered design et with a yesteryear charm. Shower room 1 is en-suite and open on bedroom 1 (master). This contemporary sober area with grey shades is totally facing the sea with a beautiful view of the outer harbour, the sea and the horizon. Walk-in shower. Bathroom 2 is en-suite to bedroom 2 with a nostalgic style. Ancient hotel washbasin, freestanding tub and yesteryear charm plumbing fixtures. Panelling ceiling, white earthenware walls (subway style) and grey mosaic floor for a family house spirit of the beginning of the century. View of the sea and the harbour entrance from the Velux. Shower room 3 is en suite to the ground floor room (bedroom or office), a simple and contemporary space with white earthenware and black mosaic floor. Walk-in shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Exceptional sea view
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Sea view from Velux, Baby cot available upon request
  • Un Bateau sous mon Transat is perfect for 2-5 people. Beddings are new, duvets and sheets provided. The beds are made upon your arrival. Cot. 2 bedrooms with bathroom Bedroom 1 (2 people): master bedroom with walk-in shower and spectacular view of sea, outer harbour and horizon from the bed and the shower. High ceiling. 160 x 200 king size bed. Bedroom 2 (3 people) : for 1 couple, or 2 adults and 1 child, or 3 persons, with 3 beds (90 x 190) and enclosed bathroom with bathtub and wash basin with yesteryear charm. 2 of the beds can be joined to form a large 180 x 190 bed. Sea view through Velux.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • thalassotherapy
  • walking
  • water sports
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
On the ground floor (courtyard side), you will find an independent room which serves as game room with bar table football and games for children (books, toys, etc.). Beach toys available (prawn net, spades and pails, etc.), garden furniture and deckchairs. Laundry room with washing machine, large capacity tumble dryer and sink. There, you can store bicycles, hiking shoes, golf material, etc. Baby equipment upon request (baby cot, high chair, baby phone...) if available upon booking. By day, a small part of the courtyard shared with the neighbours and south oriented is for you to put a small garden table or deck chairs, for a little moment under the sun, listening to the seagulls and the soft sound of the waves on the hold.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties