check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Michaela Tulip-Mills

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury Country House, stunning pool & grounds, 5 mins walk from town - Casa Laranjeira - Monte da Quinta (3 bedrooms)

14 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Castro Verde Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

Self catering rental Alentejo, Portugal. Stunning views and traditional cuisine.

We aim to provide a very high standard of country living and comfort with traditional architecture and modern facilities. Monte da Quinta sets a high standard and has been approved and officially licensed by the Ministry of Tourism of Portugal, Classification CASA de CAMPO No. 1/2006

This unique retreat comprises of two country houses which are beautifully furnished to a high standard, set in 5 hectares of private estate land. A large natural salt water swimming pool and children’s play pool (no chlorine or chemicals). Just on the edge of Castro Verde we have the advantage of the tranquillity and beauty of this fantastic landscape, plus all the facilities of the town.

Within 10 minutes walking, or 2 minutes in the car, we have several excellent RESTAURANTS, CAFES, SHOPS and SUPERMARKETS, Festivals and Markets throughout the year.

Eating out locally is extremely good value for money. Typically a two course lunch time “meal of the day” “Prato da Dia” including: bread, olives, a beverage and coffee costs 7.50 euros per person. A two course evening meal including: bread, olives, a good bottle of wine and coffee, costs between 40 – 50 euros for two persons. A coffee or tea and locally made pastry from one of our many coffee shops costs just 2 euros.

Located within 45 minutes easy reach of the West coast and the Algarve.

WHAT MAKES US DIFFERENT:

Traditional restaurants with live music, bars & cafes within walking distance & a choice of 3 large supermarkets within a 2 minute drive. Local outdoor tennis courts & indoor public swimming pool within a 2 minute drive. Local quad biking, horse riding, ballooning, archery, paintball, vineyard tour with lunch, off roading, skippered river cruises. We can offer a range of Holistic Treatments.

Our GUEST HAMPER includes local produce, cheese & wine & initial sundries provided, liquid soap, toilet rolls & bin liners.

Pre-order a bottle of CHAMPAGNE on ice.

A comprehensive GUEST GUIDE to the region & local restaurants. Buckets, spades & sun shades for the beach.

A LOCAL WEATHER FORECAST for your stay.

We hire TENNIS rackets for the local courts and BEACH TOWELS and a COOL BOX for the beach.

FRESH FARM PRODUCE, eggs, oranges, local honey, homemade preserves, olive oil & small souvenirs, gifts & our postcards.

FARM ANIMALS include: Shetland ponies, pygmy goats, Alentejo pigs, various poultry. A boules pitch & two guest bicycles. A local cinema, theatre & night club.

We have RECYCLING facilities.

OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES:

Working with a preferred partner we are able to offer the following outdoor activities at a very special rate. Monte da Quinta will handle the booking for you and make all the necessary arrangements.

VINEYARD TOURS (lunch optional), QUAD BIKING, HOT AIR BALLOONING, ARCHERY, HORSE RIDING.

Various activities are available from Monday to Friday throughout the year. Please consider the Alentejo climate, some may be more appropriate than others depending on the time of year.

BIRD WATCHING PARADISE the perfect location for twitchers, our guests have listed some of the birds spotted at Monte da Quinta on within 10 kilometres such as: Lesser Kestrel, Red and Black Kite, Great and Little Bustard, Black Bellied Sandgrove, Corn Bunting, Eagles, Bee Eater, Egret, Storks, Marsh Harrier, Montago Harrier, Cuckoo, Strikes. resident Little Owls and we have a Nightingale for several weeks of the year.

REST ASSURED: Our farmhouses are maintained to a very high standard of cleanliness and are inspected on a weekly basis. Our holiday houses were restored to strict guidelines set by the Ministry of Tourism Portugal. These include: mains drainage, mains electric, solar water heaters, no gas appliances and our pool water is regularly tested.

All rooms have smoke alarms these are connected to a central alarm system. Fire panic buttons and emergency exit signs. Kitchens are fitted with extinguishers and fire blankets. As a registered business we are licensed operators for Rural Tourism and insured for public liability. We provide a basic first aid kit in each house and we are regularly inspected for health and safety. We are on site to assist, manage and maintain our standards 'Our reputation along with your recommendation is our future'.

More Details

Details for Casa Laranjeira - Monte da Quinta (3 bedrooms) 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 3 Bathrooms

This country house is furnished to a high standard. A large comfortable lounge & dining area, complete with Wi-Fi internet access, flat screen TV, satellite, DVD player & a iPod dock. DVD's, books & board games. A large well equipped kitchen with granite worktops, a hob, oven, microwave, large fridge/freezer, dish washer, kettle, toaster, coffee machine, electric juicer, iron & ironing board.

All three bedrooms have en suite facilities, walk-in showers, WC, hand basin. Large doors open from the lounge onto a large private covered dining terrace, with cane furniture & lounger's & southerly views for miles over the unspoilt plains.

For extra comfort this house has under floor heating for low season. Oringinal dry stone walls keep the house cool & we provide cooling fans for high season. The house is finished with traditional white washed walls & beautiful brick arches. Single storey with terracotta floors throughout, shuttered windows, vaulted beamed ceilings & a fireplac

Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Michaela Tulip-Mills (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Michaela Tulip-Mills

Having bought Monte da Quinta in the summer of 2002 with the intention of it becoming our holiday retreat, we found it increasingly hard to return from visits to the hustle and bustle of the UK. With much planning and determination, finally in the summer of 2005, we moved to Portugal.

Michaela Tulip-Mills purchased this chateau / country house in 2002

Why Michaela Tulip-Mills chose Beja region

Project managing the build and restoration of the farmhouses, we took inspiration from some of the fantastic accommodation we had stayed at within Europe. With our love for all things rustic, traditional and the ambience of the Casa de Campo “House of the Country” life style, Monte da Quinta started to evolve.

We wanted to maintain the traditions and farming practises that had taken place at Monte da Quinta for many generations. With little knowledge of our own, we enlisted the help of a former employee of the farm. Despite our initial lack of the Portuguese language, his patience with us and dedication to the land and the animals has helped us to keep farm blooming.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Monte da Quinta combines modern facilities and traditional architecture with an even balance between rural tourism, farming and a unique way of life. Centrally located within the lower Alentejo region with easier access to the Algarve and the western coast line.

With our continuing success, we have settled into the landscape and lives of the local people very nicely. Thanks to the fantastic support and recommendations from many of our returning guests, we now have a viable business with visitors from all over the world.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Weve had a really lovely holiday, with everything we might possibly of wanted was provided. especially appreciated all the children's things, buckets and spades, books, games and movies. The little ones are so obviously welcome. Our 1st family holiday, many happy memories and Ella learnt to swim. xx
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

5
based on 14 traveler reviews

Casa Laranjeira - Monte da Quinta (3 bedrooms)
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
5

The best relaxing holiday ever

  • 5 of 5

6th return I think. As always it was a time to remember with friends. Great company, fun times and no better place to spend it. We love it year after year we return

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning Place relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

Beleive this was my fourth visit stretching back until 2011. The farmhouse is an amazing place to stay, spotlessly clean, amazing and useful "welcome back" pack on arrival, swam in the Pool everyday, enjoyed feeding the goats and pigs. Also a good place to explore from, this year we went to Evora, toured a local vineyard and did some quad biking at another one. Our wonderful hosts could not have been more helpful. With two properties there only we often had the pool to ourselves. The setting is stunning.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing family holiday!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Nigel, Michaela and Bradley for a truly wonderful holiday, your are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. All 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your luxurious 3 bedroomed cottage. We came home feeling very relaxed and united as a family again. I have recommended your cottages to our friends and family as the location is perfect. We loved the surrounding views, farm animals and of course the swimming pool and hammock. The location was superb we liked the flexibility of being able to walk into the local town and being able to have the easy drive and choice of travelling to the Algarve or the West coast - what more can a family ask for. We will be back x

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful holiday in lovely surroundings

  • 5 of 5

We arrived late at night with a small baby. It was wonderful to be greeted by Michaela and Nigel, and food !!.

Despite some rain, we were on the terrace every day from 7 when the baby woke up, to 10pm when we flaked out. The house had all the equipment we needed. The pool was a bit cold for the baby, but lovely for us. We had barbecues, ate well, and relaxed thoroughly. Highly recommended!!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to welcome you to Monte da Quinta and to have three generations of your family stay for a week. I am glad you all had time to relax and enjoy the alfresco life style. Hope to see you all again. Many thanks for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning 5th visit and still can't wait to go back

  • 5 of 5

This is our fifth visit to the farmhouse and we have now stayed here with different family members who are all in agreement with us that the location is stunning, the farmhouses are immaculate with all mod cons but keeping the traditional style. Michaela, Nigel and Brads are so welcoming and can't do enough for you and the town is quaint and has some excellent restaurants all within walking distance. Can't wait to come back and relax again

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fabulous to see you all again and welcome you all back to Monte da Quinta for the 5th time. We are so glad you chose to spend a very special birthday here with bubbles and balloons. Ate breve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5

This villa is amazing with everything you could possible need and more. This villa is set in an amazing location with fantastic views and only a short drive from the Algarve. The town is a short walk away and has many lovely restaurants, bars and two large supermarkets.the property was extremely clean and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was extremely well stocked with every gadget, utensil you could possibly need and plenty of glassware, crockery and cutlery. The bedrooms were very comfortable with fantastic ensuite facilities with plenty of hot water all day long. Outside areas are beautiful, great pool, comfortable sun loungers, and lots of outside seating including hammocks. A highlight was feeding the animals and walking around the grounds which are stunning. The owners Michaela and Nigel could not have been more friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to do and where to go, providing us with exceptional customer service. We have already re booked our stay for next year and will be recommending to everyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted that you have rebooked for the same time next year. We are very proud of the percentage of returning guests to Monte da Quinta, Happy guests makes us very happy owners. See you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Villa Italia - Restaurante & Wine Bar
Verde Market
O Celeiro
A Cavalarica
HERDADE DOS GROUS LDA.
Herdade da Malhadinha Nova - Country House & Spa
Novo Coimbra
Nearest Airport
90 Kilometres
Faro Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.02 Kilometres
Within walking distance (Castro Verde)
Nearest Golf
50 Kilometres
Nearest Train
15 Kilometres
Garvao
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
IP1 / A2
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
Within walking distance (Castro Verde)
Nearest Beach
50 Kilometres
Milfontes
Car: necessary

With its stunning views over the open countryside and just minutes to walk into the centre of Castro Verde the small farm Monte da Quinta with its country houses and private pool is ideally situated.

Discovering the coastlines and the historic towns is easy from this central location within the lower Alentejo region.

Rugged un-spoilt beaches along the west coast are within an hour and offer much to explore, water sports and the walking the rota vicentina coastal paths. Enjoy the fabulous fresh seafood grilled to order and sample the wines of the region. The Algarve is just 45 minutes away offering more glorious beaches, golf and aqua parks for the children.

Local activities include: vineyard tours, wine tasting and dinner, jeep safaris, motor quading and spa days. Stepped in history it is possible to visit historic towns and sites such as Lisbon, Evora, Mertola and Marvao

Delicious traditional cuisine with fantastic regional wines at incredibly low prices. We will recommend local restaurants and all importantly those that you can walk to.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Castro Verde Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$147
$1,026
 
 
Mid season
Mar 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$147
$1,026
 
 
High Season
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,237
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Tax Rate 6.0%

RATE INCLUDES:

COTS, HIGH CHAIRS and BED GUARDS

GUEST WELCOME HAMPER

INITIAL SUNDRIES

100% COTTON LINEN and TOWELS

WEEKLY HOUSEKEEPING

FOR YOUR COMFORT - Under Floor Heating (Low season), Cooling Fans (High season), Mains Water & Electric.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Castro Verde Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 175 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , bidet
  • All bathrooms are tiled with large tiled walk-in showers. An underfloor heating for the winter months. Hot water provided by a solar system.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib , en suite with large walk-in shower
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , en suite with large walk-in shower
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , en suite with large walk-in shower
  • All three bedrooms have en suite facilities, walk-in showers, WC, hand basin. Master bedroom - has an alarm clock, hairdryer, european plug and a night light provided. Twin bedroom - has an alarm clock and night light provided. Large Bunk bedroom - has a night light provided. We provide fresh 100% cotton linen, towels and pool towels are replaced mid week. Our bedrooms have shuttered windows, cooling fans for the summer months and underfloor heating for the winter months.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeping
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Guest Hamper A guest welcome hamper awaits you, it includes: bottled water, local wine, cheese & bread. Our honey, homemade preserves and pastries, our fresh farm eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice from our grove. Milk, butter, pate, tea, coffee & sugar. Initial sundries: terrace candles, liquid soap, toilet rolls, bin liners, & washing up liquid. We offer a pre-ordered savoury supper. Special Occassions We can provide any of the following: champagne on ice, handmade chocolates, a bouquet of flowers. We will also recommend the best fine dining in the area, book a taxi, or help you arrange a special activity day. For the Children We provide a variety of DVD's as well as free-view sat TV channels. The houses have books, board games, pens, paper and puzzles. Night lights are provided. Buckets, spades, sun shades and boules sets for the beach. Local festivals throughout the year, local cuisine and historical sites. Within an hour of the beach and nearest international airport.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties