check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Listed stone cottages

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Bibury Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Early 18th century stone cottages

Two Listed 18th century (1703) stones cottages located in The Square near The Bibury Court, which is famous for its link to Queen Elizabeth I. The cottages have been sympathetically restored to the highest standard by architect and interior designer. The interiors feature modern facilities such as WiFi, modern kitchens and bathrooms.

Each cottage has two double bedrooms that sleep 4 people & have been furnished with a mixture of antique furniture, which is in keeping with the traditional interior. The original wooden beams are exposed and new stone floors installed with original fireplaces, creating a comfortable modern home maintaining the historical beauty of the period property.

Cottage Number 27: This cottage has a master double bedroom and a double bedroom that sleeps 4. There is extra bedding for sleeping another person on the sitting room's large sofa. We also have a double blow up mattress

Cottage Number 28: This cottage has two double bedrooms to sleep 4 people.

Extra single mattress and bedding can be provided upon request. A charge of £50 will be required for extra bedding & cleaning.

There is a travel cot for family use.

Pubs & watering holes within walking distance:

Bibury has two pubs the Swan Hotel, near the bridge on the corner and the Catherine Wheel up the hill from the bridge on the left. You can always go to the Bibury Court, walk down the gravel path in front of No 30 turn right and walk down to the Bibury Court. Tea in the garden or in the drawing room is nice way to spend an afternoon. They are very welcoming and nice people don’t be put off by the grand entrance it is a nice place.

You can always drive to a pub:

• Sherborn Arms Aldsworth, up the hill out of Bibury towards Burford, the next village is Aldsworth and the pub is on the left just as you seem to be leaving the village. (Good no nonsense pub grub)

• Village Pub Barnsley, up the hill out of Bibury towards Cirencester, the next village is Barnsley and the pub is on the right. (Nice place a bit Gastro and good)

• Fairford has 5 pubs, restaurant Alum, shops and the fantastic church, the river Coln runs through Fairford. There is a nice walk along the river Coln in Fairford, go to the right of restaurant Alum then right again down River Walk and follow your nose.

• The Fox at Barrington is a great pub on the river windrush just off the A40 about 15 mins away, mention my name you might get mates rate’s?

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Julian Hunt
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2016
Call Manager

About Julian Hunt

We are a husband and wife team- architects and interior designer.

We are interest in character buildings which we would renovate and modernised. Our collection of furniture and artwork are based on the beauty of each individual pieces.

Why Julian Hunt chose Cotswold

Bibury was described by William Morris as the most beautiful village in England and in one of my cottages you will be in a private part of Bibury away from the tourists but close to the heart and a 3 minute walk from the centre with lovely walks close by.

Both my cottages are designed and built to the highest specifications with all the facilities. You will be renting what has been described as “one of the most fantastically put together old places with feeling I have had the pleasure of staying in”

Parking is easy and private for you as a resident a 1 minute walk from your cottage.

We also have a number of fine restaurants within a short drive and some within walking distance.


based on 15 traveler reviews

Listed stone cottages
average rating of 3.0 based on 15 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Not only did Julian provide us with two amazing cottages that were exactly what I had envisioned; but also a great service with a full description of how everything in the cottage works and the local area around us. The cottages authenticity provided a relaxing atmosphere for my family as we sat next to the fireplace all night enjoying the warmth and cosiness of the house. The property was clean and well maintained and the listing description was accurate in regards to the cottage and location. I would fully recommend this to anyone/any family that would like to have a relaxing and peaceful weekend away!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased you enjoyed my cottage and you will be welcome back any time. Ask any actor or performer what reviews mean to them, both good and bad. And the answer will be to take note of each one for its merit and distinctive flavour. There is both positive and negative in the mix. So the same with luke warm reviews from places we stay at, or restaurants that haven’t delivered what our expectation warranted. As a custodian of two fine cottages in a very picturesque setting of historical and English heritage, I make a commitment to you my clients to upgrade my service and grant you an enjoyable holiday experience that you will cherish as a fond memory.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very pretty cottage in a very pretty village. Milk ,bread and chocolates where a very welcome touch.

  • 5 of 5

Very pleased with the cottage, clean and everything was thought of. It was well situated for us as we were attending a local wedding.Would definitely book it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Traveller We are so please you liked my cottage and the area. Come back anytime. Best Julian Ask any actor or performer what reviews mean to them, both good and bad. And the answer will be to take note of each one for its merit and distinctive flavour. There is both positive and negative in the mix. So the same with luke warm reviews from places we stay at, or restaurants that haven’t delivered what our expectation warranted. As a custodian of two fine cottages in a very picturesque setting of historical and English heritage, I make a commitment to you my clients to upgrade my service and grant you an enjoyable holiday experience that you will cherish as a fond memory. Julian hunt. Please make note of the review books displayed in both cottages and give your valued opinions and ideas which can only profit all of us. Thank You. Julian Hunt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Lovely Stay

  • 5 of 5

I can highly recommend cottage 28. It’s a glorious spot and needs investigating further. With reference to unfortunate reviews the cottage is equipped with clean cotton sheets and a charming ambiance. An ideal weekend retreat. I found the owner charming and professional. I can see there have been blips in the past but he seems to have everything under control. I had the most wonderful stay and as a writer, it was peaceful and very quiet.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had a fantastic stay and please come again. Best Julian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 7


  • 1 of 5

Beautiful cottage......or so I would presume if we had got to stay in it !!

We booked this property for a three night stay for my partners 50th.

Myself, my partner and our 3 year old dog travelled up as planned. Journey took us around 4 hours, so were thrilled to finally arrive, not so thrilled when we discovered it had been DOUBLE BOOKED !!

When booking the property , two weeks in advance, the owner suggested that we book and pay direct with him as it would be cheaper and save the cost of commission for both parties that the website company charges. We paid the full price in good faith and trust direct to him.

After making payment, we had to chase the owner for confirmation of the booking and key code, information etc... NOT VERY PROFFESIONAL !!

On arrival we contacted the owner to query why the property had been double booked and why that he failed to inform us .

Alternative accommodation was offered to us by the owner. The property offered to us was obviously privately lived in.....I can only say the resident was not fond of cleaning or washing items of clothing as they were dirty all over the floor. We declined the offer to stay there and asked for our money back and made a very disappointed journey home.

We asked for our money back as the error clearly was not on our behalf, the owner did not offer to do that there and then. After sending several messages...all of which were ignored, we finally had our money refunded 5 days later !!!

I would suggest that the owners prefers to dedicated his time and effort into other areas of his life , and not his holiday rental business.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 2

Fantastic and we will be comeing back very soon.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the entire time and want to keep the cottage for ourselves.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 14

We expected clean & cosy.Reality FILTHY with leaks

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately the property was filthy and did not appear to have been cleaned. There was a tissue in the beams of the top bedroom, hair and dust in the corners of rooms and stairs, dead spiders and the upstairs sheets were stained. Water started coming through the ceiling on Christmas eve and by the time we left we had 3 pots on the floor filling up. While I understand leaks occur, the is no excuse for the standard of cleanliness. We got a text from the owner on Saturday, asking when we were leaving as he'd like come in earlier than 11am to look at the leak, yet we were booked into Sunday! We returned to the cottage an hour later to find the keys in the door and the door open. I've tried to contact the owner 4 times now and had no response. An expensive and very disappointing Christmas which should have been idyllic! The property has the potential to be a haven for visitors, if cleaned and maintained.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the Christmas bad review we were unaware of extent of the leak and water damage. Being the Christmas period we could not obtain the correct fitting. It is a terrible fact that an idyllic setting was spoiled and what should have been an enjoyable experience was marred by these events. As far as the housekeeper is concerned she has taken full responsibility for the wrong date coming in to clean / changeover and leaving keys in door which was apologised profusely for. As to the cleanliness factor the spider’s webs crop up as soon as you’ve located them and vacuumed. It was an embarrassment to me that they felt the cottage was not cleaned to a high standard. All bed linen is cleaned and ironed as I personally feel crisp sheets are a delight. Profuse apologies to the family concerned. Not one of our proudest moments. We have taken steps to ensure this does not occur again. Both cottages have a personal review book and we enjoy the insightful comments and generally very positive experiences of our guests who often return and recommend friends and families. Sometimes in life certain events overtake us. We can only ask your pardon and ensure a new improved quality of service for the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
23 1


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Car: recommended

Bibury is situated in the Gloucestershire Cotswolds on the River Coln 9 miles from Burford.

The village was once described by William Morris as 'the most beautiful village in the Cotswolds'.

The village centre clusters around a square near St. Mary's, a Saxon church and Bibury Court Hotel. One of the village's main tourist spots and overlooking a water meadow and the river is Arlington Row, a group of ancient cottages with steeply pitched roofs dating back to the 16th Century, has provided the backdrop for films including Stardust and Bridget Jones's Diary.


Bibury Trout Farm, Bibury Court, Arlington Mill Museum.


Rates & Availability

Bibury Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0

Depending on what country you book from will determin the extra % rate.
This will vary from 1.4% - 2.4% if you book useing the payments facility.
We have a cleaning and laundry charge of £40 GBP

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bibury Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Towels are provided
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedrooms are with large Queen double bed, sofa in sitting room can sleep one. All towels and bedding is provided. An air bed is also available if needed.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 1 beach chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing
The housekeeper is required for all lets and a charge of £40 is in order for all lets.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties