check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Julian Hunt

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Listed stone cottages

13 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cotswold Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Early 18th century stone cottages

Two Listed 18th century (1703) stones cottages located in The Square near The Bibury Court, which is famous for its link to Queen Elizabeth I. The cottages have been sympathetically restored to the highest standard by architect and interior designer. The interiors feature modern facilities such as WiFi, modern kitchens and bathrooms.

Each cottage has two double bedrooms that sleep 4 people & have been furnished with a mixture of antique furniture, which is in keeping with the traditional interior. The original wooden beams are exposed and new stone floors installed with original fireplaces, creating a comfortable modern home maintaining the historical beauty of the period property.

Cottage Number 27: This cottage has a master double bedroom and a double bedroom that sleeps 4. There is extra bedding for sleeping another person on the sitting room's large sofa. We also have a double blow up mattress

Cottage Number 28: This cottage has two double bedrooms to sleep 4 people.

Extra single mattress and bedding can be provided upon request. A charge of £50 will be required for extra bedding & cleaning.

There is a travel cot for family use.

Pubs & watering holes within walking distance:

Bibury has two pubs the Swan Hotel, near the bridge on the corner and the Catherine Wheel up the hill from the bridge on the left. You can always go to the Bibury Court, walk down the gravel path in front of No 30 turn right and walk down to the Bibury Court. Tea in the garden or in the drawing room is nice way to spend an afternoon. They are very welcoming and nice people don’t be put off by the grand entrance it is a nice place.

You can always drive to a pub:

• Sherborn Arms Aldsworth, up the hill out of Bibury towards Burford, the next village is Aldsworth and the pub is on the left just as you seem to be leaving the village. (Good no nonsense pub grub)

• Village Pub Barnsley, up the hill out of Bibury towards Cirencester, the next village is Barnsley and the pub is on the right. (Nice place a bit Gastro and good)

• Fairford has 5 pubs, restaurant Alum, shops and the fantastic church, the river Coln runs through Fairford. There is a nice walk along the river Coln in Fairford, go to the right of restaurant Alum then right again down River Walk and follow your nose.

• The Fox at Barrington is a great pub on the river windrush just off the A40 about 15 mins away, mention my name you might get mates rate’s?

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Julian Hunt (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Julian Hunt

We are a husband and wife team- architects and interior designer.

We are interest in character buildings which we would renovate and modernised. Our collection of furniture and artwork are based on the beauty of each individual pieces.

Why Julian Hunt chose Cotswold

Bibury was described by William Morris as the most beautiful village in England and in one of my cottages you will be in a private part of Bibury away from the tourists but close to the heart and a 3 minute walk from the centre with lovely walks close by.

Both my cottages are designed and built to the highest specifications with all the facilities. You will be renting what has been described as “one of the most fantastically put together old places with feeling I have had the pleasure of staying in”

Parking is easy and private for you as a resident a 1 minute walk from your cottage.

We also have a number of fine restaurants within a short drive and some within walking distance.

Reviews

2.7
based on 13 traveler reviews

Listed stone cottages
average rating of 2.6923077 based on 13 reviews
5

Lovely Stay

  • 5 of 5

I can highly recommend cottage 28. It’s a glorious spot and needs investigating further. With reference to unfortunate reviews the cottage is equipped with clean cotton sheets and a charming ambiance. An ideal weekend retreat. I found the owner charming and professional. I can see there have been blips in the past but he seems to have everything under control. I had the most wonderful stay and as a writer, it was peaceful and very quiet.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had a fantastic stay and please come again. Best Julian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

DO NOT BOOK THIS PROPERTY !!

  • 1 of 5

Beautiful cottage......or so I would presume if we had got to stay in it !!

We booked this property for a three night stay for my partners 50th.

Myself, my partner and our 3 year old dog travelled up as planned. Journey took us around 4 hours, so were thrilled to finally arrive, not so thrilled when we discovered it had been DOUBLE BOOKED !!

When booking the property , two weeks in advance, the owner suggested that we book and pay direct with him as it would be cheaper and save the cost of commission for both parties that the website company charges. We paid the full price in good faith and trust direct to him.

After making payment, we had to chase the owner for confirmation of the booking and key code, information etc... NOT VERY PROFFESIONAL !!

On arrival we contacted the owner to query why the property had been double booked and why that he failed to inform us .

Alternative accommodation was offered to us by the owner. The property offered to us was obviously privately lived in.....I can only say the resident was not fond of cleaning or washing items of clothing as they were dirty all over the floor. We declined the offer to stay there and asked for our money back and made a very disappointed journey home.

We asked for our money back as the error clearly was not on our behalf, the owner did not offer to do that there and then. After sending several messages...all of which were ignored, we finally had our money refunded 5 days later !!!

I would suggest that the owners prefers to dedicated his time and effort into other areas of his life , and not his holiday rental business.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Fantastic and we will be comeing back very soon.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the entire time and want to keep the cottage for ourselves.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 10
1

We expected clean & cosy.Reality FILTHY with leaks

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately the property was filthy and did not appear to have been cleaned. There was a tissue in the beams of the top bedroom, hair and dust in the corners of rooms and stairs, dead spiders and the upstairs sheets were stained. Water started coming through the ceiling on Christmas eve and by the time we left we had 3 pots on the floor filling up. While I understand leaks occur, the is no excuse for the standard of cleanliness. We got a text from the owner on Saturday, asking when we were leaving as he'd like come in earlier than 11am to look at the leak, yet we were booked into Sunday! We returned to the cottage an hour later to find the keys in the door and the door open. I've tried to contact the owner 4 times now and had no response. An expensive and very disappointing Christmas which should have been idyllic! The property has the potential to be a haven for visitors, if cleaned and maintained.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the Christmas bad review we were unaware of extent of the leak and water damage. Being the Christmas period we could not obtain the correct fitting. It is a terrible fact that an idyllic setting was spoiled and what should have been an enjoyable experience was marred by these events. As far as the housekeeper is concerned she has taken full responsibility for the wrong date coming in to clean / changeover and leaving keys in door which was apologised profusely for. As to the cleanliness factor the spider’s webs crop up as soon as you’ve located them and vacuumed. It was an embarrassment to me that they felt the cottage was not cleaned to a high standard. All bed linen is cleaned and ironed as I personally feel crisp sheets are a delight. Profuse apologies to the family concerned. Not one of our proudest moments. We have taken steps to ensure this does not occur again. Both cottages have a personal review book and we enjoy the insightful comments and generally very positive experiences of our guests who often return and recommend friends and families. Sometimes in life certain events overtake us. We can only ask your pardon and ensure a new improved quality of service for the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
18 1
1

Dirty, filthy and not ready 2 hours after arrival

  • 1 of 5

Property was filthy and dirty on arrival. Not cleaned with dirty bed linen still on Bed and in corner of room, bathroom had used towels and grime. Owner turned up to clean the property 2 hours after check in time and left with it still filthy and grubby everywhere. Horrible. Promised refund for wasting our day. Still not heard from him

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
19 1
1

Dirty, Filthy, Disgusting

  • 1 of 5

Dirty, Disgusting and filthy property. We entered the property at 4:30pm to find it not cleaned with dirty bet sheets, dirty towel over the radiators, hairs and urine all over the bathroom. Toilet tissue stuck to the ceiling. Bedding bundled on the floor. Owner didnt tell us, showed little interest in the fact we had to wait for him to arrive (30 mins) then started to clean the property which consisted of simply swill of bleach. When he left it was still filthy with the bathroom hairy and urine stain toilet. Unclean. Cobwebs around the whole house. We didnt get in till 6pm which wasted our evening. Horrible

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
28 1

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Heathrow
Car: recommended

Bibury is situated in the Gloucestershire Cotswolds on the River Coln 9 miles from Burford.

The village was once described by William Morris as 'the most beautiful village in the Cotswolds'.

The village centre clusters around a square near St. Mary's, a Saxon church and Bibury Court Hotel. One of the village's main tourist spots and overlooking a water meadow and the river is Arlington Row, a group of ancient cottages with steeply pitched roofs dating back to the 16th Century, has provided the backdrop for films including Stardust and Bridget Jones's Diary.

Attractions:

Bibury Trout Farm, Bibury Court, Arlington Mill Museum.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bibury Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$157
$1,008
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0

Depending on what country you book from will determin the extra % rate.
This will vary from 1.4% - 2.4% if you book useing the payments facility.
We have a cleaning and laundry charge of £40 GBP

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cotswold Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Towels are provided
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedrooms are with large Queen double bed, sofa in sitting room can sleep one. All towels and bedding is provided. An air bed is also available if needed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 1 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The housekeeper is required for all lets and a charge of £40 is in order for all lets.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties