Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

1-5 BR Historic Downtown Charleston Vacation Rental

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

5 Br Rental In The Heart Of The City Close To Everything

We are located on the second floor of a stately antebellum building in the heart of historic downtown Charleston, SC. We offer a private entrance, and five spacious bedrooms with high ceilings and 19th century heart pine floors, accented with paintings and furnishings from our ground floor antiques gallery. We are directly across Meeting Street from the iconic Mills House, and adjacent to award-winning restaurants and bars, King Street shopping and nightlife, art galleries, the city market, bucolic parks and gardens, historic churches, South of Broad mansions, and multiple reception halls. Relax on the spacious 2nd floor veranda, with lovely views of the steeples of both St. Philips and St. Michael's. The deep porch fills with morning sunlight and captures the breeze from the nearby harbor

More Details

Property Manager
Lizzy Millar
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

Why Lizzy Millar chose Historic Old City

We are located on the SE corner of Meeting and Queen Streets, in the historic French Quarter District in downtown Charleston, SC, within what was the old walled city. The land was part of a Colonial land grant in 1695. The present building dates to 1854. It has hosted a colorful array of occupants since then, including a 19th century grocery store, billiards saloon, BBQ restaurant, liquor store, law firm, art gallery, and present-day antiques store with residences above. Free parking on adjacent parking lot during non business hours.

In our family since 1968, we have transformed the second floor as a city-licensed luxury vacation rental, perfect for family reunions, group getaways, small business retreats, or wedding parties (the apartment is within 3 blocks of multiple famous churches and reception halls).

We have enjoyed many years of meals, cocktails, and good conversation on the piazza, admiring the view. Now it is time to share our home as your newfound home-away-from-home

What makes this condo unique

Order your groceries before you arrive! One less thing to worry about during your vacation. Groceries Ahead is a great company who can provide this service to you at an affordable rate in the Charleston area. Check out their website for more information:

We do provide a "starter kit" for each renter which includes: 4 toilet paper rolls,, 1 paper towel roll, hotel soaps for sinks, showers, bathtub, a small dish liquid and a sponge beside the kitchen sink, 3 dishwasher tablets, 2 dishtowels, 2 13-gallon kitchen trash can liners, and small 4-gal trash can liners for the small trash cans throughout the home


Historic Old City Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellations more than 60 days prior to arrival will incur a $250 penalty. Cancellations less than 60 days prior to arrival will incur 50% penalty.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master Bathroom: Toilet, sink, shower Hall Bathroom: Toilet, sink, shower Back Bathroom: Toilet, sink
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    Hall Bedroom - 1 king
    Hall Bedroom - 1 queen
    Back Bedroom - 1 king
    Back TV Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Sleeping Accommodations: BEDROOMS: 4 Bedrooms Sleeps 12, Beds for 10-12 Master : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 Queen Back Bedroom : 1 King Back TV Room : 1 Sleep Sofa /Futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
12. CANCELLATION POLICY: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date will incur a $250 penalty. Cancellations that are made less than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date will incur a 50% penalty.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1-5 BR Historic Downtown Charleston Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.675 based on 40 reviews

Fabulous French Quarter Five Bedroom!

  • 5 of 5

My husband surprised me for my 60th birthday with a stay at this fabulous five bedroom VRBO filled with six of our best friends. Not only is this historic property perfectly located just off a main street in downtown Charleston, where shops and restaurants abound, it was so charming that we prepared a few main meals and dined in, just to savor the comfortable, spacious porch and living room, with those incredible high ceilings and picture windows! Two thumbs up!! Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and in downtown Charleston! We hope you will come back and stay again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful historic setting near everything

  • 5 of 5

Hosted 2 couples and my three children for my wife's 40th birthday. This is a beautiful historic setting in the heart of Charleston and accessible to all of what Charleston is about: history, food, sites and more. The place is spacious, the furniture is comfortable and the bedrooms are decorated well with comfy beds. As it is a historic home, the kitchen is small and though furnished plainly it sufficed as we weren't in Charleston to cook out own food. The porch has a great view of St. Philips Church and was a perfect spot for a morning coffee, and afternoon cocktail and evening gathering after dinner. Be aware, there is no parking on-site, though public parking is close by. Didn't bother us as we weren't there to drive around and the home is located so close to everything. You have to walk down a driveway to a spiral staircase to access the home's entrance as it is on the second floor. There is a small one-person elevator, but it was faster to just muscle the bags up the stairs. Pack smaller bags to make it easier. None of those would deter me from coming to this home again. I loved being a block or two from the best food, sites and more. A very unique and fun experience and hope to do it again.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Location, Beautiful Bedrooms, Huge Balcony!

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I stayed here for a friend's wedding in downtown Charleston in early January 2018. We had an amazing stay and really enjoyed the location, decoration, balcony, and amenities. Lizzy, the property manager was very responsive and helpful!

The only thing I would say is that the advertisement indicates that 10-12 adults can stay here and really only comfortably I would limit the number of people to 10. There are 4 bedrooms plus a futon room in a living room area. I'm not sure how they came up with 12 adults. We ended up bringing an air mattress last minute as we had 12 adults and put it in the main living room and it worked out great, however, there were not enough towels to accommodate the number of people even though I indicated there would be 12 adults.

I highly recommend this rental to anyone with 10 adults or less. It was beautiful!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mara, I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay in the house and in Charleston!! We put 10-12 because that is the maximum occupancy and sometimes with kids you can get more people. We do however have the number of beds listed in our listing as follows so we try and be as clear as possible.  BEDROOMS: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 10-12 Master : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 King Hall Bedroom : 1 Queen Back Bedroom : 1 King Back TV Room : 1 Sleep Sofa /Futon We hope you will come back and stay with us again sometime!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia, PA

great location

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of friends gathering for a birthday celebration. The location of the house is ideal. We did not have a car available to us and did not need one at all. The house was clean, beds comfortable, plenty of towels, large bedrooms. You do have to bring your own toiletries and extra toilet paper. The spiral staircase would be tricky for elderly guests. I would return and do recommend for a great Charleston stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tired furnishings in a great location

  • 3 of 5

Charleston is a wonderful city, and the location of this apartment is perfect for walking in every direction to see the sights. We were a small group of four: myself, my husband and our two young adult children.

For the price, we were expecting better quality in bedding and furniture. Bedding is low quality, old and pilling. There are only two pillows per bed, and while we found two extra pillows there were no extra pillowcases.

Furniture throughout is old and sunken, especially on the porch.

Kitchen utensils and pots/pans are of cheap Walmart-quality and sparse. Most of the kitchen cupboards were empty except for about 50 used plastic grocery bags that were strewn throughout the drawers and cupboards. Hot pads and kitchen towels were coated with the previous renter's dirty food. Kitchen drawers were dirty.

Master bathroom is TINY; one can barely dry off after a shower without bumping elbows on doors. The number of bathroom towels that were provided were enough for us, but there were few extras - a bigger group would notice. The quality of the towels was good.

I did email our concerns to the rental company, who claim they are available 24/7. However I received no response until two days after our departure, and the response was simply a thank you for letting them know.

The only access is up a spiral staircase. I don't see that information in the listing and while it was fine for us, others might have issue with spiral stairs. The elevator did not work - it must require a key that we were not given.

The keypad lock system for the door is simple and easy to use. The two bedrooms on busy Meeting Street were quiet at night.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jan, We are glad that you enjoyed Charleston and your stay here!! We are sorry that you experienced some unpleasant things during your stay. It is always our goal for each renter to have a wonderful experience in the condo and in Charleston!! We just ordered ALL NEW BEDDING!! With a rental property, things do wear down over time so we strive to keep that up by updating it every 6 months to a year so that has been taken care of as well as extra pillow cases. These should have been left by the cleaning company and I have discussed this with them in great length. We have also ordered new kitchen towels and pot holders. Unfortunately, we cant do anything about the size of the master bathroom but it has very recently been upgraded and is a lovely bathroom! We are available during business hours as stated in the information we email to you prior to check in. After business hours, we do provide you with the number to an after hours maintenance company so any emergency maintenance items can be taken care of ASAP. The spiral staircase is the entry and that is listed in our listing as well as in the information that we send prior to check in. The elevator is working. I went by and checked to be sure. It can be tricky to use sometimes because it is an older elevator. I am sorry that you were unable to use it while you were there. There is a number for the elevator company posted in the binder inside the rental as well as in the information that was sent for guests to call if they have issues with the elevator. Again, we are sorry that you were unhappy with some items in the rental but we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Charleston!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely old building in the center of everything.

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this historic apartment. It was in walking distance of the market, the bay and lots of gallery's and museums. The DASH bus (free) took us to the Charleston Museum, a must visit for your list, which was across from the visitor's center. Only downside was the house was cold when we arrived and took a long time to warm up, especially when only 2 heaters were working. A report to the manager was able to get 3 more working, which was sufficient. We arrived after dark and it would have been nice to have a couple of motion activating lights installed inside the house. Also a spare roll of toilet paper would be a nice touch to be included in the price of the apartment. Guests should also be aware that there is no parking on the premises, which was not clear to us when we booked. Parking nearby is $20 a day.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol, We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Charleston and in the house! I am glad they were able to get the heaters fixed in a timely manner, sometimes these things just break but we always strive to get everything fixed immediately! We have recently installed lights in the carport and stairway so the entry should be well lit at night. The parking options are listed in our listing, the rental agreement you sign, and in the welcome email we send out 48 hours before check in as a reminder of everything. Unfortunately the house doesn't come with parking as with many downtown areas parking is limited. There are many close by garages and lots though as you found it sounds like! Again, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay an do hope you will come back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Eli's Table
American Restaurant
The Barbadoes Room Restaurant
American Restaurant
Gibbes Museum of Art
Café Gibbes
Poogan's Porch
Southern Restaurant (US)
American Restaurant
Circular Congregational Church
Breakfast Restaurant
Gaulart & Maliclet Fast and French Inc.
French Restaurant
Postal Museum
St. Philip's Church
Brown Dog Deli
Old Slave Mart Museum
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Seafood Restaurant
Another Broken Egg Cafe
Brunch Restaurant
Kitchen 208
American Restaurant
Fulton Five
Italian Restaurant
Confederate Museum
Sweetwater Cafe
Breakfast Restaurant
City Lights Coffee
Coffee Shop
Meeting at Market
American Restaurant
The Governor's House Inn
McCrady's Tavern
American Restaurant
Heyward-Washington House
Sushi Blue
Japanese Restaurant
Callie's Hot Little Biscuit
Southern Restaurant (US)
Peninsula Grill
Southern Restaurant (US)
McCrady's Restaurant
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charleston
Steak House
Welkin Coffee Charleston
Coffee Shop
Hunter Brookes - Night Market
Sugar Shack
Mexican Restaurant
Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist
Market Street Deli & Salads
The Palmetto Cafe
Brunch Restaurant
Lowcountry Bistro
Southern Restaurant (US)
Dixie Soul Cafe
Charleston Grill
Fine Dining Restaurant
Southern Restaurant (US)
East Bay Meeting House
European Restaurant
Old Towne Grill and Seafood
Greek Restaurant
O-Bar at Oyster House
Oyster Bar Restaurant
High Cotton Charleston Restaurant
Southern Restaurant (US)
Oyster House
Seafood Restaurant
Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House
Seafood Restaurant
Poogan's Smokehouse
Southern Restaurant (US)
New York City Pizza
Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Charleston International Apriport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Patriots Point
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Sullivans Island

Charleston is a singularly beautiful city, with a wealth of farm-to-table restaurants and plenty to do. 120 Meeting Street sits squarely in the center of it all. Whether you've come here to sight-see, dine, wed, shop, hit the surf or get to work, you'll find that most everything is either within walking distance or a short ride away (pedicabs are a great way to get around downtown).


Within a few blocks of 120 Meeting Street are award-winning restaurants Sermet's Downtown, Husk, FIG, Cypress, SNOB, and McCrady's, plus laid-back favorites like "Fast & French," Minero, and Poogan's Porch. Also close by are venerable seafood eateries Hank's, Pearlz Oyster Bar, and Fleet Landing. Stock up on artisanal goodies for picnics or cocktail parties by walking to either Bull Street Gourmet or the adorable, well-curated wine and cheese shop Goat Sheep Cow.


A handful of some of Charleston's finest bars are within blocks. Head to the Mezz for Charleton's finest live jazz, or to Husk Bar for creative cocktails, regional bar snacks, and a serious bourbon collection. The bars at both Cypress and McCrady's are chic and popular. Nestle into The Gin Joint on East Bay Street and let the talented bartenders surprise you. Or head to rooftop bars at Market Pavilion, the Vendue, or Restoration Hotel for spectacular skylines and sunset sipping. As for Charleston's booming craft beer scene, you don't necessarily need to visit the actual distillery (though it's fun to sign up for a Brews Cruise). Many area bars carry local suds. From 120 Meeting Street, walk over to Craftsmen Tap House for plenty of choices.


Take a stroll three blocks down Queen Street to famous Waterfront Park, or head a few blocks south to marvel at palatial historic homes, a few of which are open for tours (we recommend the Nathanial Russell House and the Edmonston-Alston House). Keep your eyes peeled and your ears open for the clucking of free-range guinea fowl on lower Legare Street. Witness the heritage of Gullah sweetgrass basket weaving at the City Market, and just south of our rental (a few vendors set up on Meeting Street). Stroll down Meeting Street past Washington Park to White Point Gardens. Take a walking tour, hop in a horse-drawn carriage, or snag a spot on a sailboat. But mostly, just get out and walk. You can't go wrong.


Whether you are planning a Charleston wedding or attending one, 120 Meeting Street is ideally situated. You'll find scores of wedding venues less than 5 blocks away (to name a few: St. Philips, St. Michael's, First Presbyterian, Circular Congregational, First Baptist, Cathedral of St. John, Unitarian Church, St. Johns Lutheran, etc.). Engagement photos along our picturesque streets, parks, and waterfronts, are popular, too. Reception venues abound, such as the nearby Hibernian, Society Hall, Exchange Building, Mills House Ballroom, McCrady's Long Room, and countless others.


Charleston hosts year-round happenings, so plan your visit accordingly. 120 Meeting Street is centrally located for downtown festivals such as January's Charleston Restaurant Week, February's Southeastern Wildlife Exposition (SEWE), March's Wine + Food Festival, April's annual Tour of Houses and Gardens and Bridge Run, May's Charleston Food Film Festival, May/June's popular SPOLETO Festival, July's Palette & Palate Stroll, August's BevCon wine and spirits festival, September's Taste of Charleston, October's Annual Fall Tour of Homes & Gardens, and December's holiday decorations, shopping, and Christmas traditions. There honestly isn't a bad season or off-season for visiting the Holy City.


You don't need a car to enjoy Charleston's downtown offerings (you can walk, rent a bike or a bicycle-built-for-two, take a pedicab, or call a Green Taxi). But if you arrive by car, opportunities await farther afield. Head to the beach (Isle of Palms, Sullivan's Island, and Folly are all roughly twenty minutes away). Visit the ancient Angel Oak on John's Island. Explore beautifully landscaped plantations (Drayton Hall, Boone Hall, Magnolia, Middleton Place). Hike through old rice fields (Caw Caw Interpretive Center) or along walkways above swampy cypress groves (Francis Marion State Forest). Rent kayaks on Shem Creek, or hire private boat companies to take you to barrier islands in search of prehistoric sharks teeth. Take a surf lesson on Folly Beach. Play a round of golf on Kiawah's jaw-dropping Ocean Course. Watch the sun set as you slurp down oysters at the iconic Bowen's Island waterfront restaurant. The possibilities are endless.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $254
Damage Deposit $500

* Our standard requirement is a 3 night minimum stay. However, if you wish to stay only 2 nights we are willing to allow this for an additional fee.
*If paying with a foreign CC; there will be an additional administration fee of $60
* Please no bachelor or bachelorette parties
* You must be 25 years of age to book our property

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties