Villa, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)
John and Karen
- english, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
About John and Karen
We fell in love with Vieques when we first married and have loved it ever since.
John and Karen purchased this Villa in 2002
Why John and Karen chose Bravos de Boston
The hilltop location is spectacular. Its close to town yet you feel like you are in your own private tropical paradise.
What makes this Villa unique
Lush vegetation. Fruit trees and privacy.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Not a Comfortable house
We will start with the positive: the view is amazing from any of the decks, and the pool was a pleasant relief after a day at the beach or walk around town. However, Villa Altamira was not what we were expecting. The very first night we emailed the owner stating there was not any water pressure in the house nor any hot water in Master Bedroom. This was the owner John’s response “The plumber had assessed the water pressure issue LAST WEEK and ordered the cold water pressure tank. You are right things always take a lot longer on the island. There should be water pressure at some of the outside showers or spigots closer to the front of the house with the waterline entrance.”
This issue was already identified by the owner and we were not notified there would be an issue with water pressure upon our arrival. We were not taking showers outside. The water tank was fix on Tuesday, 5 days later except the water pressure tank that was replaced is too small and the water pressure was not adequate for that size of house. No compensation was offered by owner. The hot water was never fixed in the Master bathroom. Every bed in the house has springs that can be felt threw the mattresses. The twin beds downstairs frames were both broken and leaning. The queen mattress was a hammock and springs popping threw as well. The living room furniture is old, the cushions are nonexistent so you cannot sit on them for very long, extremely uncomfortable. The living room had two electrical outlets that are in the floor and there are no covers on them so children beware. Huge SAFETY issue for children especially if they are coming in from the pool. The concrete deck around the pool is painted dark grey. By 11am you are unable to walk on it in bare feet, due to the sun heating the deck surface. Another SAFETY issue for children, they will definitely burn their feet or body if they touch the deck. The stove is old and rusted and the cabinets are in rough shape and have curtains for doors. The sink in bathroom downstairs is broken and falling apart, the shower curtain does not completely surround the shower so water is constantly being sprayed on the floor. The towels all need to be replaced, bath and beach towels had holes or were frayed. There were no wash clothes in the house and there are not enough blankets for the amount of people that it sleeps. We had to shower in downstairs bathroom for hot water our entire stay. We did not sleep well at all in this house.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback. I apologize if my response to the water pressure issue was not clearer. The prior guests had noted the water pressure beginning to weaken when they checked out. Prior to your check in the plumber ordered a replacement water tank. Unfortunately he had to wait for it to come by ferry from the main island. Your initial email about the water issue was " Melyssa said maybe by Tuesday we will have water pressure. I know things are difficult to get on an Island. Showers are important especially to women." I misunderstood and thought you were clear that the problem was being addressed as quickly as possible. We would've certainly informed you if we thought the water pressure issue would adversely affect your stay. The outside showers retain water pressure and could be used until the problem was corrected. I know it's not for everyone but we personally love outside showers both here in Maine and especially in Vieques! :) I can't comment on the size of the water tank as I am not a certified plumber. Mattresses at rental properties are always challenging. We replace the mattresses on a cyclical basis to make sure they are in the best condition for guests. We are also looking at additional memory foam toppers so that guests can adjust the firmness or softness to their preference. The appliances in the kitchen are not old the Caribbean the salt air rusts everything fairly quickly including refrigerators, stoves, gas grills, etc. With regard to your safety concerns there are usually child safety covers on the electrical outlets but they disappear and need replacement. Furthermore, any surface in the Caribbean in July will get hot by 11 AM. The color of the pool surround was carefully chosen after many years of trial and error for durability, safety and visibility. We realize we can't make everyone happy. Everyone has worked very hard to restore Villa Altamira after hurricane Maria with much physical, emotional and financial effort. It does seem like you had many more complaints than any guest we have encountered before. If you look back at our reviews over the last 15 to 20 years they speak for themselves. You did mention compensation in your review and we would be happy to offer a discount on a return stay in the future!
John and Karen
It was smooth had everything we needed.
Lovely Villa, very roomy. Beautiful views!!
Oasis on the hill
We absolutely loved this house, it was in such a great location and easy walking distance to some of the downtown areas. We loved the bakery there. We went almost every morning, if you go grab the Cuban and try every baked good they have available. The pool was perfect for the kids. Kitchen was great for cooking in and the cabinet was well stocked with spices and oil. We would come back to this home in a heart beat. Sitting on the patio and drinking coffee was such a great way for us to all start our morning. It was also fun to read through the previous guest books from years ago. Thank you for sharing your home.
Hi Benji and Ashley,
So glad you had a great time!!! So happy you mentioned the bakery, it's our favorite place to go in the morning, and the coffee is amazing!! We definitely need to bring some more guest books for people to share their favorite things to do. Would love it if you could return one day!!
Great location & view
This was our second time renting this house. We really like the location and the view. It's close to town (Isabel 2), you can walk to 2 different PR bakeries for breakfast in the mornings or to Mar Azul for drinks in the evenings. The view is beautiful from the deck and by the pool. We stayed with another couple so there was 4 of us. We used the bedrooms on the main and top floors. There is another bedroom garden level that we did not use. All bedrooms have baths & AC. The house is ideal, I think for 3 couples or a family with kids. Melyssa was very helpful and she was able to get us a few groceries from a list I sent before we arrived. You'll need a jeep to get around. Beaches in national park were near perfect. We liked Red beach best. Most restaurants have reopened since hurricane. We like Coqui Fire best and that's a short distance from house. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that when we first rented the house the TV didn't work and the second time it didn't work either. Not a big deal, but it is advertised as having a working TV. Other than that, I would highly recommend this house and we will rent for a third time in the near future.
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review. So sorry about the television. I will alert the house manager to check on that. Thank you so much for returning and we are glad you and your family had a good time. It is wonderful to see Travelers returning to Vieques again after the hurricane.
Have a wonderful spring and stay well. If there is any other feedback that you can give us please feel free to contact Karen and I. We take your concerns very seriously and we want to improve the stay of her future gas.
John a Karen
Beautiful house, beautiful island
We just returned from a wonderful, relaxing one-week vacation at Villa Altamira and hope to return soon. The house was perfect for our family of seven: Our two young adult sons shared the downstairs suite, our married daughter, son-in-law and 7-year old granddaughter had the large bedroom on the main floor, and my husband and I took the upstairs bedroom. Everyone had their privacy, yet there was plenty of space for us to hang out together in the living/dining room area, on the spacious deck, and around the pool.
We loved the location -- an easy walk from the Isabella Segunda ferry dock and center of town. Isabella Segunda is the larger but quieter of the two towns on the island Esperanza has a more active nightlife, but Isabella Segunda has good markets, bakeries, bars and restaurants, and an authentic, relaxed charm that grew on us as the week went on.
The house is just as lovely as in the photos and extremely well supplied, with all the kitchen items, towels, beach chairs, BBQ grill, etc., one could want. We ate breakfast and a few dinners at home, packed the cooler with sandwiches and drinks to take to the beach, and ate most dinners out. The beds were extremely comfortable, and each bedroom had its own air conditioner, as well as ceiling fans, so we slept well.
We found Vieques to be warm and welcoming - and the beaches are just exquisite, each one with its own special character. We enjoyed exploring different beaches, although we found our favorite to be Sun Bay. We did some great snorkeling on the island, renting equipment from BlackBeard Sports, and also took the luminescent biobay kayak tour at night - a real treat. But honestly, the house, pool, and deck are so beautiful that you don't have to go anywhere. Watching sunsets from the deck were a special treat.
The owners were extremely up front and responsive to our concerns when we first contacted them. We initially had reservations about going to Vieques, wondering if the island had sufficiently recovered from Hurricane Maria to receive visitors. We are so glad we decided to go forward. The house is thoughtfully designed for guests and well-managed. Annette, the rental agent, and her colleague Melyssa were attentive to all our needs, answering all of our questions promptly by text and phone.
This is a great property, and if you're looking for a quiet vacation in a beautiful, relaxing spot, Vieques is a great place to go.
Karen and I can't begin to tell you how happy we are that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Altamira. It has been a long and difficult recovery for the island of Vieques and for Puerto Rico as a whole. Guests such as yourselves are greatly appreciated and needed to help the local economy and businesses. Thank you so much for having the trust in us and our property management team. I think your review will help guests considering coming to Vieques some very helpful and needed updates and information. We hope you and your family have a wonderful 2019!
John and Karen
Sun Bay Beach gets Blue Flag for the first time. “The Blue Flag is a voluntary eco-label awarded to 3850 beaches and marinas in 46 countries across Europe, South Africa, Morocco, Tunisia, New Zealand, Brazil, Canada and the Caribbean.
The Blue Flag works towards sustainable development of beaches and marinas through strict criteria dealing with Water Quality, Environmental Education and Information, Environmental Management, and Safety and Other Services.
The Blue Flag Programme is owned and run by the non-government, non-profit organisation the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE).” See their description of Sun Bay here