Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Rare BEACH FRONT Home. Watch the turtles from your bed!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 9 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful 920 sq feet of living space with 2 baths and 2 bedrooms

Our "Hale Honu" (turtle house) is a rare find in Kona. There are many ocean view condos in Kona but very few beach front properties. You can walk out the back door to your own semi-private beach and drop yourself in the sand. Watch the whales, dolphins and manta rays. Turtles find this beach a quiet and peaceful resting place so enjoy them from a distance as they sleep on the sand. A few minutes down the beach you will see native Hawaiian Petroglyphs and Heiau's. You will not have to leave the property to enjoy all the amazing culture.

Look out over the grassy lawn from your lanai that previews the tropical shrubbery where your own path to the beach (with orange hibiscus flowers on each side) is only a few steps away. The beach is an oasis to put on reef walker shoes and explore the home of Hawaiian sea turtles or to spread out beach chairs or mats and share some first-class beach time with those you love. All sorts of tropical birds are attracted to the lush tropical growth in our location and will often wait for a treat just off the lanai.

Enjoy your oceanfront location with seating for four at a large dining table with glass top in the shade of your covered lanai with overhead ceiling fan. Stretch out on the lounge if you are trying to add to that summer tan. Have a morning cup of Kona coffee with your breakfast that can be handed via a pass through window from the kitchen or in the evening; have a BBQ or your own prepared gourmet dinner with an incredible sunset for your backdrop. There is no better location in any restaurant in Kona.

Located on world-famous Ali'i Drive the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club is a 4-star Oceanfront Resort located 4.5 miles south of Kailua-Kona town. This gated complex is just 1/8 mile away from the Keauhou Shopping Center, which has a grocery store, restaurants, shops, a bank, a post office and a cinema. Even better ,we are a 1/2 mile from one of the most popular snorkeling beaches in Hawaii - Kahalu'u State Park (also known as Turtle Beach).

Your home away from home is a two story, two bed, two bath island home close to both the pool and ocean in your backyard. This home has been beautifully decorated with an elegant but homey quaint romantic cottage feel. It was recently remodeled to include: AC throughout, new appliances and everything you would need to call home and have a great vacation.

Watch the sunset from the beach or your Lanai and enjoy the sunrise in your bed looking out over the water and waves. Enjoy all the attention to details for your full enjoyment to include high speed WiFi, iPhone speakers, Netflix and more.This is the perfect place for you to get away and enjoy all of what Kona has to offer. Make yourself at home. If you would be more comfortable with AC, it is available in all rooms for small fee per day (recommended for May-October).

Hawaii Tax ID:W9767676527-01

More Details

Owner
Nancy Cairns
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Nancy Cairns

They call us the "adventure" couple. We love to travel and have fun. This island is perfect for those looking for an amazing life experience. We started coming to the Island over 10 years ago and continued to come back twice a year until we where able to buy our first condo in 2014 and our beach front condo in 2016. This island stole our hearts and continues to give us amazing stories to tell each time we visit. We love the surfing, boogie boarding, hiking, kayaking, music and all the island has to offer. Out of all the condos we stayed in KKKS was the best and we love our community. We hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Nancy Cairns purchased this condo in 2016

Why Nancy Cairns chose Keauhou

We have spent a lot of time designing this home to make your experience special. We did not spare any expense in transforming this home into a romantic hide away for you and your family. We know you will return year after year. We are one of the only units with full AC and as the weather changes you will appreciate its use.

What makes this condo unique

This property is on a semi-private black sand beach with views from all the windows. You will love the property and updated atmosphere. Only a few properties in Kona with this type of view and detail. You will enjoy the waves crashing at night as you slumber after a hard day of play.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My father, two brothers and myself came here for four days, and we had a great time at the house! The location was beautiful - right by your own private beach. It was such a nice experience to fall asleep with the sound of the ocean from just outside the window. And the sunset from the house was absolutely beautiful. Besides being located in a nice and quiet area, it was still just a short drive away from Kailua-Kona, with several restaurants and more people if you wanted to go there for a night. The booking itself was easy, and I received good and quick answers to all my questions in advance. Also, I got a lot of information and instructions before arrival, which made it very easy to find the way to the house.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Keauhou Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , This can be broken down into twins for a $25 fee
  • The master bedroom has one king bed with 180 degree views. You will not get better views than this and you can hear the waves as you sleep at night. There is also AC available.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rare BEACH FRONT Home. Watch the turtles from your bed!
average rating of 4.96 based on 30 reviews
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5

The condo was perfect. Very comfortable and quiet. It was well furnished with everything you would need for even an extended stay. Location was perfect, 15 minutes from the busy little town of Kona, a quick and simple drive away. The adjoining units were occupied but we never heard any noise either during the day or at night. The beach and ocean out in front were perfect to either sit and watch from a chair or take a quiet stroll on. The snorkeling out front was amazing and felt very safe all the time even with some small waves rolling through. Probably our only complaint was how comfortable the bed upstairs was and how hard it was to leave it with an awesome view of the ocean. We would definitely stay here again during our next visit, thanks Nancy for sharing your condo, we loved it!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us! I do love the view from that bed and the comfort makes me never want to leave. So grateful we can share it with others. Come back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful view!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful vacation at "Turtle House". I liked that we were close to Kona but outside the crazy busy area, close to a grocery store and restaurants and easy access to the highway. Nice bedrooms and lanai. Should have opted for the air conditioning, it was unseasonably hot while there even when it rained. The views of the ocean made up for it though. It was also very quite and peaceful. Great vacation!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise found

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this wonderful home for 5 nights as part of our recent vacation in Hawaii. The home is just as advertised and the view from the patio is grand. Great place to have that morning cup of coffee and listening to the waves just feet away.

Also having a well equipped kitchen and washer/dryer make life a breeze.

We look forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your stay John. I am so grateful you had such a lovely time at turtle house. Come again anytime. We love to share our Hawaii home with others .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect two-story beachfront condo!

  • 5 of 5

As others have noted, this spacious two bedroom, two-story unit is right on the beach and immaculately clean. We stayed here in early September, and air conditioning is a must. The view from the master bedroom of the beach and waves is spectacular. We enjoyed having our breakfasts and brunches on the lanai. Each morning, colorful tropical birds would walk around the grass, and occasionally a little mongoose would peak out from the hibiscus bushes near the rocks. Nancy was pleasure to work with in processing our reservation. This unit is the perfect place to stay in the Keauhou and Kona area!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

fabulous location, easy drive to great food and quiet beaches

  • 5 of 5

Nothing beats coffee on the patio while watching the ocean waves roll in. Except maybe drinking wine and watching the sunset! We had a great time. Our daughter loved looking for crabs and playing with rocks at the small beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: W loved having your family stay with us at Turtle House. We love our little slice of paradise. Come back again soon to visit. Mahalo, Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Turtle House. We saw turtles within an hour of our arrival. Our son loved seeing all the geckos and quite a few birds visited us as well.

The house was well-appointed and clean. The ceiling fan over the patio table is a great touch. The weather wasn't overly cooperative while we were there, but we did get a stunning sunset on our final evening.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love that you got to see all the turtles . It's one of the best spots to see them. You can sit in your bed and watch them eat the lemu down below. We love our little slice of paradise. Come back again for another stay at turtle house .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
15 minutes away
Car: recommended

Located in Kona Surf and Racquet Club. This is a lush tropical setting with tennis courts, updated pool and beach. One of the only complexes in the area with a semi private beach available out your backdoor.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $155 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Reservation Processing $45 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 14.42%

There is a extra 3% charge for international credit cards and will be sent at additional request by owner to renter before booking is finalized . There is a 4% charge for credit cards for U.S. credit cards but owner pays those for you :).

Rates are subject to change until booking is made.
There is a 2 night minimum/8 nights during Ironman and 7 during Christmas season.
· A non-refundable deposit of 50% of the total rental amount must be received to confirm a reservation.

· Full payment of the rental balance due is required no less than 60 days prior to the check-in date. A security deposit of $250.00 is also authorized if there any major damages or excess cleaning required.

Air Conditioning is optional for a fee and you can purchase that from owner; however we strongly recommend that you include it in any reservation between May 1 and October 31.

This is a non-smoking, no pets unit. Hawaii Tax ID:W9767676527-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund