check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ronelle Kubo or Charlotte Kekela

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Private Steps to the Ocean - Sunny Kapoho Cottage!

14 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Wake up to the sound of the ocean at our cottage in beautiful Kapoho.

The oceanfront cottage is located in the quiet,gated community of Kapoho Beach Lots. Kapoho is a rare treasure of Old Hawaii lifestyle and is the gateway to fine snorkeling, fishing, and beautiful sunrises. It is one of the few Big Island oceanfront communities where one can easily swim with the turtles. The cottage is the ideal place for couples, a few good friends, or a small family looking for a relaxing and fun getaway.

The cottage is right on the ocean and has it’s own private steps leading into the swimming area... only three steps away! Snorkeling is ideal here as our swimming area is home to many colorful reef fish. The ocean replenishes our swimming cove so rest assured the water is clean and pristine. A few minutes' swim or walk away is the popular Champagne Ponds where turtle sightings are frequent.

This one bedroom, one bath home is furnished with a queen bed, two queen sofabeds, and dining set.

TA# W2-278220-0

Keywords: Vacation Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Ronelle Kubo or Charlotte Kekela (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Ronelle Kubo or Charlotte Kekela

Our family has owned this beach house for many years. We've had a lot of fun and relaxing vacations at Sunny Kapoho. Our children and grandchildren have learned how to swim here. It has a lot of special memories for all of us. We hope to share this experience with our guests!

Reviews

4.1
based on 14 traveler reviews

Private Steps to the Ocean - Sunny Kapoho Cottage!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 14 reviews
5

Joyce

  • 5 of 5

Stunning location, sweet, sweet! The accommodations were fine as well. A few more cooking utensils would have been helpful but all was well taken care of and comfortable. I will come back!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again. Ronelle
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vernonia, OR
4

Tropical Storm Iselle

  • 4 of 5

Just wanted to let you know that we were watching the storm closely and saw a few pictures of downed trees on the Kapoho/Pahoa Road and from the tide pools, and wanted to make sure that everyone was ok...we just loved your house on our visit last October and hoped that any damage caused by the storm was minimal. We can't wait to come back !!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Patti, Our home had some damage from the storm, but we are working very hard on getting our vacation fixed and getting it back to be rented. Thank you for your concern and we hope to see you again soon..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

It could be 5 stars if......

  • 3 of 5

The property and location was the best! It had the seclusion and privacy we enjoy. The snorkeling was awesome, swimming with turtles everyday and the view is unbeatable. Really enjoyed the location to all the best attractions that the Big Island has to offer. On the down side the home is in need of updating, it is like going back in time to the 80's. Still had a problem with the ants, we just purchased ant traps and plastic bags for the food. Unable to cook on three of the four stove burners as the drip pans did not fit correctly, so we did a lot of grilling which was okay for us and with Pahoa close by for dining out. Would stay there again if house was updated and ant problem taken care of for the price you pay.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed the swimming at our vacation rental and you got a chance to see some turtles. We are aware of the sugar ants problem and this has been an ongoing issue for us. We have been looking into different ways to minimize this problem mostly in the kitchen area. As for the drip pans on the stove we will have this taken care of and purchase the right part.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Only good part was the swimming

  • 1 of 5

I would not recommend staying here unless you don't mind, tons of ants crawling on the walls and on the counters. Most things were not kept up. Snorkeling equipment was old, only could find a couple of half decent pairs. The only good thing was the gated community and the oceanfront and swimming. It is very slippery to get into the water and very high steps, so wouldn't recommend for someone that has difficultly walking. Our Mother had two hip replacements and couldn't go swimming because it was to steep for her :-( I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tracy, Sorry you feel this way about our rental. As for the ants, they are sugar ants and we do our quarterly pest control to get this under control. Bugs are always a problem for any home that is near the ocean. But, glad to hear that you enjoyed the swimming. We agree that the swim gear needs to be updated, we will look into that.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

SUNNNY KAPOHO

  • 4 of 5

I ALMOST HATE TO REVIEW THIS WONDERFUL HIDEAWAY BECAUSE I'M AFRAID IT WON'T BE AVAILABLE FOR OUR NEXT TRIP. A TRUE GEM

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Trisha for your kind words. We are very pleased to here you enjoyed your stay. Hope to hear from you again..
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oahu, Hawaii
1

Mouse in the house

  • 1 of 5

Absolutely amazing view but...there was a mouse inside the house and he made his appearance several times during our visit, he also had a few roach friends. Very disappointed. This place got great reviews before so we thought it would be a great place to stay for our 11 year anniversary, not so much.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 5

Map

Car: necessary

Travelers and local people who stayed at this home were able to see the turtles come into the bay. They enjoyed the snorkoling where they have seen beautiful fishes and coral.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Columbus Day
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Veterans Day
Nov 11 2016 - Nov 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
$205
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$205
 
 
New Year's
Dec 28 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$205
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$185
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125

Rates are subject to change. Please contact our office regarding total rental rate, please do not use online payment form to reserve. Please contact owner/property manager for breakdown.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Towels Provided, 4 sets of snorkeling equipment (adjustable- 2 adult, 1 lg child, 1 sm child) and a few water noodles. To reserve this property please contact property manager via email. Our company handle our own bookings, we do not do online booking with VRBO. Your reservations will only be confirmed with owner/property manager.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties