expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Beautiful cottage in stunning Cotswold village

Broadwell, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire, UK
  • Cottage
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 nights

2 bed cottage sleeps 4

Red Cottage is a beautiful brick built cottage. Throughout the cottage is decorated and furnished to the highest quality.

Ground floor - large cosy lounge with dining area, quarry tiled floor and log burn fire. A lovely cottage kitchen with washing machine, microwave, oven. First floor - pretty twin bedroom. Bathroom with hand-held shower over bath.

Second floor - fabulous double bedroom with beams, dormer windows with views over the surrounding countryside.

Services

• Wifi available

• Electricity, central heating, initial fuel for the fire, linen and towels included.

• Colour TV with many digital channels with DVD player.

DVDs games, books, toys, etc.

Outside

• To the rear of the property there is a pretty courtyard, with table and chairs

Local Attractions: The village of Broadwell is perhaps one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds, situated in an area of outstanding natural Beauty. The village has the benefit of a most attractive Village Green, there is also a beautiful village church, a stream and a ford, a lovely Public House serving a good range of beers and food.

Just over a mile away is the Historic market town of Stow-on-the Wold, with a supermarket, shops, pubs, restaurants. Nearby Moreton-in-Marsh (4 miles), Bourton-on-the-Water (5 miles). A little further there is Stratford upon Avon, and Oxford. There is also the main line station going into London Paddington from Moreton-in-Marsh.

Restaurants & Pubs: There are numerous fantastic public houses in all the local villages, many of them owned by the local brewery. In nearby Stow-on-the-Wold and Bourton-on-the-Water there are a more varied range of great restaurants and tea rooms.

Owner

Stephanie & John Howson

Member Since 2011
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 10, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
      • Bedroom 1
        1 double
      • Bedroom 2
        2 twin/ single

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, combination tub/shower

          Location Type

            • Village

              Theme

                • Away From It All
                • Family

                  Meals

                    • Guests provide their own meals

                      General

                        • Mobile Phone
                        • Fireplace
                        • Hair Dryer
                        • Heating
                        • Internet
                        • Iron & Board
                        • Local Activities Guide
                        • Firewood
                        • Paper Towels
                        • Parking On Street
                        • Thermos Bottle
                        • Toilet Paper
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine
                        • Wireless Internet

                          Kitchen

                            • 4 Ring Stove
                            • Cooking Utensils
                            • Grill
                            • Ice Maker
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                            • Refrigerator
                            • Stove
                            • Toaster

                              Dining

                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 4 people

                                  Entertainment

                                    • Games
                                    • Audio Tape Player
                                    • Books for Adults
                                    • Books for Kids
                                    • CD Player
                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Books
                                    • Games for Kids
                                    • Radio
                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                    • Television
                                    • Toys
                                    • VCR

                                      Outside

                                        • Outdoor Grill

                                          Suitability

                                            • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
                                            • wheelchair inaccessible

                                              Attractions

                                                • arboretum
                                                • churches
                                                • forests
                                                • museums
                                                • restaurants

                                                  Leisure Activities

                                                    • bird watching
                                                    • horseback riding
                                                    • outlet shopping
                                                    • photography
                                                    • scenic drives
                                                    • sight seeing
                                                    • walking

                                                      Local Services & Businesses

                                                        • ATM/bank
                                                        • groceries
                                                        • hospital

                                                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                            • cycling
                                                            • equestrian events
                                                            • golf
                                                            • hiking
                                                            • mountain biking
                                                            • snorkeling

                                                              House Rules

                                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                              Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                              Cancellation Policy

                                                              100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                              9 Reviews

                                                              Very Good4.1/5

                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              Cute cottage...peaceful area

                                                              Nancy J.

                                                              We enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It is a cute little cottage...that comes with very steep steps. The kitchen had the basics but could have been a little better equipped (no large salad bowl), a wee bit cleaner but did have nice wine glasses and champagne glasses. Despite the cold temps, we did not turn on the heat = except to dry some clothes. The fire was nice and I did ask for extra firewood...which came in handy with 7 C temps. Overall we had a good stay and liked the location for access to all the cute little villages.

                                                              Wonderful characterful cottage - delightful!

                                                              Morag R.

                                                              I booked a short stay at Red Cottage at very short notice. Right from the first communication everything was excellent. The owners took the time to email me even though they were on their own holiday and made sure I had all the information I needed before I arrived at the cottage.

                                                              The cottage itself is in one of the prettiest villages I've seen and is ideally located for exploring the Cotswolds: Stow on the Wold is only 1 mile away.

                                                              The cottage is really well equipped and well furnished. The quality of the bedding is excellent (that goes a long way with me) :-)

                                                              The owners eye for style is apparent throughout the cottage with homely touches that make the whole cottage such a pleasant place to be.

                                                              I love the old fashioned feel of the kitchen which despite its quirkiness is very well equipped and easy to work in. A back door in the kitchen leads to a very pretty courtyard garden with beautiful plants - ideal for sipping an evening glass of Pimms.

                                                              I was impressed by the high standard of cleanliness in the cottage. I can honestly say I couldn't find anything negative to say.

                                                              If you're looking for a home from home in a very pretty and relaxing village, then Red Cottage is the place to be. Thank you for my stay.

                                                              Morag Richardson

                                                              Peterborough

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you Morag for the lovely review, and we're really pleased you liked our cottage. We've tried to make it as comfortable as possible whilst keeping the old cottage charm. We'd love you to come back and and visit again sometime.

                                                              Thanks again,

                                                              John and Stephanie.

                                                              Nice cottage in beautifull village

                                                              Steven & SofieThe Netherlands

                                                              We enjoyed our stay in the centrally located village of Broadwell in the Cotswolds.

                                                              The cottage is ideal for a couple.

                                                              Mind your head when you are tall, all doors are rather low.

                                                              Perfect Launching Pad for Cotswold Vacation

                                                              Kitty A.

                                                              We are a family of four with two teenage daughters from the USA. The Red Cottage was a perfect home base for day trips in the area. The cottage was well equipped with plenty of space. The bedding was very comfortable. My husband bumped his head a few times on the third floor beam but the charm of the room made up for that. Wifi worked great which was important to our girls. We loved eating in the garden. We hope to come back sometime and recommend this rental highly.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thanks so much for your review. Really pleased you had a wonderful stay. Sorry about the bumped head on the beams (being 5 foot it is never a problem for me) but I am sure the beam has had a few victims over the years. We hope to see you back sometime.

                                                              Beware

                                                              Margaret O.

                                                              This cottage was unclean to say the least. Started looking for other accomodation immediately as we could not stay there. This took some time and longer than we expected due to availability in the area. We are overseas visitors with no phone.We advised the owner there was a problem( too many to mention one) Not as advertised at that time. No phone, no parking space, no shower, no hot water in daytime hours, loud boiler in the twin bedroom and dangerous entry/exit to master. Mold on dormer window. Washroom was disgusting. We have many pictures of the problems in this cottage. Moved out first week with no refund as requested. 1st week used to secure other accommodation ruined our holiday (time & expense).

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              We were stunned by this review, as we did not hear from the guest until the end of the first week, where the guest requested a full refund citing the hand held shower over the bath being the deal breaker. When the refund was not forthcoming, he then claimed numerous other incorrect statements, as put in the review. The house is certainly not unclean, we have had so many lovely comments from our guests, say how lovely clean and presentable the cottage is. . The furniture, bedding and towels are very good quality and replaced regularly. The parking is outside the cottage like in most English country villages.

                                                              I feel this review is vindictive and not at all reflective of our cottage or the experience fed back by any our other hundreds of guests. We have owned our cottage for 9 nine years, have many customers returning time and time again

                                                              Happy Easter in the Cotswolds

                                                              Peter D.

                                                              My wife and I stayed in Red Cottage for a week along with our two teenage daughters. This was our first visit to the area and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

                                                              The cottage is clean, cosy, well decorated and offers every home comfort. The location is excellent, providing easy access to some lovely villages including Stow on the Wold, Bourton on the Water and Chipping Campden.

                                                              The weather was indifferent but we were able to enjoy some good walks, the hospitality on offer in some of the village pubs and some of the local attractions. The falconry centre in Moreton in Marsh was a firm favourite along with the trout farm in Bibury where the girls proudly landed their first fish!

                                                              Oxford is within easy reach and Bicester Village provided some serious retail therapy when we needed some respite from the rain.

                                                              We would certainly recommend both the cottage and the area and look forward to returning when the weather has improved

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you for the lovely review, really glad you had a lovely time and the weather didn't stop you enjoying yourself. Thank you also for the tips on places to visit always really handy for other guests. Hope your daughters didn't spend too much at Bicester Village (I have done some damage to my credit card there in the past).

                                                              Kindest regards

                                                              Stephanie

                                                              Location

                                                              Broadwell, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire, UK

                                                              Under 2 miles away is the Historic market town of Stow-on-the Wold, with a supermarket, shops, pubs, restaurants. Nearby Moreton-in-Marsh (4 miles), Bourton-on-the-Water (5 miles). A little further there is Stratford Upon avon, and Oxford. There is also the main line station going into London Paddington from Moreton-in-Marsh. Blenheim Palace is only 20 miles away and a popular day out with visitors. Cheltenham is great for shopping and is also only 20 miles from the cottage. Golf: Golf available to non-members at Naunton Golf Club. Naunton Downs Golf Club Naunton Cheltenham Gloucestershire GL54 3AE

                                                              Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              We ask for 25% deposit, then the balance to be paid in full 6 weeks prior to your holiday. We do not accept credit cards, but you can pay by either bank transfer or cheque.

                                                              Bank transfer or cheque or paypal

                                                              $129avg/night
                                                              9 Reviews
                                                              Very Good 4.1/5
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing

                                                              Property # 836543

                                                              x