check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jason or Annette Carr

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

Renovated high quality apartments. Minutes walk from city centre and Cité. - Apartment Soult

17 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Carcassonne Apartment Rental Photos and Description

One and two bedroom apartments available for short or long term lets

Character apartment building close to the river and historic Pont Vieux in Centre of Carcassonne. The building including all communal areas has been totally renovated to offer a selection of five 1 bedroom apartments and one 2 bedroom apartment furnished to a very high standard with new fitted kitchens. All mod cons including WiFi internet.

Well established, friendly English owners living locally.

Property owners offer free pick up from Carcassonne Airport or train station with supermarket stop en route.

The apartments are accessed via a traditional winding French staircase tiled with terre cuite tiles. There are two one bedroom apartments on the first floor and two one bedroom apartments on the second floor. On the third floor, the two bedroom apartment has its own shaded roof terrace for outdoor eating with a lovely view of the castle.

We offer discounts for bookings of more than one apartment and also for longer stays. Each of the one bedroom apartments are equipped with dining furniture for four people. Friends can book two one bedroom apartments on the same floor so they have their own space and en suite bathroom whilst being able to eat and socialize together.

Rue du Pont Vieux is a prime location as it is located within a few minutes walk of Carcassonne town centre and Carcassonne Tourist Office. Two UNESCO World Heritage sites- Carcassonne Cite and the Canal du Midi are also within a few minutes walk from rue du Pont Vieux.

We wanted to keep to a French theme when naming the apartments so we decided to name them after some of Napoleon Bonaparte's most famous Peninsula Marshalls - Ney, Mortier, Suchet, Marmont and Massena.

More Details

Details for Apartment Soult 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2, 1 Bathroom

Maisonette apartment furnished to a very high standard with new fitted kitchen. All mod cons including WiFi internet. This hidden gem is accessed from the ground floor of our larger apartment building with its own courtyard for eating alfresco. Double bedroom with super king size bed ( guests often complement us on how comfortable our beds are).

En suite bathroom with large walk in shower.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jason or Annette Carr (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

About Jason or Annette Carr

We moved to this region 15 years ago from Herefordshire in the Uk.

We fancied a change as Jason was often away from home with his work in sales and contracting. We have renovated several properties in and around Carcassonne for rental which we take great pleasure from meeting guests from all over the world.

Annette also has a small but very busy hair salon in our village of Escueillens in the beautiful Razes countryside just outside Carcassonne.

We have three children, James (22) , Charlotte (19) and Samuel (17) . Our children often help us out with changeovers during holidays and weekends.

Jason or Annette Carr purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Jason or Annette Carr chose Carcassonne area

We selected this property from local knowledge and advice from a Notaire in Carcassonne.

It is the ideal location in Carcassonne between the Cite and the town centre. We wanted to buy a building to renovate and to retain character but also to modernise.

Having heard so many horror stories of rental properties with dodgy electrics and plumbing and poorly maintained communal areas, we realised that renovating an apartment building from scratch meant we could ensure all of our properties meet with current norms and hopefully avoid maintenance issues which might affect guests.

We carried out a lot of the work ourselves, hence it took us several years to complete but we have achieved our aim of providing modern, well equipped apartments with character.

What makes this apartment unique

Ideal position between Carcassonne town centre and Cite so walking distance to all ameneties.

The right balance of modern, comfortable apartments with character. Things that really matter and make a difference according to our guests are extremely comfortable beds, well equipped kitchens, fast internet and free pick up from airport or train station.

We always aim to be professional, friendly and down to earth landlords who strive to ensure our guests have a fantastic stay in Carcassonne.

Reviews

4.9
based on 17 traveler reviews

Apartment Soult
average rating of 4.882353 based on 17 reviews
5

Everything you could want... And so close too!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at Apartment Soult over the period of Bastille Day on the 14th July. Jason came to pick us up late at night at the Train station for no extra cost, (and also dropped us off at the end of our stay),and also kindly booked a table in a nearby restaurant for us, which to me was going above and beyond the call of duty! On arrival, the apartment is situated on an historic street which is close to Pont Vieux medieval bridge and only 10 mins walk to the entrance to the medieval Cité. The apartment is at the rear of the main block and is accessed through a small gravelled courtyard, which gave us a good degree of privacy and was nice and quiet. The apartment itself has been tastefully renovated and has everything you would need to live there, and was as described in the advert. All appliances were in good order and the place was spotlessly clean with modern furniture. There was free wifi which gave a good signal and the TV offered French channels as one would expect. It was my first visit to Carcassonne and the time of year was perfect. The fireworks display over the battlements was truly memorable and I found that there was enough to keep us occupied for a week without having our own transportation. I was not sure about the buses and public transport, so it would be good maybe to take a trip to the nearest tourist information office on Rue de Verdun to get timetables etc. The nearest supermarket is a 10 minute walk away from the apartment and there are also several markets nearby. An added bonus was the Tour de France passing through and also the Carcassonne Festival which lasts for several weeks. All in all, I found Apartment Soult fantastic value for money with a superb location and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to my family and friends.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful appartment

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful and well equiped apartment. We used the small patio daily for breakfast and chilling on the loungers.As other reviewers have said the appartment is in a very central location placing you within a short walk of all the major attractions. We had a car and we were able to park on the street although Jason had also directed us to other free parking on the riverside if we need it.

Janson was great, even offering to run us to a wine tasting event in a nearby town (thanks again for this).

We had a lovely time and actually started to oversleep - I usually never do that. We are happy to recommed this appartment as a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Pied a Terre

  • 5 of 5

We cannot recommend this property highly enough for a couple looking for a romantic and restful place to stay. Upon arrival we were met at the airport by the owner and driven to the property, which made us feel so welcome. We were provided with information on the area and a list of recommended places to eat as well as directions to the nearest supermarket (a five minute walk away). The maisonette was very clean, well maintained and very nicely decorated. The bedroom is accessible by a spiral staircase and has a large King-sized bed. There is also a large shower, which is fabulous. Outside is a gravelled area with a table and chairs, for enjoying the sunny weather. Location-wise I don't think you could find a better place - being midway between the medieval castle and the town itself - so a five minute walk in either direction will bring you to one of these. Close to excellent restaurants. Needless to say we will return as this was such a lovely place to stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

lovely stay in a lovely location

  • 5 of 5

Picked up from the airport and taken to a beautifully renovated apartment. Everything there we could want, although how we could use the dishwasher with so little cutlery and crockery, I'm not sure. The apartment was clean and tidy, with suitable heating for the time of year. The location was great - literally the cite was at the bottom of the road (OK, quite a walk up, but even we managed that easily). However, it did take time to locate and use the local supermarket, being careful not to buy to much at once, since everything had to be carried back. High spots are the cake shops, wine shops, local produce and cafes, low spots were the local restuarant food (I'm not a cassoulet girl) and the lack of English TV. My one moan would be the lack of suitable lighting in the main room - a usable lamp would be really helpful. But we had a great time, loved the people and the owner was very kind and helpful.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very central position

  • 5 of 5

Very well equipped apartment nothing missed, glad Jason met us from the airport & he made sure we were settled in, apartment very close to all amenties turn left & you go to the cite turn right & you go into the town all within walking distance. Very good restaurant LesMets-Tisses just about opposite. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Creswell, Oregon
5

Perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is perfectly located between La Cite and La Bastide. A short walk to the medieval fortress or the central square, Place Carnot, of the old town. The apartment is well equipped and set up nicely for two people. There is a nice restaurant and an excellent charcuterie that makes wonderful quiche for breakfast just down the block. Jason, the owner was very helpful and a pleasure to work with!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Kilometres
Carcassonne
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Carcassonne
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Carcassonne
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Carcassonne
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Carcassonne
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Carcassonne
Nearest Ski
100 Kilometres
Pyrenees
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Carcassonne Plage- Cavayere
Car: not necessary

Located in Carcassonne Centre. Ideal location between the Centre Ville & the Historic Medieval Cite (largest castle in Europe). Close to many restaurants & bars catering for all tastes & budgets. Everything in walking distance, no car necessary, although free parking nearby. 10 min from Carcassonne Airport with regular Ryanair flights. 40 min from Toulouse Airport (easyjet, Flybe, BA). Mediterranean coast & beaches 40 min drive. Excellent golf course 5 min. Numerous picturesque circulade Villages & Cathar Castles under an hour. Upcoming wine region with delicious discoveries on your doorstep. Leisurely cruising, walking or cycling along the Canal du Midi. Ideal central location for exploration or house hunting.

Other Activities: Canal du Midi, carting

Golf: Carcassonne golf course is a five minute drive from the apartments. A very scenic and enjoyable course to play.

There are several other courses within an hours drive from Carcassonne.

The apartment owner is familiar with a couple of the courses so please don't hesitate to ask for more information.

Ski: Excellent value for money sk-ing in the Pyrenees. Nearest resort within 2 hours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Carcassonne Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Mid
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$98
$488
$1,430
 
 
Low
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$78
$390
$780
 
 
Mid
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 3 2017
5 night minimum stay
$98
$488
 
 
Low
Jan 4 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$78
$390
$780
 
 
Medium
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$98
$488
$1,430
 
 
High
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$117
$585
$1,690
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$98
$488
$1,430
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

The above prices are inclusive of all utilities, linen and towel hire and local taxes.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Carcassonne Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties