check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english, french

Vacation in Paradise- Only a Block from the Ocean!

17 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Snorkel and Swim and Enjoy Paradise at Hale Ho'okomo!

Hale Ho’okomo which means in Hawaiian “to come on in” is just exactly what you are going to want to do when you arrive in this cute as can be Kapoho cottage. Located in the highly desirable, ever-sunny Kapoho, Hale Ho'okomo is set in a lush tropical and private setting. Pick papayas, bananas, and other tropical fruits right outside your door. Yes, this is Paradise! Enter through the double glass doors into the large living area and into your warm and welcoming vacation home. Live like the locals in this colorful, fun and funky Hawaiian style cottage that is just steps from some of the most spectacular snorkeling found on the Big Island. Green sea turtles (honu) love this area because of its warm temperatures and so will you! From the house, you can hear the waves and smell the clear breeze blowing across the Pacific (cleanest air in the US).

Just a five minute drive down the famous Red Road is the Ahalanui Warm Spring Park which is a geothermally heated swimming pond at the edge of the Pacific Ocean. Since Kapoho is located at the furthest most eastern edge of the Big Island, it enjoys drier weather and those comfortable ocean trade winds. Just a ten minute drive is the quaint and historical village of Pahoa with its original boardwalks, shopping, and fantastic dining! There’s Italian, Thai and even Tex-Mex!

Hale Ho’okomo can sleep up to 5. There are two spacious bedrooms and two bathrooms. The master bedroom has a Queen bed and a twin and the 2nd bedroom has a queen. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need to fix up a traditional island meal. For your convenience and easy clean up, there is a dishwasher. Other amenities to make your stay more comfortable are a washer/dryer, Flat screen Satellite TV, DVD player, telephone (local service only), and of course all linens and kitchenware included.

- Two Bedrooms and Two Baths (Sleeps 2 - 5)

- Washer & Dryer

- Beds: Two Queen and a Twin

- Television

- Full Kitchen

- Ocean Only One Block Away

- Telephone - Free Mainland & Canada Calling

- WIFI Internet

- DVD/CD Player

- All Cooking Utensils

- Microwave

- Linens Provided

- BBQ Grill

- Great Snorkeling Only 1 Block Away

- Many Restaurants Close

- Hawaii Volcanoes National Park 45 min.

- Hilo 30 min.

- No Pets

- No Smoking

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english, french

Reviews

4.7
based on 17 traveler reviews

Vacation in Paradise- Only a Block from the Ocean!
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
5

great get away

  • 5 of 5

Being in this awesome tropical get away is a must. So close to the tide pools a short one or two block walk. The champagne ponds were so nice and a short drive to the warm ponds was a treat. We would totally stay there again.

Monie and Jim Gentry

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A genuine Hawaii evperience

  • 5 of 5

We stayed briefly (1 day), unfortunatelty we had leave earlier than planned. The house is in a great location for accessing the Kaphoho Tide pools, which have AMAZING snorkeling for all ages. My 7 YO and 9 YO grandsons really enjoyed looking at the fish which are accostomed to seeing people who won't try to spear them (like a lot of locations around the island). I even enjoyed talking to the locals that were working on the landscaping in the neighborhood. I have stayed in this neighbor before at VRBO's and have never had a bad experirance. ALL of the property owners seem to take pride in maintaining their homes, no messes anywhere and no "disturbances" (loud music, fast moving vehicles).

Additionally, I appreciated that Gerard's home is very authentic and clean, and everything worked as it should, & the decorating was well done. It was very comfortable for our party of 3 adults and the 2 kids. I will definately be back in a few years. Thanks Gerard!

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Perfect location for us.

  • 5 of 5

We have visited the Big Island many times as the Puna district is our favorite part of Hawaii. The house was very nice / roomy, and we really enjoyed the lava rock tropical garden. The house was in a perfect location for everything we wanted to do.

It was really nice that the tide pools were only a short walk away as we spent multiple days snorkeling there. We didn't make it out to Shipman Beach but made the beautiful drive to the end of Beach Rd (Old Government Rd?). It was there we watched at least a dozen huge sea turtles swimming.

In summary it was a very relaxing week.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Perfect location for us.

  • 5 of 5

We have visited the Big Island many times as the Puna district is our favorite part of Hawaii. The house was very nice / roomy, and we really enjoyed the lava rock tropical garden. The house was in a perfect location for everything we wanted to do.

It was really nice that the tide pools were only a short walk away as we spent multiple days snorkeling there. We didn't make it out to Shipman Beach but made the beautiful drive to the end of Beach Rd (Old Government Rd?). It was there we watched at least a dozen huge sea turtles swimming.

In summary it was a very relaxing week.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5

Wonderfully located next to a nice lil gem! The tidepools and the heated pond is perfect for a vacation. The house has a nice warm feel. I recommend this to everyone. Thank you for your house!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Deposit has not been returned

  • 1 of 5

I would have given it a 5 star for its accommodations and location. But it went to a 1 star because i have not received my deposit back yet. It is 6 days later. They were able to take it out the first day i applied for the rental. This is a bad business practice. I should be making intrest off my money not someone else. There is another family in it the following day. I asked when i would get it back and have not received a response. I am not happy!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Dana, I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed by my response. The rental agreement clearly states that 14 days to return the deposit. While I attempt to return deposits prior, in this case I was unable to. I am glad that you enjoyed the house and hope to see you again. Aloha, Gerard
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hilo International Airport (ITO)
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

Live Theater and Museums in Hilo, a wonderful Island to just go and explore!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$85
$560
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Hawaii Tax ID 53648299 - 01

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Linens provided including beach towels, NON-SMOKING Home.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties