Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly Updated Oceanfront Private House In Hopkins, Belize

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,450 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 1.5 Bathroom Luxury Home Right On The Caribbean Sea

This incredible ocean-front home is built right on the beautiful beach just steps away from the sea in the small Garifuna fishing village of Hopkins and is within walking distance of grocery stores, restaurants, bars, shops and other popular establishments.

It is registered and licensed with The Belize Tourism Board, meeting all the quality standards.

Built in 2009 and updated in 2015, the house has rich mahogany cabinetry, cabbage-bark hardwood flooring throughout, stainless steel appliances in the gorgeous chef's kitchen and authentic hardwood furniture.

The house has a fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, 2 bedrooms with king-size beds, living room, 1 1/2 bathrooms and a laundry room. The house can accommodate 2 to 4 guests.

Relax on the private front veranda looking out over the sea, or the rooftop to catch the full effect of the sea breeze and take advantage of the higher vantage point for views of the village and even the Cayes a few miles out on the reef. The property abounds with producing banana, mango, lime, yellow and green coconut trees.

Our local manager takes care of the property and landscaping and provides optional housekeeping, provisioning services - all for an additional fee. She can also arrange transportation, car rental, travel and wide verity of tours.

How to get here: Once you arrive in Belize city, you have two options:

- rent a car and drive to Hopkins (about 2 1/2 hour drive)

- take one of the regional carriers (Tropic Air or Maya Air) to the Dangriga Airport where we can arrange the transportation to the property.

More Details

Owner
Yekateryna (Katya) Hackl
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english, russian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Yekateryna (Katya) Hackl

After a trip through Belize, we were immediately taken by the unparalleled beauty of the country and the the honest friendliness of the Belizean people - especially the locals we met while traveling through the village of Hopkins. It truly was an awe-inspiring experience that convinced us that this country was a place we wanted to be a part of.

Yekateryna (Katya) Hackl purchased this house in 2015

Why Yekateryna (Katya) Hackl chose Belize

The geographical diversity of Belize has to be seen to be believed. Full-on overgrown jungles, dry barren semi-arid areas, lagoons teeming with flora and fauna, white sand beaches, the largest network of underground caves in the world, and one of the top-ranked dive and snorkel reefs in the world. To have a home here, especially in one of the friendliest, most beautiful communities in the country, is a dream come true.

Amenities

Hopkins House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • There is a pull out couch available
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newly Updated Oceanfront Private House In Hopkins, Belize
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
5

Wonderful place! The house is very comfortable with a beautiful setting right on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Hopkins is amazing! Every single person in the village is friendly and welcoming. Didn't meet one rude person during our entire stay. The house is so comfortable and beautiful. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the ocean. The setting is perfect! We were disappointed that the water was a little dirty looking but we found it was the rainy season and had alot of washdown from the mountains clouding the water. Nothing anyone can do about that. Otherwise this was the perfect place. We would like to move here. The food is all homecooked and delicious. We chartered a fishing trip with the people that manage the house and had an amazing time catching snapper and lobster. Cheryl and Lucky were awesome! Cheryl takes very good care of you and arranges everything you need. We had a couples massage right inside the house. We rented a motocycle and drove around belize, so beautiful. We took a trip to the Myan ruins with J&D tours (arranged by Cheryl) and had an amazing time! Cipprio and Lewis were great guides, alot of fun and very knowledgeable! They showed us around and fed us lunch, it was a great day! Everything you need within walking distance, supermarket, atm, fruit stand right across the street with the best fruits and veggies. All in all the perfect vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boyertown, PA
4

Beautiful home, but experience was not what we expected - Our honest observations

  • 4 of 5

We just returned from a week (5/20-5/27) at AmayanHeaven. The house is absolutely beautiful and as advertised. Location is ideal; steps away from the beach and the Caribbean, and walking distance to the grocery store and many amazing Hopkins restaurants (and a short car ride to others!). Here’s where we felt there was a disconnect; if you are expecting a “private” retreat, that is absolutely not the case. Most of the beachfront in front of the house is public. There is actually a gathering area for locals immediately to the left of the front patio which was very active every day from early morning to late afternoon. What that meant for our entire stay – every day – was lots of foot traffic back and forth directly in front of the house. Sometimes they would respond to our waves and hellos, but more often than not they would just stare. We were also approached, as we lay on the patio or beach in front of the house, by children begging several times – one time when my husband and I both went into the house for a fresh drink, a boy walked right into our house asking for money. Despite having all the gorgeous doors facing the ocean to open for the breeze and view, if you did choose to open them you had to be prepared for everyone staring into the house as they walked by and you needed to be on guard. We were warned that petty theft is a huge issue in the village and were advised to keep the doors locked at all times – to be honest, we just didn’t feel safe and comfortable much of the time. We didn’t experience the “friendly” Hopkins residents that we read about. We had discussions with many ex-pats (most restaurants are owned by them) as well as residents born and raised in Hopkins. All agreed that there is somewhat of a resentment of tourists by locals and were not surprised to hear of our less-than friendly interactions with Hopkins natives. Example: I was unfortunately stung by a stingray on our last day in Hopkins; I was in extreme pain and my foot was bleeding profusely. We drove to the local clinic (right up the road). As we got out of the car, the nurse that runs the clinic was getting ready to leave and lock up for the day. She told us she was finished for the day and to drive to the hospital. We begged her to help (as I stood there bleeding and crying). She angrily told us again she was leaving and to go to the hospital in Dangriga, then proceeded to lock the clinic door, get in her car and drive away. Not so friendly.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Amayanheaven. We are glad you enjoyed the house and happy to hear you all felt it was " beautiful as advertised". We agree with you that it is in the perfect spot within the village with it being close to everything you need. We are, however, sad you didn't enjoy your time in Hopkins and the people as much as we do. I would have to respectfully disagree that the good people in Hopkins are unfriendly, as one other traveler posted here previously, they are "the salt of the earth". We have some amazing friends there and anyone will stop to help if ever you need it. We see there could be a disconnect if you were expecting a private resort. We have never advertised it as this. It is a remote fishing village in the heart of Belize and we advertise the house as "in the heart of the village ". This is what the charm of visiting such a place is all about. The beach, as with anywhere in the world, is free for everyone to enjoy, tourists and locals alike and it is in fact located steps from this, so you will for sure see people enjoying a wonderful stroll down the miles of this amazing beach. Regarding the poor children of Hopkins, while I have rarely seen them beg, I have seen them actively raising money for their family usually selling fresh baked goods from their home. We have never found them aggressive in any way and a simple "no thank you" and they are on their way. We do try to discourage our guests from not buying goods and inviting them onto the property to avoid issue, some guests to elect to purchase which will, in turn, keep them coming back. But as mentioned they are sweet and harmless. These same children will sometimes come and play with our son on the beach during our stays there. The local medical clinic is certainly not what you may be accustomed to from home but when they are open which I believe is Tuesday - Friday 9:30 - 4:00 you will be looked after well by a knowledgeable doctor. They helped us through our sons throat infection once, worth noting is that this will not cost you anything! ( but donations are welcome) Thank you again for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Frederick, Colorado
5

The beds are amazing!! The view is gorgeous! I will definitely come back.

  • 5 of 5

Excellent!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Suzanne, thank you for choosing to stay at aMayanHeaven. We appreciate your review, hope to have you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about this beautiful home surrounded by beautiful people in a beautiful town. My son and I had a wonderful relaxing time. The home is well appointed and we were in awe over the craftsmanship. The beds were also heavenly!!! You will sink down in them like a cloud!! We will be back!!!! Love love loved it!!!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cindy, thank you so much for choosing to stay at aMayanHeaven and the review! I am glad you enjoyed your time in Hopkins and happy to hear you found the beds so comfortable. We would love to have you back as a returning guest soon! The Hackls
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Monticello, IN
5

Fabulous Home to Rent

  • 5 of 5

We've rented homes in many locations and this is truly the best. The ability to be right on the beach and also in the village is unbeatable. We walked or biked to all of our meals (Cheryl had just gotten bikes for the property) and we loved the close proximity to everything. The doors made the house comfortable even on the hottest days with the cross ventilation. The house had everything we needed and the pictures were exactly like the home. This was the perfect relaxing vacation spot.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stacy, thank you for staying at aMayanHeaven and posting the review! We also enjoy being right on the beach and in the middle of the village. As you mentioned Cheryl just got bikes for the house and I can't wait to go for a ride when we are back in Hopkins! We hope to have you back soon, the Hackls
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

All i can say is WOW

  • 5 of 5

Imagine the best place you could ever stay in and that is not good enough to describe this piece of paradise. Care taker is right next door and she is AWESOME!!! Make SURE you watch out for those speed bumps on the road they will kill your car.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Garry, we really appreciate your review! Thank you for recognizing the effort of our manager Cheryl, she truly cares about our guests and makes sure they are well taken care of during their stay at aMayanHeaven. Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at our property, hope to have you as a guest again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Dangriga Airport
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Southern Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.06 Miles
Thongs Cafe
Nearest Beach
Right in the front yard
Car: recommended

Hopkins is a Garifuna village on the coast of the Stann Creek District in Belize. Hopkins is considered by some Belizeans to be the cultural center of the Garifuna population in Belize. The town hosts its own national holiday, Hopkins Day, and welcomes people for their celebration on Garifuna Independence Day as well, they do this with drum ceremonies that can last till early hours in the morning.

The village is separated into two parts; the Northside (Baila) and the Southside (False Sittee). Hopkins is surrounded by the Maya Mountains and the Cockscomb Range inland, and the Caribbean Sea on its shore. The village was created in 1942 to replace the village of Newtown, which was devastated by a hurricane further up the coast.

Today Hopkins is a small but vibrant community of approximately 1,000 villagers. The people live mostly by farming and fishing, and more recently many have found work in the growing tourist industry. The residents are known for their friendliness and genuine hospitality, and welcome visitors to their village. Hopkins has a selection of gift shops, restaurants and small bars. Hopkins was recently voted 'The Friendliest Village in Belize' by Belize First Magazine.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hopkins House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $20 per person per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable