Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Newly Built Stamps Cottage & The Beach Hut

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Uplyme – Village location 1.1 miles from seaside town of Lyme Regis and beach.

A delightful, holiday property called Stamps Cottage newly-built on the grounds of the old post office in Uplyme. This desirable, quiet village has it's own parking space directly outside and uniquely comes with The Beachhut which has deck chairs, sunbeds and everything required for a day at the beach. Located on Monmouth Beach, the beach hut is a calm spot to unwind after a walk along the Southwest Coastal Path, a swim, fossil hunting or a fishing trip. At the rear of the beach hut is a car park and toilets.

Stamps Cottage has been stylishly furnished with the finest furniture. This year we are investing in a new hardword oak floor and having a fresh coat of paint throughout.

More Details

Amenities

Uplyme Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Glass screen at side of bath
  • Bathroom with shower over the bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: 2x double bedrooms Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 Laura Ashley furniture with double bed flat screen TV. Bedroom 2 John Lewis furniture, queen size bed optional single guest bed or cot bed with flat screen TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Newly Built Stamps Cottage & The Beach Hut
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews
5

Great Escape

  • 5 of 5

Lovely cottage full of character, well furnished and spotlessly clean. The beach hut is a bonus. Have no hesitation in recommending it. Rachel was extremely helpful too. Will be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you both again real soon. Best wishes Rachel Davey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

23 HR4 8SU

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and it was close to everywhere we wanted to visit, walking down to Lyme Regis was fine but walking back need to be quite fit and able to manage it as it was extremely steep.

The cottage was very clean and well equipped but found having only one toilet very inconvenient. Also there were no lights to the front door so coming in was a little dangerous negotiating the steps in the dark .

Were amused by all the little notes every where. Hilda Heeley.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We find that elderly people don't always research the detail on the advert. There is a floorplan on the photos and property details which shows we only have the one toilet. Infact we took the second one out to create more living space as this is a cottage we felt living space was more important that 2 toilets in a small dwelling. There is a light outside the front door which illuminates the front steps. You just need to switch it on!?? The notes help you to work things like the heating. When we didn't have the notes we were contacted regularly and so as you didn't contact us during your stay we assume they worked? Finally the picturesque River Walk is a fantastic feature of our village location and it's flat. this is unusual for Lyme as the town itself is set on a very steep hill. We rarely get 3 star reviews and feel really disappointed with yours as we take pride in our property and are clear about the experience you will get. I know your son selected this for you but perhaps a little more research before you select a property is necessary in future. Best wishes Rachel and Richard Davey
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a long weekend.

The cottage was perfect - well equipped and very comfortable.

The beach hut was a fabulous added bonus! We loved it!

We will most definitely return and have - and will continue to - recommend to our family & friends.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow Thankyou for such a wonderful review! We are so pleased you liked it and hope one of you had a very 'Happy Birthday' Look forward to welcoming you back. Rachel and Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stamps - Where did the time go?

  • 5 of 5

We had a really enjoyable bank holiday weekend break at Stamps. It was perfectly located for our trip to River Cottage and then sauntering down to Lyme Regis. One slight criticism was the absence of the usual introductory info on local amenities etc but that is me being harsh. The highlight was the beach hut which was fantastic. Loved the bed in there just right for a post fish n chip snooze. Sorry we didn't leave a message in the visitors book we ran out of time!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a lovely time! Hope to see you again soon. Rachel & Richard Davey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Fab cottage beautiful furnishings lovely walk into Lyme along the river

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the 5 star review, please come again soon! Rachel & Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in Lyme Regis. The property was perfect and the walk to town was fun for the kids.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Mark we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday and our property. Hope to see you again. Rachel and Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property Manager

Richard or Rachel Davey
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, portuguese
Calendar last updated:
February 10, 2018

About Richard or Rachel Davey

We were married in 2014 and our wedding reception was four doors down in the field of the Talbot Arms pub. We moved to Charmouth 2 years ago now and renovated The Old Stables which is our second holiday home. We are in the process of developing two more in the area and hope to develop a portfolio which will take us into retirement.

Richard or Rachel Davey purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Richard or Rachel Davey chose Uplyme

With its mild, temperate climate Lyme Bay is an ideal winter as well as summer holiday destination. The weather is temperate, by British standards and far warmer than many other places at a similar latitude owing to the influence of the Gulf Stream.

The Good Beach Guide provides ratings for all the beaches along the Lyme Bay coast and most achieve the highest award. You will find good food to eat at excellent seafood restaurants including Hix and River Cottage, welcoming village pubs and tasty fish and chip takeaways.

Lyme Bay is part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. Many of the earliest discoveries of prehistoric remains were made by Mary Anning, the 19th century fossil hunter, in the area surrounding Lyme Regis. Today, cliff faces and rock falls continue to expose fossils and reveal up to 250 million years of history.

The wonderful South West Coast Path follows the contours of the Triassic and Jurassic coast from Studland in east Dorset, around Lyme Bay in west Dorset and east Devon, then along the south Devon and Cornwall coasts, back through north Devon to Minehead in Somerset.

What makes this cottage unique

Stamps Cottage is located in a lovely part of England and is quick and easy to get to from the M5. This newly-built property in Uplyme is just fours doors down for the pub which is the heart of the village and the coastal town of Lyme Regis is within walking distance. Uniquely, Stamps Cottage has its own Beach Hut on Monmouth Beach where you can complete your seaside holiday.

Map

River Cottage Canteen
River Cottage HQ
"5 mins drive from Stamps Cottage"
Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site
"Fossil talks and Museum"
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Exeter/Bristol
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Talbot Arms
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Weymouth
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Axminster station
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
M5
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Talbot Arms
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Lyme Bay
Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

Where 5 valleys meet, wonderful walking

River cottage near by.

Coast/Beach:

1.5 miles from beach, 30 minutes walking, 5 minutes driving.

Travel:

Exeter 45 minutes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
50% on booking, final payment minimum 7 days before holiday .

Changeover Day:
Friday arrival 4pm , departure 12 midday ,please email for short breaks.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.