Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Banked farmhouse, self catering, private equestrian facility

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Holiday home, stirling

Old Bankend farmhouse near Stirling was built around the turn of the last century, set in fantastic countryside ,surrounded by fantastic views. It offers a high standard of accommodation and comfort. It has a great location and makes exploring Scotland very easy from this idyllic base I The house has been recently restored and offers 5 double bedrooms and 2 reception rooms, all with glorious views, of Stirling Castle and Wallace Monument. Downstairs there are 2 public rooms (one could be an extra bedroom) and a large modern shower room. The sitting room looks directly at Stirling Castle and has an open fire for cosy evenings, A lovely wood burning stove and flat screen TV are in the sitting room close to the large kitchen /dining area which leads via French doors to all fresco dining and barbecue area. The front garden enclosed enjoys morning sunshine, and the patio collects all the afternoon sun. This unique house can cater very easily for large and small groups.

Golfing enthusiasts, there are golf courses galore, two are visible from the farmhouse. Gleneagles is 20 minutes up the motorway. St Andrews Old Course is 1 hour away.

There is lots of fishing locally, If you prefer a bit of history , Stirling is steeped in it, Stirling Castle, Wallaces Monument, Bannokburn Heritage Centre. The tollboth, Old Town Jail, and loads more. The Safari Park is 5mins away, Go Ape, for a zip wire treat for the energetic.

Boat trips on Loch Lomond 25mins away, Stirling University is available for the complete sports facility.

More Details

Owner
Val Gair
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Val,



I just wanted to send a message re the house this weekend. We had a great time and all of the party had only great things to say about the accommodation.



Very comfy beds, beautiful style and interiors, an abundance if space and a great location made up for the unfortunate weather we had for June.
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Stirling House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Tiled Stove
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • The family upstairs bathroom, has an electric shower over a large bath, toilet and wash hand basin. Downstairs there is a large shower room with soaker shower complete with hand shower, toilet and wash hand basin. All bathrooms are new. The TV room has seats in place for 7 people more seats can be added if necessary
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , 6 twin/ single , 2 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 double , 6 twin/ single , 2 child bed , 1 sleep sofa /futon , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , All twins can zip and link to make king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , All twins can zip and link to make king
  • This house has 5 bedrooms, downstairs we have 1 king bed and 1 twin room, upstairs we have 1 double bedroom and 2 more twin bedrooms. All bedrooms are large, light and have superb views over the surrounding countryside. They have superior mattresses which are new, lovely bed linen and large bath towels.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Sand Box
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We can and will be pleased to provide anything that our guests desire where ever possible.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Banked farmhouse, self catering, private equestrian facility
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 20 reviews
5

Lovely house!

  • 5 of 5

Great house very near Stirling. We were a group of 8 celebrating our annual reunion and it was the perfect size and location for us! Lovely views of the monument and castle. We particularly loved the dogs!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, you kept your promise ! Hope to see you again .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

House is lovely, owner less so.

  • 1 of 5

We enjoyed the house and our family break but would never go back and would never recommend to anyone. This would be due to Val the owner who unfortunately has a rude and antagonising manner. Sorry to say this, but it's true.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed your 70th Birthday celebrations at Bankend . Sorry for the confusion but a weekend break is Friday - Monday morning, not Tuesday. Can I also add, we refunded your £250 good house keeping deposit in full on your departure.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Excellent, would definitely return!

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious and luxurious cottage with excellent facilities.

The owner was very helpful.

This would suit a large family or a group of friends wanting to get away.

It is a short drive away to Stirling (or walk if it takes your fancy however this takes you down the side of a busy main road) and in a great location.

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Thanks!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Excellent, would definitely return!

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious and luxurious cottage with excellent facilities.

The owner was very helpful.

This would suit a large family or a group of friends wanting to get away.

It is a short drive away to Stirling (or walk if it takes your fancy however this takes you down the side of a busy main road) and in a great location.

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Thanks!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

July visit with 3-generation extended family

  • 5 of 5

Our 3-generation extended family of 8 spent a week at Bankend Farmhouse in July. The house was large, clean, and comfortable, and well furnished. We especially appreciated the kitchen and large dining table for the family to linger over dinner.

The location was a great base to explore around Scotland. The setting was beautiful - the view outside the window was horses and Stirling Castle. The kids and even the teenagers loved walking around the farm.

Val was very helpful with information and directions, etc.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

a good rental property

  • 4 of 5

a property big enough for 8 adults and 2 children (10 years), very clean, well-maintained, farmhouse exactly as the description. Washing machine,dryer, washing dishes exactly as if we were at home, everything is there. We enjoyed our trip very much.

I recommend this property to those who want to visit Stirling's area.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Edinburgh or Glasgow
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Stirling
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Loch Lomond
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Kings Park Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Stirling
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
A9
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
River House
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Ayr ,St Andrews,
Car: recommended

Stirling Castle , Wallace Monument, Go Ape, Falkirk Wheel,Safarie Park, Stirling Uni, sports centre,Edinburgh Zoo, pony tracking, Callander.walking and hill climbing on Damyat.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Stirling House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
April
Apr 2 2017 - May 5 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$192
From
$276
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,342
 
 
Spring
May 6 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$192
From
$276
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,534
 
 
August
Aug 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,790
 
 
Autumn
Sep 3 2017 - Dec 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$192
From
$276
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Christmas
Dec 21 2017 - Dec 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,918
Flat fee
 
 
New Year
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 4 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,557
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$173
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $19.18
Refundable damage deposit $319.58

The above prices are for 6 persons sharing.

A supplementary charge will be added for each extra person per day
low/Mid £20 per person per day.
Peak £25 per person per day.

Weekend breaks are available in mid /low season only , weekend break 3 nights £650.

Please contact me for Christmas week price
All bedlinen and towels are supplied , £10 of electricity, large basket of logs, kindling

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable