Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Contemporary Villa In Porters, St James

Bedrooms 2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights


About the property

Villa in Porters, St James, Barbados, Caribbean - Peaceful Location Within 5 Minutes Walk To The Beach And Glitter Bay And Royal Pavillion Hotels

If you are looking for a contemporary holiday location on the beautiful West Coast, then this is for you. Situated in a quiet road within a few minutes' walk from the beach, this house is 1 of 4 in a secure, select development. A parking space is provided immediately outside the entrance. Your first taste of this delightful home is via electronic gates from where you enter into an inviting shared pool area complete with 2 outdoor showers. Your own good quality sunbeds are to hand where you can relax and laze in the sun, or should you choose, in the shade under the parasol. Upon entering this home you walk into a large, bright open plan lounge and kitchen area with wooden shutters for windows in true Bajan style. The kitchen is fitted with all the appliances you will need. The comfortable sofas seat 10 as it includes a sofa bed. There are 3 ceiling fans downstairs and with the doors open, the Bajan breeze will waft through, cooling the temperature. At one end of this room, doors open to an al fresco dining area seating 6, which has the benefit of a canopy, should you prefer some shade - just the place to enjoy a glass of wine! Upstairs are 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms, 1 being en-suite to the master bedroom which also has a large balcony where you can sit and watch the green monkeys go back and forth to collect their fruit. Both bedrooms have amazingly comfortable American super king size beds, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Crisp cotton sheets, soft bath towels and bathrobes are provided. Both bathrooms have walk-in showers to freshen up from the temperatures of the day before deciding whether to eat at home or choose from the abundance of excellent restaurants. On arrival at this home you will be welcomed by our Property Manager. Should you wish we can provide a welcome pack (tea, bread, milk, etc) and taxi from the airport. We can also arrange competitive care hire rates, although for those not wishing to drive, there is a bus stop at the end of the road. The beaches are simply stunning with the sea clear and azure blue where you can swim with the Turtles. A short car or bus ride will bring you to the 'Limegrove Lifestyle Centre' in Holetown with its designer shops (Armani, Cartier, Diamonds International to name a few), coffee shops, restaurants, banks, etc with a large supermarket nearby. This home is in a perfect location from where you can easily access sandy beaches, gourmet restaurants (including the famous Lonestar) and an inviting pool area to welcome your return.

Steve Cox
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About Steve Cox

I have been going to Barbados for over 30 years, I opened Glitter Bay Hotel and the Royal Pavilion , then in 1999 I set up owned and ran the Lonestar Restaurant & Hotel , Barbados is my second home

Steve Cox purchased this villa in 1995

Why Steve Cox chose Porters

.great location quite & sucure , Near beaches 2 mins walk, golf courses, polo , Hotels & Restaurants, Holetown shops 3 mins Drive away , full maid service if required , cool contemporary design

What makes this villa unique



Porters Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Child's Highchair
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Both bedrooms have American Super King size beds, fitted wardrobes, dressing tables, large mirrors, air conditioning and ceiling fans. Bedroom 1 also has the benefit of a safety deposit box and a large balcony - ideal for breakfast and afternoon tea.
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Notes on accommodation: The open plan lounge and kitchen area is bright and spacious with 3 ceiling fans, although with the wooden shutters open, this allows a refreshing breeze to waft through. There is a TV, DVD, CD player, telephone, and free WiFi. The kitchen, in addition to the appliances, has cutlery, tableware, glassware, saucepans, etc. The outside dining patio (seating 6) is ideal for those evenings when you prefer to eat at home. There is also a BBQ. Both bedrooms have American Super King size beds for your comfort, air conditioning, ceiling fans, fitted wardrobes and dressing tables with large mirrors. The bathrooms have walk-in showers. Outside: At the front of the house is the courtyard including the pool with Roman steps and handrail which is shared by the 4 properties, although it is not often that all 4 homes are in use at the same time. The comfortable sunbeds and parasol are for your exclusive use. To the rear of the property is a private courtyard with mature tropical plants. Utility Room: There is an enclosed area off the kitchen housing the washing machine and dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bathroom towels, beach towels and crisp cotton linen are included. A weekly maid service is included. Should you wish, extra maid service can be arranged at low cost. Other: The dining patio is situated in a private garden area where the green monkeys skip along the wall on their way to collect their fruit. Off bedroom 1 is a large balcony with 2 sofas and 2 wooden chairs - the ideal place for breakfast and afternoon tea.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Contemporary Villa In Porters, St James
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews

Beautiful place... you should go!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Mango Court. We are a family of 5 and had enough space and a great time. Our friends rented the house next door so it was fantastic to share the pool with all the kids and the meals :) We rented a car to run errands and visit the island (a must). Thank you Steve, thank you Geoff, you are amazing hosts!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relax in Barbados

  • 4 of 5

Barbados Airport is currently operating a go slow in the immigration area. So, once I get off the plane it took another 60 minutes plus to get out of the airport, which is disheartening after a long haul flight. I would like to say a big "Thank You" to Geoffrey Fox who did the meet and greet at the Villa and was only a phone call away. The Villa is as the photos and easy to find on the West Coast. There were a few minor challenges - there is no microwave (so if you cooked one day and needed to warm the food up on the next day, the only alternative was to use a pot, which is going back in time! The toilet in the main bedroom was not filling up with water, flushing was intermittent, the electric gates stopped working twice, but was assessed quickly and resolved during my stay. Water pressure changed twice during my week stay, but corrected itself. There was no TV or Radio to keep up-to-date with current affairs and any major alerts on the island. Barbados had the worst rain fall and floods on Tuesday 29.11.16, advised to stay in.

The stay was relaxing, peaceful and homely, exactly what I wanted. I would gladly revisit Mango Court. "Thank you" Steven Cox.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carol Glad you had a relaxing time , yes the airport can sometimes be a challenge , sorry about the few little problems but glad they were sorted out ! Microwave never had a request before but I have instructed Geoff to get a small one ! There is a TV for the local channel and a DVD player also the music centre has a Radio button with great local stations news etc ! Sorry if you weren't inform Boy did it Rain on that Tuesday Prince Harry must have brought it in from UK :)) We look forward to seeing you again soon Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic location for beach, buses to loads of local attractions .

  • 4 of 5

Property spacious with all required to make our stay comfortable. Outside terrace and pool superb. Nice quiet suburban road close to all amenities. Geoff was on hand to help if we required anything and was very friendly. I would rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mark for your comments Glad you enjoyed the house and your stay in Barbados and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at Mango Court several times and it's a great property set-up, in a superb location just a few minutes walk from one of the best beaches in St James. The house is along with three others set around a secure and gated pool area which feels just like your own private swimming pool. The property was clean and well maintained and the management company were immediately on hand if you needed them. It's very close to the Royal Pavilion Hotel and the infamous restaurants like the Loan Star and the Cliff along the coast line. With all the facilities of Hole town close by it is a perfect place to stay if you like an independent style of holiday.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Yvette for your comments and Glad had another great stay at 3 Mango Court ! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon !! Kind regards Steve C
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect condo

  • 5 of 5

My friend and I spent 9 nights at this condo. We didn't want to leave. The location was perfect. We either walked to the beach, close by or lazed by the lovely pool. The covered terrace upstairs makes this property. We had a sofa each and chilled ! It was so much nicer than a hotel. We had a bedroom and bathroom each.

The bus service from 200 yards away is great. Lots of restaurants to choose from and the supermarket is 5 mins on the bus. However, the property owner arranged for my shopping list to be delivered for our arrival date. That's what I call client service !

The net is this property, you will love it .

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your comments ! Glad you ladies enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in late November this year 😊 And I promise the egg cups will be waiting !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location but tired and in need of updating

  • 1 of 5

We have just spent three weeks staying at No 3. which is an attractive development of four villas in a gated unit, with a communal swimming pool, built around fifteen years ago.

On the plus side, the development is well located just a short bus ride from Holetown, and a fifteen minute walk to a good beach, which also has a range of eating and drinking options (Ju Ju’s bar, Santis, and , if you want to treat yourself, the Lone Star). It is also far enough from the road to avoid the traffic noise, nor are there barking dogs or cockerels to keep you awake at night! There is also parking if you have a hire car.

On the negative side, No 3 is now extremely ‘tired’, to put it mildly. It is in poor decorative order and overall condition, and the white goods are broken, rusty, or needing replacement. The sun canopy is broken, and also the trellis is broken, where it fell down. The broken arms of the sun canopy also snag the door, making it difficult to get into the back garden. The bedside lamp was a safety hazard. The switch had presumably broken, been removed, and the wires had been simply taped together, and requiring also that you had to pull the plug in and out of the mains to switch it off and on ….. not easy at night! There is a gas barbecue, but it is rusty, and needs taking to the dump! There is a hob to cook on, but only two of the four rings work. When taking a shower, you need to pick your time, as it is only a trickle, if a tap is running, or the shower being used in the adjacent property. In the sitting room, the huge, and very heavy mirror, propped up against the wall is an accident waiting to happen.

Given what we had paid for No 3, to say that we were disappointed is an understatement. Such a shame, as the property could be made so nice, if the owner were to spend some money on it.

Conversely, Numbers 1, 2, and 4 are all in good order, well maintained, and we would not hesitate in recommending them.

There is a very helpful lady (Mary) who looks after the cleaning of No’s 1, 3, and 4, and does all that she reasonably can to be of help, and the properties are all kept clean. However, No 3 is in need of more than a clean!

The bottom line is that we would go back there, but certainly not to No 3. Interestingly, our neighbours in No 2 had done just that!

Date of arrival

15 February 2016

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very Sorry Trudy had some problems , before her arrival there was a tropical storm and the canopy was left out and it got damaged and the trellis blown off at the rear of the property , the canopy needed a new part and I have just arrive with it ! ( you cannot get anything in Barbados) , the trellis and wall are repaired ! All lamps are in good working order / renewed A new induction hob has been fitted and fully working The BBQ and gas hob which is where I do all of my cooking is in good working order There is now an espresso machine for coffee lovers please bring the flavor you like 😀 The washing machine and dryer are the best I have ever used they are aprox 4 years old and are working just fine . The water pressure in all four houses is the same for everybody and unless all taps are turned on at same time there's no problem ? This house is a contemporary style much larger house than number 2 which is very let's say traditional !! (Personal Taste) The house is redecorated every other September and touched up as needed . In two years of letting my house this is the first complaint I have had and I have many repeat guests Once again sorry to Trudy but she had my contact numbers but I never heard from her ? Steve C
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Grantly Adams
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Glitter Bay


Beautiful West Coast beach within 5 minutes walking distance where you will find Glitter Bay Apartments, Royal Pavilion Hotel and the Lonestar Restaurant in one direction whilst the other direction will take you along to the Colony Club where you will find fabulous local cocktails on offer during their Happy Hour - 4-6pm!!!


Bridgetown Airport is approximately 40 minutes taxi ride.

When staying at this property car hire is not essential as the local bus stop is only a 2 minute walk.


1 mile from Holetown with its shops and restaurants.

The island is small and you will be able to reach most areas within 40 minutes drive.

Further Details:

Limegrove Lifestyle Centre in Holetown is 1 mile away with its duty free shopping and designer shops, restaurants, coffee shops. There are also banks, supermarkets and Doctors surgery.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $421.11

Booking Notes:
50% deposit to secure booking.
Balance to be paid 6 weeks prior to arrival.
If booking made within 6 weeks or less, then full payment must be made to secure the booking.
A refundable security deposit of USD500 must be paid in cash to the Property Manager on arrival at the villa which will be fully refunded at the end of your holiday subject to inspection of the property.

Changeover Day:
Flexible changeover day.
Arrival time after 16.00 hours
Departure time by 13.00 hours
Discounts will be given for longer stays & for last minute bookings where payment in full up front , please contact owner for discounts or deals ?

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties