Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Riverside Apartment In The Beautiful Coastal Resort Of Polperro - Shellseekers No2 Sleeps 3 (1 Bedroom)

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Description

Shellseekers No2 Sleeps 3 (1 Bedroom)

Spacious riverside apartment sleeping 2 plus a baby or child.

Located in the heart of the pretty coastal resort of Polperro, Cornwall - Close to shops, inns, cafes, Restaurants, the harbour, beach and entrance to the coastal paths.

With local buses running regularly from the village to other resorts - Polperro is the ideal destination for your holiday in Cornwall.


About the property

Shellseekers No1

The idyllic resort of Polperro is often shown on Rosamunde Pilcher films. An artists dream back in the early 1900's, you'll find many images captured forever on canvas. Shellseekers No1 is a spacious ground floor riverside apartment in the coastal resort of Polperro, Cornwall - With a pretty sun patio overlooking the river Pol and onsite private parking for your car. Open all year, and perfectly located close to shops, Inns, Cafes, Restaurants, the harbour, beach and coastal paths. Close to the resort of Fowey, made famous by author Daphne DuMaurier. Free Wi-Fi is now included for your convenience when staying at Shellseekers. You will love this sea side inspired apartment, and the resort of Polperro will take your breath away!


Property Manager
Victoria Richardson
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Victoria Richardson

Owner/Manager at Crumplehorn Holiday Cottages, in the beautiful coastal resorts of Polperro and Looe, Cornwall.

Victoria Richardson purchased this apartment in 1960

Why Victoria Richardson chose South East Cornwall

My parents bought their first holiday cottage back in 1964. (Wow! - We have been established for just over 50 years now!)

They decided that as they loved the area so much, that they wanted to be able to share the beauty and charm of Polperro and Looe with others too.

I took the cottages over from my parents 10 years ago when they retired, and continue to pride myself on offering dependable - Quality, comfortable, clean accommodation.

We are annually inspected and approved by QIT (Quality in Cornwall) Your guarantee of a great place to stay!

What makes this apartment unique

All of our cottages have onsite private parking for your car, gardens or sun patios and are situated in the sea side resorts of Polperro and Looe, South East Cornwall.

We have beachside with fantastic sea views and riverside cottages nestling along the bank of the pretty river Pol, which runs through the resort of Polperro until it meets the sea.

And three gorgeous old world "white washed" Cornish cottages - Dating back to 1739. With beamed ceilings, stable doors, open fireplaces and sash windows.

Each cottage is individual, a cosy retreat from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Booking Notes:
We accept payment by debit card and bank transfer in pounds sterling - Free of charge, or by credit card with a 2% handling fee.
We take a one third deposit upon booking, with the balance being payable one month prior to arrival.
Please call us or e-mail through your booking request today.




Changeover Day:
Our changeover day is on a Saturday - But we can also offer 3 night breaks from Friday to Monday, and Tuesday to Friday out of season.


Amenities

Polperro Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 9:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • River
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Spacious bedroom with a double and a full sized single bed. Each apartment can sleep up to 2 adults and a child or a baby. (We can supply a travel cot free of charge)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Outside: Pretty sun patio furnished with a table and chairs - for dining Al Fresco.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Shellseekers No2 Sleeps 3 (1 Bedroom)
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
4

Lovely apartment in a fantastic location

  • 4 of 5

The location of this apartment is fantastic for a very easy and short stroll through the village to the harbour. Also it came with a parking space which is a plus.

Nicely decorated and with everything you'll need for your stay.

We look our dog with us and she enjoyed it too!

I highly recommend shellseekers as a place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. It is much appreciated by the cleaning staff and myself. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards. Victoria Crumplehorn Cottages
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely little holiday flat!

  • 5 of 5

Well looked after holiday flat, clean and tidy when we arrived, and had everything we could of needed. It's in a great location, with a bonus parking space. We ate out every night, and everywhere we went had great food and service.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is much appreciated. And thank you for looking after and leaving the apartment so well too. We hope to have you back again in the future. Kind regards Victoria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peace, quiet and fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5

Having stayed here several times, as always it was beautifully clean. A really superb location, minutes from polperro harbour. It has the benefit too of a private, sunny and secure garden. Finally you even get private parking. Thank you Victoria

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. Your comments and feedback are much appreciated. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Victoria and the cleaning team. Crumplehorn Cottages
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Flat OK but couldn't get rid of unpleasant smell

  • 2 of 5

The flat was ok, good sized lounge, bedroom and bathroom. The outside patio area was nice and got the sun all afternoon. Excellent position halfway down the main street. The downside to the flat was the very unpleasant odour which pervaded throughout the flat. I spent the first day cleaning everything including hand washing the kitchen floor as there was no mop available. No matter what we used the smell lingered. Bought air freshener, cleaning fluids and bleach and this helped for a while. If you went out for the day and the windows were closed the smell hit us when we opened the kitchen door again. We put up with it for 4 days and then decided to go home. In hindsight we should have contacted the owners. Also disappointed to find the only floor cleaning implement was a small dustpan and brush.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very disappointed to read your comments - They are most unexpected, because we received an e-mail from Mrs Clydesdale last week saying that you had returned home early because you were poorly. We have never received any comments from guests who have stayed at Shellseekers No2 about an odour, and are not aware of one when we clean and service the apartment. In fact the guests who are staying their this week are back for their 3rd time! We will however look in to purchasing a mop for guests to use with our cleaning sprays - should they want to mop the floor during their stay. (At present we leave - Washing up liquid, Kitchen multi purpose spray, bathroom cleaning spray and various cloths for guests to use) But suggestions are always welcome for any improvements. Kind regards Victoria and the Cleaning Team. Crumplehorn Cottages Polperro and Looe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was all fresh and clean

  • 5 of 5

Very good value for money

The electric meter only cost 8 pound for the whole week. We expected to pay more as the weather was cold even for March.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The info about the meter is really helpful for other guests to see too - As the meter is set at a lower tariff than we pay for the supply. Thank you for looking after and leaving the property so nicely - We hope to have you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Victoria and the Cleaning Team Crumplehorn Cottages
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

lovely week away in wonderful polperro

  • 5 of 5

We have returned from a lovely weeks break in shell seekers Number 2 , and the cottage and polperro itself were so nice we are already talking about booking for next year.

First the apartment. Shell seekers number 2 is the upstairs of two apartments, and had plenty of space for the two of us and our dog Lucy. Kitchen was well appointed and comfortable to cook in on the rare occasion we didnt eat out. One of the major advantages of shellseekers is its location and car parking space. This means unlike a lot of visitors to polperro you dont have to park your car at the main car park and walk down to the village, you can park right outside the apartment and leave your car there for the week without having to pay parking charges etc. Its only a 5 minute walk into the village itself from the apartment.

Couple of very minor things to be aware of, non of which were major problems or would stop us coming again.

Just mentioning them in passing.

The lounge is very spacious but would benefit from a larger TV. I only raise this as i watched the England game on the Monday night and a larger tv would have been nice, although my wife had no problem with it so for most people I am sure this wouldn’t be a problem.

You also just need to be aware the electrics are on a meter taking pound coins, we probably got through 6 or 7 pounds worth in the week so just make sure you have enough available.

Finally a comment on polperro it is a really nice place with a nice relaxed way of life. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants all serving nice food. Special mention to Michelles restaurant for a delicious restaurant meal , and the three pilchards pub for the size of their portions and the sun trap of a beergarden on the roof overlooking the harbour where we seemed to spend most sunny afternoons. Also if you have a dog with you pretty much everywhere was dog friendly and you can take your four legged friend in with you to eat and drink . plenty of walks from polperro out along the coastal paths with a lovely beach cafe at tallend bay, about a miles walk away

We will be back!

Andy + Julie Price (and Lucy the dog)

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of Shellseekers No2. We are really pleased to hear that you and Lucy (Your dog) enjoyed your week there. Polperro is a very pet friendly resort. I have made a note to replace the TV set, Thank you for the suggestion. We are continually looking to improve and upgrade the properties, as we have so many return guests - We think that a larger TV will enhance their next stay at the apartment too. As we replace any electrical appliances we also ensure that they are AA or AAA rated products - to comply with our Green Acorn accreditation for sustainable tourism. This also saves our guests money on electric. Our meters are also part of the Green Acorn commitment - and are very economical - as they are set at a lower rate than we are charged for the electricity. As a Cornish family we are passionate about looking after and protecting the beautiful county that we live in, and we try to encourage our guests to shop locally, use our environmentally friendly cleaning products during their stay and to conserve energy. That way we can all protect Cornwall for future generations to enjoy. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future - and thank you once again for taking the time to write such a helpful review. Kind regards Victoria and the cleaning team. Crumplehorn Cottages.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Kilometres
Newquay
Nearest Barpub
Crumplehorn Inn
Nearest Ferry
50 Kilometres
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Looe
Nearest Train
8 Kilometres
Looe
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Polperro Resort
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Polperro

Special interest holidays:

Take a boat trip from the harbour side at Polperro and try your hand at sea angling. Experienced skippers offer everything from sightseeing trips, to mackerel, reef and shark angling trips.

Coast/Beach:

Polperro Beach 8 minutes walk

Talland Bay - 3 miles by car or 2.5 miles on foot on the coastal paths.

Looe Beach - 4.5 miles by car.

Hannafore Beach at Looe - 4.5 miles by car. (Free parking)

Lansallos Beach - 4 miles by car.

Travel:

Newquay Airport - 40 miles

Exeter Airport - 50 miles

Plymouth Ferry - 25 miles

Distances:

Looe 4.5 miles

Fowey - 10 miles

Eden - 27 miles

Plymouth - 25 miles

The Lost Gardens of Heligan - 27 miles

Further Details:

Enjoy a walk around The Model Village at Polperro with the interesting Land of Legend.

Buy a fresh pasty from the bakers and sit and eat it on the harbour wall, as the boats bob gently in the tide.

Wander around the unique shops in the village, each selling lovely, quirky individual things.

Relax and unwind in the beauty of Polperro.

Photos