Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cottage in the heart of the historical town of Rye

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom Cottage in Rye, East Sussex - Town centre location with railway station, all local amenities and shops just 5 mins walk away

Honey Cottage is a delightful end of terrace house purchased by us in September 2014 which we have completely updated and refurbished. We hope we have thought of all the little extras to make it a "home from home", but always welcome feedback if something is lacking! With two bedrooms, a sitting room, kitchen/diner and small courtyard outside, it really is an ideal spot to enjoy a short break or longer holiday. Ideally it suits 4 people but on occasion we are happy to rent out to a party of 5 as it does have a double sofa bed in the sitting room.

Property Manager
Fran Huxley
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

About Fran Huxley

We live in Tonbridge with our 2 teenage children and dog! My husband runs a pub and I am self employed so with busy lives we have always enjoyed getting away "from it all". Having owned a holiday lodge at Camber Sands for 4 years we had already fallen in love with Rye and the surrounding areas when we came across Honey Cottage in an Estate Agent's window last summer! The rest is history .... we have loved doing up the cottage and since completion have enjoyed many a happy weekend with and without our kids at the house. Its perfect location - having Rye town on your doorstep and Camber Sands for long walks still just down the road gives us everything we need.

Fran Huxley purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Fran Huxley chose Rye

We bought the cottage in September 2014 and have enjoyed doing it up over the past few months. We wanted to have a holiday home that we could both use ourselves and let out to other visitors until such time as we may decide to re-locate to the area! For now, we will use it as much as we can when it is not booked out and hope that our visitors enjoy it as much as we do!

What makes this cottage unique

The more we have got to know Rye and the surrounding coastal areas the more we fall in love with it.

To be able to live in the middle of a busy and interesting town whilst having beaches all around it suits us perfectly. We get as much pleasure from long walks on the beach whatever time of year and whatever the weather. To be completely free to roam and then come back to Rye for a wonderful selection of cafes, pubs and restaurants and then home to a cosy, comfortable cottage is just the tonic we need.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Caroline & Nick Roseveare - "what a fabulous place to stay for a weekend - arriving by train from Manchester on Friday evening we enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing weekend with walks to Camber Sands and Rye Harbour and a super meal out at The Ship Inn. Highly recommend this as a place to say for complete r&r!".

Kate & Jonathan Fagg - "as friends of the family we were asked to stay at Honey Cottage for constructive feedback - we can honestly say it has absolutely everything we wanted and needed and will definitely go back!".
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 1


Rye Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Double + single with bunk beds + sofa bed Notes on bedrooms: Main bedroom - double bed, fitted wardrobes, chest of drawers, bedside cabinets Single bedroom - 3ft bunk beds, hanging space, chest of drawers, bedside cabinet Sitting room - double sofa bed Hairdryer and straighteners available to use
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Children are welcome. One pet is allowed per booking but at an additional cost of £20. We would request that if a dog is staying that they are kept downstairs please. Outside: The courtyard off the kitchen provides for a peaceful place to sit with a bistro table & chairs, BBQ, plants and somewhere to dry the washing! Outside lighting creates a lovely ambience on a warm summer's evening! Utility Room: N/A Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Beds in both bedrooms will be made up for your arrival. Sofa bed linen left on request. Bathroom & tea towels provided, but please bring beach towels. A deduction of £30 will be made to your booking if you prefer to bring your own linen & towels. Other: All rooms are centrally heated.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Cottage in the heart of the historical town of Rye
average rating of 4.918919 based on 38 reviews

Perfect property in Central location

  • 5 of 5

Such good value, was a great weekend everything we wanted and lots of candles to create ambiance...loved it would nice in summer as little garden pretty and looks beautiful at night with spotlights illuminating interesting wall nice if you have little ones as they would be safe out there and get fresh air unlike being cooped up in a hotel

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A lovely review thank you - glad you had a good time and hope you enjoyed the Rye Christmas Festival!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very cosy cottage

  • 5 of 5

This was my second time staying at Honey cottage and I will definitely return! It’s such a warm cosy place to stay with everything you need to make your stay a happy one. As always it was lovely and clean with lovely fresh towels and bedding. I particularly love the fish theme around the cottage. I will definitely be recommending Honey cottage to my family and friends.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review - we are glad the second time didn't disappoint and look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic cottage

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is beautiful and has everything you need. It is truly just few minutes walk from every important spot in Rye and from the train station. It does feel like home away from home with it's design touches, equipment, books and games and is also spotlessly clean.

Fran is a lovely host and was very accomodating to us - remotely!

I will definitely be coming back to Rye and would love tto stay in Honey Cottage again.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for all your kind comments - glad you had a lovely time and hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect place to relax after exploring Rye.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful clean cottage with everything you could need in order to have a relaxing break. Within minutes you can walk to all the amenities on offer in Rye and although there is no parking at the property, it was not a problem to use the nearby car park charging £1.50 for 24 hours! We appreciated all the extras, like tea, coffee, sugar, oil, spices etc, which are often not provided in a self catering cottage. There was a constant supply of hot water & heating at the turn of a dial, making the place feel very cosy. If you want to feel part of the Rye community - Honey Cottage is the place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for leaving your review - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in Rye and had everything you needed provided for at Honey Cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely cottage in a great location. It really is home from home!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is located in great spot. Local to all amenities. We were a party of children and two adults and it was a comfortable stay. Kitchen is very well equipped and the visitor folder informative. Closest parking places are about 5min walk. Rye town is beautiful with cobbled streets and lots of great places to eat! Overall we had a very pleasant stay. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review - great to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed Rye and Honey Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Honey Cottage was a great find. At the time my girlfriend & I were searching for places to stay in Rye it really stood out to me. Upon arrival, we were certainly not disappointed with our choice. Special mention must go to the owner, Fran, who was lovely to deal with in the run up to our stay & both very helpful & prompt to reply to any questions I had prior to check in.

Our week long break in the cottage was, frankly, a joy. Although it's apparently impossible to be more than 10 minutes from anything or anywhere in Rye, Honey Cottage is particularly well placed for what we found to be the best places to eat & drink in town. Not only that but should you decide to take advantage of the perfectly sized and very well equipped kitchen, it's only 2 minutes from the town supermarket (yet you wouldn't know it from the view). If for some reason you feel you need to get away, the cottage is also barely 4 minutes from the train station.

The house itself was very clean & tidy but also reassuringly homely. The sofa is very comfortable & the bed was particularly good as I have a persistent minor back injury & I found the mattress very supportive. The garden is small, but beautifully planted & had rain not come into play, I can imagine I'd have happily sat outside for breakfast every morning.

Despite being small on the outside, the place is surprisingly spacious. There's ample storage for clothes & anything else you might want to bring on holiday, but there's nothing we could have needed, but didn't bring with us, that wasn't stashed away somewhere.

Overall, it's very hard to fault the place. I've been in larger bathrooms, maybe? I've also been in considerably smaller. I'm genuinely hard pushed to think of any negatives worth mentioning (if the worst thing you can say about a place is the pressure in the bathroom tap is a little high & if you're not careful you might splash water on yourself when you wash your hands, you're really clutching at straws). If I was being super harsh, I'd say that the road the cottage is on isn't the quietest due to the through traffic (I'm pretty good at sleeping through anything but if you're a light sleeper you might want to bring some earplugs if you want a long lie in in the morning) but that's hardly a fault of the property itself!

We had a wonderful time in Rye & Honey Cottage was a big part of that. I loved my time there. I'd say it's the very definition of a Home Away, but now I am home, I'd say it was much better...

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your fantastic, honest review of Honey Cottage and your kind comments. It is always so good to hear real feedback from our guests and to know that we have got it right! I wish we could do something about the traffic, but sadly we can't and as you say, the pros outweigh the cons on that one! We hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
London Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
Ship Inn, Standard Inn + many more
Nearest Ferry
35 Kilometres
Nearest Train
Nearest Restaurant
Many to choose from
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Camber Sands
Car: not necessary


Camber Sands and Winchelsea beaches are both about 3km from the cottage. Both can be reached on foot, bike or by car and are worth the visit. Rye Harbour and Nature Reserve also has a beach which can also be a beautiful place to walk to. Bikes can be hired on a daily or weekly basis just 5 minutes away from the cottage. Buses also run from the centre of Rye to Camber Sands and Hastings.


Rye is about 30 minute drive from Dover and Folkestone. 15 minute drive from Lydd Airport or 1.5 hours from London Gatwick. The train station is 5 minutes walk from the cottage with regular trains in and out of London and Ashford. A good local bus service also operates covering all surrounding areas. There is no need to have a car to enjoy a stay at Honey Cottage.

Further Details:

A good selection of cafes, restaurants and bars are on your doorstep. Excellent fish and chips, pub food, Italian, Indian, Thai and Chinese are all within walking distance. The high street is mainly made up of independent retailers with excellent fish, meat, vegetables and deli's on hand. A wonderful area of antique shops, gift shops and clothes shops all within 5 minutes.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
To book Honey Cottage please check the availability calendar and then call or enquire on-line to confirm your interest. A deposit of 25% is required when bookings are confirmed with the remaining balance due 6 weeks prior to your visit. If less than 6 weeks from time of booking full payment will be required upfront.

Changeover Day:
Ideally in school holidays we would like to try and keep to a Saturday changeover for weekly bookings, however, we are flexible and will accommodate requests where we can.

Notes on prices:
Bookings are 2 nights minimum stay, but can be booked for any number of nights. We do try and be as flexible as possible regarding changeover days.

We are sorry that Owner's Direct have introduced a service fee which is payable on all future bookings, but we are all trying to compete with other companies offering holiday accommodation and as they all charge fees, Owners Direct have introduced this to increase their marketing spend to help us all get future bookings! Hopefully this will not put you off booking with us.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties