Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Large Farm House , Within 2 Acres Of Beautiful Gardens

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms5
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
farmhouse
Sleeps
16
Bedrooms
8
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Farmhouse in Sibdon, Nr. Ludlow, Shropshire, England - A Magical , Peaceful Location 10 Minutes From Ludlow

New House Farm is a large attractive stone farm house which has been completely renovated and finished to a high standard offering a superb package.. Nestled within the South Shropshire countryside, New House Farm is in the rural hamlet of Sibdon just 2 miles from the market town of Craven Arms therefore benefiting from country living yet minutes from town. New House Farm has a large amount of entertaining rooms creating a flexible layout of accommodation. The drawing room has a wonderful vaulted ceiling with exposed rafter beams . The room is double aspect and also has French patio doors offering beautiful views across the countryside. There are four other lovely reception rooms all having different features. The reception rooms are supported by a wonderful family kitchen breakfast room with an AGA. There is also a large utility, downstairs shower room and cloakroom. The property is approached via a long drive leading to the courtyard surrounding the house there are formal gardens as well as 12.4 acres of grounds. There is a working stable block, manage and about 12.4 acres.. It’s just beautiful to look from the windows and watch the horses run freely in the fields. We have chickens and welcome the children to collect the eggs each day.Its a truly beautiful place from the secret garden to the pond which homes the wild ducks and their young.We have converted one of the out door buildings into a games room which is a perfect sanctuary for youngsters,it homes table tennis,pool table ,football table.darts board,basket ball nets , a mini 3 aside football pitch and badminton court.Great fun to be had by all. The outdoors is furnished with tables chairs ,sun loungers. We have added a barbecue for the summer nights . For young children we have thought carefully and added a pirate ship and swings and slide. Perfect for youngsters to play freely and lose themselves in make believe play.

we provide all bedding, tea towels,dishwasher tablets,dish clothes , hand soap and fire wood . we do not provide any bath towels or hand towels

More Details

Owner
Emma Scholes
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 10, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Large Farm House , Within 2 Acres Of Beautiful Gardens
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
5

Fabulous New Year break!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at New House Farm over New Year. The house was perfectly suited for three families (13 of us ranging from 9 to 50+). Spacious bedrooms all with plenty of storage and good bathroom facilities; all clean and tastefully decorated. Downstairs there are a number of lounges so we could choose to sit all together or spread out for some peace and quiet! Dining room easily seated all of us and kitchen was very well equipped and lovely and warm with the Aga.

The views from the property are stunning and we enjoyed wonderful walks across the beautiful countryside. The children loved the games barn and the stables next door. The lovely lady who looks after the animals couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming.

A great place to stay and we would definitely recommend!!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing getaway

  • 5 of 5

Arrived late here however directions and instructions were great as we were able to get straight in and settle.

very tidy on arrival and everything we needed was there.

we were blown away at the beauty of the area and the scenery. with two younger boys and two older teenagers they were in their element. plenty of space and lots of freedom to explore. the outdoor games room was a hit with all ages. as competitive as we are there was plenty to keep us busy. The children loved the animals in the stables, especially the baby goats.

we were contacted by the owners during our stay to ensure we were happy with the accommodation, very friendly and very helpful and was able to put us in the right direction of a good pub lunch.

thank you again Andy and Emma. I would highly recommend this property and will definitely return next year.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments . That's what we like to hear !!! So glad you had a nice stay and it will be lovely to have you back next year !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

a stay that began with domestic chores

  • 5 of 5

I feel the need to submit this having seen the response to my sister's very considered and rather generous review from our family stay. I have now had 2 previous reviews declined so will choose my wording carefully.

My wife and I arrived first and spent the rest of the day engaged in various tasks (our kids had to occupy themselves) so my parents could arrive to something bearable:

1.starting to deal with serious fly infestations, this involving literally hundreds of dead and alive flies falling on my head while opening a velux window

2. cleaning a filthy kitchen, locating hoovers etc etc

3. changing light bulbs

4. finding and operating the heating and hot water with no instructions at all

5. lighting a fire as the house was very cold as had been unoccupied with no heat on presumably.

It is true that the man came later that day and he did arrange for cleaners the next day to defrost filthy and chronically over frozen freezers and clean an oven that was grim too It is true a free meal was offered, though in comparison to the cost of the week this was small. My family are very loathe to leave negative feedback or cause difficulties but I believe it is proper that a genuine review is left given the feedback to my sisters entry. I would never have accepted the offer of the email but as mentioned other family members were keen to avoid any difficulties.

I have not been able to leave a star rating but it would certainly be a 2 at most. The issues we experienced have in part been flagged up in previous ratings- lack of dining space, problems with showers, lightbulbs to be replaced. it is for the reader of this review to make up their own mind as to what that might signify. I suspect there will be an owner response to this post but would like to point out I have not left such feed back before, have no vested interest, am not pursuing any repayment but simply wish a truthful account to be allowed to be posted. I have lived, worked, and travelled to many many places around the world and this experience was disappointing.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again I feel saddened that you would write a second negative review. I totally agree with your arrival issues and these were dealt with immediately. as I said previously we have had meeting with the cleaning company and all issues rectified. We have created a large dinning area so all 16 guests can sit together. All I can do is apologise ( as I did when you arrived ) and reassure future guests that this has been sorted. As you can see from our previous reviews we have excellent feedback and pride ourselves on guests having a wonderful stay. This is not a reflection of our normal standards.We were keen that you were happy which is why we paid for the house to be re cleaned and for you all to have a meal out. Again I am sorry , but cant help feeling disappointed by not only one but two reviews. Please come and stay again at a discounted price so we can show you just how lovely the farm can be xx
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Could be really lovely....

  • 3 of 5

We booked this lovely old farmhouse for a recent family reunion. It is a quiet and pleasant location and the accommodation is flexible for large groups with several entertaining spaces.

Unfortunately it was dirty on arrival, in particular the kitchen including the oven and the fridges. It was not possible to close the freezer due to ice. There was also an infestation of flies on the top floor.

The owners were very apologetic and one visited the property and arranged for cleaners the following day. They indicated they hadn't had any similar issues previously however there was fly spray in the house suggesting this may have been a problem before. To be fair the owners did pay for a meal out to compensate us for the inconvenience.

The house could also be improved by proving a dining space where everyone can eat together. Neither the current dining room or kitchen table allow for this.

This could be a fantastic property as whilst it's in a rural area it's also close to a village and only 15 minutes from Ludlow. The children loved the play barn and the nearby animals and the house has a really charm. Unfortunately the house is a little run down and the showers are a bit hit and miss with regards to pressure and temperature.

While not necessarily advising against going we would advise being very clear about what to expect in terms of cleaning and general welcome e.g. advice about the heating works etc.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jayne Thank you for your feedback, I will be honest I feel disappointed that you would write negative feedback as we went out of our way to ensure that all of your issues were sorted quickly and efficiently .Its a farm and we do get flies in the summer so the fly spray is handy for guests. However the infestation you describe had never happened before and we will ensure doesn't happen again. we had a meeting with the cleaning company and the issues we had have all been put right. the owner of the cleaning company was helpful and in agreement that changes to his team were needed. we have literally this week purchased a dinning suite and will be converting the large lounge off the kitchen into a large dinning room. I hope that people will see from previous comments that this feedback is not a reflection of the standards at the farm and that we were genuinely shocked and upset that you had this experience on your arrival. Andy travelled two hours to sort what he could the night of your arrival and as you stated paid for a meal as a way of saying sorry and hoping this would ensure you were happy for the rest of your stay. I did contact you several times and you seemed happy and I was confident your arrival issues had been sorted . I'm glad that the children enjoyed the space ,our aim is to cater for all ages.xxx
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Amazingly big adaptable house great for big families/friends

  • 4 of 5

This house was perfect for a our large group. Bedrooms all large with good bathroom facilities. Loved options of different lounges for group to split up as needed. Outside space is amazing, lots of patios and chairs and the climbing frame was a big hit was the toddlers. The barn was a useful retreat in the rain.

Enough things to do in local location to keep us all entertained. Could do with enough wine glasses for the number of people it sleeps would be main advice for change, and more obviously place for keys for patios doors/window etc

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom
5

Paradise for all

  • 5 of 5

50th birthday party with 10 adults, 5 children and 5 dogs. The house was perfect for this family celebration with rooms plenty big enough for us all to get together but lots of other cosy rooms to have a quiet moment. The bedrooms were all large with comfy beds. The children adored the animals and play equipment while the dogs were in seventh heaven in the lovely garden. The best bit though is the location which is perfect for stepping out of the door for fantastic walks or going for a short ride to Ludlow, Much Wenlock, Church Stretton etc.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Craven Arms Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Feb 2017 half term
Feb 18 2017 - Feb 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,513
 
 
EARLY SPRING
Feb 26 2017 - Apr 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
From
$815
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,513
 
 
EASTER HOLS 2017
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,638
 
 
LATE SPRING 2017
Apr 22 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
From
$815
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,638
 
 
MAY HALF TERM
May 27 2017 - Jun 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,638
 
 
EARLY SUMMER 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Jul 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
From
$815
Fri,Sat,Sun
$3,638
 
 
SUMMER SCHOOL HOLS 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,638
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $125

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner to ask any questions and to secure the booking. We ask for a 20% deposit and the remainder of balance paid 8 weeks before arrival date.We will send you a contract via email and request that this is returned signed to secure booking. Once contract returned we will send you the bank details to transfer the funds. we will then confirm via email that the booking is secure.

Changeover Day:
Change over date is saturday but we do make exceptions to weekend bookings . which are friday to Monday. We request that you arrive no earlier than 4.00pm. The property has to be vacated by 10.30 am.
we are also flexible with monday to friday bookings

25% of the total cost to secure booking . Eight weeks before stay the remainder plus 100.00 security deposit required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Craven Arms Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , master bedroom ensuite stunning !!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , ensuite to bedroom 2
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , ensuite to bedroom 3
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , ensuite to nortical top floor bedroom
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , for bedrooms 6,7,8
  • 5 Bathrooms (4 En Suite)
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , has ensuite
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , master bedroom cot can moved to any room has large ensuite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , ensuite
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , no ensuite could easily share bedroom 3 ensuite
    nortical Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , ensuite
    Butterfly Bedroom 7 - 1 double , share bathroom 5
    motor bike Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , share bathroom 5
    twin buttertfly Bedroom 8 - 2 twin/ single , share bathroom 5
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes:
Utility Room: washing machine. iron.ironing board we provide washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets. tea towels logs for the burners . hand soap in all bathrooms. we provide all bed linen we do not provide hand or bath towels

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties