check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Three double bedrooms, beautiful converted chapel in Old Margate

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Old Town House Rental Photos and Description

Cobb Court, Margate, Kent, England - Quiet Location On Private Road In The Heart Of Old Margate, Two Minute Walk To The Beach

When it is quicker to walk across the road to the cafe for breakfast than make it at home, you know you are in the heart of things. Set just off King Street, this private road is so hidden even Margate residents do not know it is here! The house is themed with modern retro furniture, chrome and teak in abundance with a modern fully functioning kitchen. The house is designed for six adult guests with space for two children on camp beds to make eight.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Owner
Duncan & Tanya Henson-Webb
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, italian
Calendar last updated:
November 10, 2016
Call Owner

About Duncan & Tanya Henson-Webb

We are a family of six, seven if you include the dog. We own three holiday lets, one beach, one country and one mountain - we like to provide the types of things we would like to find in a house. So the kitchens are stocked with good quality utensils and crockery, the linen and towels are all good quality for comfort and the houses are full of quirky things to play with....

We hope you enjoy our homes as much as we enjoy putting them together.

Duncan & Tanya Henson-Webb purchased this house in 2014

Why Duncan & Tanya Henson-Webb chose Margate

We bought in this location because you cannot get a more central location and to have two parking spaces of your own is great.

Reviews

1 traveler review

Three double bedrooms, beautiful converted chapel in Old Margate
average rating of 4.0 based on 1 reviews
4

Lovely property in a quiet location (apart from the neighbours at the back) in the heart of old town

  • 4 of 5

Great property in a perfect location. The quietness was only spoiled by the neighbours at the back playing loud music at 1am most nights. Hopefully these were tourists and not homeowners, so fingers crossed nobody else will have to suffer them.

One piece of advice if you do book this charming property is to start attempting to contact the owners several weeks before arrival. I had assumed that they would contact me with the key safe access code as promised in their booking confirmation email, but I hadn't heard anything up to 2 days before arrival. I started to panic when there were no responses from emails I sent and from the mobile number I tried calling and texting. Eventually my wife managed to get a response when emailing via a different site and we got the required info the day before arrival. Not a great start. Upon arrival the owner contacted me to ask if all was OK and he told me that the previous occupants had reported a leak from the bathroom into the dining room but because they had checked out late he was unable to arrange a plumber to investigate. We only experienced water flowing down the wall of the dining room once and promptly notified the owner. Then, towards the end of our stay we decided to leave the property late morning on Friday instead of that evening to enable him to have all Friday afternoon for the situation to be investigated and fixed. To this day, I still have not had a thank you for our kind gesture.

It's a shame about the poor communication (or lack of it to be precise) because that took the edge off of what otherwise would have been a lovely holiday in Margate.

Another tip for future visitors is to bring your own Nespresso machine coffee capsules. I asked up front what make the machine was and once again didn't get a response, and was very frustrated to find that a) the machine was the same as our one at home so I could have taken capsules for it; and b) there was no welcome pack including coffee capsules like was promised by the owner; and c) the local supermarkets do not sell Nespresso compatible capsules.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Neil, Oh dear! Apologies for the lack of response, clearly for some reason I was not getting the emails and the automated information from OD was not sent through. As owners we are encouraged to automate as many processes, but obviously if they go wrong...But I think it was because your wife was trying to contact me and she was not named on your booking. Secondly, I had no idea you left early for me: 'If you want to arrange a plumber to come round on Friday afternoon that will be fine for us as we will be leaving by midday.' My apologies for not fully understanding the above. As for the Nespresso machine, again I apologise for the lack of detail on this, I can only assume it is because we do not have one, mainly for the reasons you state above and their hugely wasteful pods. We are please you did have a good time, because that is what it is all about, so only slightly pulling your leg!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
75 Metres
Black Cat
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Ramsgate
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Margate
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
a28
Nearest Restaurant
30 Metres
The Ambrette
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Margate Sands

Coast/Beach:

A two minute walk to Margate beach.

Travel:

Ramsgate is 10 minutes drive for the ferry orDover is just 30 minutes away by car for Trips to France, or 40 minutes to the EuroTunnel. Heathrow and Gatwick are both about 1.5hrs drive. London Victoria is 1.5 hrs by train. Ashford for the Eurostar to Paris is 45 minutes away

Distances:

Canterbury is 30 minutes by car, Whitstable also 30 minutes. Dreamlands is a 5 minute walk and the Turner Contemporary is 2 minutes away.

Further Details:

Locally there are many retro shops selling furniture, clothes, specialty teas, cafes, ice creams, wonderful restaurants all within 5 minutes walk.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old Town House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sept to June 16/17
Sep 3 2016 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
From
$177
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $31 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 28 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,125
Flat fee
 
 
New year 2016
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 3 2017
6 night minimum stay
$1,125
Flat fee
 
 
Winter half term 17
Feb 11 2017 - Feb 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,251
Flat fee
 
 
Winter half-term 17b
Feb 18 2017 - Feb 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,251
Flat fee
 
 
Easter 17
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,251
Flat fee
 
 
may bank holiday
May 25 2017 - May 30 2017
6 night minimum stay
$1,069
Flat fee
 
 
Summer 17
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,251
 
 
Sept to June 18
Sep 2 2017 - Jun 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
From
$182
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $31 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$151
From
$182
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,125
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $31 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Your booking is confirmed when we received your 25% deposit. The booking deposit is dues within 3 days of receipt of a booking request. We also take a £200 damage deposit, returnable after your stay, assuming no damage. We then ask for the balance one month before arrival.

Changeover Day:
Change over day is normally Saturdays, though we can be flexible if we have the availability for you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Old Town House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 120 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • One bathroom with a shower over the bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom, double bed and G-plan furniture. Second bedroom, double bed and plenty of storage, third bedroom a twin. There is fourth bedroom/study for extra guests, or the master-suite could easily have two extra beds in.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: All linen will be provided and beds made up on your arrival for you Outside: Courtyard garden, outdoor seating, BBQ Utility Room: As above Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen included, cleaning included, starter pack including loo paper, coffee pods, milk, sugar provided. Other: Study

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties