Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Maisonette With Sea Views, Private Parking & Sun Terrace. Bright & Modern

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

2 bedroom maisonette, sea views, parking, private south facing terrace, 400m to beach in St Ives town. Close to restaurants and shops.

Driftwood Porthmeor a spacious and extremely bright, 2 bedroom maisonette with sea views & parking. South facing sheltered sun terrace. Private parking for one vehicle outside the property. Sleeps 5. Lovely and clean. Quality appliances so you can eat in and chill out comfortably and in style. Tassimo machine, cafeteire, milk frother, microwave, double oven. Fridge freezer. Bedrooms have supportive mattresses, quality duvets & pillows. Situated just 5 minutes walk from the gorgeous award winning fine sands and crystal clear waters of Porthmeor Beach (Blue Flag & Tidy Awards), Harbour , Tate Gallery and town centre. Adjacent to property is Ayr's lovely playground and playing field. Driftwood Porthmeor has coastal sea views from all windows and offers peace and quiet after the hustle and bustle of town. Quiet, well behaved dogs welcome. All school holiday Saturday - Saturday or Friday- Friday bookings only.

Bed linen supplied over 5 days Easter to 1st September. No towels. Cleaning extra option .

More Details

Justine Jenkins
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2018

About Justine Jenkins

Myself, husband, 2 children and a cockapoo live & work in Nottinghamshire. I run and my husband is a consultant respiratory physician.

I grew up in Cornwall in Hayle and worked summers in St Ives as a teenager. Most of my extended family still lives locally.

Justine Jenkins purchased this condo in 2011

Why Justine Jenkins chose St Ives

I grew up here and we love St Ives and the whole area. I know the area really well and return to visit about 4 times a year.

Having a holiday let has given me a small income which enables me to work part time. This means I can spend a lot of time with my 2 children and support them through school. It also means we can visit our family regularly.

I think the coast here is the most beautiful in the whole of the UK. Simply never ceases to amazing me and we hope one day to be able to live here. It is wonderful to have the choice of 4 beaches all different to visit with gourmet contemporary cafes & restaurants.

Driftwood is easy to find and you can access it without having to go through the town centre. Private parking is right outside, being on a hill gives remarkable views.

What makes this condo unique

I look forward to staying at Driftwood I love the way it feels like a house in the sky, beautiful coastal sea views, close to Porthmeor beach & coastal footpath. But very private, quiet & away from crowds. Driftwood is set in a block of 12 maisonettes, 6 at the top, 6 at the bottom. We are up 23 steps.

We have made it open open plan so you can spend time together as a family, we have a lot of DVD's, books and games we can play as a family that include everyone. It is so light and modern & keeping it clean is really easy we have equipped it so you can eat in easily and it has all the mod cons.

The private parking space is so convenient right outside in Ayr Court carpark.

We love the sun terrace & eat outside a lot using the Weber BBQ. As it is south facing and gets very hot so I often have my morning coffee on the sun terrace looking at the beautiful view of St Ives Bay and Hayle beach. Sunset/ sunrise its always beautiful.

Having Ayr field & playground adjacent means the children can just go off & play giving them some independence and us some down time. Our Cockapoo loves the field too . My favourite place is sitting in bed with the large square window open looking at the stars and listen to the waves crashing, then in the morning looking at the sea to see what the weather is doing and thinking about what the day will bring.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We get wonderful reviews in our guest book with repeat customers.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1


St Ives Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Town
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Japanese soaking bath
  • Luxury bathroom, natural stone & marble floor, Deep Japanese soaking bath 1050cmX750cm waterfall tap, electric shower. Back to wall toilet, sink with waterfall tap. Mirror with light & shaver/toothbrush socket. Electric towel rail. Hand soap supplied : )
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , Single can be converted to King size bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master Bedroom 1 king bed. (Iron & board, plus hair dryer in wardrobe) Second Bedroom 3ft solid wood sturdy Bunk beds, 1 3ft single bed with the option to convert into a king bed for a couple to share. TV/DVD Player & DVD/Radio player, Travel cot.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Outside the property there is a shared courtyard with shrubs, plants and a large washing rotary airer. Travel cot, high chair & stair gate can be supplied on request. Selection of children's cups, plates and cutlery. Selection of Books, DVD's & games. Non Smoking, quiet pets welcome. WiFi is BT Hotspot fine on 2 to 3 connections. Private car park with designated space for one car. 5 mins away up hill out of St Ives - skate park, large selection of ramps, small mini, flat banks, steps etc a modern street skaters holiday paradise! Outside: South facing large sun terrace. Contemporary patio furniture- Large table and 2 bench. (1sun lounger under stairs). BBQ -Weber with utensils. Expandable washing line. Large Plastic bucket for rinsing sand off! Utility Room: Under stairs -Vacuum cleaner, mop & bucket, broom, etc. Sun umbrella for patio set. High chair and booster seat. Spare patio chair. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Housekeeper visits on change over day. Bed linen for 5 beds Easter to mid Sept. 1 x bath mat, 2 x tea towels. No towels. We ask guests to leave Driftwood as they find it,cleaning supplies are provided. Maid service can be provided for a clean for £50. Other: Dining area. Expandable wooden dining table seating 4-6. 4 funky composite dining chairs (2 other chairs upstairs) High chair & booster seat available.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
Maisonette With Sea Views, Private Parking & Sun Terrace. Bright & Modern
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 13 reviews

Excellent property, clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was first rate. The price to be paid for its fine views is a somewhat arduous climb on foot up some pretty steep hills from the town centre, harbour and town beaches, just something to be aware of if you are not naturally energetic (its location is too close to justify a taxi, and parking in town is very limited, we only saw one bus which appears to go to the Leisure Centre). Nonetheless, we had a great time despite its being out of season.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you 1st rate guests too! St Ives is very hilly! But stunning views :) 90% of properties are reached by hill climb. Great to keep you fit after those pasties!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

An Absolutely Lovely Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5

A lovely apartment with parking outside and only a 10-15 minute walk from the lovely harbour in St Ives. The apartment is great and well equipped with everything you would need to enjoy your stay.

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay near St Ives.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for a short break. Caters for everyones needs.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Monica you were the perfect guests :) We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not recommendable!!! Damp, mouldy, unhealthy, an unattractive experience!

  • 1 of 5

The Maisonette is in a very bad condition! Due to the mould which was evident in all areas we had to leave after one awful night. My husband reacts allergic to mould, so the offer of the owner to wipe it away within 24 hours did not help us since the mold spores do not dissapear - the "wooden" floor in the bedroomcorner was already softened by the mould.The windowframes, front and terrace doorsides were covered by mould, the seals need to be renewed. I hoped I could add pictures because they say more than words (they can be requested via Email). There were only three small heaters (like radiators) for heating, overall it was dusty and dirty, a dirty stove, the kitchen stools were holey, waterstains at the ceiling and unpleasant view from terrace to neighboring terraces. This could have been tolerable but the mould is not acceptable. We wanted to enjoy our holiday and not risk our health. So we booked another accomodation and left after one night. The owner did not refund anything of the rental price. She is not accepting the fact that this mould is unhealthy and a risk for my husband who reacts allergic. In her opinion we should have informed her that he reacts allergic to mould like this is now our fault that we could not stay. She wrote: "An allergy to the property is not something that we would cover in the UK in a holiday rental and if Driftwood had been cleaned properly you would not have know the mould had been there. I won't be responding to any more correspondence with you as I consider the case closed. " She was very unsympathetic and my offer of refunding 50% was rejected. So this was a bad experience for us, luckily we found a lovely, clean and modern place where we could enjoy our holiday. So if you think about renting this Maisonette, THINK AGAIN!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have been waiting for this review as the guest threatened me with it unless I paid them back their money, through many messages. As I was travelling I asked the guests to contact the housekeeper if there were any problems. They didn’t they just left the property. I received a message from them saying that they didn’t want to stay at Driftwood & her husband was allergic to mould spores and there was mould in the bathroom and in 1 of the bedrooms. It has been very damp so I’ll immediatly alerted the housekeeper who went straight away to see, she said it was a very small problem that could be put right. I was so concerned I drove 5 hours to the property and asked the housekeeper not to touch anything. There was 2 small marks on the bathroom sealent, which we have now replaced. In the bedroom there was some mould in the very corner of the window and at the top with some very light spreading on to the wall measuring 15cm by 20cm . The photos you providing were enlarged so I thought the problem was bigger. In one corner down by the bed which is not easily seen there was some mould measuring 0.4mm by 0.5mm. I offered you a full cleaning and a refund of the cost of a clean but you refused and wanted the full weeks cost back . I am sorry your husband is highly allergic to mould and I explained Cornwall is very damp and at this time of year there would be mould spores naturally in the air everywhere and outside. We apologised profusely. The property looks lovely and we thank you for highlighting this so we could put it right. I did suggest you claim on your travel insurance and in future please let property owners know of his condition, as we want your stay to be perfect. Regarding the views we have had lots of compliments as you will see in other reviews, but it is always down to personal opinion. I am very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay but you can’t expect us to refund you with such a small problem that was put right in 20 minutes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

I was surprised by how spacious the property was .

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and found the location of the property ideal. The property was clean and spacious and had everything we needed. We would definatley use this property again.

My husband thinks the thermostat in the shower needs attention as it keeps cutting out you either have very hot or very cold nothing in between but we managed.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great holiday. Driftwood is in a perfect location comfortable and clean.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great holiday. The location of Driftwood allowed us to start walks to Zennor and Sf. Michael's Way from the front door. Then in the evening we were just a short 10min walk to the heart of St. Ives.

There was just 2 of us but I would not hesitate to recommend Driftwood for a family holiday. The bed was super comfortable and every necessary appliance was included and in good working order.

Justine was great to deal with and all travel, check in and check out arrangements ran smoothly.

Would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



400 metres to Porthmeor beach and Tate Gallery. 5 minutes walk to Harbour, restaurants, shops & cinema. 5 minutes to coastal footpath.


Nearest Airport is Newquay then Exeter then Bristol.


Few minutes walk into St Ives shopping area and Harbour.

Further Details:

The West Country region

Cornwall enjoys a fantastic micro-climate which tends to be warm all year round. There are places of interest in Cornwall including the Eden Project and The Tate Gallery in St Ives, not to mention the vast amount of legend and history associated with Cornwall.

St Ives is a world famous Cornish holiday town, loved for generations. It is easy to reach by road, air and train too, along one of the most spectacular railway journeys in Britain. With crystal blue waters, golden sands and a warm welcome, St Ives is an ideal holiday destination suitable for all.

Every Tuesday, throughout the year the St Ives Jazz Club hosts gigs bringing modern live Jazz to St Ives

Every Thursday 9.30 am - 3.00 pm - St Ives Farmers' Market at The Backpackers, St Ives (just up from Royal Square).

Various dates, throughout the year, see performances at the Kidz R Us Theatre.

Various dates, throughout the year, St Ives Art Club host events including various poetry, prose and music events and club exhibitions in May and September

Art courses are available all year round at the St Ives School of Painting

Do you want to find out more about St Ives? Visit the St Ives Archive

On the last Friday in every Month The Tate runs Late at Tate St Ives from 18:00-21:00, with with music, food and a pay bar in the café until 22.00 (last orders 21.30). ?(The Tate, St Ives)

From March to early November, drop-on guided tours of St Ives take place with 'St Ives Now and Then' at 11am Monday and Fridays and 'St Ives in the Frame' 11am Thursdays. Tours meet at the Guildhall, Strret-an-Pol.

From May to September, Monday-Friday you can see various performances at the Minack Theatre. For show dates & times please visit the website. Local Theatre group Rough Coast will be performing Canterbury Tales 6th-10th June 2011.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $168

Guests must give us 24hours to deal with any complaints and for us to put right. 24hours will start from 9am on day on received message or call.
Booking Notes:
1.Booking form to be completed School holidays bookings are Friday to Friday 7 days min.
2.25% deposit of total cost of rental required to hold booking.
3.Balance required 2 months prior to rental.
4.£120 returnable breakage housekeeping deposit required.
5. Payment if you need maid service for cleaning- £50 due on booking.
Payments can be made by BACS details on booking form.
Bed linen included for 5 nights or more Easter to mid Sept
Short break charges.
2 nights 60%
3 nights 70%
4 nights 80%
5 nights 90%

Changeover Day:
Change over Saturday to Saturday in School holidays & during July-August.
Flexible days other times.

Notes on prices:
Please enquire for short breaks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund