Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Maisonette With Sea Views, Private Parking & Sun Terrace. Bright & Modern

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom maisonette, sea views, parking, private south facing terrace, 400m to beach in St Ives town. Close to restaurants and shops.

Driftwood Porthmeor a spacious and extremely bright, 2 bedroom maisonette with sea views & parking. South facing sheltered sun terrace. Private parking for one vehicle outside the property. Sleeps 5. Lovely and clean. Quality appliances so you can eat in and chill out comfortably and in style. Tassimo machine, cafeteire, milk frother, microwave, double oven. Fridge freezer. Bedrooms have supportive mattresses, quality duvets & pillows. Situated just 5 minutes walk from the gorgeous award winning fine sands and crystal clear waters of Porthmeor Beach (Blue Flag & Tidy Awards), Harbour , Tate Gallery and town centre. Adjacent to property is Ayr's lovely playground and playing field. Driftwood Porthmeor has coastal sea views from all windows and offers peace and quiet after the hustle and bustle of town. Quiet, well behaved dogs welcome. All school holiday Saturday - Saturday or Friday- Friday bookings only.

Bed linen supplied over 5 days Easter to 1st September. No towels. Cleaning extra option .

More Details

Owner
Justine Jenkins
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

About Justine Jenkins

Myself, husband, 2 children and a cockapoo live & work in Nottinghamshire. I run www.vitalityfitnessholidays.com and my husband is a consultant respiratory physician.

I grew up in Cornwall in Hayle and worked summers in St Ives as a teenager. Most of my extended family still lives locally.

Justine Jenkins purchased this condo in 2011

Why Justine Jenkins chose Saint Ives

I grew up here and we love St Ives and the whole area. I know the area really well and return to visit about 4 times a year.

Having a holiday let has given me a small income which enables me to work part time. This means I can spend a lot of time with my 2 children and support them through school. It also means we can visit our family regularly.

I think the coast here is the most beautiful in the whole of the UK. Simply never ceases to amazing me and we hope one day to be able to live here. It is wonderful to have the choice of 4 beaches all different to visit with gourmet contemporary cafes & restaurants.

Driftwood is easy to find and you can access it without having to go through the town centre. Private parking is right outside, being on a hill gives remarkable views.

What makes this condo unique

I look forward to staying at Driftwood I love the way it feels like a house in the sky, beautiful coastal sea views, close to Porthmeor beach & coastal footpath. But very private, quiet & away from crowds.

We have made it open open plan so you can spend time together as a family, we have a lot of DVD's, books and games we can play as a family that include everyone. It is so light and modern & keeping it clean is really easy we have equipped it so you can eat in easily and it has all the mod cons.

The private parking space is so convenient.

We love the sun terrace & eat outside a lot using the Weber BBQ. As it is south facing and gets very hot so I often have my morning coffee on the sun terrace looking at the beautiful view of St Ives Bay and Hayle beach. Sunset/ sunrise its always beautiful.

Having Ayr field & playground adjacent means the children can just go off & play giving them some independence and us some down time. Our Cockapoo loves the field too . My favourite place is sitting in bed with the large square window open looking at the stars and listen to the waves crashing, then in the morning looking at the sea to see what the weather is doing and thinking about what the day will bring.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We get wonderful reviews in our guest book with repeat customers.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Saint Ives Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Japanese soaking bath
  • Luxury bathroom, natural stone & marble floor, Deep Japanese soaking bath 1050cmX750cm waterfall tap, electric shower. Back to wall toilet, sink with waterfall tap. Mirror with light & shaver/toothbrush socket. Electric towel rail. Hand soap supplied : )
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , Single can be converted to King size bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master Bedroom 1 king bed. (Iron & board, plus hair dryer in wardrobe) Second Bedroom 3ft solid wood sturdy Bunk beds, 1 3ft single bed with the option to convert into a king bed for a couple to share. TV/DVD Player & DVD/Radio player, Travel cot.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Outside the property there is a shared courtyard with shrubs, plants and a large washing rotary airer. Travel cot, high chair & stair gate can be supplied on request. Selection of children's cups, plates and cutlery. Selection of Books, DVD's & games. Non Smoking, quiet pets welcome. WiFi is BT Hotspot fine on 2 to 3 connections. Private car park with designated space for one car. 5 mins away up hill out of St Ives - skate park, large selection of ramps, small mini, flat banks, steps etc a modern street skaters holiday paradise! Outside: South facing large sun terrace. Contemporary patio furniture- Large table and 2 bench. (1sun lounger under stairs). BBQ -Weber with utensils. Expandable washing line. Large Plastic bucket for rinsing sand off! Utility Room: Under stairs -Vacuum cleaner, mop & bucket, broom, etc. Sun umbrella for patio set. High chair and booster seat. Spare patio chair. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Housekeeper visits on change over day. Bed linen for 5 beds Easter to mid Sept. 1 x bath mat, 2 x tea towels. No towels. We ask guests to leave Driftwood as they find it,cleaning supplies are provided. Maid service can be provided for a clean for £50. Other: Dining area. Expandable wooden dining table seating 4-6. 4 funky composite dining chairs (2 other chairs upstairs) High chair & booster seat available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Maisonette With Sea Views, Private Parking & Sun Terrace. Bright & Modern
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 10 reviews
4

Excellent property, clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was first rate. The price to be paid for its fine views is a somewhat arduous climb on foot up some pretty steep hills from the town centre, harbour and town beaches, just something to be aware of if you are not naturally energetic (its location is too close to justify a taxi, and parking in town is very limited, we only saw one bus which appears to go to the Leisure Centre). Nonetheless, we had a great time despite its being out of season.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you 1st rate guests too! St Ives is very hilly! But stunning views :) 90% of properties are reached by hill climb. Great to keep you fit after those pasties!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I was surprised by how spacious the property was .

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and found the location of the property ideal. The property was clean and spacious and had everything we needed. We would definatley use this property again.

My husband thinks the thermostat in the shower needs attention as it keeps cutting out you either have very hot or very cold nothing in between but we managed.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great holiday. Driftwood is in a perfect location comfortable and clean.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great holiday. The location of Driftwood allowed us to start walks to Zennor and Sf. Michael's Way from the front door. Then in the evening we were just a short 10min walk to the heart of St. Ives.

There was just 2 of us but I would not hesitate to recommend Driftwood for a family holiday. The bed was super comfortable and every necessary appliance was included and in good working order.

Justine was great to deal with and all travel, check in and check out arrangements ran smoothly.

Would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely property , had everything you would need to help settle in quickly and without any fuss

  • 4 of 5

Lovely stay this week in St Ives , the property was homely , modern with everything you would need to make your stay feel like home from home !

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Very basic.not very clean. Really bad steps leading to it . No privacy

Needs some tender loving care.wouldnt stay there again

Pillows and duvets need replacing

Definitely left it cleaner than found . Seating grubby cobwebs dusty dirty unhygienic washing implements in the kitchen .dusty lampshades cutlery seen better days couldn't use the bbq absolutely filthy

Promised change of bedding during the week never happened. Shower curtain dirty

Positive note st Ives is beautiful8

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please see details on the listing of Driftwood is not basic. The photos are a representative of our lovely holiday home. Driftwood is very private, it is a maisonette so you don't get the general public walking by, the patio is walled and our neighbours are very considerate. There are 23 steps up and this is stated in the description. The pillows & duvets were replaced in April and have been checked and are clean. Cutlery & washing up brush has already been replaced & and the shower curtain that had some slight marks on the bottom thank you for letting us know. The BBQ was empty and there is a special tray that is clean in the cupboard that you put over the top of the rack, if you had just called to say there was a problem I could have told you about this. No promise of bedding change mid week on our listing -this was never agreed and I have checked our conversation and it was definitely not promised at any point. Thank you for letting us know about the lampshades being dusty these are very high up so difficult to reach but I will make sure they are cleaned. I really wished you contacted me during the stay instead of after so we could put anything and everything right for you and these are the conditions about leaving an honest review in that you contact the owner as soon as you are aware of any problem to give them the chance to put it right.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Australia.
5

A great property in an amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I have just spent three nights at Driftwood in St Ives. The property was terrific, light, airy, modern and everything you would need to have a great holiday. The beds were so comfortable, we slept like babies!

The parking space was a bonus, in a place like St Ives where parking is at a premium it was great to have the car outside the property. The car is not needed in St Ives, walking down to the water was very pleasant. The sun terrace with water views, wow! sitting in the sun having breakfast was just perfect.

St Ives is one of those places that grabs at your heart strings, we fell in love with this beautiful little town and so wished we could have stayed longer. We ate out every night, the food very well priced, everything we ate tasted amazing.

We highly recommend Driftwood.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Coast/Beach:

400 metres to Porthmeor beach and Tate Gallery. 5 minutes walk to Harbour, restaurants, shops & cinema. 5 minutes to coastal footpath.

Travel:

Nearest Airport is Newquay then Exeter then Bristol.

Distances:

Few minutes walk into St Ives shopping area and Harbour.

Further Details:

The West Country region

Cornwall enjoys a fantastic micro-climate which tends to be warm all year round. There are places of interest in Cornwall including the Eden Project and The Tate Gallery in St Ives, not to mention the vast amount of legend and history associated with Cornwall.

St Ives is a world famous Cornish holiday town, loved for generations. It is easy to reach by road, air and train too, along one of the most spectacular railway journeys in Britain. With crystal blue waters, golden sands and a warm welcome, St Ives is an ideal holiday destination suitable for all.

Every Tuesday, throughout the year the St Ives Jazz Club hosts gigs bringing modern live Jazz to St Ives

Every Thursday 9.30 am - 3.00 pm - St Ives Farmers' Market at The Backpackers, St Ives (just up from Royal Square).

Various dates, throughout the year, see performances at the Kidz R Us Theatre.

Various dates, throughout the year, St Ives Art Club host events including various poetry, prose and music events and club exhibitions in May and September

Art courses are available all year round at the St Ives School of Painting

Do you want to find out more about St Ives? Visit the St Ives Archive

On the last Friday in every Month The Tate runs Late at Tate St Ives from 18:00-21:00, with with music, food and a pay bar in the café until 22.00 (last orders 21.30). ?(The Tate, St Ives)

From March to early November, drop-on guided tours of St Ives take place with 'St Ives Now and Then' at 11am Monday and Fridays and 'St Ives in the Frame' 11am Thursdays. Tours meet at the Guildhall, Strret-an-Pol.

From May to September, Monday-Friday you can see various performances at the Minack Theatre. For show dates & times please visit the website. Local Theatre group Rough Coast will be performing Canterbury Tales 6th-10th June 2011.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $158.96

Booking Notes:
1.Booking form to be completed School holidays bookings are Friday to Friday 7 days min.
2.25% deposit of total cost of rental required to hold booking.
3.Balance required 2 months prior to rental.
4.£120 returnable breakage housekeeping deposit required.
5. Payment if you need maid service for cleaning- £50 due on booking.
Payments can be made by BACS details on booking form.
Bed linen included for 5 nights or more Easter to mid Sept
Short break charges.
2 nights 60%
3 nights 70%
4 nights 80%
5 nights 90%




Changeover Day:
Change over Saturday to Saturday in School holidays & during July-August.
Flexible days other times.


Notes on prices:
Please enquire for short breaks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund