expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Beautiful Victorian Family Home

Ventnor, Isle of Wight, UK
  • House1500 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights

House in Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England - With stunning sea views

Exclusive family house in a unique position over looking Bonchurch and Ventnor with fabulous sea views and backing onto St Boniface Downs. Only a ten minute walk to Ventnor town centre and the beach, the downs back onto the garden with private gated access. Great location for activity holidays such as cycling, walking, golf, sailing and many great island attractions. Shenstone is a beautifully stone built Victorian semi-detached house and is situated just off the road towards Shanklin. It has gated access with off road parking for up to 3 cars. There are 4 double bedrooms and one further double with a visitors pull out bed. The property has two bathrooms, large dining room and sitting room. It has been sympathetically and tastefully furnished to a high standard throughout and most rooms are furnished with antiques dating from the nineteenth century, also includes double glazing and gas central heating two wood burners and open fire place for modern day comfort. The garden is terraced with a patio area at the top, with wonderful sea views and a double brick built BBQ. The garden enjoys many wildlife visitors, including Red Squirrels!

Owner

Caroline Alexander

Member Since 2014
Premier Partner
This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response time:
within a few days
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 07, 2018
About Caroline Alexander

I work full time in the fashion industry and my husband is a farmer in Kent We hope you enjoy your stay with us; we work so hard to keep Shenstone looking its best. Kind regards Caroline Alexander

Caroline Alexander purchased this House in 2009

Why Caroline Alexander chose Wroxall

We, as a family bought Shenstone in 2009 as our retirement home, but little did we know how much we would fall in love with the house! The house has a wonderful family feel to it and never fails to make us smile as we walk through the door. With ample space for the family if it starts to rain and the garden with its local residents of red squirrels and hummingbird hawk moths, Shenstone never fails to give us pleasure. We offer off road parking for three cars which is essential as Ventnor is built on a very steep hill.

What makes this House unique

Shenstone's location is a fantastic starting point to visit the island. Local shops and the beach are within walking distance and there are lots of fantastic walks starting just outside the house!

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
        • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 9 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with super-king bed, Bedroom 2 Family room with double and single beds, Bedroom 3 either a double or twin with ( zip and link beds) Bedroom 4 either a double or twin with ( zip and link beds)

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, tub, shower
        • Shower room 1
          shower
        • Huge family bathroom with shower over bath and loo. Separate loo and single shower with sink.

        Location Type

          • Beach
          • Town

            Meals

              • Guests provide their own meals

                General

                  • Living Room
                    Living room with TV, XBOX 360, WiFi and seating for 8 people.
                  • Fireplace
                    Open fire place in the living room.
                  • Heating
                  • Internet
                    Wi-Fi available
                  • Iron & Board
                  • Linens Provided
                  • Hair Dryer
                  • Parking
                    For up to three cars.
                  • Towels Provided
                    Not Beach towels.
                  • Tumble Dryer
                  • Washing Machine
                  • Wood Stove
                    2 Log burners

                    Kitchen

                      • Dishes & Utensils
                      • Dishwasher
                      • Freezer
                      • Kitchen
                        Galley kitchen with large dinning table, cooker, hob, fridge freezer, dishwasher, microwave, well equipped.
                      • Microwave
                      • Oven
                      • Refrigerator
                      • Stove
                      • Toaster

                        Dining

                          • Dining
                            Seating for up to 10 people
                          • Dining Area
                          • comfy seating for 8 people

                            Entertainment

                              • Books
                              • Television
                                Wide screen flat TV.
                              • Toys
                              • Video Games
                                XBOX 360 plus a few games

                                Outside

                                  • Deck / Patio
                                  • Golf
                                    3 miles from Sandown Golf course.
                                  • Lawn / Garden
                                  • Outdoor Grill
                                  • Tennis
                                    Available in the town.

                                    Suitability

                                      • not suitable for children
                                      • wheelchair inaccessible

                                        Attractions

                                          • autumn foliage
                                          • botanical garden
                                          • churches
                                          • museums
                                          • pond
                                          • restaurants
                                          • ruins
                                          • zoo

                                            Leisure Activities

                                              • beachcombing
                                              • bird watching
                                              • sight seeing
                                              • walking

                                                Local Services & Businesses

                                                  • ATM/bank
                                                  • laundromat

                                                    Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                      • cycling
                                                      • deepsea fishing
                                                      • golf
                                                      • sailing

                                                        Notes

                                                          • Notes on accommodation:- Parents of very young children must be aware that that the house does not supply a cot, high chair or stair gate. Outside: Unfortunately because of the steepness of the garden we can only offer a holiday to people who can cope with steps and children must be supervised by an adult at all times while playing in the top terrace. Utility Room: Outside toilet, washing machine, tumble dryer and large sink. Towels and linen included. Two bottles of complimentary wine to set you in the mood for your holiday. Other: Sorry no pets. No smoking.

                                                            House Rules

                                                            Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                            Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                            Cancellation Policy

                                                            100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                            5 Reviews

                                                            Excellent4.4/5

                                                            Latest reviews

                                                            Recommended for family groups with older children

                                                            Robert M.

                                                            Large enough for private and communal space, the house was a great base for our family holiday. Conveniently located close to Bonchurch and Ventnor town centre the house has all that you'd wish for in a holiday let. The house has parking for two vehicles and there are four large bedrooms. The kitchen is well equipped and there are cooking essentials in the cupboards. The Victorian furniture adds character to this fantastic house. Plus points include location, amenities, space and the outlook from the front of the property. Down sides are the smell of damp that is clearly evident in many rooms, the close proximity to the main Shanklin to Ventnor road which means buses quite literally pass in front of some bedroom and dining room windows and the informative but somewhat moany notices placed in every room. It's a great house for a larger family group and we really enjoyed our stay there. Would we go again? Probably. Would we recommend? Yes we would.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Many thanks for your comments.

                                                            I apologise for the notices, but as I am not there to welcome you as a group it's the only way I can answer many questions quickly without you having to read the guest book.

                                                            With regards to your comment about the smell of damp, it’s a very old house and it comes with all the disadvantages of it’s age.

                                                            We love the house with all it’s natural charm, despite the road being so close. Having off-road parking in Ventnor is a massive bonus which many other properties don’t have.

                                                            We look forward to having you and your group back soon.

                                                            Very good

                                                            Arina T.

                                                            Nice house

                                                            Large spacious house

                                                            Jonathan W.

                                                            Got a quick booking for just a weekend with kids and grandparents. The house is very large and easily accommodated everyone. Bedrooms were good and had some nice views out over the sea. Clean and tidy with no complaints. Kitchen had all the amenities you could have wanted. Xbox 360 was handy for the kids. Great location to go out and explore the south and east side of the island. If I had to pick a negative, the only thing we could think of was that you could hear the road nearby from time to time when something large went by. Otherwise great house.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            You were great guests to have and hope you have a lovely summer.

                                                            When we decided to buy the house we thought long and hard about road but the house far outweighed this as a problem and we look forward to retirement there.

                                                            beautiful Victorian house

                                                            sheila t.

                                                            Shenstone is a beautiful Victorian family home . Decorated to a very high standard , complete with quality furniture throughout the entire house . Each bedroom as a hairdryer and more than enough wardrobe and draw space for the largest of families .The " in - house " X box was a big hit for us on rainy days, and we were able to access the house games and books . The house is situated in a beautiful part of Ventnor and from Shenstone we was able to access all parts of the Island to enjoy its many delights . If you have never visited the I.O. W before I recommend you look in Shenstones black folder to find all the information you need to make your stay a holiday to remember . I would recommend Shenstone to all those who want to holiday with luxury and a stay in a well equipped house .

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            You were outstanding guests and would welcome you back any time.

                                                            Many thanks for your wonderful comments.

                                                            All the best

                                                            Caroline

                                                            Fantastic home

                                                            Lesley S.

                                                            This home is one of the best we have ever rented around the world, it is very well equipped and all those things you need and take for granted at home are here in this wonderful house. We were a party of 9 and there was so much space we wasn't on top of each other. The location is perfect, I can't rate this house high enough it was superb and we would definitely rent again if we were to return to the Isle of Wight.

                                                            The owners are wonderful with great communication and very helpful all the way through booking and while we were there.

                                                            Once again can't recommend this house highly enough.

                                                            Samuels family & friends

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            You were lovely guests and look forward to your return to the island

                                                            Location

                                                            Ventnor, Isle of Wight, UK

                                                            Coast/Beach: 12 minute walk Travel: Ferry to the IOW is either Fishbourne, East Cowes or Lymington then a 30 min drive to Ventnor. Distances: 12 mins walk to town or 3 min drive to Ventnor. The whole island can be split up into three sections. West and the Needles, North, Newport and Cowes and East, Ryde, Bembridge and Sandown , with so much more in between. It's a wonderful island to explore! Further Details: The island has many wonderful restaurants, great shopping with lots of family run businesses and a friendly atmosphere.

                                                            Availability

                                                            Additional information about rental rates

                                                            Booking Notes: Please contact owner on 07976449409 We will email you a booking form along with how to pay details.(Deposit is 25% of the accommodation cost, subject to a minimum of £100) Balance due two months before arrival date. Payment in full if booked two months before date of arrival. We will ask for a security bond of £100.00 fully refundable two weeks after the holiday departure date. Changeover Day: Saturday Notes on prices: High season £1200.00 Low season £750.00 Half term £ 950.00

                                                            $213avg/night
                                                            5 Reviews
                                                            Excellent 4.4/5
                                                            Premier Partner
                                                            Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                            Instant Confirmation
                                                            For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                            Property # 8156076

                                                            x