check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful Victorian Family Home

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Ventnor House Rental Photos and Description

House in Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England - With stunning sea views

Exclusive family house in a unique position over looking Bonchurch and Ventnor with fabulous sea views and backing onto St Boniface Downs. Only a ten minute walk to Ventnor town centre and the beach, the downs back onto the garden with private gated access. Great location for activity holidays such as cycling, walking, golf, sailing and many great island attractions. Shenstone is a beautifully stone built Victorian semi-detached house and is situated just off the road towards Shanklin. It has gated access with off road parking for up to 3 cars. There are 4 double bedrooms and one further double with a visitors pull out bed. The property has two bathrooms, large dining room and sitting room. It has been sympathetically and tastefully furnished to a high standard throughout and most rooms are furnished with antiques dating from the nineteenth century, also includes double glazing and gas central heating two wood burners and open fire place for modern day comfort. The garden is terraced with a patio area at the top, with wonderful sea views and a double brick built BBQ. The garden enjoys many wildlife visitors, including Red Squirrels!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Caroline Alexander
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2016
Call Owner

About Caroline Alexander

I work full time in the fashion industry and my husband is a farmer in Kent

We hope you enjoy your stay with us; we work so hard to keep Shenstone looking its best.

Kind regards

Caroline Alexander

Caroline Alexander purchased this house in 2009

Why Caroline Alexander chose Isle of Wight

We, as a family bought Shenstone in 2009 as our retirement home, but little did we know how much we would fall in love with the house!

The house has a wonderful family feel to it and never fails to make us smile as we walk through the door.

With ample space for the family if it starts to rain and the garden with its local residents of red squirrels and hummingbird hawk moths, Shenstone never fails to give us pleasure.

We offer off road parking for three cars which is essential as Ventnor is built on a very steep hill.

What makes this house unique

Shenstone's location is a fantastic starting point to visit the island.

Local shops and the beach are within walking distance and there are lots of fantastic walks starting just outside the house!

Guestbook comments from the owner

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in March 2016



We stayed at Shenstone over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend with the whole family. The house is well kept and has a lovely homely feel, and It was very clean and tidy on our arrival. The house is very big and there is plenty of room for a large family to stay here. The bedrooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The house has a lot of 'signage' to help instruct you around and inform you how to use various bits of equipment which was very useful. It came equipped with all the basics like towels,toilet paper and kitchen basics which was really handy. We had a lovely time at Shenstone and would happily stay back here if we visited the island again and would highly recommend it to friends. The owner was very friendly and accommodating to all of our needs.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Victorian Family Home
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
4

Large spacious house

  • 4 of 5

Got a quick booking for just a weekend with kids and grandparents. The house is very large and easily accommodated everyone. Bedrooms were good and had some nice views out over the sea. Clean and tidy with no complaints. Kitchen had all the amenities you could have wanted. Xbox 360 was handy for the kids. Great location to go out and explore the south and east side of the island. If I had to pick a negative, the only thing we could think of was that you could hear the road nearby from time to time when something large went by. Otherwise great house.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were great guests to have and hope you have a lovely summer. When we decided to buy the house we thought long and hard about road but the house far outweighed this as a problem and we look forward to retirement there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

beautiful Victorian house

  • 5 of 5

Shenstone is a beautiful Victorian family home . Decorated to a very high standard , complete with quality furniture throughout the entire house . Each bedroom as a hairdryer and more than enough wardrobe and draw space for the largest of families .The " in - house " X box was a big hit for us on rainy days, and we were able to access the house games and books . The house is situated in a beautiful part of Ventnor and from Shenstone we was able to access all parts of the Island to enjoy its many delights . If you have never visited the I.O. W before I recommend you look in Shenstones black folder to find all the information you need to make your stay a holiday to remember . I would recommend Shenstone to all those who want to holiday with luxury and a stay in a well equipped house .

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were outstanding guests and would welcome you back any time. Many thanks for your wonderful comments. All the best Caroline
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic home

  • 5 of 5

This home is one of the best we have ever rented around the world, it is very well equipped and all those things you need and take for granted at home are here in this wonderful house. We were a party of 9 and there was so much space we wasn't on top of each other. The location is perfect, I can't rate this house high enough it was superb and we would definitely rent again if we were to return to the Isle of Wight.

The owners are wonderful with great communication and very helpful all the way through booking and while we were there.

Once again can't recommend this house highly enough.

Samuels family & friends

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were lovely guests and look forward to your return to the island
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Southampton
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Fishbourne
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Shanklin
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Shanklin
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Ventnor
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Ventnor
Car: necessary

Coast/Beach:

12 minute walk

Travel:

Ferry to the IOW is either Fishbourne, East Cowes or Lymington then a 30 min drive to Ventnor.

Distances:

12 mins walk to town or 3 min drive to Ventnor.

The whole island can be split up into three sections.

West and the Needles, North, Newport and Cowes and East, Ryde, Bembridge and Sandown , with so much more in between. It's a wonderful island to explore!

Further Details:

The island has many wonderful restaurants, great shopping with lots of family run businesses and a friendly atmosphere.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ventnor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Oct 29 2016 - Dec 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
High Season
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,522
 
 
Low Season
Jan 4 2017 - Feb 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
Feb Half Term
Feb 12 2017 - Feb 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,078
 
 
Low Season
Feb 19 2017 - Apr 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
Easter
Apr 2 2017 - Apr 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,262
 
 
Early Summer
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
May bank holiday
Apr 30 2017 - May 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,015
 
 
Summer
May 7 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
May Bank Holiday 2
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,262
 
 
Mid Season
Jun 3 2017 - Jul 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$1,015
 
 
High Season
Jul 16 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,522
 
 
Low Season
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
Winter half term
Oct 22 2017 - Nov 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,015
 
 
Low Season
Nov 5 2017 - Dec 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$209
$951
 
 
Xmas and New Year
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,522
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$209
From
$209
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$951
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $127

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner on 07976449409
We will email you a booking form along with how to pay details.(Deposit is 25% of the accommodation cost, subject to a
minimum of £100) Balance due two months before arrival date.
Payment in full if booked two months before date of arrival.
We will ask for a security bond of £100.00 fully refundable two weeks after the holiday departure date.



Changeover Day:
Saturday

Notes on prices:
High season £1200.00
Low season £750.00
Half term £ 950.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ventnor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Shower room 1 - shower
  • Huge family bathroom with shower over bath and loo. Separate loo and single shower with sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 9 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with super-king bed, Bedroom 2 Family room with double and single beds, Bedroom 3 either a double or twin with ( zip and link beds) Bedroom 4 either a double or twin with ( zip and link beds)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation:- Parents of very young children must be aware that that the house does not supply a cot, high chair or stair gate. Outside: Unfortunately because of the steepness of the garden we can only offer a holiday to people who can cope with steps and children must be supervised by an adult at all times while playing in the top terrace. Utility Room: Outside toilet, washing machine, tumble dryer and large sink. Towels and linen included. Two bottles of complimentary wine to set you in the mood for your holiday. Other: Sorry no pets. No smoking.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties