check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jonathan Lloyd

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Luxury canal-side apartment in heart of Dorsoduro

57 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Dorsoduro Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment

Ca' Leonessa is a recently (2010) restored luxury apartment located in the heart of Venice. It is a short walk from the bus and railway stations. Due to its superb location all the sites of Venice are either within walking distance or a couple of stops on the vaporetto. In the furnishing of the apartment the prime consideration has been to create a comfortable and welcoming oasis for you after a busy days sight seeing in magical Venice.

The living room (which overlooks the canal and the Campo San Barnaba) features two Natuzzi sofa's (one double sofa bed) a Linn sound system and HD television with DVD/CD player.

Both bedrooms are bright and airy with comfortable beds and have plenty of hanging/storage space in the bespoke wardrobes. Bedroom 1 has a luxurious double bed with fine linens and traditional Venetian fabrics. Bedroom 2 has two single beds. Both bathrooms are fully tiled with power showers.

The kitchen has been hand built and features dining for 6.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jonathan Lloyd (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Guestbook comments from the owner

We returned to Cologne after 3 wonderful days in Venice and we are sure, that we will return some time or other.



During our first stay in Venice years ago, we checked in in a hotel near Piazza San Marco - very expensive, very loud and without any atmosphere.



What a difference. Ca 'Leonessa is a luxurious flat in a wonderful part of the city - and very near to the Canale Grande and the other places of interest.



The meeting with the local guide was uncomplicated.



In the past we have rented flats in several cities (Barcelona, Rome, Vienna); but I can express, that we never had such a comfortable and well-positioned flat.



So I can recommend your flat one hundred percent to all my friends who will plan a visit to Venice.





(Rainer, Cologne)
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.8
based on 57 traveler reviews

Luxury canal-side apartment in heart of Dorsoduro
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 59 reviews
5

Great location and lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was in a great area of Venice. Easy to get to all the major sites. The apartment was very nicely decorated with much attention to detail.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nicely updated apt.

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is updated and near several restaurants & shops. The furniture and beds were comfortable. My issue is that the air conditioning was completely inadequate for this two bedroom apt. We stayed in August and really needed the a/c but because the 2 units are located in the entrance foyer, they didn't reach the bedrooms. Plus the washing machine was broke. But I would stay there again but not in the summer.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sunderland
5

Great apartment, great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this lovely apartment in June 2016 and the memories live on. It was very well equipped, attractive and comfortable. We soon felt at home. The location was perfect, busy but away from the tourist crowds, with the fruit and veg barge just outside the front door, wine bar, bakery, supermarket and a wide choice of places to eat just a few minutes walk away. We felt like locals for a week. Highly recommended. We would make it our first choice if we returned to Venice.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect. Lovely.

  • 5 of 5

Nice to be away from the crowds. Nice and quiet and charming. Felt like a local.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent location and charming view

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is extremely well-located in a less-touristy part of Venice but close enough to walk to all the major sites. The Accademia bridge is about a 10 minute walk away, Peggy Guggenheim Museum a 15-minute walk and San Marco a 20-minute walk. The apartment is a short walk from the Ca' Rezzonico vaporetto stop (where you can also pick up the water bus to the airport). The neighborhood has many local cafes, restaurants and bars, as well as a charming fruit and vegetable stand on a boat across from the apartment. The view from the master bedroom and living room windows is charming, overlooking a small canal, bridge and local cafe and gallery.

The apartment itself was appropriately sized for 3 of us, with separate bathrooms for each bedroom. The air conditioning worked well, which was appreciated during the summer heat. It's important to know that the apartment has a series of step ups/step downs when you go from room to room, so this could be difficult for people with balance or vision issues. Also, the entrance to the apartment is up a small flight of stairs. The only other comment I would make is that the lighting could be brighter. Once of the lights in the main bathroom was out and it and the bedrooms were quite dim at night. The apartment was surface-clean but could use a good deep scrubbing.

Overall, our stay was very nice and Venice charmed us.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this apartment with my family (4 adults and 2 children) at the beginning of July. The location was perfect, central but not too busy, with lots of attractions, shops and restaurants within steps of the apartment (Ca'Rezzonnico, Museum of Leonardo DaVinci, and Ca'Macana where our kids got to paint their own masks. The apartment was spacious, well appointed, and very functional. WiFi was fast and reliable (only place on our 3.5 week vacation in Italy), and the AC worked perfectly. Directions were simple to get there from the airport and Julia met us with the keys and showed us around the apartment. She was also available throughout our stay if we had any questions or needed anything. She even arranged for a water taxi to pick up my parents at 4am to get them to the airport for an early flight. Coolest thing about the apartment and the nearest neighborhood is that "Indiana Jones, The Last Crusade" was filmed there (at the beginning of the movie Harrison Ford walks right by the apartment, across the bridge and into the church that now houses the museum of Leonardo DaVinci. The only thing that could have been better is the sleeper sofa in the living room.. we ended up putting it back up and just sleeping on the couch and loveseat ( parents slept on the large bed in the first bedroom, while kids took the 2 twin beds in the second..we ended up in the living room to watch the European Cup finals).

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Kilometres
Marco Polo
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
Campo San Barnaba
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Stazione Marittima
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Lido
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Santa Lucia
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Piazzale Roma
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Campo San Barnaba
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Cadora
Nearest Beach
4 Kilometres
Lido
Car: not necessary

Your first glimpse of Venice, the pearl of the Adriatic, is of a magnificent vision of a city rising from the waters of the lagoon. The unique light has fascinated artists and travellers for centuries. As perhaps the greatest trading state Venice has absorbed different cultures like no other City. Its unrivalled blend of cultures is evidenced in the truly magnificent array of architectural styles from Byzantine through to Renaissance elegance and even the neo Fascist architecture of the railway station.

The Grand Canal runs through the centre of the city with its numerous smaller canals and 400 plus bridges link the city and its succession of palazzi.

From the first refugees arriving to the rise of the great Venetian empire of the 13th century and the later Napoleonic invasion, Venice has it all.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dorsoduro Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Apr 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,425
 
 
Autumn 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 19 2016
3 night minimum stay
$188
$1,231
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,425
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 5 2017 - Feb 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$181
$1,153
 
 
Carnevale 2017
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,425
 
 
Spring 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$188
$1,231
 
 
Summer 2017
Apr 2 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$220
$1,425
 
 
Christmas 2017
Nov 1 2017 - Jan 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$246
$1,749
 
 
Winter 2018
Jan 5 2018 - Feb 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$123
$713
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dorsoduro Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 85 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet
  • Both bathrooms are fully tiled with local tiles in earthy/neutral tones. There are power showers in both.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • Both bedrooms are bright and airy with comfortable beds and have plenty of hanging/storage space in the bespoke wardrobes. One bedroom has a luxuriously appointed double bed with fine linens and traditional Venetian fabrics. The second bedroom has two single beds again with beautiful traditional Venetian fabrics. There is also a double sofa bed in the Living room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
Notes:
Among the many other amenities on offer we have provided unlimited broadband/wifi; Wii system with a selection of games/activities; a collection of DVD's, CD's and books (including various cook books and guide books on Venice). Our apartment is great for all groups from parents with children, groups of friends or a romantic hideaway for a couple. Included with your stay are bed linen and bath towels, all utilities, internet use and weekly cleaning as well as final cleaning on your departure. Added extras include electrical adaptors (UK and USA); umbrellas; guidebooks; maps and rain boots.

Partner Offers