Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Holiday Cottage, York - Lovely Village Location

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cosy Cottage near York, North Yorkshire - 1 Bedroom, Historic Village, Within Easy Reach Of York, Wetherby And Harrogate - Great Reviews

Our recently converted barn has been lovingly refurbished to a high standard, to create the perfect base for a relaxing holiday. The grade II listing means that we have retained all character features, such as beams and troughs, yet we have incorporated all of the necessary elements to make this an extremely comfortable and fully equipped self catering holiday base. We have a bathroom with WC, full size bath with overhead shower and basin, a well-equipped and appointed kitchen area, which includes an electric hob and fan oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer. it is in excellent decorative order and the high quality appliances are complemented by the quartz work surfaces. The kitchen and dining area is open plan into the comfortable lounge, with new sofa bed (opening to a smaller double bed, suitable for two children), two additional chairs, and a dining table (seats 4+). For your entertainment we have a 42" LCD TV, Freeview box, DVD Player (range of DVDs provided, more children's DVDs available), iPod docking station, free WiFi. The property is set within the grounds of our family home (though is set back out of sight), and the patio area is furnished with table and chairs for outdoor dining and faces onto our large, child friendly, sunny (SE facing), lawned gardens, which overlook open fields. The location of our unique barn conversion is one of its greatest assets. The historic village of Tockwith has excellent road links 10 minutes from the A1 and next to the historic Marston Moor battlefield site. The property is located to give easy access to York (7 miles), Wetherby (6 miles) and Harrogate (11 miles) and the multitude of attractions that they offer. These include the Yorkshire Dales-Moors-Coast, Castle Howard, Beningbrough Hall, Harewood House, Newby Hall, and of course the City of York, including the National Railway Museum, Yorvik, York Minster, The historic York City Walls, York Racecourse, the theatres, boat trips, and many other attractions. Additionally, Leeds Armouries, RHS - Harlow Carr Gardens in Harrogate are all within an easy drive.

The holiday property has a designated off street parking space, though we enjoy excellent public transport links - including a regular bus service from right outside and trains direct to York, Knaresborough and Harrogate, from Cattal station which is just two miles away.

More Details

Owner
Sasha Hutchinson
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Sasha Hutchinson

We have lived in our current home for over seven years. We very much enjoy living in Tockwith, and are very happy to share our home and village with you. Our house is a grade 2 listed Georgian house (1830s), which, had some partially renovated agricultural outbuildings. The barn has now been lovingly refurbished to the high standard that you see in the photos. We aimed to make it the home from home that we would like to stay in on holiday; certainly the feedback that we have had so far suggests that it is very comfortable. We hope you like the finished product. It is set back within our garden, so you will feel that you have privacy, though you are welcome to use the space on offer. Please don't hesitate to call for more information. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sasha Hutchinson purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Sasha Hutchinson chose York

We bought this house because it is a beautiful old house. However its location was a huge factor. It is very accessible; near to the A1 / M1, York, Harrogate, Wetherby, the Dales, N. York Moors, the Coast and the many attractions in our area. We are lucky enough to have the benefit of all of these amazing places on our doorstep, whilst living in a quiet, semi rural location. We have the benefit of good public transport links (regular bus service stops right outside, York Park and Ride nearby and a rail station (with parking) connected to York and Harrogate, just two miles away).

What makes this cottage unique

Our property is unique because of the history of the property and the area. The barn is packed with character features, though it has all the comforts and convenience of a modern home. It is located just a mile from Marston Moor Battlefield, the site of a major battle during the English Civil War.

The village benefits from a lovely pub, which serves good pub food and a shop / Post Office. We are lucky enough to have many good eateries in the area. We would be happy to make recommendations that you can look to book before your arrival.

Amenities

York Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Bathroom with bath and shower over, wc, basin and towel warmer.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: One bedroom with king-size bed and a small double sofa bed in lounge. We can provide a travel cot on request.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Travel cot and high chair available on request. Outside: The property has it own furnished patio area, which overlooks our large lawned, family friendly garden. You are very welcome to use the garden. Utility Room: Automatic washer dryer integrated into the kitchen - clothes airer can be provided upon request. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels can be changed mid-week on a week long stay. A mid week clean is also available though an extra charge will be applied for either service.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Holiday Cottage, York - Lovely Village Location
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 22 reviews
3

Slightly disappoited

  • 3 of 5

Bedroom and bathroom too small. Unable to fully open bedroom door as it opens onto bed making entry to room difficult. TV aerial connector in bedroom broken. Bath very small, not enough space to get out shower/bath between toilet and wash basin and could be dangerous for less mobile users. Cold water tap in bath not working correctly. Very poor Internet and TV signal not mentioned on website. Cottage looks lovely but these niggles lower its appeal

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were really sorry to hear that your experience wasn't quite what you expected. We always endeavour to ensure that everything is in full working order and we were not informed either by yourselves or any previous holidaymakers that the tap and aerial connector were not working. We will ensure that these are fixed straight away. In terms of the internet speed, our provider guarantees us at least 60Mb download speed, if there was a problem on the weekend of your stay then, had we been informed, we could have tried to sort it out for you. We are in a village location, but generally we find the internet connection to be great. We have not had any complaints before. The bedroom in our cottage is not huge, it is quite cosy. During the design process, we decided to prioritise a lovely big living space next door and a king size bed over circulation space around the bed. We have not had any complaints before and the door normally opens well. We wonder whether the bed has been moved slightly during cleaning. Finally, as regards the bathroom, we do not advertise our property as being suitable for holidaymakers with mobility issues and people have always found the bathroom to be functional. However if there was ever a problem, we have a big bathroom in another unit next door which would always be available to use. We always stress to our guests that if they need anything, they just need to ask and if there are any problems to let us know. We are disappointed that your experience was slightly compromised by these 'niggles', and that you did not let us know and give us the chance to help.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Lovely property, in quiet village

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautifully finished cottage, ideally located

  • 5 of 5

My family (wife and I, 4 yr old and a newborn) stayed at this lovely cottage for a long weekend trip to York, Ripon and Harrogate - all under a thirty minute drive away. The double bedroom and sofa bed in the lounge (together with our Moses basket) proved to be sufficient space for us.

The cottage itself is located in a quaint village called Tockwith, and is beautifully finished, retaining original features.

The owners, Richard and Sasha were kind enough to let out their property to us at very late notice, as they originally had family friends staying over on the dates we enquired about...thanks again:)

On arrival, we were allocated a parking space, provided with lots of information about the surrounding area, and given use of the large family garden - football goalposts, tree-house and swings :)

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the York area...

p.s. the gardens and spectacular ruins at Fountains Abbey are well worth a visit

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Prestonpans
5

Perfect Getaway.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful converted barn.Well equipped and stylish.Owners, Sasha & Richard very friendly and helpful. Excellent walking distance of pub with great food (and friendly staff). Many lovely wee places to visit nearby. Car was useful, but railway station not too far away and many Park and Rides around.

We highly recommend this holiday home.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely peaceful location with local amenities close by.

  • 5 of 5

Sasha and Richard who own the cottage were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The cooking, washing and shower facilities are first class. The sofa bed which has been mentioned in previous reviews has I think now been replaced with a larger and more comfortable unit. This still means that if a party of 3 is booked in, someone must sleep in the lounge/kitchen/diner. There is a wall mounted TV plus a dvd player, also free WiFi is available. There is a 50 yard or so walk from the parking area, which is not ideal in wet weather! The Spotted Ox pub is a 10 minute walk and has a good and varied bar food menu. A Costcutter shop near the pub has most food items which are likely to be needed. We were more than happy with our experience with this property and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Too small for 3

  • 4 of 5

The barn is in a lovely location, the village is very nice and not far to drive into York, Harrogate and surrounding areas.

The problem we had was the sleeping arrangements. There were only 3 of us - the barn sleeps 4 apparently. Myself and my 2 sons aged 8 and 14. I was aware before we booked that there was a sofa bed, that was fine, my eldest has slept on many pull out beds in the past and it hasnt been a problem. However this particular sofa bed was so uncomfortable, and also rather creepy as it's in the lounge / kitchen (all one room).

It ended up with the 2 kids sharing the double bed, and me sleeping on the sofa bed. I didn't sleep well at all. And there is no way I could have got another person on there with me!

I also found it quite uncomfortable when we were sitting watching TV on a night. There are no cosy chairs to cuddle up on. Again I suppose this depends what type of holiday you want and how much time you'll be spending in the cottage, but we liked to have a busy day out, then come back to the barn on an evening to watch TV and play games.

On the plus side, the barn itself is lovely, the location is great, and its lovely and clean and well maintained. But I do think its a holiday home for 2 and no more.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Leeds / Bradford
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
The Spotted Ox
Nearest Ferry
65 Miles
Hull
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Wetherby Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Cattal, North Yorkshire
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
A1 (M)
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Spotted Ox, Tockwith
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Xscape, Castleford
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
Filey
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

The East Yorkshire coastal resorts and beaches of Whitby, Scarborough, Bridlington and Filey are a short drive away. The nearest being an hour away by car.

Travel:

Leeds Bradford is our nearest airport at 40 minutes away. This is closely followed by Manchester, Newcastle and East Midlands at 1 hour 15 mins. York is on a direct train line from London in the south, (with Heathrow and Gatwick airports), and Edinburgh in the north.

Distances:

The historic city of York and its many attractions are 7 miles away, a 15 minute drive. The pretty market town of Wetherby is 6 miles and 10 minutes by car and the beautiful Spa town of Harrogate is miles and a 25 minute drive. The picturesque, historic, fortified town of Knaresborough is 10 miles and a 20 minute drive away.

Further Details:

We lave a local convenience store and post office just a few minutes walk away. The local pubs, around 200 metres away, serve good pub food. There are many other high quality eateries within a short drive. The nearest local supermarkets are in Wetherby, just 10 minutes drive away. A welcome pack with all essentials to get you started can be made available on request for a small fee. (Milk, tea, coffee, bread, butter, jam and the basics for a simple meal)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $28.07
Damage Deposit $70.19

Booking Notes:
A £50 refundable damages deposit will be taken with your final payment. This will be refunded up to ten days after departure if everything is left in good order, clean and all breakages paid for.


Changeover Day:
Changeover day is a Friday.

Notes on prices:
We may offer shorter stays for some dates - please contact us to check availability.
To secure a booking, a deposit of 50% is required, unless 8 weeks or less before arrival, when full payment is due. We also need a completed booking form. Payment preferred by bank transfer.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties