check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Bijou Village House With Heated Pool In Tranquil Courtyard Gardens

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
0
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val House Rental Photos and Description

House in Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, Tarn et Garonne, Midi-Pyrenees, France

Maison Fleurie offers an unrivalled combination of character, homely comfort, peace and utter seclusion with ready access to cafes, restaurants and shops. A home at the centre of all you could desire and yet as quiet as the countryside. In the heart of an ancient citadel, the house retains its medieval character with modern convenience. Décor is soft and understated. Fully tiled showers boast powerful thermostatic delivery. Beds have supportive mattresses and feather pillows. Looking onto the spectacular gorge of the Aveyron river there is an adjoining private courtyard with unshared in-ground circular heated pool, four metres across, typically heated to 25C during season. In another garden there are dining table, chairs and sun beds for six. Take the sun to the chime of the village clock, doze in shade, float on water - or just enjoy a short stroll in some of the nation’s most fabulous scenery.

We rent this house weekly from Saturday to Saturday in high season. If you would like another start day, please contact us. The house is available for longer lets out of peak season; April £800, May £1200, September £1300, October £800 per month.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Clare Simmons
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2016

About Clare Simmons

We are an Australian family of five who work and live in the area. Our three children go to school in St. Antonin Noble Val and enjoy all the sports and outdoor activities the area offers.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fantastic time on our holiday and we wanted to say thank you. This is the 14th cottage we have visited in France and it is without doubt the best.

Robert S. - London, UK

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Saint Antonin. We were saying this evening it's the perfect way to absorb France – we’ve had the time of our lives.

Jonathan and Simone M. - NSW, Australia

Thanks again for the week at La Maison Fleurie - such a great village and local people – much our favourite as we toured Languedoc-Roussillon.

Ron Y. - California, USA

Thanks for a super holiday. We all loved the house and its facilities (a real home from home!) St Antonin grew on us too. Never have we felt so safe in such surroundings.

Christian H. - Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, UK
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Bijou Village House With Heated Pool In Tranquil Courtyard Gardens
average rating of 4.714286 based on 15 reviews
5

Great house in an amazing village

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Maison fleurie, we particularly like the amount of outdoor space. The only negative is the steep stairs but that is medieval houses for you!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A home from home; but not my home!

  • 3 of 5

Really rather average accommodation and disappointing. A lot of money (greedy really!) for what you get vs season and location. Pics not reflective of property, and kitchen in particular dreadful. Bedding clean but 'pulled' fitted sheets and everything is Ikea and cheap/well-used. Felt 'out of season' and money for old rope! No effort made to 'show' property when arrived, which reinforced a classic 'money-spinner' and either no clue how to welcome, as quick as 'here is the keys', or genuinely happy to take your money! Pity, just think owners need to breathe some fresh air into their approach and certainly the property! Pool (hardly!) dreadful and we wouldn't use at all; mound, slime and constant foliage/leaves re over-hanging branches ... cut back that area!! Kitchen is really the worst I've come across; managed to have (stretched) look down back of main work top (eeeeek!). Top floor toilet; just sit on the toilet seat and have a good look at the sink area and, in particular, the pipes... gross! Carpets frayed on stairs.

We enjoyed our stay overall re we spent little time at the property and explored local area; I do not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gary, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but totally mystified ( apart from your comment about the worn carpet on the stairs which I totally agree with and is due to be replaced this winter). We had lots of contact with you before your stay, and on arrival where we talked about your retirement plans, explained where things were in the village and even photographed my children in front of your car as they like convertibles. During your stay we exchanged chatty emails about possible places to live nearby, popped around to clean the pool etc and hence I am mystified about your suggestion we are not interested in our guests. Here is an unedited email you sent during your stay to my children; Dear Lexie, Kate and Annabel Thank you so much for your cards, which was a very pleasant surprise and so thoughtful of you; loved the colours and designs, which we will treasure. You're very welcome with regard to the chocolate - Revels are my (Gary's) particular favourite, though I also (Gary) love Rolo's straight from the fridge!! Sorry we missed you, but we hope to see you all, and soon. Have a lovely weekend and be good for Mummy and Daddy (not too much chocolate now!). Gary and Lizzie PS Don't forget the homework!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
GUILDFORD
5

Amazing place - oasis in town centre

  • 5 of 5

In a narrow alley behind a green door is a haven of tranquillity planted with Japanese Maple, the air scented with Trachelospermum jasminoides, the ground carpeted in pebbles. Here we found our new medieval home, our hosts greeted us warmly, suggested a good private parking spot for our bikes, and showered us with invaluable information about the locality. A really useful selection of basic food and drink was already in the kitchen. Well presented, it's clean and very well equipped. Excellent WiFi. Despite the hot weather this ancient house is cool and comfortable.

It's a five star property, which is not perfect in some respects; a worn carpet and a noisy upstairs WC plus tiny hand rinse basin. The car parking is in a public square nearby. Master bedroom has a huge and comfortable double bed. The simply furnished twin room is quite small. Downstairs is a kitchen/diner with washing machine, as well as a good shower room with WC, basin and ample hot water. The middle floor is a comfortable lounge. I found the garden with two enclosed courtyards the most surprising element; heated pool, three piece suite, dining table, washing line, barbecue, not overlooked and incredibly peaceful. By day squadrons of swifts and swallows keep the insect population at bay and at dusk the bats patrol the night skies. All this at a place right in the heart of the charming medieval town with loads to see, do & drink. Everyone should go kayaking, walking can be spectacular, the tree top adventure route looked impressive & new. All these activities can be done within walking distance. We ate out every evening, the cooker went unused since restaurants were plentiful. We loved our stay and will always fondly remember this place, hankering to return.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Private comfortable gite in centre of medieval town.

  • 5 of 5

This property has loads of character as befits accommodation situated so close to the centre of such a beautiful and historic town like Saint Antonin. The house is on three floors, kitchen and shower on ground floor, a comfortable living room on the first floor and two bedrooms on the second. Master bedroom has a fantastic view over the towns rooftops and surrounding hills. Outside there is a very private courtyard with a pool in which to cool off, a seating area to lounge with a good read and a glass of wines and dining table and chairs. We really enjoyed using the barbecue in the evening, all necessary equipment and fuel provided. The courtyard also enabled us to take in the sun or shade all day as we wished. Shops and restaurants are all a minute or two from the property, yet it felt very peaceful. A book of walks allowed us to explore the surrounding area on the cooler days and we had plenty to do locally. Highlights were the Sunday market and kayaking down the river Aveyron. Clare and Tony were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them and we appreciated all the extra touches to make our stay so comfortable.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A quaint and lovely cottage in the heart of things

  • 5 of 5

We (family of 4) spent a wonderful week at this historic, well appointed house in the centre of gorgeous St Antonin. The village is so, so pretty, a jumble of medieval houses, cafes and boulangeries with an 'oh-so-French' square at its heart. The house is literally a minute's walk from this square and yet if you sit out in the pretty courtyard it is so peaceful. We enjoyed breakfast in our courtyard and dinner in several of the restaurants in town, we would recommend Befroi Tempatations. We also had a fabulous day kayaking on the Aveyron (Pieds dans l'eau speak good English and are very friendly). Our boys (12 and 8) loved the courtyard pool. The house itself has everything you will need, including comfy beds and a good selection of books. The owner's kept their distance but were just around the corner if needed.

We heartily recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quirky but delightful place to stay in a lovely medieval town centre.

  • 4 of 5

The property is in the heart of the medieval town giving you a real French living experience. The historic house is well equipped and comfortable and was clean and well maintained. There are a lot of stairs but the climb up to the bedrooms is worth it as the reward is a birds eye view of the ancient roofs of the town, a platform to observe the comings and goings of house martins, swallows and swifts and see glimpses of the Gorge d'Aveyron. The courtyard is delightful and a great spot in the sun to enjoy your morning croissants. The boulangerie, bars and a variety of restaurants are all a short step away. Our favourite bar La Halle seems to be the place where locals and visitors hang out and the service was always friendly. The town has a good variety of shops and a small supermarket in town with a larger one on the outskirts. It also has an amazing market every Sunday morning which you must not miss ! It is a good base to explore the area by car, on foot or by canoe available for hire in several places on the nearby river.

Clare and Tony, the owners are a delight and couldn't have been more helpful before and during our stay. They are great fun and very knowledgeable about the town and its surroundings. Even though we had a late arrival Clare was there to meet us and had shopped to make sure we had food for an evening meal. A problem with the downstairs shower was quickly dealt with and resolved.

We had a fab stay in Maison Fleurie and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Paula and Bernard Maher

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Paula and Bernard, we enjoyed meeting you too, and hopefully you will choose this part of France for your retirement adventure.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Travel:

Airports: Toulouse/Carcassonne/Rodez/Bergerac/Bordeaux/Limoges

Nearest Train Station: Caussade 15 Kilometres

Nearest Motorway: A 20 Caussade 15 Kilometres

Car: recommended

Further Details:

The ancient midi-Quercy region is a mosaic of natural topographies. It is a land of stone, water, gorges, valleys, lakes, river plains and forests, bathed in sunlight and full of colour at all times of the year. Vineyards and orchards colour the countryside, and in the markets the air is filled with the smell of apples, plums, peaches and melons. There are many farms and vineyards to visit where visitors can sample local food and wine produce. Activities nearby include swimming, canoeing, kayaking, walking, golf, fishing, caving, rock-climbing and riding - as well as museums and places of historical and cultural interest to visit. Standing-stones, dolmens and rock caverns all attest to human occupation since Paleolithic times. Medieval churches, temples, castles, walled towns, chapels, abbeys and perched cliff side villages wait to be discovered. An in-depth on line guide covering all aspects of the area within a reasonable day's excursion is available on request.

Rates & Availability

Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Out of season
Sep 24 2016 - May 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$592
 
 
Early Spring
May 6 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$699
 
 
Spring
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$807
 
 
Shoulder
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$882
 
 
Early Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,103
 
 
High summer
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,452
 
 
Autumn
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$882
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $215

Booking Notes:
Please ask for a copy of our booking conditions

Changeover Day:
Saturday changeover

Notes on prices:
There is a supplementary charge of 50 pounds per week for parties of six in July and August. Prices include gas, electricity, pool heating, tea, coffee, spices and many other provisions. Shower mats, hand towels, personal towel sets, bed linen and cleaning before and after your stay are also included. No hidden extras are to be found in our prices.

The house is available for long term lets from October until April, prices from £550 to £800 per month.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (2 Bedrooms) plus sofa bed Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - Super king double bed, en-suite shower Bedroom 2 - 2 single beds,
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The building is warm and cosy out of season, and deliciously cool at the height of summer. More than a holiday 'gite' this is a properly equipped, thoroughly comfortable home, suitable for both short and long term occupation. Outside: The house entrance is only seconds walk from free and secure car parking. Outside in 100 m2 of prettily planted courtyard gardens is a covered barbecue, dining table and chairs for six, level access 3.6 m. circular heated pool, garden lighting and sun loungers. Utility Room: Tumble dryer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen including beach towels is provided. The house is cleaned to the highest standards before and after your stay.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties