Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Bijou Village House With Heated Pool In Tranquil Courtyard Gardens

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House in Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val, Tarn et Garonne, Midi-Pyrenees, France

Maison Fleurie offers an unrivalled combination of character, homely comfort, peace and utter seclusion with ready access to cafes, restaurants and shops. A home at the centre of all you could desire and yet as quiet as the countryside. In the heart of an ancient citadel, the house retains its medieval character with modern convenience. Décor is soft and understated. Fully tiled showers boast powerful thermostatic delivery. Beds have supportive mattresses and feather pillows. Looking onto the spectacular gorge of the Aveyron river there is an adjoining private courtyard with unshared in-ground circular heated pool, four metres across, typically heated to 25C during season. In another garden there are dining table, chairs and sun beds for six. Take the sun to the chime of the village clock, doze in shade, float on water - or just enjoy a short stroll in some of the nation’s most fabulous scenery.

We rent this house weekly from Saturday to Saturday in high season. If you would like another start day, please contact us. The house is available for longer lets out of peak season; April £800, May £1200, September £1300, October £800 per month.

More Details

Owner
Clare Simmons
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About Clare Simmons

We are an Australian family of five who work and live in the area. Our three children go to school in St. Antonin Noble Val and enjoy all the sports and outdoor activities the area offers.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fantastic time on our holiday and we wanted to say thank you. This is the 14th cottage we have visited in France and it is without doubt the best.

Robert S. - London, UK

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Saint Antonin. We were saying this evening it's the perfect way to absorb France – we’ve had the time of our lives.

Jonathan and Simone M. - NSW, Australia

Thanks again for the week at La Maison Fleurie - such a great village and local people – much our favourite as we toured Languedoc-Roussillon.

Ron Y. - California, USA

Thanks for a super holiday. We all loved the house and its facilities (a real home from home!) St Antonin grew on us too. Never have we felt so safe in such surroundings.

Christian H. - Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, UK
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (2 Bedrooms) plus sofa bed Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - Super king double bed, en-suite shower Bedroom 2 - 2 single beds,
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The building is warm and cosy out of season, and deliciously cool at the height of summer. More than a holiday 'gite' this is a properly equipped, thoroughly comfortable home, suitable for both short and long term occupation. Outside: The house entrance is only seconds walk from free and secure car parking. Outside in 100 m2 of prettily planted courtyard gardens is a covered barbecue, dining table and chairs for six, level access 3.6 m. circular heated pool, garden lighting and sun loungers. Utility Room: Tumble dryer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen including beach towels is provided. The house is cleaned to the highest standards before and after your stay.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bijou Village House With Heated Pool In Tranquil Courtyard Gardens
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 19 reviews
5

A real five-star holiday find

  • 5 of 5

This was the most relaxing and enjoyable holiday we have been on in years.

St Antonin Noble Val itself is a delightful medieval town, full of character and scattered with interesting buildings. One of the great pleasures was simply to sit in the cafe in the market square and watch the largely car-free life of the town go by.

I cannot speak too highly of the house. From the sun-trap courtyards and pool to the comfortably furnished and well-equipped living rooms, it is an ideal place to spend a week or two doing pretty much nothing. I got through quite a few books.

The owners, too, deserve a more than honourable mention. Clare met us on our arrival and gave us a friendly welcome and helpful introduction to the house and town; she then checked by text that evening that all was well, and came back the following day to help us with the one thing we hadn't worked out for ourselves.

It helped, of course, that the weather was good, right up to the huge thunderstorm on the final evening, which was itself quite entertaining. But even without that, I would have regarded this place as a real find.

All together, the town, house and Clare make this a real five-star place to spend a holiday. Thanks for having us.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves, I love it when people like the village as much as we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Melbourne , Australia
5

A winner!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying in this charming and wonderfully comfortable house. Great location, a few minutes from the centre of this fascinating medieval village with its first class weekend farmers market (don't miss it!). Clare and Tony are first-class hosts, being most available and communicative and providing a generous and thoughtful supply of everything you could ever need, including an excellent compendium of information on the town and nearby attractions. Everything is spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable, the view from the bedroom window a medieval picture-perfect sight. This is delightful accommodation in a wonderfully picturesque town. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house, beautiful old village, great hosts.

  • 5 of 5

The house has a lovely old "cottage" feel to it, it but has all the comforts of a modern house (and great internet!). There are two courtyards and whilst one is largely taken up by the pool they are both lovely, and private places to sit and have a glass of wine.

We came to St. Antonin house hunting having discovered the area a few years ago, and the hosts, Clare and Tony, were really helpful.

Thanks

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house in an amazing village

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Maison fleurie, we particularly like the amount of outdoor space. The only negative is the steep stairs but that is medieval houses for you!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

A home from home; but not my home!

  • 3 of 5

Really rather average accommodation and disappointing. A lot of money (greedy really!) for what you get vs season and location. Pics not reflective of property, and kitchen in particular dreadful. Bedding clean but 'pulled' fitted sheets and everything is Ikea and cheap/well-used. Felt 'out of season' and money for old rope! No effort made to 'show' property when arrived, which reinforced a classic 'money-spinner' and either no clue how to welcome, as quick as 'here is the keys', or genuinely happy to take your money! Pity, just think owners need to breathe some fresh air into their approach and certainly the property! Pool (hardly!) dreadful and we wouldn't use at all; mound, slime and constant foliage/leaves re over-hanging branches ... cut back that area!! Kitchen is really the worst I've come across; managed to have (stretched) look down back of main work top (eeeeek!). Top floor toilet; just sit on the toilet seat and have a good look at the sink area and, in particular, the pipes... gross! Carpets frayed on stairs.

We enjoyed our stay overall re we spent little time at the property and explored local area; I do not recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gary, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but totally mystified ( apart from your comment about the worn carpet on the stairs which I totally agree with and is due to be replaced this winter). We had lots of contact with you before your stay, and on arrival where we talked about your retirement plans, explained where things were in the village and even photographed my children in front of your car as they like convertibles. During your stay we exchanged chatty emails about possible places to live nearby, popped around to clean the pool etc and hence I am mystified about your suggestion we are not interested in our guests. Here is an unedited email you sent during your stay to my children; Dear Lexie, Kate and Annabel Thank you so much for your cards, which was a very pleasant surprise and so thoughtful of you; loved the colours and designs, which we will treasure. You're very welcome with regard to the chocolate - Revels are my (Gary's) particular favourite, though I also (Gary) love Rolo's straight from the fridge!! Sorry we missed you, but we hope to see you all, and soon. Have a lovely weekend and be good for Mummy and Daddy (not too much chocolate now!). Gary and Lizzie PS Don't forget the homework!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
GUILDFORD
5

Amazing place - oasis in town centre

  • 5 of 5

In a narrow alley behind a green door is a haven of tranquillity planted with Japanese Maple, the air scented with Trachelospermum jasminoides, the ground carpeted in pebbles. Here we found our new medieval home, our hosts greeted us warmly, suggested a good private parking spot for our bikes, and showered us with invaluable information about the locality. A really useful selection of basic food and drink was already in the kitchen. Well presented, it's clean and very well equipped. Excellent WiFi. Despite the hot weather this ancient house is cool and comfortable.

It's a five star property, which is not perfect in some respects; a worn carpet and a noisy upstairs WC plus tiny hand rinse basin. The car parking is in a public square nearby. Master bedroom has a huge and comfortable double bed. The simply furnished twin room is quite small. Downstairs is a kitchen/diner with washing machine, as well as a good shower room with WC, basin and ample hot water. The middle floor is a comfortable lounge. I found the garden with two enclosed courtyards the most surprising element; heated pool, three piece suite, dining table, washing line, barbecue, not overlooked and incredibly peaceful. By day squadrons of swifts and swallows keep the insect population at bay and at dusk the bats patrol the night skies. All this at a place right in the heart of the charming medieval town with loads to see, do & drink. Everyone should go kayaking, walking can be spectacular, the tree top adventure route looked impressive & new. All these activities can be done within walking distance. We ate out every evening, the cooker went unused since restaurants were plentiful. We loved our stay and will always fondly remember this place, hankering to return.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Travel:

Airports: Toulouse/Carcassonne/Rodez/Bergerac/Bordeaux/Limoges

Nearest Train Station: Caussade 15 Kilometres

Nearest Motorway: A 20 Caussade 15 Kilometres

Car: recommended

Further Details:

The ancient midi-Quercy region is a mosaic of natural topographies. It is a land of stone, water, gorges, valleys, lakes, river plains and forests, bathed in sunlight and full of colour at all times of the year. Vineyards and orchards colour the countryside, and in the markets the air is filled with the smell of apples, plums, peaches and melons. There are many farms and vineyards to visit where visitors can sample local food and wine produce. Activities nearby include swimming, canoeing, kayaking, walking, golf, fishing, caving, rock-climbing and riding - as well as museums and places of historical and cultural interest to visit. Standing-stones, dolmens and rock caverns all attest to human occupation since Paleolithic times. Medieval churches, temples, castles, walled towns, chapels, abbeys and perched cliff side villages wait to be discovered. An in-depth on line guide covering all aspects of the area within a reasonable day's excursion is available on request.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $244.2

Booking Notes:
Please ask for a copy of our booking conditions

Changeover Day:
Saturday changeover

Notes on prices:
There is a supplementary charge of 50 pounds per week for parties of six in July and August. Prices include gas, electricity, pool heating, tea, coffee, spices and many other provisions. Shower mats, hand towels, personal towel sets, bed linen and cleaning before and after your stay are also included. No hidden extras are to be found in our prices.

The house is available for long term lets from October until April, prices from £550 to £800 per month.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund