Charming and spacious Mallorcan House with pool, all set in beautiful landscaped gardens, large terrace areas including bar area and barbecue. Sun loungers for those hot and glorious days and covered veranda for when the shade is needed. The house is light and airy with comfortable furnishings throughout. It consists of 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. A well equipped farmhouse kitchen with dining area and spacious living room with an inglenook fire place. Central heating throughout. The house is situated in a quiet area in the heart of Andratx and is walking distance of the restaurants, supermarket, bars and cafes. Just 5km from the Port of Andratx and marina. This property was fully renovated. (March 2014)
House in Andratx, South West Mallorca, Balearic Islands - Peaceful Location In Andratx
- english, french, spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- Dec 14, 2018
About Heather Liddell
Born in Mallorca and educated in the UK, I have spent most of my life here on the Island or Mainland Spain. Up until 2014, I lived in Port Andratx. I now live in the village of Andratx where upon i have this beautiful house on the edge of Andratx old town, and like it more as i am 1 minute walk to the centre of the village but rural, which makes this house feel like you are in the country. The garden is enclosed so security is high and also good for small kids. I prefer Andratx village as it is a working town and more authentic, than the port. More inexpensive, but only 5 minutes away from the Port.
Heather Liddell purchased this House in 2014
Why Heather Liddell chose Andratx
I fell in love with this property because of it's situation with relation to the village, walking distance to everything, but you feel as if you are in the country, with sheep bells in the distance, donkey across the valley, chickens, cockerels, cats, dogs, and the local working people around. With open space to enjoy the view, down the valley or up to the hills, it is a magical place, especially when the garden is flood light at night, and the pool lights are on.. Also the walled garden, so private. From the bedrooms upstairs you can see the Port of Andratx and the sea. The house is well built, with terraces off each but one bedroom. the house had everything that i wished for. It is a large family house, with a gorgeous outside area for everyone, to enjoy, chill or chat around the bar, wonderful entertaining space, with a tropical garden with mature fruit trees, it is like a secret garden, with the garage at the far end makes it easy when going shopping and bringing in the shopping from the car to the kitchen, all on the same level. This is a beautiful house in summer and winter, adapting perfectly to the seasons, with protected cosy corners for sitting out in the garden in autumn, winter and spring, with the charm of 2 fire places and central heating the house is cosy warm with plenty of atmosphere on those windy cooler days. In summer the house is cool always with a breeze as the house sits high. With large trees to form natural shade in summer the garden can be enjoyed all day, with the porch for summer dining. There is plenty of sun beds to take the sun on the terraces or on the astro turf. 2 minutes walk there is an olympic swimming pool and large gym. 1 minute walk there is a children's play park. The house is very close to the village centre with bars, cafe's, restaurants, and the village square where there are many activities in summer in the evening.
What makes this House unique
This beautiful House is located on the edge of Andratx. It is conveniently close to local restaurants, bars and cafes. Wednesday morning is market day in Andratx, when the streets fill with stalls selling local produce from local fresh fruit, veg and cheeses, typical Mallorcan products, crafts, flowers, clothes, footwear, leather and gifts. The Centro Cultural Centre in Andratx is dedicated to the creation and exhibition of contemporary art. The Santa Catarina winery is located in one of the most beautiful valleys of the Sierra de Tramuntana where wines have been cultivated, for many years. In 1985 the winery was founded behind Andratx village, and wine production was brought back to the valley. The Municipal Centres offer an indoor and gym, 3 minutes from the house. The other a large outdoor pool with tennis courts, and a bar.
Pool / Spa
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Fabulous beautiful villa
Arrived at this beautiful villa in a fabulous setting. Warm welcome from Heather who is a wonderful host and always on hand with help and suggestions, welcome pack was greatfully received after our early morning arrival. The villa was well equipt with everything you could think of. The kitchen dining area was very spacious with its beautiful rustic design. Lounge lovely area very cosy. Lovely different outside areas for eating and chilling round the pool, garden under the veranda and at the bar with a music centre. The bedrooms were light and airy leading out to the terraces with wonderful views the beds were lovely and comfortable with plenty of bedding and towels. Overall this is an excellent villa spotlessly clean in a beautiful Spanish town and would not hesitate to go back..
Suzanne and friends
Such a delightful group of friends who wanted a good holiday. Lovely people, respectfull, very clean, fun, helpful, a pleasure to have them to stay, hope that they will come back soon.
Great location and a wonderful garden
We stayed with friends and enjoyed our stay very much. Heather was a wonderful host leaving us in peace but quick to answer when we had questions. She provided a vast amount of information where to go and what to see. We enjoyed the walking distance to shops and bars and at the same time being in a wonderful and quiet hideaway. It was a truly pleasurable stay!
Kirstin and her family and friends were perfect guests, it was a pleasure to have them to stay, and i am so glad that they enjoyed their holiday, the house and garden, the proximity for all necessary amenities, but at the same time in a quiet rural surrounding. I hope to see them back soon.
Not what we expected
Not at all what we expected! The property is marketed incorrectly with photoshopped pictures and incorrect information. The pictures show a light rustic villa with large rooms and a large garden with swimmingpool. The information about the house says it has been fully renovated in 2014. The reality was a really dark house full of personal belongings and pictures and clutter. The garage only fits one car due to all the old clutter stuffed along the walls. Upon arrival we were given a list of ’House rules’ wich were not stated anywhere in advance.
The garden is small and covered by plastic (!) grass. The so called swimming pool is not a swimming pool since you cannot swim in it due to the minimal size. It’s more of a large jacuzzi/bath. The water was not clean since grit from the tiling was coming off from the swimming pool walls.
The bathrooms had old taps, maybe 10-15 years old judging on appearance. Same goes for the toilet seats wich in some bathrooms had cracks. One bathroom had mold in the shower.
There are only 3 AC units in the entire house, of wich only two worked properly. None in the bedrooms. This was not stated on the Swedish Homeaway site through wich we booked. Homeaway offered a refund of only (!) 1% of the total value that we paid, wich is really rediculous. Given the heat during the summer months, you cannot utilize the entire upper most floor due to the lack of AC.
The house owner was really unprofessional when we brought our complaints to her and did not even know how to contact Homeaway and how to cancel the booking. We ended up spending one whole day calling Homeaway and being transferred from one person to another.
The final straw was the morning we woke up with a RAT swimming in the pool!! The owner could not get a hold of the pool guy.
The overall cleanliness of the house was poor and when complaining about the dirty terrace, the owner replied that usually the guests clean the terrace themselves... We had a cocroach in the bed.
The location of the house is not nice with rundown buildings with barbed wire as your neighbour...
When we left the owner started screaming that we were rude and ungrateful. A really horrible experience and we cannot recommend this house OR Homeaway to anyone!! Truly unbeliavable...
These clients were unacceptable in every way. They did not contact me when they had a complaint or problem. I found out on the 6th of July from HomeAway. They entered on the 30th June. The house was fine then. They saw that there was no air con upstairs, and how big the pool was and they accepted everything. My advert is explanatory, the photos are to photo shopped. The house was restored in 2014, the kitchen was not there where it is now, it is all new made to look old, my style. They are opportunists to re coup money, on a rental. It took them 6 days to complain. They wanted compensation. I paid them in cash the outstanding 4 nights, i bent over backwards for these people, the wife texting me until midnight on the 5th, i managed to get the cleaners in the next morning. The almond rat, (they live in the almond trees, they are more like a field mouse, i am rural, i have almond trees all around). I emptied the pool with the builders help, the pool man came later. I bent over backwards for these people. All i got was rudeness from the wife, taking pictures of my house 5 minutes before leaving. They took the garden furniture, deck chairs to the beach, unacceptable and they admitted it when i accused them of doing so, having show them beach stuff in the garage which they could use. Very unpleasant experience, i felt harassed even when they had left, as they had left things in the house, when i found them i sent them back immediately. I felt violated by these people, rude, bad mannered and i would not recommend them to rent any house. They want a 15000€ house but can't afford it. My description of the house is correct. In 4 years i have only had charming, grateful, lovely families, who have enjoyed the house, respected it, and had a wonderful holiday, i have many loving reports, against one horrid one. People like this should look carefully before booking, my pictures do not show air con in the bedrooms, it says clearly that there are fans in all bedrooms. 3 air cons on the ground floor which all work properly. We had dirty brown rain when they were there, it leaves a fine dust on the terraces, that is an act of god, there is a hose to spray the terraces with. I try and leave my guests unless there is a problem, to enjoy, i do not want to disturb by entering to clean the terraces. I will if asked. I have had 4 cockroaches in 4 years, they have wings, brown not black, harmless. .
They were disrespectful, unpleasant, unacceptable guests.
Nice, cozy place at a great location
The house we rented for a week in August was really nice and cozy with good spaces for all people. The outside social areas we used a lot for all the meals.
The location in the city of Andratx is perfect since it is very easy to go to all the places, close to supermarkets.
I would warmly recommend the place for a family or friends to go for a great vacation.
Camp de mar beach is 200 meter long and is well protected against strong winds and waves in a beautiful bay.
The sand is fine grained and the water clear. Beach services include sunbeds, umbrellas, showers and toilets.
Sant Elm beach consists of two beaches. The larger one has fine grained sand, many sun loungers and a playground. The smaller beach has part sand and part gravel. There is a few sun loungers but this part of the beach is the quiet one. The water is very clear.
Palma Airport : 40 minutes drive
Palma : 35 minutes drive
St Elm Beach : 15 minutes drive
Camp de Mar Beach: 15 minutes drive
Port Andratx : 5km
San Telm : 6km
Mercadona Supermarket was opened at Easter (2014) and is walking distance from the house.
Banks, Medical Centre, Pharmacist etc, all within walking distance.
Additional information about rental rates
Booking Notes: Please e mail and the booking form and contract will be sent to renter to fill in and send back at the time of booking. All prices are per week in euros, and for the whole property. The minimal rental period is one week. The price includes a " Meet & Greet" . Additional cleaning service can be arranged with prior notice, however this is chargeable. A "Non Refundable Deposit" of 25% is required at the time of booking and the final balance is to be paid 40 days prior to arrival. A Security Deposit/Breakages of €1000 refundable once the property has been checked. This is kept by the Booking company, and given back when the house has been checked. The owner or manageress will ask for a euro tax at the end of your stay which is 2€ per person per day for the length of your stay. Children under the age of 16 do not pay. This tax can change at any time, you will be advised if it does. If 2 or up to 4 people would like to rent the house for a week from November to March there is a reduced nightly rate. Changeover Day: Change over day is flexible . Arrival time for incoming guests is 4.00 pm Departure time for outgoing guests is 10.00 am. Notes on prices: We can also offer winter, Christmas & New Year prices. Bookings for 2019 available