Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Apartments In Swanage With Stunning Sea & Coastal Views, Dorset, England - Apartment Ballard

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Description

Apartment Ballard

Modern Spacious Open Plan Living With High Vaulted Ceiling. Stunning Sea Views,Well equipped Kitchen Including Dishwasher, Fridge-Freezer, Electric Fan Oven & Hob, Iron & Ironing Board

Gas Central Heating Freeview T.V., D.V.D. Player & Free Wi-Fi.

Travel cot & High chair available on request.


About the property

E14350

Sleeps up to 4. 1 bedroom first floor apartment with 2 large single sofa beds located in the lounge area in former Victorian hotel. Contemporary fresh style open plan living accommodation with free Wi-Fi & central heating, maintained to an excellent standard. Apartments "Ballard" & "Peveril" are situated adjacent to each other & would be ideal for two couples or small families holidaying together. Situated in a popular area with stunning views of Swanage Bay, Ballard Down, "Old Harry Rocks", Bournemouth & Isle of Wight. These apartments are in the perfect location to explore this delightful town & picturesque surrounding Jurassic coastline. Ideally situated close to safe sandy beaches, south west coastal path, Victorian Pier & Swanage Steam Railway. Corfe Castle, Studland beach, Poole Harbour, Brownsea Island, Durdle Door & Lulworth Cove are only a short drive away. For a unique day out take the "Purbeck Breezer" open top double-decker bus to Bournemouth, via the "Bramble Bush" chain ferry..

NOTES ON ACCOMMODATION:

Duvets, mattress protectors, pillows & bathmats are provided. PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN BED LINEN & TOWELS. We offer a "quality" linen service which includes all bedding & towels at a cost of £15 per person per week or part thereof (Bring Your Own Beach Towels). This can be arranged at the time of your booking or no later than two weeks prior to your stay... Unallocated,unrestricted parking is available at the front of the building this operates on a first come first served basis.There is also a pay & display car park 100 mtrs away. Swanage town council offer a weekly permit (approximate cost £33) which can be purchased upon your arrival at the ticket machine by debit or credit card, & is transferable to all their long stay car parks in the town. (we strongly recommend this option in peak season). Unrestricted, on street parking is 300 metres away... Apartments are cleaned to a very high standard on change over days.

Full gas central heating.

Sorry No Pets Allowed...No Smoking...Free Wi-Fi

More Details

Owner
Philip Wood
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Philip Wood

I first came to Swanage as a young child with my parents in the "60s" & have many happy memories of family holidays spent here.

After leaving school in my late teens I decided to live here permanently...

While Swanage has seen a few changes over the years it has retained its traditional "seasde" charm & character that I remember as a child ...

While Swanage has seen a few changes over the years it has retained its traditional "seasde" charm & character that i remember as a child.

Philip Wood purchased this apartment in 1982

Why Philip Wood chose Purbeck

A few years ago I converted part of a prominent seafront Victorian building into two appartments

What makes this apartment unique

While Swanage has seen a few changes over the years it has retained its traditional "seasde" charm & character that i remember as a child

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi

Many thanks for the lovely champagne at your wonderful apartment. We had a splendid time in Dorset and I was truly overjoyed when I entered the flat, my boys were jumping for joy too.

If you would like me to write a review for ownersdirect then please send me the link...although a part of me wants to keep this place quiet!! If we visit Swanage again I know we're we'll stay.

Thanks again & have a very happy New Year..

...................................................................................................................



Sorry, meant to email you as soon as we got home but been a crazy week. Just to say a huge thank you, the apartment is brilliant, you have thought of everything, we wanted for nothing. We could not have enjoyed our stay more. Would love to return, will have to keep our eyes on the availability!

Again, many thanks, we cannot recommend it highly enough (don't want to though as we want it for ourselves)
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Bournemouth
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Poole
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Wareham
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
M27
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Many
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Swanage
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Swanage hosts a variety of film, art, walking & music (folk, blues, jazz) festivals throughout the year.

A popular carnival/reggatta week takes place in the summer & features stunning firework displays over Swanage Bay.

Coast/Beach:

Award winning safe sandy beaches just moments away.

Studland peninsula is a 10 minute drive away, featuring National Trust beaches & "Old Harry Rocks"

Travel:

The nearest airport is Bournemouth - about 30 miles away. Nearest mainline railway station is Wareham, 10 miles from Swanage.

Distances:

The South West coastal path has been voted Britian's best walking route by the readers of "Walk" magazine & is right on the doorstep!

Corfe Castle is 5 miles away, featuring the Castle ruins (for a special day out take the steam train from Swanage)!!

Lulworth Cove & Durdle Door is 15 miles.

Weymouth & Portland (2012 Olympic Sailing Venue) is 25 miles.

Saxon walled town of Wareham is 10 miles.

Further Details:

The Isle of Purbeck is full of great places to explore and visit and is well known for its wildlife, including rare birds and sea life with dolphins regularly being spotted along the coastline from Studland to Lulworth Cove. The Isle of Purbeck is also famous for its great beaches, especially Studland, with its miles of golden sand and clear blue waters and Swanage with its safe sandy beach and wonderful Victorian Pier.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Booking Notes
25% non refundable deposit required to secure a booking. Remaining balance due 6 weeks before holiday start date. We accept payments by bank transfer or personal cheque. Please do not hesitate to phone or email us to discuss any booking questions you may have.

SHORT BREAKS CONSIDERED AFTER END OF SEPTEMBER (MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS), SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY

PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT US TO DISCUSS ANY REQUIREMENTS IN LOW SEASON, FOR EXAMPLE 4 OR 5 NIGHT STAYS OR FOR ANY BOOKING INFORMATION.

For availability from 27th October 2017 & beyond please contact us & we will be happy to advise.

Notes on accommodation:

Duvets, mattress protectors, pillows & bathmats are provided. PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN BED LINEN & TOWELS. We offer a "quality" linen service which includes all bedding & towels at a cost of £15 per person per week or part thereof (Bring Your Own Beach Towels). This can be arranged at the time of your booking or no later than two weeks prior to your stay... Unallocated,unrestricted parking is available at the front of the building this operates on a first come first served basis.There is also a pay & display car park 100 mtrs away. Swanage town council offer a weekly permit which can be purchased in advance, & is transferable to all their long stay car parks in the town. Further details can be found on the Swanage town council website (we strongly recommend this option in peak season). Unrestricted, on street parking is 300 metres away... Apartments are cleaned to a very high standard on change over days.
Full gas central heating.
Sorry No Pets Allowed...No Smoking...Free Wi-Fi


Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday during busy periods. Arrival time no earlier than 3pm. Depart by 10am.

Notes on prices:
Prices Include: Gas, Water, Electricity & Wi-Fi


Amenities

Swanage Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Duvets, mattress protectors, pillows & bathmats are provided. PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN BED LINEN & TOWELS. We offer a "quality" linen service which includes all bedding & towels at a cost of £20 per person per week or part thereof (Bring Your Own Beach Towels). This can be arranged at the time of your booking or no later than two weeks prior to your stay... Unallocated,unrestricted parking is available at the front of the building this operates on a first come first served basis.There is also a pay & display car park 100 mtrs away. Swanage town council offer a weekly permit which can be purchased in advance, & is transferable to all their long stay car parks in the town. Further details can be found on the Swanage town council website (we strongly recommend this option in peak season). Unrestricted, on street parking is 300 metres away... Apartments are cleaned to a very high standard on change over days. Full gas central heating. Sorry No Pets Allowed...No Smoking...Free Wi-Fi

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
20% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Apartment Ballard
average rating of 4.742857 based on 36 reviews
5

Lovely apartment, great views.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is lovely. Bright, airy, very clean and has wonderful views of the Pier and coastline. Very close to all of the amenities, we managed to park outside the apartment a few times and when we couldn't found roadside parking. Would consider staying again in future.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ballard Apartment, Swanage

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic apartment with everything you would need for a nice stay. Views from all windows were great but especially the kitchen, lounge and bedroom as they looked over the bay and surrounding areas. Extremely convenient for all the shops, bars and local restaurants. I was very lucky during my week to have good weather, but even if I hadn't feel this apartment and it's location would have given me plenty to view, and comfort with its internal fittings.

On arrival was a bit taken aback regarding the amount of stairs to transport belonging up, but took time and once in was delighted. (I am an asthmatic). The only draw back was on my Saturday arrival the club on the west wing was open and at 2.30am got woken with noise of revellers, and again on the Wednesday/Thurs morning, but soon cleared and got back to sleep.

These two points aside did not in anyway spoil my holiday and would return again should I visit Swanage.

Thanks to Phil Wood for a smashing holiday destination and accommodation.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Fabulous views

  • 4 of 5

Lovely open sitting/eating area. Well equipped.

Bathroom a bit dark with no shaving point. Bed a bit narrow.

The views made up for any negatives!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful, relaxing and a superb location

  • 5 of 5

Wow! What an amazing apartment. The views are even better than the photos, and it was such a beautifully appointed place. Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful base for our Swanage holiday.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location but noisey

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was very clean, spacious and well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Parking outside impossible so we got the £33 weekly permit which was fine.

We chose the right week and enjoyed the views across the sea. Plenty to do and see in and around Swanage.

Our only concern which we were not aware of was a night club next door, Bar 7! The apartment is not double glazed so you do here a lot of noise from the surrounding buildings which is fine during the day when you are out. Our first night which was Saturday the Bar 7 opened at 11.00pm and while the boom boom was bearable,the noise after it had closed around 2am was not. Drunk clobbers congregated by the waters edge right outside the apartments and lingered until 4am which resulted in us not having much sleep. During the week the club was closed but due to open of the Friday. That being the case we returned home on the Friday evening and avoided the crowds on the Saturday morning drive home.

If Bar 7 opens daily during the peak season then I feel sorry for the residents and holiday makers staying in the apartments.

Having said all that if you are not fussy about a bit of noise at night then this place is great and an ideal spot.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your positive feedback on the quality of accommodation and glad you enjoyed your stay. I’m sorry to hear you were impacted by noise one night during your stay. I think sadly you experienced the mixed joys of unseasonably hot weather—windows open due to the heat that week in June, and people out and about far later into the night than usual. I’m also sorry you cut short your stay in anticipation of night club noise on a Friday. The night club is open only one night a week (Saturday, 11:00-2:00) and does not open nightly at any point throughout the year. In the 5 years I’ve rented out these holiday apartments, this is the first time this has been reported. Apologies again and I do hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back to Swanage again. kind regards, Phil
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Very nice resortnice and flat for disabled people

  • 4 of 5

Well furnished apartment very clean and lovely views across the bays

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

You might like these similar properties