Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

45% August cancell'n ill health 5* Hotub/sea/Forest/pubs/Village/sailing/tenni

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Peaceful Retreat with excellent access to amenities and motorways.Nr Chichester/Portsmouth

'Harbourways' is a unique, bright, spacious, newly renovated architect designed house. Set in the heart of the sort after village of Emsworth and adjacent to the beautiful mill pond. Excellent transport networks: bus and trains 2 and 5 minutes walk respectively. 0.5 km from the beach and an exceptionally well equipped village containing: restaurants (from good value eateries, kebab, pizza, Italian, Indian, Chinese, fish and chips, through to Michelin Star), cafes, butchers, 8 pubs, banks, hairdressers, charity shops, gift shops, delicatessen, large co-op with post office, Tesco, cobblers, chemists, antique shops, book shops, dry cleaners, ironmonger, museum, bicycle shop, doctor's surgery and more.

House always ready. 48 ft long lounge opens via v-fold doors onto a large south facing garden with large private hot tub house, BBQ, climbing frame, covered play area and more. Spacious bespoke ash and quartz kitchen open out to a large garden via 15ft oak french doors. American style fridge freezer with drink/ ice maker, all mod cons including built-in convection, microwave, steam ovens lots of spare cooking utensils, cutlery, glasses and table ware. Additional items include: ice cream maker, slow cooker, pasta machine, toaster, fondue, chocolate fondue, pop-corn machine, food warmers and ice buckets

Fresh ground coffee always available.

Everything new (including the beds and bedding) or antique. New thick pile carpets.

The open plan nature of the house and excellent access throughout the entire ground floor lends itself to family gatherings who can sit, talk and relax together whilst also providing lots of space and accessibility for young children.

Music area containing piano, guitar and more.

Log fire. Newly installed gas central heating throughout, powerful Bosch boiler to ensure constant hot water! Plenty of new spare duvets and blankets. New double glazing throughout. Bathrooms can also be en-suite.

Safe garden, peaceful location. Extremely popular for dog walking and children with the foreshore at the bottom of the road! Great area for running.

We are keen to make the house accessible, please let us know if you have additional requirements. Ramps and other assistance available. A complete guide to the house provided at any stage of the booking process - please feel free to contact the owner for further information or clarification.

Generally a Min 3 nights for weekend (£32/ppn) unless last minute and we have availability, which is are - can then leave anytime Sunday or Monday. Known to be incredible value for the hot tub and location.

More Details

Property Manager
Martine Walling
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, german, italian
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2017

About Martine Walling

Harbourways

What makes this house unique

The house is in an enviable position, equidistant between the shore and village giving the best of relaxation and convenience on every level. Reviews reflect that Harbourways is unique in its ability to cater for families 0-100 years old!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Fabulous big house for a family get together. Five Star rating throughout. Hot tub an added bonus. Great location for South coast. Lovely big lounge with huge TV. Definitely recommend. 'Great small hotels review'

June 2
May 2017
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Emsworth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • New travertine family bathroom/wet room upstairs with bath and shower - can also be en-suite to main bedroom. New large wet room downstairs also has access to ground-floor bedroom with wheelchair access from the general living space, non-slip slate floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Flexible sleeping arrangements Notes on bedrooms: 4 large bedrooms. Upstairs; 30ft family bedroom with a Kingsize bed and sofa bed, a 20ft triple room with adult bunk beds and a single and a 3rd bedroom with extra king size bed. Large double downstairs with on-suite.Hair-dryers, storage, chairs and lamps etc.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: State of the art ovens and hob including steam oven and built in microwave. Large American Style Fridge Freezer. Full instruction pack provided. Full TV package. Fast fibre-optic broadband. New top of the range boiler for constant heating and hot water, modern floor to ceiling radiators. Children's equipment available. Brand new BBQ. Some pets allowed, but please contact owner in advance. Secure parking. Large safe front and back gardens - lush south facing rear garden. Outside: V-fold doors from 48ft lounge open completely back to expose a large south facing garden with large private Jacuzzi, BBQ, climbing frame, covered play area and more. 15ft hand-made oak doors also open directly out from the kitchen to the rear garden. Utility Room: Utility built into very large kitchen contains washer/dryer, ironing board etc. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Fresh white linen and towels provided throughout. Tea towels, oven gloves, dish clothes, washing up liquid and dishwasher tables etc provided. The property is cleaned and hot tub serviced for each stay. Other: The size of the lounge cannot be underestimated for ease of access - we like to go out of our way to help families with additional needs.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
45% August cancell'n ill health 5* Hotub/sea/Forest/pubs/Village/sailing/tenni
average rating of 4.769231 based on 25 reviews
4

Great location for our needs

  • 4 of 5

The house fitted our needs to accommodate a group of people who were attending Goodwood FOS. We loved the outdoor table setting for eating on the warm summer nights we had.

Please note that Emsworth Village itself does not accommodate anyone to eat on a Sunday night after 7pm. This was very frustrating for a group of tired people who didn't fancy cooking.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Accommodation was adequate for our party of eleven. The location was excellent.

  • 4 of 5

There were plenty of varied activities for everyone: The museum at Portsmouth was popular; the Southdowns National Park was excellent; children liked crabbing in the harbour etc. Local amenities were within easy walking distance and we made use of the Indian restaurant and the fish and chip shop as well as the supermarkets. (Cooking facilities in the house were not brilliant for so many people and a coffee machine would have been nice.)

Maintenance on the house and garden seemed a bit neglected and the grass hadn't been cut for some time. Also the barbecue was dirty from the last visitors so we didn't use it. The bunk beds were only suitable for small children so we had to make use of a sofa bed in the sitting room for one of the bigger children.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed some of the great activities on your doorstep and thought the position of the house was excellent. You are right, we hadn't been able to cut the grass due to the typical Easter rains, but I'm glad to say the gardeners are back to their weekly visits! Thank you for pointing out there was a drip in the downstairs bathroom so that we could rectify it. The contract does mention the BBQ needs to be left clean so I'm sorry you were let down by previous visitors. We always strive to improve, so we have now provided an obvious kit for this purpose and it has been added to the maintenance checklist. The bunks do have full-size single mattresses as I have just replaced two of them but I'm glad you were able to use one of the two sofa beds not listed in the headcount. The one thing I was surprised to hear was that you were not happy with the cooking facilities as there is a full size built-in steam oven and a built in combination oven with grill, convention and microwave as well as a large hob and lots of additional means of cooking such as slow cooker, portable induction hobs, steamers, professional food warmers and chocolate fountain to name a few. I have taken your comments on board and will make these more obvious within the kitchen. With regards to a coffee machine, the cafetiere is in the kitchen by the kettle. I will be looking into providing an additional coffee machine as well. Thank you so much for your feedback, it really does allow me to keep on improving our lovely property!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great spacious rental close to all amenties

  • 5 of 5

We can see from the guest book that we are one of the many returners to this great find! With most rentals you expect a bit of tiredness after a couple of years but not this one - very new bar stools, new dinning chairs galore and fresh new bedding for a start! Martine's communication was fantastic from start to finish, instructions were very detailed and clear. Emsworth has to be one of the dream holiday locations in the UK, especially being so close to Portsmouth and Chichester, where can you find the shore and all amenties within easy walking distance, literally on your door step.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely to host you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home in a great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, and the hot tub was a treat. Martine was always responsive and the instructions given were detailed and clear. Emsworth is also a surprise find - so close to London yet not on many people's radar.

Can definitely recommend - we hope to return soon!

Liam

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Even better than we expected!

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfect for a relaxed group get away. Plenty of space for everyone to relax in, well stocked kitchen equipment & everything you need for a chilled break. Ideal location & Martine is a friendly, helpful host. Highly recommend 😊

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic house that caters for little ones

  • 5 of 5

This house ticked all the boxes for a friends get together. We had 4 couples and and 3 children aged 3 and under and there was more than enough space for all of us!

The home was clean and tidy on our arrival and the facilities were amazing. We couldn't believe how well it catered for children from high chairs and travel cot to plastic plates and cutlery and a selection of toys, we need not have bought half our stuff with us!

The hot tub was gorgeous and relaxing for the adults.

Would highly recommend for group get togethers, our group is rapidly expanding but would still envisage us fitting in this house for a little while yet!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Southampton
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

Local contacts for:

SPA, beauty therapist

Alpaca walking,

Private catering.

Coast/Beach:

2 minutes walk to coast and shore - can be seen at the bottom of the road. Hayling island beach with fun fair (5 miles), West Wittering (16 miles).

Travel:

Southampton Airport 40km

Portsmouth Ferry port 16km

Emsworth Train station 1km

Car not required but useful for travelling further

75 minutes from London. Very good railway links to the property but also for day trips to popular culture, leisure and shopping including Chichester (8 miles) and Gunwharf Portsmouth (8 miles), a large picturesque shopping outlet by the sea where many restaurants including Jamie Oliver can be found.

Access by Public Transport

Public Bus Service

Distances:

Village and beach 0.5km.

Further Details:

Luxury space for family gatherings.

Beach, forest, tennis. Alpaca walking, climbing, horse riding, cycling, windsurfing,

sailing, swimming, running and walking areas on the door step.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $19.3
Damage Deposit $450.33

Booking Notes:
Hot tub is refreshed for each guest so please advise if required during your stay.


Changeover Day:
Flexible but often Friday or Saturday. Arrival after 3pm and departure at 10am. Late check outs can sometimes be arranged but will incur a fee as the house cannot be let that night. Weekend rates are a minimum of £380 pn and a minimum of 3 nights.

Notes on prices:
Terms and Conditions-Prices. A non-refundable deposit of 33% is required at the time of booking. The balance is payable 8 weeks prior to first day of commencement of stay along with a precautionary security deposit of £300 - refundable no later than 14 days after the end of stay.Late check outs can sometimes be arranged - graduated fees.
Cancellation conditions:Up to 12 weeks before – no charge. 8-12 weeks – 75% of total booking. 4-8 weeks – 50% of total booking. Less than 4 weeks – no refund.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.