Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Coastguard Cottage With Sea Views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Fairlight, Nr. Hastings, Sussex, England - Cliff Top Location With Amazing Views

This victorian coast guard cottage sits high on top on the cliff in acres of country parkland. With spectacular views from every window ! A paradise for walkers, it also has the benefit of being 10 mins drive from Hastings Old Town with its famous fishing community, eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, beach and rail link to london and brighton. 15 mins in the other direction takes you to the beautiful clique port town of Rye and the white sand beach at Camber beyond.


Owner
Karen Harrison
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2017

About Karen Harrison

Our family bought the cottage four years ago,we love this area and we never tire of coming here. We all enjoy a shopping trip to Hastings especially my teenage daughter, as there are great vintage shops and a bargain can still be found!!! Fish and chips at 'Maggies' in an old fishermans hut is a must. (definitely the best we've ever tasted) . Rye is also a favourite this time with my younger son, as it has two old fashioned sweet shops to choose from, and an amazing church tower to climb. But for views you can't beat the cottage and I often find my self staring out of windows entranced..... On a clear night you can see the lights of France twinkling across the sea. Last but not least, 'Stanley'our dog is in heaven chasing rabbits along the cliff top, and the birds across the beach.

Amenities

Fairlight Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • First floor bathroom, with bath and over bath shower, wc and washbasin. Bedroom 1 has a roll top bath with wonderful views. Downstairs wc and washbasin.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 carpeted with super king size bed ( can be turned into a twin if needed) Bedroom 2 carpeted with king size bed (can be turned into twin beds) Bedroom 3 carpeted with double bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes:
Outside: Private leafy garden, with views . barbecue, deckchairs, picnic table, pebble and lawned areas. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All Linen and towels are included. Maid service available on fridays if staying for more than 1 week. Other: Wooden conservatory/sun room with wicker sofa, chair and table, lovely summer breakfast room. Doors open onto the private garden.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Coastguard Cottage With Sea Views
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
5

Amazing cottage with stunning views!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is easy to find. Its location is unique! Clifftop views from the French coast line over to Beachy Head. The master bedroom under the roof is great, as the sun wakes you up and the sunset lets you start dreaming. Inside you will find cozy rooms, exactly like you see on the pictures. We spend a relaxing week there and were blessed with sunny days and a cool breeze. One car can be parked in front of the cottage. The garden is beautifully located westwards and hosts a bench-table for 4. The welcome-gift was appreciated after a long journey. The wide land across the cliffs is just a step outside the cottage, where you can walk the unleashed dog.

It's truly a secret gem. We would like to come back asap, as we liked it so much! Thanks a lot for your hospitality, Karen!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Cosy Comfy Cottage with amazing views nt

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the cottage for just four nights this July with our friends, another couple. It was comfy, clean and tidy with freshly made comfy beds.

The tearooms up the lane from the cottage serves good abd well priced food. Please note to date this business is for sale.

The views from the windows upstairs of the cottage were lovely and far reaching on clear weather days.

As I requested 2 pints sof fresh milk was left for us in the fridge. Also thoughtful extras of a small loaf and small pots of jam.

The main snag was despite this cottage being listed as " suitable for the elderly or infirm " it wasn't. Both baths were overly deep and getting in and out was positively dangerous. The main bathroom with shower over bath it's ventilation was poor. There are badly cracked floor tiles just as you enter this main bathroom. There was a suction handle provided but the area to enter and exit the bath was narrow due the the toilet being right beside it. Plus the shower door only opened out or in a small amount.

Have messaged the owner Karen that we liked the cottage but due to the issues with both baths and to take a shower being risky we wouldn't book again.

That is unless a walk in shower was put in place and instead of the cramped shower over bath arrangement.

Our party was made up of four physically fit adults aged 52 to 62 but we all struggled with getting in and out of both baths.

So sadly our rating of four stars instead of five was down to the bath and shower issues.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou so much for the 4 star rating, considering that you had so much trouble with the bathrooms. I'm so sorry. The week before your arrival we had the bathroom fan replaced as it was not working. I can only presume that the damp and mould on ceiling was left over from this. My housekeeper Sarah will be on the case. As for the cracked tile I had no idea it was sharp, we had it repaired (will look at it again , am so sorry) !! The shower over bath has never been a problem before .It is a standard size bath and if you are like me and prefer a bath to a shower it serves both options . Once again I can only apologise for everything. We love our cottage so much and try our best so that everyone feels the same way about it. But I guess sometimes it doesn't work out. 😔� Please let me know where it states that the cottage is suitable for the elderly and infirm as I did not know this to be a statement I had made.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great local

  • 5 of 5

Lovely walks

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Lovely Holiday

  • 5 of 5

The property was lovely and the views were just stunning. Cottage was cosy and ideal for a relaxing holiday with long walks and stunning views.

Thank you for making it such a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great walks and views

  • 4 of 5

Very nicely decorated cottage in a quiet location (little terrace of 4 coastguard cottages) by the cliff. Great views and walks from the house and a lovely cafe just up the road for a well earned breakfast! Pett Level beach definitely worth a visit - for fossil and dinosaur footprint hunting!

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

My family had the most wonderful time. The cottage was cosy, comfortable and had everything you needed. I would highly recommend a stay here. Lots to do for all ages around the area.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Coast/Beach:

30 min walk to local beach.

5 min drive to nearest pebble/sand beach at Pett Level

20 min drive to white sand beach at Camber Sands

Travel:

Car recommended. drive from London about 2 hours. from Dover (50 miles) 1 hour 15 minutes, or from the Eurostar at Ashford, (40 miles,) 1 hour 10 mins.

Train from london 1 hour 30 min to Hastings or Ore. taxi from hastings to the cottage takes about 12 min.

Gatwick airport 1 hour 30 mins drive

Heathrow airport 2 hours 15 mins drive.

Distances:

Nearest shop for simple groceries 3/4 mile

Farm Shop 2 miles

Nearest supermarket 3 miles.

Hastings town 2 miles

Rye 9 miles

Battle 9 miles

London 1 hour 30 mins by train from hastings.

Brighton 1 hour by car.

Further Details:

The cottage has plenty of on the doorstep walking and is well located for day trips to many beaches, castles, historical places of interest as well as easy access to cities such as Brighton and London.

Further information available on request as-well as a detailed guide provided at the cottage.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
For bookings please email karen at , k.harrison612@btinternet.com. A deposit of
25% of the rental fee is payable when the booking is made. The balance is due 60 days before the start of the rental. Payment can be made made by cheque or bank transfer. The cottage is rented on a weekly basis from Friday to friday. Short breaks are also available min 3 nights.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Friday. Short breaks are three nights starting on Friday and ending on monday. Arrival time is 3pm . Departure time is 10am.

Please contact Karen for information about payment .

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.