Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Dar ix-Xemx farmhouse with panoramic views and private swimming pool

Bedrooms 3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

3 double bedrooms (1 in separate cottage), 4 bath/shower rooms, sleeps 6+

Set on a hillside with breath taking panoramic views across the valley to the coast, this beautiful Gozitan farmhouse provides a tranquil holiday location. Inside, furnishings in neutral colours perfectly complement the lovely original features. Whilst outside the large terrace, pool and barbecue area benefit from sea views providing the ideal place to sit back, relax and enjoy the vista before you.

Nadur is situated in an ideal location with Gozo's largest and most renowned beach only a 7 min drive away. If you are looking for somewhere more low key, the secluded San Blas beach is a 2 min drive down the road and is a hidden gem on the Gozitan coastline well worth exploring.

The centre of Nadur is a 10 min walk away where you will find banks, bars, restaurants and supermarkets, however, a local grocer and a bakery are just around the corner and provide all the basic essentials. In addition to this, the house is just a 5 min drive away from the ferry to mainland Malta.

Have a look at the house:

More Details

Zak Cachia
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017


Nadur Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sunbed
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Ensuite Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Ensuite Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Second Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Cottage Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • Beds can be pushed together to form a large double bed.
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
28% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Dar ix-Xemx farmhouse with panoramic views and private swimming pool
average rating of 4.285714 based on 14 reviews

Horrible place.

  • 1 of 5

Arrived at check in time of 4 and place was a mess. Owner said that it could be ready at 8. No screens on windows. Flys, dead bugs and dead cockroaches all over the place, including the beds. Garbage plied up in the kitchen. We refused to stay at all and owner and VRBO not responding and will not refund our money. Fasle advertising and scam. Do not even consider this dump.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Diane, Admittedly the house was not ready for your arrival and we had apologized as we had a slight mix up from our end and the house was not cleaned yet, this was definitely a mistake on our end, which has never happened before. However the maids had arrived very soon after your arrival to begin cleaning. We offered a refund for the first night due to the mix up and even offered more then one night if you did not feel like that was fair. However you simply demanded a full refund of the whole rent and threatened to give us a bad review if we did not accept, this blackmail was not acceptable. As regards to insects, the house is a 200yr old farmhouse situated in a valley, it is to be expected that there are bugs and creatures around and we cannot control nature. We hope that at least you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind Regards, Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Could be so much nicer !

  • 3 of 5

Just reading through the reviews and it seems there has been a cleanliness issue with this property before and a week after we left on 18/4/17 .

It could be a wonderful Farmhouse if it was cleaned properly and the garden maintained .

The location is lovely with beautiful views across and down the valley to San Blas .

We arrived on the 8/4/17 for our ten night stay . We were probably the first family using it this year as all the Window Shutters were closed and all the rooms had a musky smell to them .

There was a lot of dust where it did not look as though it had been cleaned properly , but new Bed Linen , so obviously someone had been there !

The worst thing though was several small pieces of broken glass , one that cut my little boys foot . I called the owner and next day three ladies turned up unannounced telling me they had cleaned the property and there couldnt have been any glass on the lounge floor by the television as theyd cleaned it !! They didnt like being told it hadnt been cleaned properly . I said they couldnt clean now as my wife was in the bath and could they come back later. They said they were too busy so we just put up with it

The sofa was very uncomfortable with a not very clean sheet thrown over it .

The Water Pressure for the Showers was not good , the same with the hot/ cold and two of head height shower holders had been snapped off so you had to hold the shower !.

Message to the owner .

You need to spend some money on furniture and fittings , get some new cleaners and open those Window Shutters to give it a good airing before your first guests of the year arrive .

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice environement, nice view, good house style

  • 4 of 5

The house is good looking with nice old style farm. The view and the surrounding is also very good. There is room for improvement on the inside house cleanliness ( dust not wiped out regulary), the garden was not very well maintained neither but it seems that the expectations in those areas seem to be a little bit different in Malta than what would be expected for similar houses in western Europe. The overall stay was nice and positive however.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We did not want to leave

  • 4 of 5

The old-world villa is unbelievably beautiful and charming. Amazing views from every window. Nadur is an extremely friendly village where we felt welcomed by all.

The master bedroom is the only bedroom in the main house. The other two rooms have their own entrances that are not accessible from the house. I would not recommend this home for families with young children.

The outside area is spectacular. We enjoyed the pool, lounge chairs and outside eating area very much.

The home was quite dusty, could've used a good vacuuming. Maybe we were the first renters of the season?

I would recommend this villa to anyone who wants to live like a local and relax.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

beautiful location

  • 4 of 5

we liked the charming place very very much. It is generous and

pleasant and it has a wonderful view. Only the matresses very

a little old.We enjoyed our stay very much! Thanks a lot!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

An Unforgettable Adventure at Dar ix-Xemx

  • 5 of 5

We had the most unforgettable weekend at Dar ix-Xemx when a few friends and I came to stay last March.

You feel an instant sense of calm as soon as you set foot into this little piece of heaven; the interior is wonderfully rustic, with a large, well-equipped kitchen and incredibly comfortable living and dining area. Sunlight streams in through the large windows in the kitchen and in the living room, filling the house with a warm, golden glow all day long.

The entire house was spotless when we arrived, and very well-maintained. One of the bedrooms is quirkily located on the outside of the house, so that it is accessible from stairs situated alongside the main part, leading up from the garden area. This is aptly named 'the Cottage', as we later found out from the Owner, and was my favourite room in the house after the kitchen.

The house is within walking distance from San Blas Bay where we had the most magical time on the first day of our stay.

At Dar ix-Xemx we got what we had been promised and more. I will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
36 Kilometres
Malta International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Pupu's Bar
Nearest Ferry
3 Kilometres
Mgarr Harbour
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Village Centre
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
San Blas beach
Car: recommended

Nadur is situated on the eastern part of The Gozitan Island, with just a 3 km distance to the ferry to mainland Malta. The Ferry is only a 25 min journey and runs on a shuttle basis for most months. Malta international airport is just 36 km away.

The closest sandy beaches are San Blas and Ramla being only a few kilometres away. Victoria, the capital of the island is also in very close proximity and offers an number of historical and leisurely attractions.

The Gozitan village of Nadur is the World's Carnival City 2005. The grotesque and macabre Carnival in Nadur is a unique experience and for the 5 days of Carnival it becomes one of Europe's biggest spontaneous events. Nadur is also well known for its village fiesta and Easter Holy Week Last Supper Exhibit.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax $0.59 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.
Tax Rate 7.0%

An optional Welcome pack comprising of the following is available on arrival : tea, coffee, milk, water,
bread and other such essentials.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties