check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Well Located Apartment Close to Royal Mile and City Centre Attractions

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Edinburgh Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment in Hillside, Edinburgh - Spacious and Bright Apartment, Excellent Local Area, Free parking, Close to Palace, Parliament

Conveniently located apartment in thriving Easter Road area of Edinburgh. The apartment is spacious and has everything you need for a fully self catered stay. Walking distance from both the historic Old Town and the city centre plus many restaurants, bars, theatre and cinema. There is the advantage of free on street parking immediately outside the apartment and easy access to all parts of the city. Local supermarkets, food outlets and specialist shops mean that everything is on hand local to the apartment. Only a short 10 min walk to the Royal Mile, Holyrood Park and Calton Hill viewpoint. Buses to all parts of the city including Royal Yacht Brittania and shore area.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

John Paul Mason
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016
Call Owner

About John Paul Mason


The apartment you will be letting was my home for 13 years. I am Edinburgh born and bred and have lived in the city for a total of 28 years. I now live in rural Perthshire where I make a living as a tour guide, musician and therapist. I have three properties in Edinburgh that I let.

John Paul Mason purchased this apartment in 1997

Why John Paul Mason chose Edinburgh & Lothians

This property sits in a terrific location within Edinburgh. The Easter Road area has it's own identity, is close to Calton Hill and Holyrood Park, is near the coast and very accessible for the city centre. Lots of great local shops and a good local feel.

What makes this apartment unique

There are great views from the property - you can sit in the bay window and just watch the world go by. Enjoy being walking distance from the park, Calton Hill, the city centre and the heart of the Old Town.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Well Located Apartment Close to Royal Mile and City Centre Attractions
average rating of 4.0 based on 11 reviews

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

Very good apartment close to town centre about 15mins walk also buses from near to property. The apartment was well equipped and spacious with comfortable beds and very clean and tidy

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the apartment and it's location in the city. Thanks for taking the time to review and hope we see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Princeton, KY

Great place to land!

  • 4 of 5

Apartment had everything we needed for our week stay in Edinburgh. Everything was nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable! Loved having breakfast at the dining table in the bay window and watching the world go by. Local grocery markets half block away on both sides were handy. Buses were just a half block away making travel to sights very easy. Loved being in an actual neighborhood and not a touristy area. Felt very comfortable walking the neighborhood in the evenings.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the apartment and the neighbourhood. We think it is an ideal location to experience Edinburgh and visit the sights. We hope to see you again and thank you for your review
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saudi Arabia

neighborhood vibe

  • 5 of 5

location: walking distance to some of the tourist sites and locate in a neighbourhood with cafes, grocery stores, pharmacy, and bakeries. It an be loud on the street below but is quiet by midnight on the weekends. I didn't hear any noise from the neighbors. Lastly, it was easy for taxi drivers to find.

property condition: clean and tidy. lots of towels and bedding. all of the appliances worked. all power outlets worked. floors aren't even so older folks be careful. TV and Internet worked all the time. hot water was there when we needed it. There are new windows installed and I didn't notice any leaks or drafts when closed.

Overall, I recommend the property . best wishes to the property owners for success!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the property and that it met all your needs. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The proximity to downtown was good, but the apartment needed some updating and had some issues.

  • 2 of 5

Booking the property was done easily, the owner was available to ask questions, and the person who met us to let us in was kind and helpful.Overall, the apartment was clean - but the shower curtain was covered in mold,even after I washed it. Most of the dining chairs were broken, with the seat actually falling off when my kids sat on it and all the screws fell to the floor. The TV reception was horrible. We were told just to make sure the cable connections were tight, which we did - still didn't work most of the time. Couldn't even get a decent news channel. The ad says there is a DVD player and video library - no DVD player and only 6 videos. The tiles in the kitchen floor were broken and sharp. The doorknobs were broken as well on many doors/ cupboards. Minimal hangers to hang clothes, and closets were jam packed - not much space to unpack stuff. The blind in the main bedroom would go down, but not up. It actually fell on my husbands head when he was manually rolling it up. There were no instructions for the appliances, so took me about 30 min to figure out the washer (not like North American ones, totally different settings). The hot water tank is also not like NA ones - so some instructions would have been helpful. The 3 other places we stayed in UK on this trip all had books with info on transportation, local amenities for food, etc, info on appliances - nothing here. This apartment was also very loud. The neighbourhood is rougher, but didn't have any problems other than noise

Overall, it was not as advertised. The dishes were clean, and kitchen stocked adequately. Furniture reasonably comfortable. But I was disappointed by the things written above. I did email the owner, but he never replied to my comments at all. Lastly - my daughter read the guest book and found a note about a rat in the apartment within the year - she was nervous the entire stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Unfortunately there is neither name nor date of arrival provided. While there are some valid points in your review there are a lot of innacurate and misleading points which need addressed. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the property, the ease of booking and communication. We are sorry the shower curtain was not to your satisfaction. We replace these on a regular basis. I would dispute your claim that most of the dining chairs were broken. To my knowledge there is one loose seat cover on one of the chairs which does need attention. Regarding TV reception, we have a very extensive channel list via Virgin media with a variety of news channels. It sounds like you were on the normal TV aeriel rather than via the Virgin media set box which would explain poor reception. The DVD player is part of the TV and is accessed via the TV remote control. We do not advertise that we have a video library; we do provide a small selection of films for your convenience. Several floor tiles in the kitchen have indeed become broken however we this is not a hazard. We are aware of them but cannot replace until the apartment becomes quieter. To my knowledge there is one loose doorknob on a wardrobe door which we will address but I dispute this applies to many doors in the apartment. Wardrobe space and hanging space we have always found to be adequate for our guests. We are sorry this didn't meet your needs but will provide additional hangers. We are aware that the blinds need replaced and we apologise for this situation. Double glazing was recently installed in the bedrooms and the blinds are not compatible with the new windows. We are in the process of getting new blinds made to fit. We are sorry you had problem with the washing machine which may be different to what you are used to in the US. We do had a guest information pack clearly labelled in the lounge which gives information the heating, wifi, local buses and restuarants, activities and tours etc. We will inlcude some instructions for washing machine and TV. I also did not receive as you claim an email with your points so was not able to address during your stay. There are no rats in the apartment. Mice however are endemic throughout the city in traditional buildings - within 3 years there have been two mice seen in the apartment. We are sorry you had such a negative experience in a property that is enjoyed by the vast majority of our guests and is in a vibrant part of the city.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A nice flat in a convenient area.

  • 4 of 5

We were met and shown round by Dawn who was very helpful and nice.

We had a very good stay here in Rossie place and overall were fairly lucky with the parking outside on Rossie Place also.

Edinburgh centre is expensive for parking and there are not lots of options so it's handy to be able to abandon the car when in the city unless driving about quote a bit or visiting Leith shopping centre, (which also has a selection of restaurant chains) where the parking is free.

The flat is a good size, (smallish bathroom) and has everything you need to be self sufficient.

We would definitely stay here again.

There is a Tesco's around 1km down Easter Road, (on the way to Leith) which is walk-able or an easy drive of course.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent place, close to city centre and value for money.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was exactly as described on the website. Had everything we needed during our stay. We will be back sometimes.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had everything you needed for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Edinburgh Airport
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Middletons Bar
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Edinburgh Waverley
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres

Special interest holidays:

Your host is a tour guide within Scotland and can provide you with details of excellent tours available to places outwith the city such as Roslin Chapel, Stirling Castle, Whisky Distilleries, The Highlands, Loch Ness, St Andrews and other places of interest which could all be reached in a day trip from Edinburgh. Longer multi day tours to places such as the Isle of Skye are also available from Edinburgh and your host is happy to provide further information.


The apartment is ideally located for Portobello beach, only 10 minutes by car or 15 minutes by local bus. This is the city's local beach and as well as a long sandy beach there are numerous amusement arcades along the promenade.

There are further excellent beaches within 30-40 minutes drive along the east coast from the city such as Yellowcraigs and Gullane.


The apartment is located 15 minutes walk or 10 minutes by taxi from Waverley Train Station. From the airport, a taxi takes around 30 minutes to the apartment or the airport shuttle bus to the city centre takes 30 minutes (last stop Waverley Station). You can also take the tram from the airport to the last stop in the city centre (30 mins) and then from the same stop a bus (4,26,44) the last 5 minutes to the apartment. A car is not necessary within the city which has an excellent bus service.


The palace, parliament and Royal Mile are only a 10 minute walk from the apartment. Edinburgh castle around 20-25 minutes walk (bus 10 mins). The city centre is only a 15 minute walk (10 mins bus). Royal Yacht Brittania and the shore area of Edinburgh are 15 minutes by bus from the apartment as are any of the main galleries and theatres within the city. Further affield the coastline of East Lothian is a 30 minute drive, Roslin Chapel 30 mins (or bus no 15), Stirling and Glasgow 1 hour by rail.

Further Details:

There are a range of great little shops close by - the Manna House coffee shop and patisserie is an award winning bakery and definitely worth a visit and there are several other good coffee shops/cafes/delis. Cornelius wines is excellent and full of good advice on wine choice. There are also a good local supermarket, take away restaurants and several convenience stores and grocery shops in the immediate vicinity of the apartment.

For a fantastic view of the city take a walk up Calton Hill. You can be at the top in 10 minutes from the apartment and the views are just tremendous. For a little more exertion take a walk through Holyrood Park, just 10 minutes away and up along 'The Crags' - a long cliff line with fantastic views or up to the summit of Arthurs Seat - the highest point in the city.

If shopping is more of interest then George Street in the city centre is full of designer outlets and is now partly pedestrianised. For restaurants there are numerous good places at the top of Leith Walk (10 mins walk away) or if you would like to seek out a good Edinburgh pub then the Broughton Street area near the top of Leith Walk has some good traditional ale houses.

For children we reccommend Our Dynamic Earth near the Scottish Parliament and 10-15 minutes walk from the apartment. This is a fascinating journey through time and the history of the earth with plenty of interactive material for children.

There are numerous tours on offer within the city including open top bus tours and various 'ghost tours' in the Royal Mile area. Details of these and other activities in the city are provided within the apartment.


Rates & Availability

Edinburgh Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 17 2016 - Dec 28 2016
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
New Year
Dec 29 2016 - Jan 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
Jan 4 2017 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Rugby Weekend
Feb 3 2017 - Feb 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
Rugby Weekend
Mar 17 2017 - Mar 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
Bank Holiday
Apr 28 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
Bank Holiday
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
High Season
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
Festival 2017
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
Xmas 2017
Dec 21 2017 - Dec 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
New Year 2017
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A 25% deposit is required to secure the booking with the full balance due by 8 weeks before the booking commences.

Check In:
Changeover day is flexible. Check in is from 2pm on the day of arrival. For check in between 19.00-22.00 there is a late check in fee of £20. For check in between 22.00 - midnight fee is £45. Check out is by 10am on the day of departure. Full details for check in will be sent with your booking. Check out is by 10am. Late check out may be possible subject to a fee of 50% daily rate for that day.

Terms and Conditions.

This property is let on the understanding that it is to be used as a holiday let. It therefore is subject to Section 12(2) and paragraph 8 of Schedule 4 of the Housing (Scotland) Act 1988.

We'll send you an email confirming your booking, this then forms a contract of booking.

You are not permitted to sub-let the property (or any part of the property). The number of people occupying the premises must not exceed the amount stated at time of booking.

You must vacate the premises without demand on the agreed departure date (at the agreed time). You agree to pay the lessor to cover any loss or damage caused (beyond general wear and tear). At all times, the property must be kept in a clean and tidy condition. We may charge you for any unreasonable amount of cleaning required after your stay.

You agree to prevent any party members from causing a nuisance or disturbance to other residents/neighbours. You agree that the hired premises will be secured when unoccupied during your stay. You agree that owners/agents will be allowed access to the property if required.

We recommend obtaining personal holiday insurance to cover any potential losses. We take no responsibility for any damage or injury however caused by any member of your party whilst you stay at the property.

We (including the property owners, managers and agents) accept no responsibility for loss, injury or damage to any member of your party.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Edinburgh Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom with full size bath, electric shower, wash basin and w.c.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 in Double, Superking/Twin and Sofa Bed Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 is available as either superking size double or as a twin and has hand crafted shelving and built in wardrobe Bedroom 2 is a double with hand crafted wardrobe and desk. Additional sleeping for 2 on the sofa bed in the lounge.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Notes on accommodation: We provide a meet and greet service to introduce you to the apartment. Please make sure you let us know your arrival time in advance so we can coordinate to meet you. One of the bedrooms can be set up as either a superking size double or as two twins. Please let us know in advance which you would prefer and if you also require the use of the sofa bed in the lounge. Cot and high chair are also available - please specify when you book. The apartment benefits from free parking on the street immediately outside the apartment and on adjacent streets. Outside: There is a quiet communal shared garden to the rear of the property. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and towels are included. For stays of more than one week, fresh linen is provided each week. Fresh flowers, tea and coffee are provided on arrival. Meet and greet service on arrival and on call property contact to ensure your stay runs smoothly.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties