Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Villa In El Portet, Moraira, Costa Blanca North, Spain

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa in El Portet, Moraira, Costa Blanca North, Spain

This is a detached 3 bedroom villa on the urbanisation "Puig Portet". The villa overlooks a huge 100ftx34ft shared swimming pool.. The villa is set within the beautiful and exclusive El Portet valley and is only a 5 minute walk to the Blue Flag sandy beach and local restaurants. The villa has its own private gardens, patio and veranda. The patio with it's own charcoal barbeque area overlooks the swimming pool which is floodlit until midnight.


Owner
Alan and Jennett Higgins
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 13, 2017

About Alan and Jennett Higgins

Hello, This villa has been in the family for many years and I have enjoyed many vacations here. I would like to share the opportunity for you to enjoy a holiday here too. Please feel free to phone or e-mail if you have any queries.

Alan and Jennett Higgins purchased this villa in 1980

Why Alan and Jennett Higgins chose El Portet

The property was originally purchased by my parents as a holiday retreat. The area was very quiet and secluded then with two lovely sandy beaches. Though the area is a little bit busier these days it still maintains it's charm.

Amenities

El Portet Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Check in after 16:00h, June to Sept. Check out before 10:00h June to Sept. We will attempt to accommodate alternative times by prior arrangement.
  • Please obey the pool rules, they are posted poolside. These rules are for the safety of everyone and so that all guests have a pleasant vacation.
  • Please remove all rubbish and perishable items from the villa and fridge on your departure, the nearest bins provided are on Camino de la Viuda,
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet
    Shower room 1 - shower
  • On the first level there is a bathroom with bath, shower, sink, toilet and bidet. The lower level has a bathroom with shower, toilet and sink. There is also a washing machine in this bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Linen provided for beds, (cot linen not provided).
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Bed linen provided. Ceiling fan.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Bed linen provided. Ceiling fan.
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Main level, Bedroom 1 with double bed, Bedroom 2 with twin beds. Both bedrooms have ceiling fans. Lower level, Bedroom 3 is a large family room with double bed and twin beds sleeping up to four people. This room remains cool even on the hottest nights.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Private garden and patio with barbecue area. Communal gardens and swimming pool (100 ft X 34 ft ). Outdoor furniture includes tables, chairs, sun loungers and sun shades. There is also deck chairs and small parasol for beach use. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen and towels are included in the price, (cot linen not provided). The property, linen and towels are cleaned between lettings. There is a washing machine in the downstairs bathroom and outside washing lines should you feel the need. Other: The veranda which overlooks the private patio, garden, barbecue and communal swimming pool, has it's own furniture consisting of two seater settee, table and chairs.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Villa In El Portet, Moraira, Costa Blanca North, Spain
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
4

Very nice Villa, good location.

  • 4 of 5

Overall we had a lovely holiday and the grandchildren had a ball in the pool.

Nice complex with lovely neighbours.

Pro's

Nice villa

Nice complex

Good amenities

Good convenient location

Nice swimming pool

Modern kitchen with quality cooking equipment

Air conditioning great in lounge

Cons

No air conditioning in bedrooms ( ceiling fans not adequate in very home weather)

Downstairs bedroom smelt damp and musty in wardrobe and drawers. Needs dehumidification .

Not much work surface in kitchen for six people.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review, Colin. It's a pleasure to accommodate guests who appreciate the villa as much as we do. We recently had air conditioning installed in the lounge, unfortunately this makes the rest of the villa seem somewhat humid. We intend installing air conditioning throughout the rest of the villa for next season. We look forward to welcoming you again, in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice clean spacious homely property.

  • 5 of 5

I enjoyed this nice secure and spacious traditional Spanish Villa right on the coast so just a short walk to a number of beaches. The large communal swimming pool at the rear was great fun too. The house is well maintained with a modern kitchen and spacious comfy lounge with multi-channel TV provided. The patio has plenty of space for a family barbecue with loungers provided. Would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure to accommodate guests who appreciate the villa as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you again, in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Return visits to 'Dos Olivos'

  • 5 of 5

My Family have used this property for a holiday a couple of times we find it to be a beautiful Villa is the quaint Spanish Décor style. It is Quite spacious and has access to a wonderful semi private pool at the lower end of the garden. We ate out al fresco many times too utilising the Built - in BBQ also. It is quite well situated to avail of local restaurants and bars and within a short walk to a lovely beach. Not far from the town either. We were there during the festival season (early july) and the town was quite busy with lots of music and entertainment available along with a wonderful fireworks display. I would recommend this location for a holiday, no bother.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review, Teresa. It's a pleasure to accommodate guests who appreciate the villa and surrounding area as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again, in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellently situated for beach and town of Moraira/Portet

  • 5 of 5

Situated in our view on the best Community Urbanisation in Moraira Easy walking distances to beach and town. Beautiful pool and gardens. Villa is well maintained - we have stayed here before and will return again. BBQ and eating area.

Car space area.

Lovely place to stay if you are in the Moraira/Portet area.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure to accommodate guests who appreciate the villa as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again, next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Neglected & disappointing.

  • 1 of 5

Very disappointed, desperate need for aircon.everything needs updating.constant problems from day one.fridge in need of replacing, uncomfortable beds,outdoor furniture mostly broken & dirty.downstairs plumbing faulty.plagued by mosquitos.would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Margaet B, I am sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing holiday. Only two of the problem you have mentioned here were given at the time of your rental for me to address. I do think that both were resolved amicably and was surprised that this proved to be the contrary. The first problem, the fridge, was easily resolved by the emergency electrician. He informed me that there was no problem and that he explained to you why you may mistakenly think it wasn’t operating properly. The second problem with the plumbing , took a little longer to sort out. This was not helped by having to make and pay a second call out charge, due to you refusing entry to the emergency plumber on his initial call. I was informed that he had sorted out the problem. We have since replaced the faulty item with a new one. I find your remarks that “everything needs replacing” a bit ambiguous. We have always had a policy of upgrading and replacing everything, after all this is our family holiday home, my parents, siblings, children and friends all enjoy being here. I had hoped that you or any other renter would find such enjoyment too. Mosquitos are a problem in many hot countries, unfortunately I cannot stop them plaguing you or anyone else. I do my best by providing, mosquito nets, plug in deterrents and a couple of ultraviolet lamps. To book and rent a property that has never advertised "Air conditioning" as part of the package, then to expect and lambaste the owner for the lack of such an amenity is uncalled for. I have done my best to resolve every problem you have encountered, some of which you have failed to mention here, some I thought had been resolved to your satisfaction and some that are just an after though, unjust, unfair and uncalled for. I doubt that I could have done anything to prevent such a negative review or receive a better rating from you, however I do thank you for your review and the insight you and it has provided. I wish you a future holiday experience, more worthy of your expectations. Regards, Alan Higgins
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
5

Had everything needed for a perfect family holiday

  • 5 of 5

The property is situated so that although you are within a small exclusive group of 21 villas you enjoy complete privacy and a feeling of being almost alone in paradise. The big, big bonus is the best swimming pool in the area with an exclusive beach just a few hundred metres away. An excellent restaurant, a convenience store and a pharmacy are all within easy walking distance - no need to risk driving after a good bottle of wine - .and the delightful town of Moraira, with its fabulous choice of shops and restaurants is just a few hundred metres walk further away along a scenic clifftop walkway that overlooks the Marina and has a comforting guardrail.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review, Dennis and Bettina. It's a pleasure to accommodate guests who appreciate the villa as much as we do. I enjoyed your description of the surrounding area, as well as the best swimming pool in the area. Did you know it is probably still the largest pool in Moraira. We look forward to welcoming you both again, in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Alicante Airport 95km. Valencia Airport 132km.
Nearest Barpub
600 Metres
Oasis
Nearest Ferry
23 Kilometres
Denia
Nearest Golf
5.8 Kilometres
Club De Golf Ifach 9 holes
Nearest Train
8 Kilometres
Teulada
Nearest Motorway
14 Kilometres
AP7 J63 Benissa Teulada
Nearest Restaurant
600 Metres
Oasis
Nearest Beach
800 Metres
El portet Beach
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

El Portet beach is only a ten minute walk. The beach is a sheltered cove with a shallow sandy slope and minimal wave action, ideal for children and snorkelling. There are a few shops, restaurants and bars for those that wish to spend all day here.

Moraira beach is a twenty to thirty minute walk along the coast past the town with it's many shops, restaurants and bars. It boasts a larger beach, larger waves and plenty of water activities including jet ski's and pedalos.

Travel:

Positioned only an hours drive north of Alicante airport ( 95km) by motorway or approx. an hour and 20 minutes drive south of Valencia airport (132km) by motorway, the property is perfectly situated to ensure minimal travelling time upon arrival in Spain. In addition to the extensive choice of customary car hire firms, both locally and on-site at the airports, there is a new local bus service directly to and from Alicante airport for your convenience.

Further Details:

The Costa Blanca/Valencia region

Local Car Hire, www.caronlinerentacar.com/

Moraira enjoys a subtropical Mediterranean climate, with sea breezes cooling the area in summer and in winter getting protection from the cold North winds from the surrounding mountains. The area averages some 3,000 hours of sunshine each year and the average temperature exceeds 20 degrees. On average there are 325 sunny days each year. In 1986 the World Health Organisation commended the Moraira climate as one of the most equitable in the world - neither too hot in the summer nor too cold in the winter.

Moraira

The Fiesta is part of the Spanish way of life and most fiestas have a religious or historical origin. In Moraira and the surrounding area the local patron saint and the Moors & Christians are usually the inspiration for a day off partying. The celebrations have singing and dancing and everybody has a jolly good time.

3 Kings Festival Jan 5th. Parade of floats for Los Reyes.

Moors & Christians Fiesta is on 3rd weekend of June

Holy Fountain Fiesta is in 1st week July

Patron Saint of Moraira Fiesta is on 15th & 16th July

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $133.16

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner.


Changeover Day:
Flexible.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties