check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Converted Barns with Tennis Court Part of Organic Farm and Vineyard - The Old Barn

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
barn
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Tenterden Barn Rental Photos and Description

Barns in Stone Cum Ebony, Nr. Tenterden, Kent, England - Secluded Kent Countryside Close To Rye And Tenterden

The three barns are at Stone Cum Ebony, a secluded hamlet between Rye and Tenterden. Two barns sleep four and one barn sleep six and were converted in 2013. Restoring the barns we have aimed for a light, informal and relaxing approach. The style is a mix of modern and old, flooring is oak, coir and painted floors, grey, blues and naturals. The barns, which are heated by our wood chip boiler and use 100% renewable electricity, are part of the Grade II listed farmyard and has amazing views. Each barn has a wood fired stove, stereo, HD TV and wifi. We're in the middle of the countryside here and the views are spectacular, yet its only six miles to Rye or Tenterden, two lovely small towns. Our web site is www.oxneyestate.com. Go to the holiday cottages tab to look at further photos and to book.

Details for The Old Barn 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 1 Bathroom

The Old Barn is an ancient, traditional Grade II listed barn with 100m2 contemporary living accommodation on the first floor. In the sitting area there is a HD TV, Blu-ray DVD player, stereo and wireless broadband and sofas and chairs around a wood fired stove. The kitchen is well equipped with range cooker, Smeg fridge (with freezer box), dishwasher and farm house style dining table.

From the central space you access three bedrooms. On one side is the master bedroom with a King Sized bed and an ensuite bathroom with bath and shower. On the other side of the central space are two further bedrooms, one with a King Sized double bed with lovely organic mattress, and a twin bedroom. Between these two bedrooms is a shower room with a spacious, delicious shower.

You’ll be welcomed by homemade cake, made with organic ingredients of course, and a number of hints and tips about the surroundings to help kick start your holiday in this wonderful area.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Kristin Syltevik
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, norwegian
Calendar last updated:
November 12, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

The Old Barn
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
5

Really Lovely Place to Relax and Play In a Lovely

  • 5 of 5

I don't remember the pictures from the website although I must have seen them before booking, so arriving at this beautiful minimalist designed conversion was a wonderful surprise.We just loved the house and spent quite a bit of time in it as the weather was quite English. We slept well, ate well and did quite a lot of cooking. It isn't a cooks paradise, but we are all cooks, so we are extra demanding. However we managed very well and cooked things most people wouldn't dream of. Kristin kitchen scales are a lovely thing to have :-) And that oven door just won't stay open!

The house is well laid out with us oldsters in a double bed with en suite at one end and the young couple and their daughter (my granddaughter) at the other end with two bedrooms and their own bathroom.Superb. AND Kristin if you ever go to heaven it will be because you let then guests control the heating themselves. Too many holiday homes have the thermostat and time switch locked away. So when it was cold outside we were as warm as toast inside.

The other reason Kristin will go to heaven is because she is such a good host, always at the end of a phone but never intrusive. Apparently she trusts her guests and has never been disappointed.

It paid off because we left the place spotless; we hope.

The grounds and views are lovely and there are places to go by the yard. Tenterden is a location on it's own and has a steam railway and a swimming pool. Excellent for bad weather.

Rye is a lovely day out as are Camber Sands which is great in both good and bad weather. Port Lympne is probably best in good weather unless you have complete waterproofs. But we still saw Tigers and Bears and wonderful Gorillas, but they live indoors so are easier to spot.

Go on spoil yourself!

But don't book the week we want.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such great feedback - so lovely to hear you had a fab week here. Kitchen scales will be ordered today :-)!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place has it all - history, space, location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here over Christmas 2015 and had paid a deposit to stay the following year before we left. A fabulous place to stay, spotlessly clean, unfussy and very welcoming. The living space is huge, the vast master bedroom and equally vast en-suite are of the sort you only see in glossy publications. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The only negative is that anywhere else we stay will be hard pushed to match it. This place is an absolute belter, we loved it and cannot wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely fantastic, no other way to describe it.

  • 5 of 5

The property is superb, clean, modern, fully equipped and we really could not have wished for anything more and the owner Kristin and family are incredibly helpful, friendly and charming.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We rented the barn as we were in the area for a wedding. The barn is beautifully appointed and situated in the heart of rural Kent. The homemade brownies and apple juice were greatly appreciated. We had 2 babies with us and appreciated the high chairs, cots and stair gate. Walked to the local pub where the food was amazing. We would definitely come again!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful barn and location.

  • 5 of 5

The barn is wonderful, well equipped, comfy beds and very spacious, exactly what we expected and more.

The setting is perfect, peaceful, outstanding views from all of the rooms. Kristin is very helpful and a charming host.

There is so much to do in the local area, we loved it and will return.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cottage holiday

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at the Old Barn which is in the middle of the farm. Very well appointed large lounge/dining room/kitchen. Lovely bathrooms. Very comfortable beds. Very peaceful. The owners were great and very helpful and accomodating. Lovely chocolate brownies and apple juice on arrival. Football net and basketball hoop for the children. Lots to do in the area : Bodiam Castle, Mid-Kent steam railway, Romney Hythe and Dymchurch railway, Port Lympne safari park, lots of beaches. Definitely recommended, we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Special interest holidays:

Please visit our vineyard and winery for tastings and a tour.

Coast/Beach:

The barns are nine miles from Camber Sands, a very large sandy beach with sand dunes stretching from East Sussex into Kent.

Travel:

The barns are 70 miles from Gatwick (about 1.5 hours drive) and 95 miles from Heathrow (about 2.5 hours drive). The Eurotunnel terminal at Folkestone is 38 miles away (60 minutes drive). The barns are very much in the middle of the countryside so a car is essential.

Distances:

You can walk to the village of Stone. Stone has two pubs and a lovely old church. The two small towns of Tenterden and Rye are very close -- each a six mile (14 minutes) drive away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tenterden Barn Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2017 Pre Summer
Jan 6 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$163
From
$189
Fri,Sat,Sun
$817
 
 
2017 Summer
Jun 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$943
 
 
2017 Post Summer
Sep 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$163
From
$189
Fri,Sat,Sun
$817
 
 
2017 Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 4 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$943
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$126
From
$168
Fri,Sat,Sun
$755
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please book on our web site www.oxneyestate.com/holiday-cottages


Changeover Day:
Changeover days are Mondays and Fridays. A week is from Monday to Monday, or Friday to Friday. A week end is from Friday to Monday, and a mid week break is from Monday to Friday.

Notes on prices:
Please check calendar and book on our web site www.oxneyestate.com/holiday-cottages. A week costs £600 (Little and Long Barns) or £700 (Old Barn). A 3-night week end stay costs £342 (Little and Long Barns) or £400 (Old Barn). A 4-night mid-week break costs £342 (Little and Long Barns) or £400 (Old Barn). Over Christmas/New Year and Easter we only book weeks. If you book and pay for a week in two or three barns at the same time you will receive a ten percent discount on the total cost.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tenterden Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Shower room 1 - shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Kitchen: Cooker, fridge/freezer, microwave oven, dishwasher, washing machine. Dining space. In the Old Barn the washing machine is in the ground floor utility room. Master bedroom: King sized bed, cupboard with hanging space and shelf, and ensuite bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. In the Old Barn also a bath. Twin bedrooms: Twin beds. In the Little and Long barns these can zip together to form Super King beds. Cupboard with hanging space and shelf. Third bedroom in Old Barn: King sized bed, cupboard with hanging space and shelf. Bathroom in Old Barn (in addition to ensuite): Large shower, sink and toilet. Bathroom in Little and Long barns (in addition to ensuite): Bath with shower, sink and toilet. Sitting area: Sofa and chairs, stove, HD TV, DVD, stereo. Outside: Patio surrounded by grass. Seating and dining table. Lovely views. Notes: Wifi. No dogs please. Outside: The barns are set around a court yard garden and each barn has its own space, its own patio with seats and tables made from local chestnut. For the summer we are creating a BBQ area off the farm yard for our guests with picnic tables and BBQs. There is no gate between the garden and the lane so toddlers and small children need supervision.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties