check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautifully Renovated Farmhouse/Barn With Private Heated Swimming Pool

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
farmhouse
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Sérignac-Péboudou Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

Farmhouse in Serignac-Peboudou, Nr. Eymet, Lot et Garonne, Aquitaine / Dordogne, France - Peaceful And Rural Location In The Heart Of The Countryside

Fully renovated farmhouse and barn with recent new kitchen, bathroom and utility room. It retains many original features and is decorated to a very high standard throughout. It is an extremely spacious property, comfortably housing 10 people. There are 2 double bedrooms and 3 twin bedrooms, with a cot and additional travel cot available. Set in one and a half hectares of private land. It boasts a huge west facing terrace overlooking a secluded heated swimming pool. The house is set in a beautiful location, surrounded by fields. There are no direct neighbours and its very private. The surrounding area belongs to the local farmer and the only disturbance will be from the local cows in the adjoining fields. Nearby are numerous charming Bastide market towns, such as Castillonnes, Villareal, Eymet, Monpazier along with activities including canoeing, horse riding, fishing and go-karting. Chateaux's and vineyards are also in abundance! Available all year round and with new central heating system for winter use. Cosy up to the log fires in the living room and kitchen. Changeover day is a Sunday.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
D & S Gibson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2016
Call Owner

About D & S Gibson

I live in the North West of England with my Wife, always trying to make the most of life in the outdoors, when not looking after our granddaughter. Full time work prevents us from moving full time to France.

D & S Gibson purchased this farmhouse in 2013

Why D & S Gibson chose Lot-et-Garonne

We love the slow pace of life in France. This region has beautiful countryside, good for walking or cycling with the freedom to enjoy the quiet roads. The property is in a remote unspoilt rural location with quaint market Bastide towns. Close to the local airport of Bergerac. Lots of good food and wine. The property is a typical French farmhouse/barn made of local stone which personifies this area of France.

What makes this farmhouse unique

We love the pool and outdoor life. Privacy and get away from it all feel, plenty of space both inside and out to relax whilst taking in the French way of life.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Beautifully Renovated Farmhouse/Barn With Private Heated Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
5

Really relaxing peaceful rural location

  • 5 of 5

The Gite offered everything we needed both inside and out. The accommodation was clean comfortable and stylish. Plenty of games and dvd's.

We would have liked a table tennis table in addition to the other entertainment provided.

The kitchen had everything we needed and we loved the ice machine.

There were plenty of sun loungers and you could find some shade under the trees but a canopy or two would have been good for the midday sunshine. Children loved the pool and it was a comfortable heat and the adults loved the hammock!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

September 2016

  • 5 of 5

Nice well -equipped property with a good deal of living space. We especially liked the comfortable sitting areas in the living area and at the end of the kitchen. The heated pool which is cleaned twice a week was especially welcome during the hot spell at the beginning of our stay.

The bedrooms are all a good size.

The location means that it is peaceful and undisturbed. Ideal for taking a pile of books to read in the sun by the pool or in the shade of the terrace or hammock.

It was great to be able to eat out on the terrace during the warm evenings but we also liked the spacious modern kitchen with a large table for the days when it was a little cooler.

The nearest village, Serignac- Péboudou has no shop/bar facilities but there are lots in Castillonnes which is about ten minutes drive away. The house is very well placed for driving into Bergerac/St Emilion/Cahors and visiting local vineyards and villages.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beyond expectations - wonderful farmhouse in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

We had a brilliant time at the property whilst enjoying the southwest region of France. It was in a convenient location to get to Bergerac or Bordeaux or the smaller market towns. The house was well maintained and was of an excellent standard. The bedrooms were spacious and so was the bathroom and shower room although it would be really useful if there was another shower/toilet. The lounge and kitchen were perfect for two famillies.

The kitchen was well equipped and the pool was a great size for all the kids to play in and they could make as much noise as they wanted as the location is very private. The inflatables were much appreciated and so were the fans in the bedrooms.

The owners have been helpful when we had a problem with the Wifi which was hit and miss. We would definitely recommend this to our family and friends and would come back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cheap for a reason...

  • 1 of 5

The house is fine, cheaply furnished from Ikea but what you would expect for the price. The knives all needed sharpening (we bought our own steel for this purpose - the one provided wouldn't sharpen butter!), the freezer would not stay shut properly, the garden furniture was not clean upon our arrival and there were no cleaning solutions provided.

However, the owner is claiming that we broke/stole items and left the property 'filthy' and is refusing to refund our deposit. Makes me wonder why there are so few reviews - is this their business practise??!!

I would NEVER recommend dealing with these people unless you are willing to accept that 'refundable deposit' means extra fees!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As you can tell by the tone of the review this is a totally vindictive and shameful attack due to the withholding of the damage deposit. It has taken us 3 years to renovate and get the house into the lovely condition you’ll find it. We have been asked to keep our response to this review professional. With lip firmly bit, this is as professional as we could make it. It’s clear that certain guests think it’s acceptable to break, remove and take so little care of a holiday property that it took a further 2-1/2hrs additional cleaning to get the property ready for the next guests. We did withhold a portion of the deposit to pay for the damage (Broken Bed Slats) and additional cleaning costs incurred. This family were only our 11th family to stay since we purchased the property, hence the reason for the low number of reviews. Our 3rd review received 5 stars and was received from the family staying the week after. Some of the furniture is from Ikea, it’s both comfortable and has removable washable covers for obvious reasons. There is a perfectly capable ceramic knife sharpener available but if anyone feels so inclined feel free to take your own. We don’t provide copious different cleaning products but some basic essentials are provided. There have been no problems reported to us by our property manager, guests prior to or post about the freezer door. The garden furniture does occasionally suffer from drips from the outdoor terrace roof following severe thunderstorms of which there have been many this year. This is the first time we have had to withhold some of the damage deposit and is not an additional revenue earner, we could simply increase our prices to achieve this.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Excellent farmhouse and barn in lovely location

  • 4 of 5

The property lived up to all expectations, spacious,attractively designed and furnished. As a large all age family group we enjoyed all of the living and entertainment facilities all excellently maintained. The house is located in spacious grounds with a good pool and large outside barn providing good BBQ and eating spaces. There is much to enjoy in the area with plenty of small villages providing great evening events and sports opportunities. Both adults and children thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and would recommend this property as ideal for a large family group. The owner provided excellent customer support.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Devon
5

40th Anniversary Family get-together

  • 5 of 5

10 of our immediate family enjoyed a wonderful week in Grand Buc.

With ages varying from 5mts up to Senior citizens (including a 4 and 5yr old) the house gave us the space that was needed both inside and out. It was very clean, well cared for and very well equipped.

We found the listing description accurate in all cases.

The owners provided a very good customer service and we would certainly recommend it to our family and friends.

If the opportunity arises, we would have no hesitation in a return visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There will be central heating in the property by Christmas 2014 allowing us to extend the season for guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
31 Kilometres
Bergerac
Nearest Barpub
5.6 Kilometres
Lauzun
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
N21
Nearest Restaurant
11 Kilometres
Castillonnes
Car: necessary

Travel:

The most popular route to the house is to drive from any of the channel ports and use the network of roads down to the south-west of France. Flying is easy, Bergerac airport serves daily flights to and from London Stanstead, London Gatwick, East-Midlands, Liverpool, Southampton, Leeds-Bradford, Exeter, Birmingham, Edinburgh and Bristol Airport. Bordeaux airport is approximately one and a half hours by car and is served by all main UK airports.

Distances:

'Grand Buc' is set amongst beautiful and historic rolling countryside of France. It is situated 3 km from the nearest town of Lauzun, approximately 7 km from the market town of Castillonnes and 10 km from Eymet. It is 25 minutes south of Bergerac on the Dordogne river.

Further Details:

'Grand Buc' is set on the borders of Lot et Garonne and the Dordogne. The area boasts many activities. There are numerous beautiful Bastide towns within half an hours drive away, which are always worth a visit. All of these towns have a market once a week, selling anything from fresh produce to clothes. A number of them also have a weekly night market in the summer months. For the more active there are two golf courses nearby as mentioned above along with the tennis and canoeing. There is also an excellent riding stables, 10 minutes walk away, which caters for all abilities with very well behaved horses. The area also offers donkey cart rides and go-karting and for the adults, there are numerous places to carry out the obligatory wine tasting.

Rates & Availability

Sérignac-Péboudou Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Rate 7
Oct 30 2016 - Dec 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,001
 
 
Rate 8
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,386
 
 
Rate 9
Jan 8 2017 - Apr 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,133
 
 
Rate 1
Apr 9 2017 - Apr 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,253
 
 
Rate 3
Apr 23 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,196
 
 
Rate 4
May 28 2017 - Jun 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,882
 
 
Rate 2
Jun 11 2017 - Jul 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,756
 
 
Rate 5
Jul 23 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,386
 
 
Rate 6
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,756
 
 
Rate 10
Oct 15 2017 - Dec 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,246
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $315

Booking Notes:
All prices are per week and are quoted in pounds sterling. Bookings are confirmed on receipt of a 25% deposit and full payment is required 6 weeks prior to arrival. A security deposit of £250 is also required 6 weeks prior to arrival and is fully returned after the end of the holiday period subject to the property being checked and approved by the maintenance company. Please ensure that you are fully insured against cancellation.

Changeover Day:
Please note that the changeover day is a Sunday. Guests can arrive after 4pm and should vacate the property by 10am on the day of departure. Prices include all bed linen, bath towels and pool towels, electricity, hot water and final clean.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Amenities

Sérignac-Péboudou Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 230 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Shower room 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1, upstairs with bath/shower, wash basin and W.C Bathroom 2, downstairs with shower, wash basin and W.C
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king-size bed Bedroom 2 with double bed Bedroom 3 with twin beds Bedroom 4 with twin beds Bedroom 5 with twin beds on the ground floor. All bedrooms are fully equipped with ample hanging space, chest of drawers and bed side tables.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The property provides extremely spacious accommodation for 10 people and is suitable for both adults and children. There is a cot which is permanently set-up (can be moved between bedrooms if necessary) and also a travel cot available. There is a pool table, table football and various board games available at the property. Outside: Set in one and a half hectares of private land with no direct neighbours 'Grand Buc' allows for a secluded getaway. The property boasts a huge west facing terrace overlooking a 10m x 4m secluded swimming pool. There is partial paving around the swimming pool with 10 sun loungers with cushions provided. The swimming pool has an alarm system attached which is in line with French regulations. The alarm sounds throughout the property making everyone aware that something/someone has fallen into the pool. The garden is maintained and the swimming pool cleaned on a weekly basis. This is done on a changeover day to provide minimal disruption to guests. There is ample private parking for several cars. Utility Room: A separate utility area houses a washing machine, iron and ironing board and large clothes airer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen, bath towels and pool towels are provided. The property is cleaned thoroughly with linen and towels changed on a weekly basis. Other: Leading from the sitting room there is a 50m2 west facing covered terrace over looking the swimming pool. There is a BBQ, table and seating for 10. The 10m x 4m heated pool is surrounded by a terrace with 10 sun lounges

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties