Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large house Nr. Chichester, the beaches of West Wittering & Itchenor

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Modernised 6 bedroom 3 bathrooms country views a walk to the harbour

The costal village of Birdham is located between Chichester & West Wittering . In an anrea of Outstanding Natural Beauty this is such a beautiful part of West Sussex. Kinderhook is on th Coastal Path and a short walk to the Chichester & Birdham Marinas The Birdham Marina is a quaint small marina with a lock and Mill and wonderful views along the Estuary. Many lovely coastal paths.

. A well equipped house with lots of space for 12 people to enjoy. The house flows well with the kitchen and the family room being open plan which is ideal for entertaining.There is also a large Utility Room with full sized fridge, washing machine & Microwave and plenty of storage space! The Kitchen has an Aga, a full sized oven and electric hob . There is a separate dining room which seats 12 and another quiet sitting room for those wishing to retire to a quiet space!

The bedrooms are spacious (there is 1 cosy double ) Off one staircase there are 2 en suite rooms each with own bathroom with bath & Shower. At the other end of the house with 2nd staircase there are 3 further double bedrooms with 1 bathroom with bath & power shower over bath. The 6th twin bedroom is on the ground floor A nice sized room with downstairs cloakroom All the bedrooms are light and airy with views over the open countryside. All the beds are high quality There are 2 king sized beds, 1 double and 6 single beds each have White Co cotton bed linen and feather duvets. We supply a bath towel and hand towel for each guest (we do not supply beach towels).

.The garden surrounds the house. The large patio with doors opening from both the family room and sitting room has a large garden table & chairs and a gas BBQ. There is a second patio at the front of the house. The house is set off a quiet lane, Nr the Church. A particular feature is the quiet beautiful location.

The Boathouse Cafe/Wine bar is at the end of the lane. A family friendly restaurant serving good food and open all day & evening . (The winter months they open all day but close around 7.30 pm) except Friday & Saturday nights. .

There is ample parking in the private drive for 6+ cars

We will happily accept parties of 10 Please ask for a quote.

Within easy reach are the sandy beaches of the Witterings where Winsurfing & kite surfing are popular. Breakfast at Billy's on the beach is a nice option.They are open for lunch and dinner but you will need to book. The characterful cathedral city of Chichester, the many paths and cycle routes surrounding the Chichester Harbour estuary (including the Salterns Way) and a variety of great country pubs and restaurants too (we can recommend where to go and we have a good local taxi service). A little further away are the rolling hills of the South Downs and its country pubs and walks.

Finally, we are a short drive away from Goodwood Race Course and motor circuit, local golf courses, Portsmouth and the cathedral town of Arundel.

More Details

Owner
Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2017

Why Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew chose Chichester

after many years visiting friends and family in this area we decided that when we were able to leave London this is where we wanted to live - we have lived in Birdham for 33 years and love it. We consider we are very lucky to be able to live here and want our guests to enjoy this special area of outstanding natural beauty.

What makes this house unique

detached luxury house in a a beautiful country location

lovingly maintained gardens surrounding the house

close to Chichester harbour

Estuary walks and cycle paths start at the front door

Eatery and bar at the end of the lane and other pubs/restaurants nearby

local beaches

private off street parking

.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We knew the area to be pretty and unspoilt and felt fortunate to have chosen a house offering spacious & elegant rooms. G F



Thanks for a wonderful stay. Your house is not only beautiful but it really feels like home. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back. I.C.



We are spreading the name up here in Scotland that Kinderhook is the place to stay when visiting West Sussex. It is a perfect luxury retreat. wow factor included! M.&M. R.



You could not have done more to make us comfortable in your beautiful home. We enjoyed our evening walks around the quiet estuary and our visits to Chichester and East Sussex. W & A



I really felt it was a second home away from my home. I will be planning another trip with my family next summer. thank you S.G
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Chichester House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We do not accept all male parties All under 25s have to be with adults in the party A dog with house rules in place!. To be confirmed with owner
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , wash basin and toilet only
  • There are three bathrooms Bathroom 1 is off the main bedroom and has a bath and separate shower cubicle. Bathroom 2 is off the twin room and has a shower over the bath. Both are good sized rooms There is a staircase to the two bedrooms and bathrooms Bathroom 3 is a family bathroom with shower over the bath. This bathroom services the 3 bedrooms at the far end of the house and up a 2nd staircase. Bedroom 6 on the ground floor does not have a bathroom. There is a downstairs cloakroom with toilet & washbasin.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 12 (6 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms:. Bedroom 1 king size bed in large bedroom with bath room with bath & separate shower . Bedroom 2 good quality 3' twin beds can be made into 6' bed. bathroom with shower over bath . Bedroom 3 with king size bed , Bedroom 4 with twin bed. Bedroom 5 with a double bed . These 3 rooms share a family bathroom and are approached by a second staircase. Bedroom 6 downstairs nice sized twin bedroom (bed could also be linked to make king bed) This room does not have a bathroom. There is a cloakkroom on the ground floor. Ideal room for children and just comfortable room if more than 10 guests. All beds will be made and we use White Co. cotton sheets on all the beds. We supply a bath towel and hand towel for each guest
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Kinderhook is a no smoking house. It is a large country house in an idylic location but close to the beaches, Chichester and many attractions in the area. Lovely local walks along the estuary and the coastal path. If you are looking for that special property which is more like a home and very comfortable Kinderhook is ideal Outside: the patio total 1/2 acre gardens with the easterly aspect having fine views over a wild meadow. To the west of the house there are gardens and gravel driveway with ample parking and views to the west over fields. . Other: If you would like to have a special lunch or dinner party catered for we can put you in touch with a good local chef/cook who would be happy to discuss your menu and give you suggestions. Just let us know at the time of booking.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Large house Nr. Chichester, the beaches of West Wittering & Itchenor
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 22 reviews
5

Wife 80 th birthday celebration

  • 5 of 5

Kinderhook is a beautiful house In a beautiful well kept garden.

We had a sports day and BBQ.

A well equipped kitchen for those who love to cook .

Mr & M Goodhew recommended the chef Deb miller who cooked our

Wonderful celebration dinner enjoyed by all the family of 10.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alan Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that Deborah cooked a really nice celebration dinner for you all. Regards John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesville, VA
5

Impressive home

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful and comfortable stay at this gorgeous house! Comfortably held 12 people with plenty of space indoors and out. We cooked in each night and were able to find all the equipment we needed. Only down side is that four bedrooms in one wing share one bathroom but what do you expect with an old home? If you are all friends (which we were), you can share en suites and then everyone can be ready in the morning. The beds were comfortable, the water hot and the surroundings quiet.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very good large house

  • 4 of 5

We had a great long weekend away helped with fantastic weather. House is kitted out to a high standard, especially in the kitchen which is well equipped. A concise summary sheet on how to use an Aga would have been helpful. The only thing that was a little odd is the house is rented on sleeping 12 and has very comfy beds for 12 but the lounge can only fit 7 on the settees so we got dining chairs for the others and slotted them in around the settees which wasnt quite what we had expected. The owners were very helpful

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very Reluctantly Yours!

  • 2 of 5

There is no doubt that the house is beautiful and spacious. It has a lovely garden and is close to walking paths along the coast as well as the Marina.

However it has it's problems, it is a family house and despite renting it out you feel that you are sharing it with them! John hung around on Friday, Monday and Wednesday tending to his garden. This meant that we couldn't fully relax and felt on show. In the house the multiple locked doors and cupboards, along with signs saying private make you feel unwelcome. The furnishings and furniture are predominantly old fashioned and unsuited to rental and the last time (before this house) I saw carpet in bathrooms was 1980! (As a microbiologist I had to stop myself thinking about it!!!) The dark stains around all the edges spoke truth to the owners comments in the house instructions that "the carpets have been down some time" - if they had charged me for cleaning them I'd have been livid.

Almost as livid as I was about being charged a very VERY large fee extra because they'd changed another room to a bedroom and that's what they felt was reasonable for unlocking the door and changing two single beds!

This meant that one end of the house has four bedrooms and one (carpeted) bathroom, whilst the other end, up a separate staircase, has two en-suite (carpeted) rooms. The owner pointed out that there was an additional downstairs cloakroom, and there is, right at the other end of the house. Very handy - not!

Don't get me started on the dodgy electrics, being hounded out at 9.50 on changeover day, the aga (which you have to use unless you can cater for 12 with a single electric cooker), getting out of the place onto the main road ...

Large it is, Luxury it is not ..... your own .... it is not.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was disappointed to read our first bad review in the 3 years we have been letting Kinderhook and I am sorry to hear that we were unable to give you an enjoyable stay at the house I will respond to each of your comments. Before I do so I would like to say that because you did not speak to me,even just a "hello" obviously there was no communication between us We do not live in the house but we do present it as a family house. I am sorry you did not like our choice of furnishings but ALL other guests have loved the cosy home from home feel. There are locked cupboards which we keep linen,stores and replacement items for the house. I hope you agree that you had ample storage space for your stay The carpets are in perfect condition cleaned regularly and a bathroom carpet was replaced last year The AGA and the large electric cooker and hob is ample for cooking for 12 guests. Unfortunately following a huge downpour and gale force winds the outside porch light filled with water which caused the electric to trip sorry but we did deal with it immediately i did email you and offered you the new twin bedroom I only offered it to you and you were under no obligation to take it . I am pleased you enjoyed the garden and to maintain it to its high standard it does have to be tended to every week. Our gardener was on holiday and I am sorry you felt you were being watched. I did 2 hours of grass cutting ,watering the pots and deadheading the roses and dahlias and generally do a quick tidy after the strong damaging winds We love pleasing our guests but sadly on this occasion we did not Regards john
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, spacious property. Lovely outside area. Had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house, well equipped, great location

  • 4 of 5

Home from home, great venue for a family gathering. House was lovely, had everything you might possibly need. The location was ideal though we barely scratched the surface of things to do. All in all highly recommend.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
chichester marina
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
portsmouth
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
hunston
Nearest Train
6 Miles
chichester
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
M27 westbound
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
chichester marina
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
west wittering
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Things to do locally

.

Chichester Water tours. & fishing trips.

Chichester Festival Theatre

Pallant House Gallery

Goodwood home to horse racing, the Festival of Speed and the Revival meeting.

Walking & cycling on Salterns way just outside our front door

Coast/Beach:

We are within a 500 yards of the Birdham pool and Chichester marina

Many wonderful beaches at West Wittering and Bracklesham bay which are both 5 miles away.

Travel:

Gatwick Airport is 60 miles and 20 miles from Portsmouth ferry port. Dover is 2 1/2 hours away. Cars are recommended but if you enjoy walking the bus stop is 10 minutes from us with buses every 15 minutes to Chichester and west wittering

Distances:

Chichester is 6 miles Birdham is a small village with a local store

Fishbourne Roman Palace & gardens

20 minutes away, Portsmouth with its historic dockyard.

Arundel with its castle and cathedral.

Weald & Downland open-air museum Singletion.

West Dean gardens

Further Details:

Pubs & restaurants nearby which we enjoy

The Boat house café, Chichester marina

The Lamb, Chichester road

Samphire Restaurant

Crab & Lobster Mill Lane Sidlesham W Sussex

The Ship Inn Itchenor W Sussex

Crouchers hotel & restaurant

Local places you can walk to:-

The Boathouse Bistro, Chichester Marina with outside seating overlooking the water.

In good daytime weather The Ship Inn Itchenor and The Crown & Anchor Dell Quay

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $333.11

Bank Holidays, Christmas & New Year - Special Rates Apply. Please email the owner for a quote.
All Goodwood Events a supplement is charged

Winter months LOGS (If used) We charge £20 - please ask the owner for a quoteor a weekend and £40 for a weekly stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties