check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Detached Bungalow In Large Lawned Garden With Old Orchard. Non-smoking Property

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Sutterton Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Bungalow in Sutterton, Nr. Boston, Lincolnshire, England - Peaceful Location On Quiet Lane Yet Close To Centre Of Village

Quiet location but close to centre of Sutterton village, between Boston and Spalding in south Lincolnshire. Large secluded garden. Wide range of amenities in village, including Anglican and Methodist churches. Good base for visits to market towns, stately homes, garden centres, RSPB sites, sea-side resorts such as Skegness and Hunstanton, and even 'Pick your Own' soft fruit when in season. Quiet country roads accessible for walks and cycle rides. Oil-fired central heating. Telephone (incoming calls only). Internet access.

  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Property Manager
Dr and Mrs J V Sharp
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2016
Call Manager

About Dr and Mrs J V Sharp

We live near Oxford, but have welcomed visitors to our holiday property in Sutterton for many years.

Dr and Mrs J V Sharp purchased this bungalow in 1980

Why Dr and Mrs J V Sharp chose Boston

I was brought up in the village, and many of our visitors tell us how much they also enjoy the wide open skies and landscapes of the flat Lincolnshire fenland farms. It's an ideal area for walking, cycling, bird watching, stately home visits or for garden enthusiasts.

It's in a peaceful and relaxing location, but a good base for expeditions exploring the local area.

What makes this bungalow unique

The large and secluded garden surrounding the property is always appreciated by our visitors.

I enjoy cooking, and the bungalow is well equipped with crockery and kitchen equipment, but there's also a wide choice of places to eat out either in the village or in the surrounding area if you don't feel like cooking!

Guestbook comments from the manager

This is our third visit here to this lovely clean bungalow with every comfort one could possibly want, and we do hope to come here again. (May 2012);

Great cottage, lovely to relax in. Plenty of walks and able to get out and about. (Oct. 2012).

Perfect location. Stunning gardens and wonderful homely bungalow (July 2013)

Perfect place for a quiet retreat and a good base for exploring the fascinating landscapes of the Fens and Wolds of Lincolnshire (Oct. 2013)
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1


based on 6 traveler reviews

Detached Bungalow In Large Lawned Garden With Old Orchard. Non-smoking Property
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 7 reviews

Very dilapidated - A disapointment

  • 1 of 5

The garden was very overgrown, trees and hedges are in dire need of attention, what was a nice orchard is now a rubbish tip.

The entrance door mat has not been moved for years the mat and pathway are covered in moss. The patio area also has moss, the patio furniture was very dirty and chair broken.

On entering the property there was a strong small of Mustiness and damp even-though the central heating was operating to warm the property ( I would suggest an Dehumidifier is essential to reduce dampness especially in the main bedroom)

The bowl in the kitchen was in a disgusting state being very stained, the small chopping board (plastic material) was scored with knife cuts a nice breeding ground for bacteria. The kitchen sink needed a good clean. The crockery was however clean. A welcome pack of biscuits with milk and sugar was provided.

The tooth mug (stainless steel) in the Bathroom had fungus growing in the bottom. The hand basin in the bathroom appears to be partially blocked as the water took forever to drain away, this needs urgent attention. The bathroom was otherwise clean & tidy.

The wardrobes in each bedroom smelt musty, coat-hangers of every description were strewn around the bottom of each wardrobe.

We were disappointed to find the property in such a poor condition and vacated the property 3 days early.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The comment about the very dilapidated condition of the bungalow is both unfair and totally at variance both with the report of the 'Visit England' inspector dated August 2016 and of comments made by many of our recent visitors. Mr and Mrs M, elderly visitors, returned for a second visit after an interval of around 10 years. Surprisingly, they complain that the trees and shrubs surrounding the extensive lawned area around the bungalow had grown substantially. Many of our other visitors have commented on the extra privacy afforded by the foliage. The orchard area, hidden behind a high fence and hedge, is treated as a wild life haven, although there is a wide cut grassed walkway all around it. Clearly Mr and Mrs M did not understand this, calling it a 'rubbish tip'. Visiting children enjoy playing in this 'secret garden' making dens etc. The property is unusual in that it has an extensive garden area as well as an old orchard for the exclusive enjoyment of our visitors. We did ring them as usual the evening they arrived, and made it very clear that they were to 'phone us immediately if they had any problems so we could do our best to remedy them. We do regret that there were some unusual cleanliness issues around the sink area. We would have sent our cleaner round straight away if we had known at the time. Our cleaner has now been reminded to take more care in the future about the items listed. We are sorry that they chose not to tell us, only complaining by letter once they had returned home. We are pleased that they did appreciate the tea tray with biscuits left out for them on arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely quiet property, an oasis of peace.

  • 5 of 5

Our second stay here, we love the peace and quiet after a hectic day out. Well equipped kitchen, comfy beds and nice attention to detail. Our dog loves the garden and i love the jigsaws that are available !

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to hear how much you had enjoyed your stay at Somercotes, and hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cosy bungalow

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cosy bungalow, situated in a nice quiet village. Has everything you could need for your stay. Clean & tidy. Welcome pack & small vase of flowers on arrival was a nice touch. We had a great meal at the Thatched Cottage & was well looked after by the staff. We would recommend the property to family or friends.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to hear how much these guests had enjoyed their stay at Somercotes, and also their meal out at the Thatched Cottage pub-restaurant a short walk from the bungalow.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous

  • 4 of 5

we had a lovely week at the cottage and our elderly dogs were really happy with the garden and orchard we rearranged bins and a garden chair to make it more dog proof the the bungalow was warm cosy and charming and big enough for us to entertain my cousin and his family when they visited a good place in a great area plenty to see and do a special fish and chip shop and super resturant/pub in walking distance unless you are geriatric like us

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted to hear how much these visitors had enjoyed their stay, and had been able to take advantage of the large garden, orchard, as well as the Thatched Cottage restaurant and the fish and chip shop a few hundred yards from Somercotes. .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

easter break

  • 4 of 5

had a fantastic easter break at this comfortable,well equiped bungalow which is ideally situated for sight seeing around lincolnshire,norfolk & cambridgshire.the owners were very helpful and made sure we settled in straightaway.there is a private drive & large garden ideal for relaxing & watching the wildlife.all in all a wonderful short break

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. We were delighted to hear how much you had enjoyed your stay at Somercotes.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable & Good Location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for 3 nights, the owners were very accommodating and allowed us to change our dates. We found the bungalow to be well equipped and comfortable, although a bit dated. The location was perfect for a visit to Boston, Spalding and Lincoln. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed your short break in Somercotes, and hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0



Skegness, traditional seaside resort with wide sandy beach. 29 miles, 46.7 km

Hunstanton, beach and Sealife Centre, 42.5 miles, 68.4 km


East Midlands Airport, 62.3 miles, 100.3 km

London (Heathrow) 124 miles, 199.6 km

Dover, 186 miles, 299.3 km

Harwich, 118 miles, 189.9 km

Use of car essential


Boston 7.6 miles, 12.2 km

Spalding, 9.1.miles, 14.6 km

Lincoln, 35.2 miles, 56.6 km

Stamford, 28.4 miles,45.7 km

Burghley House, Stamford, 29.8 miles, 48 km

Gibraltar Point RSPB site, Skegness 32.6 miles, 52.5 km

Frampton Marsh RSPB site, 6.7 miles, 10.8 km

Further Details:

Thatched Cottage Restaurant short walk from bungalow, pleasant venue for a drink or a meal without needing to drive.

Supermarkets in Boston (Tesco, Asda, Aldi), Spalding (Sainsburys, Morrisons, Aldi, Lidl), with a small Co-op supermarket in Kirton, the next village.

Traditional Lincolnshire butchers (Beesons) in centre of Kirton, sausages recommended, also Mountains at Abbey Park Farm Shop, East Heckington (A17) as well as in centre of Boston.

Outlet centre (Springfields) with Festival Gardens, in Spalding, bargains from high-street names.

RSPB reserves for bird watching at Gibraltar Point and at Freiston shore.

Boston Market (Wednesdays and Saturdays) well worth a visit, if only for 'people watching' at the open-air auction on Wednesdays.

Banks in Boston and in Spalding.

Good garden centres locally, particularly Baytree at Moulton near Spalding. Huge range of bedding plants at Glenside Nurseries, Pinchbeck (but restricted months of opening to public)


Rates & Availability

Sutterton Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Rate 5
Aug 20 2016 - Oct 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
Rate 6
Oct 22 2016 - Nov 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
Rate 7
Nov 5 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
Rate 8
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 6 2017
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Enquiries and bookings to owners, Dr & Mrs J Sharp, email or by telephone.
25% deposit, balance due 4 weeks before holiday.

Changeover Day:
Saturday change-over preferred, though this can be flexible. Short breaks possible particularly out of high season. Arrival time after 16.00 (4.00 p.m.), departure by 10.00 a.m. (Longer winter lets considered, price by negotiation.)

Notes on prices:
Short breaks possible, prices on application.
Winter lets possible, price by negotiation.
Well-behaved dogs welcome by arrangement (£10 per dog per week)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Sutterton Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Child's Highchair
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom with bath/shower over (grab rail fitted), handbasin, wc.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with 1 double bed, central heating radiator; Bedroom 2 with 2 twin beds, central heating radiator.
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • churches
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
Notes on accommodation: Well-behaved dogs welcome by prior arrangement (extra charge). Double glazing, cavity-wall insulation, oil-fired central heating with supplementary electric fires provided for the coldest winter weather. Outside: Lawned and secluded garden surrounds the bungalow. An old orchard extends the garden behind a high hedge and towards open farmland at the rear of the property. Total area 0.5 acres (2023m2) approximately. Garden bench on lawn, table and chairs on patio. Ample gravelled driveway parking for 3 cars. Utility Room: Oil-fired boiler, washing machine, folding airing racks, Belfast sink, vacuum cleaner, brushes, mops, bucket etc. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Property cleaned weekly, bed linen included but towels and tea towels provided for overseas visitors only. Other: Kitchen with breakfast table, sun lounge with dining table, coffee table + 2 easy chairs for a quiet read. French windows to patio with garden furniture. Pantry leads off kitchen, ample storage for visitors' food. Telephone (incoming calls only) WiFi.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties