Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Woodland Holiday Cottage, Close To St Ives, Indoor heated Swimming Pool

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Cottage in Lelant, St. Ives, Cornwall, England - Easy Access To St Ives By Car Or Bus, Onsite Facilities, Bar, Clubhouse, Games Room, Parking

Beech Cottage is situated at St Ives Holiday Village, in a quiet and safe wooded location. The cottage has been redecorated throughout, providing comfortable accommodation for a family or couple. There is plenty to do nearby with 100 acres of woodland to explore. The golden beaches of St Ives and Carbis Bay are a short drive away, and you can also visit lands End, the ancient mining areas of St Just and Pendeen and the market town of Penzance, from which you can take a day trip to the Isles of Scilly. There are excellent country pubs with walking distance serving great local food, and lots of beautiful countryside to explore, by foot, bike, car or bus. Within easy reach is the pretty little village of St Ives. You can spend the day on the sandy beach and by the picturesque harbour, or visit the world famous Tate Gallery.


Saint Ives Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Holiday Resort
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The are 2 small bedrooms, one a double and one a twin with 2'6" full length beds. There is plenty of storage in both bedrooms. Please note that the second bedroom will not fit a travel cot. Travel cots can be hired from reception. Both bedrooms have double glazing, and a new ventilation system for your comfort.
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes on accommodation: The rental price includes access to all the facilities of St Ives Holiday Village; the heated indoor swimming pool, clubhouse, children's play area, bar, family entertainment, Kids club, free wi fi in clubhouse. These facilities are available in season only, from 4 March - 31 October 2017. The cottage has 3 free standing electric heaters, for your comfort. Outside: Outside there is a small patio and garden area looking out onto a communal wooded garden area in a traffic free location. Free Heated Indoor Pool Free Water Flume Free Sauna Free Nightly Entertainment Free Quizzes and Disco Free Clubhouse Free Foxy Club Free Play Areas Free Putting Green Free WiFi internet access in the Club Area Cafe, Take-Away Food, Bar Meals Bar, Beer Garden Pool Tables Shop Amusements Launderette Free Parking During the Winter rental is for the cottage only. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen is included (in Season only; from 4 March 2017) Towel bales are available to hire from reception (in Season only; from 4 March 2017) Travel cots and high chairs are available to hire from reception (in Season only; from 4 March 2017)


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
53% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Woodland Holiday Cottage, Close To St Ives, Indoor heated Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.2 based on 15 reviews

Small cottage feel on large John fowler site

  • 4 of 5

A perfect choice for a small family to enjoy a week in cornwall. The cottage has everything you need but it would feel small for 4 adults. Kitchen is well equipped as you would hope.

There is no damp problem and I stayed in wet conditions.

Only negatives are that wifi is not existent in the cottage. You can go to the club house to access there wifi but I had little success in getting anything to work. Also note 3G is minimal in the area on most networks.. lastly the mattresses are all rubber coated which some people will find difficult to sleep on.

But overall a nice place in pretty woodland surroundings with good road connections for seeing the area.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location, great cottage.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely cottage, great location. Everything you want for a peaceful holiday.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dirty and damp. Go elsewhere!

  • 1 of 5

We were so disappointed when we saw the chalet. The place needs a deep clean & has a damp problem.

We had to clean when we arrived as it was dirty. I have photo proof of the dirt on cloths/wipes we used. We didn't bother asking the cleaners to re clean, as they obviously don't clean to a proper standard.

We reported the damp problem to reception & were told that the chalets are prone to damp, due to the woodland setting & were given a dehumidifier to use. We emptied this 5 times in the 5 days we stayed there (we left 2 days early as we felt ill from it). The chalet has a new dehumidification system in, but it doesn't stop it fully or remove the constant damp smell. We wouldn't have needed the extra dehumidifier if that was the case.

The owner denied any evidence of damp and blamed the Autumnal woodland for the smell, but we are very aware of what a wet woodland smells like & the smell of damp is very recognisable to anyone. We opened windows for ventilation, used heaters & the dehumidifier every time we were in & had to use scented candles & febreeze to try to mask the smell. This helped dry things out slightly & at least we didn't have to get into a damp bed, like we did on the first night.

We took our own bedding thankfully, as the bedding was damp on the first night & the pillows are flat. The quilt had sweat stains along the edge so we bought our own quilt to use.

Only 1 of the 3 heaters worked so reception gave us another.

I know this was budget accommodation & in no way were we expecting luxury, but I don't think it's too much to ask for somewhere dry & clean. I've since read reviews of the site on Trip Adviser & see many others felt the same.

The owner has told me that this chalet is classed as silver, not budget bronze, so I dread to think what bronze is like. After we left the owner said the place was clean&tidy. That's because we left it clean&tidy!

The only good things about the chalet are the shower, which is hot & a good pressure (The shower screen leaks though & leaves a puddle on the wood floor by the toilet) & the tv works well. We had to wash up some of the crockery and cookware as it was dirty.

If you need phone signal and wifi, then go elsewhere, as I barely had even one bar of signal (i'm on EE) and the free wifi in the main building doesn't reach the chalets.

Sadly, the owner wasn't remotely sorry & insinuates that we are lying.

If you want somewhere nice, go elsewhere as it ruined our holiday.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very surprised by the comments, as we had only checked the cottage the week before, and we checked it again after these guests had left. When the guests arrived they felt that the cleaners may have missed some small areas eg the inside of the oven. They informed reception, as we advised, and the staff would have immediately come and rectified the issue. However the guests didn’t let them in to the cottage to do that. The reception at St Ives Holiday village are very helpful and would always provide extra or replacement heaters if needed, and address any cleaning issues. I can honestly say that there is not a damp problem in the cottage; the guests may have talked to other guests at the park who were staying in wooden chalets, who may have had issues, but our cottage is a granite built bungalow, and we have recently installed a dehumidification and air purifying system in the bedrooms and living area. This works very efficiently, so long as it is switched on, and we asked reception to check that this was so on this visit. When the guests arrived it was raining (although we are glad that they got some sunshine later in the week!) and it is the actual woodland which is adjacent to the cottage which, like all woodland in Autumn) has a not unpleasant smell of wet leaves. And when the cottage doors and windows are open, this is what you can smell. Most guests understand that in a rural woodland location this is the usual aroma and find it a nice change from city smells. Our bungalow is classified by St Ives Holiday Village as Silver Bungalow, and they would not allow a cottage which had a damp problem to be categorized as such. There is free WiFi at the main building, the reception and bar, which has a very good reception. We feel that the issues mentioned were duly rectified, and the guest was helped by reception, the cleaners and myself in an efficient and timely manner. We pride ourselves in giving great customer services and making sure that the accommodation is cleaned to a very high standard.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great family holiday

  • 4 of 5

The property is a perfect size for a holiday for a family of 3 or 4. There is a choice of quiet holiday or joining in the fun of the entertainment on site.

The cottage has a well stocked kitchen and a nice outdoor space.

The onsite entertainment is cheesy but fun and there is a bus every hour into St. Ives and back daily if that is your preference. The swimming pool is clean and never too busy. The activities such as kayaking in the pool are fun and easy to book.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Summer holiday with a couple of friends

  • 4 of 5

The property was nice and clean with all facilities that you require during your holiday. The only shortage within the property description was no annotation to the size of the holiday park (over 300 cottages). The holiday park consists of a heated swimming pool and a night entertainment for adults (nice variety of shows / bar).

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely and clean

  • 5 of 5

Very homely and very clean. Very comfortable beds and lovely bright decoration. Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


M Edwards
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, italian
Calendar last updated:
February 8, 2018

About M Edwards

We live in this beautiful area of Cornwall, and Beech Cottage is our holiday rental home.

M Edwards purchased this cottage in 2012

Why M Edwards chose Saint Ives

We bought the cottage in 2012, and carried out refurbishments in 2013, completely redecorating and installing a new bathroom. We continue to maintain the cottage every Winter. We hope you enjoy staying in the cottage and visiting the area. Just ask if there's anything you'd like to know.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage benefits from being very close to St Ives, and all the amenities and wonderful scenary it has to offer, but by staying out of the town you will avoid problems with parking and also benefit from the fantastic facilities of St Ives Holiday Village. The indoor heated swimming pool is something that you would not find in a cottage in St Ives town centre!


Car: recommended


Carbis Bay beach: 2 miles

St Ives: 5 miles

Both Carbis Bay and St Ives boast beautiful golden sandy beaches, and there are many more along the coast.


Nearest Travel Links

Airport: Newquay Airport: 62km

Train: St Erth: 1.5km

Road: A30

The nearest train stations to St Ives Holiday Village are St Erth or Lelant Saltings, both of which are 1.5 miles away. The location is a 5 minute drive from the main A30 road.

Budget airlines fly to Newquay airport from all over the UK. Newquay airport is 40 miles away (1 hour).


Lelant: 1 mile

Carbis bay: 2 miles

St Ives: 5 miles

Further Details:

St Ives Bay stretches from Godrevy Point in the East to St Ives Head and Clodgy Point in the West, encompassing a vast stretch of golden sand.

The stunning town of St Ives is within easy reach of St Ives Holiday Village. It is a 3 mile drive, and there is also a regular bus from the holiday park in Summer, which is handy as parking in St Ives can be limited. You can spend the day on one of the fantastic beaches or by the picturesque harbour, or visit the world famous Tate Gallery, the Barbara Hepworth Museum, or the Bernard Leach Pottery.

St Ives, well known for its clarity of atmosphere and light, has been attracting artists since the mid 1800s with marine artist Henry Moore, and since then the town has become a magnet for some of the world's greatest painters, sculptors and ceramists.

Explore the many gift shops, galleries, ancient pubs, and great restaurants located throughout the tiny cobbled streets and between pretty whitewashed fisherman's cottages.

Visit one of the many art galleries or museums dotted around Cornwall and take a treasure home with you to remember your holiday forever, or visit Sennen Jewellery to order Celtic silver jewellery and jewellery made from Cornish shipwreck tin and recycled Cornish bronze.

Explore the picturesque fishing villages in West Cornwall and take a moment to sit in a café, indulge in a Cornish cream tea and watch the world go by.

Hayle Towans and Carbis Bay, are also close, both of which are lovely beaches of golden sand with great surf. You can also explore the coast to find more of the hidden coves which are scattered around the area.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $69.55

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday and there is a minimum 7 night stay period. You may stay for less than 7 nights but the full weekly rate is still payable.
Please note that the Holiday Park facilities, including the swimming pool, cafe, kids club, bar. clubhouse etc. are NOT open during the Winter months (November-March).
In this period rental is for the accomodation only. Linen is included but not towels.

Facilities are open March 4th 2017-October 28 2017.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties