Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Idyllic Country Villa With Large Private Pool & Tennis Court, Sleep Up To 20 - Sant' Annina - whole villa - sleeps 20

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 10
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Description

Sant' Annina - whole villa - sleeps 20

The whole villa can accommodate 20 people. Perfect for family house parties or groups of friends.

Please see detailed descriptions under the seperate units 2, 3 and 4.


About the property

IT11464

'A gorgeous villa...Villa Sant'Annina is a magnificent restored country house set in wonderful rustic grounds with panoramic views' The Italian Magazine.

The property is set amongst olive, fig and other fruit trees and has a lovely big kidney shaped swimming pool, next to which is a full sized tennis court. Cisternino is five minutes by car, Ostuni, Martina Franca and Locorotondo around 15 minutes - all with their unique ancient centres/markets and a fabulous choice of food, restaurants and bars. The whole region is widely considered to be the most beautiful and unspoilt in Puglia. You are only 15-20 minutes by car from excellent sandy beaches.

The grounds are bound by natural stone walls and at the far end of the land there is a lovely view down to the sea. The Villa splits into four private wings sleeping 4, 4, 4 and 8 or can be rented as a whole.

More Details

Owner
Philip Marvin
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Philip Marvin

We took over Sant' Annina on July 8th 2013.

It is set in a magical area with a beautiful drive down narrow lanes for about a mile before you arrive. It is private but not isolated with a couple of neighbours nearby. It is brilliantly positioned for the coast/beaches, two international airports and four beautiful old towns, all within easy reach. The wonderful local produce sold in vibrant, colourful local markets is a particular highlight. The villa is a relatively modern building which dwarfs the old lamia and trullo buildings. In the winter of 2013 we refined and expanded what was there - creating a proper tennis court and a new apartment which incorporated the garage, older lamia and trullo.

We hope to offer retreats and art courses of various kinds in the future.

Philip Marvin purchased this villa in 2013

What makes this villa unique

Peace and quiet and SO MUCH space!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We travelled to Puglia as 13 cousins (ages 14 through 58) rediscovering the land of our grandparents, and Sant' Annina was a great choice as our home base. We had all three units in the main house (Melograno, Limone & Mandarino), and the amenities were spacious enough that we had no problem sharing the pool, tennis court and grounds with another family staying in the trullo/lamia at the same time. The upstairs units are smaller but were perfectly adequate, especially since we also had the spacious ground floor, where we did all our gathering, cooking and eating. The pool was delightful, and hiking the grounds to the spectacular view at the edge of the Murgia was a plus, as were the plentiful fresh figs, pears and walnuts picked from the trees on the grounds. We found the rooms and grounds clean and well-kept. Visitors from America might not be prepared for the lack of AC or bug screens, but that appears to be how things are done here, and really was no problem - even on the hottest days (upper 90s), the area cools off wonderfully in the evening, so sleeping weather was delightful. The only real drawback was that the villa is a fair distance outside of Cisternino and there is little besides other villas and farms in between, so you don't have the convenience of casually walking into town for shopping, etc. (we tried the walk once, and it was long and hot).

We had a great stay, and would recommend it especially for large groups looking to tour around wonderful Puglia.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 3

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Booking Notes:
Please contact owners to confirm availability as the property is advertised elsewhere. A returnable security deposit is also required. No smoking within the property is allowed at any time.

Changeover Day:
Normally Saturday, but flexible for longer stays and/or off season.

Notes on prices:
Discounts available where two or more units taken together outside July/August.

Any card charges will be added to the rental fee.


Amenities

Cisternino Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 6:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet , An ensuite bathroom in Melograno.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , A large family sized bathroom in Melograno.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , bidet , outdoor shower , A large family sized bathroom in Mirtillo.
    Toilet 1 - toilet , An extra seperate toilet in Melograno.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The villa and rugged grounds are extensive. The property is wonderful for families holidaying together but works equally well for smaller parties wanting some privacy. Villa Sant' Annina provides simple, cool interiors ideal for summer living. Bath towels and linens are all provided. Beach towels can be provided on request. There are two washing machines for communal use in a small wash house. This is available for use between 9 and 11.30am each day. Outside: The rustic grounds extend to 9000 sq.m. of olive, fig, almond and fruit trees (you are welcome to help yourself!). There are plenty of lovely places to sit outside, around the pool beneath a shaded gazebo and on the private terraces and roof terrace. The rugged grounds are very typical of the area (don't expect Kew Gardens!) and offer a wonderful selection of citrus, olive, almond and soft fruit trees. The terrain is great for walking around, sitting in the shade and for children to explore (sturdy shoes recommended). There are spectacular views to the sea from the far boundary wall which is bounded by a forest. The grounds, pool and tennis court are for the exclusive use of our guests. The beautiful pool is perfect for children and adults with shallow and deep ends (please ensure that children are supervised at all times). A barbecue, tables and chairs are provided for al fresco dining.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Sant' Annina - whole villa - sleeps 20
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
2

Fantastic house but terrible communication with Owner

  • 2 of 5

This was my first time ever using Home Away and after this experience I will never use it again. While the house is exactly as stated in the pictures (even bigger actually, there is tons of space) I was completely put off by the terrible communication with the owner and the millions of rules the property has. I emailed the owner 3 times without a single response, simply asking for the directions to the property because we were a large group of people flying in from different countries and needed to coordinate how we were all getting there. As I did not get a response for weeks and the stay was starting shortly thereafter, I called HomeAway who had the owner finally email me. He responds saying that he was pretty sure that he sent it, to check the spam and if not he can resend as he is traveling at the moment. I responded saying that I did not receive the email and had checked my spam to please resend. Days go by and nothing. I had to call HomeAway AGAIN to have them get in touch with the owner and have them send the directions. He finally sends it arrogantly saying, "Here we are again!" 6 days before my arrival date - no apology or anything. The stress and annoyance of having to deal with this situation made me regret choosing this location, there are plenty of other options that would have been suitable.

When we finally arrived to the house (there were no GPS coordinates or real address, a series of pictures and written directions that were confusing) we found the keys easily and the house was great. The pool is bigger than in the pictures but the tennis court smaller. The check-in and check-out policy (6pm check in and 10am SHARP checkout or you are fined) was over the top. The other rules like if you move the furniture and dont place it in its exact location you will be charged, if you place kitchen utensils in a different room then they assume it was broken and charge you for the item and a variety of other rules, made it so that our time was not as relaxing and enjoyable as it should have been for the amount of money spent for the vacation rental. Small things like not having soap in the bathrooms, no garbage bags and strong restrictions on water (with a limited water heater) made it just more annoying than we would have all liked when on vacation to a new place.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed the house and pool, however, it is SUCH a shame none of the other concerns were voiced at the time, this is why we provide two home phone numbers to avoid any such misunderstandings. *The 15 page Information Pack was sent three times; in which there are full instructions, with photographs, on how to find the house, we have only received compliments thus far. * It is a full-sized tennis court. * Check-in and check-out times for a whole-house booking are given to allow the cleaners time to prepare the house for the next guests - not unreasonable surely? As is the request to return furniture and utensils to their original apartment, not room! * "a limited water heater"? We have two boilers and solar panels up on the roof, that provide ample hot water 24/7. We do emphasise that it is a self-catering property, but it is a shame that there should have been such unnecessary distress, and for that we are sorry. Philip and Suzie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfection in Puglia

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful place. A beautiful, spotlessly clean and very comfortable house, surrounded by olive trees and the occasional cactus, Sant Annina is a perfect base for exploring a fascinating area. If you’ve never been to this part of Italy, go now, before everyone else discovers it. Cisternino, just a few minutes away, is one of a series of mediaeval, hilltop villages, all within a half hour drive (depending a bit on your sat nav – ours was inclined to persuade us to take short cuts which usually came to a dead end at the entrance to a field). Alberoberro, an entire village of Trulli, the conical igloo-like dry-stone houses seen only in this part of Puglia, is a must – combine this with the caves nearby for a marvelous day out. Then come home and have a swim in the pool before supper. You can certainly cook if you want to, the kitchen is very well-equipped, but Cisternino is full of small friendly restaurants and cafes. And we were on holiday.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning location for a stress free holiday.

  • 5 of 5

Very considerate landlords who ensured that all our needs were met. The downstairs flat was spacious and airy. The property was clean , well stocked with all essentials and very comfortable. We were there early in Spring and so only looked at the inviting pool . We will be back when the weather is warmer. Even in April we were able to enjoy sunny breakfasts out on the secluded terrace .

Lots to see within an easy car drive.There are many interesting towns to wander around and plenty of delicious restaurants to chose from . Old town Bari is well worth a visit.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very happy to welcome you to our lovely 'piece of paradise' and will be delighted to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spacious, comfortable and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

I booked the whole of Villa Sant'Annina as the venue for a residential music course. The house was perfect for the event - spacious and comfortable, with superb indoor and outdoor spaces for performing and rehearsing. Everyone enjoyed the peaceful environment and the wonderful acoustics, especially in the old stone trullo apartment, Mirtillo. The villa was a wonderful setting for our music making, and I would use the venue again.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Staying at Mirtillo

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic holiday in Puglia and Mirtillo was a very well appointed apartment with a beautiful conversion / integration with the Trullo. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the region close by - fantastic beaches especially at Torre Guaceto, great seafood and beautiful off road walks right from the the villa's gate.

There were two factors which meant the apartment did not match the explanation on line:

1. There were problems with the swimming pool - it gave children skin rashes (not just ours but other children staying in the villa). The balance was wrong and had been wrong for at least 3 weeks but the time of our departure. The owner seemed quite slow to take action and in any case he was based in the UK. We expected a much faster resolution of this problem.

2. The internet connection is very poor - too poor to function adequately and so if you want a good internet connection on your holiday this is not the place for you.

Otherwise, we had a great time. The area around Mirtillo is very rough and the whole plot would benefit from investment in planting, gardening and landscaping. It would not be suitable for anyone with trouble walking.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There was a temporary problem with the chemical balance of the swimming pool. It is not true that we were slow to respond. The issue proved more complex than is normal and we did everything we could to resolve the problem. The water is being completely replaced for the new season. The internet connection is variable in that part of Italy - some days it is fine, some days it is not. There are internet cafes five minutes away as back up. The grounds are lovely and yes untamed. That is the whole point and their very appeal. Not suitable for the elderly or infirm but perfectly walkable for anyone else.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Toller Urlaub in tollem Haus !!!

  • 5 of 5

Wir haben 10 Tage zu dritt als Familie in der Villa Santa Aninna verbracht und haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Das Haus liegt bisschen außerhalb zwischen hunderten von Olivenbäumen,der Ausblick von der Sonnenterasse ist Wahnsinn!!

Der Pool liegt direkt am Haus ,ist groß und erfrischend. Wir hatten die Wohnung Limone gebucht,welche sauber und ordentlich war.Zwar nicht auf dem allermodernsten Stand ,aber trotzdem schön.

Die Vermieter Philip Marvin und Suzie waren zauberhaft,höflich und absolut liebenswert !!!!!! Sie hatten auch viele Tipps bezüglich der Umgebung und Restaurants für uns.

Wir können die Villa Santa Aninna empfehlen !

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: "Great holiday in a great house! We spent 10 days a third as a family in the Villa Santa Aninna and felt very comfortable. The house is a bit outside between hundreds of olive trees, the view from the sun terrace is madness !! The pool is directly at the house, is large and refreshing. We had booked the apartment Limone, which was clean and tidy. It was not on the most modern stand, but still nice. The landlords Philip Marvin and Suzie were magical, polite and absolutely lovely !!!!!! They also had lots of tips on the area and restaurants for us. We can recommend Villa Santa Aninna!" (Google translate) Thank you Susi, you were all delightful company! Please come and visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Special interest holidays:

We will be running a 'Shakespeare in Italy' week in 2016 ( July - fully booked). Please contact us for future details

Coast/Beach:

The nearest beach is a beautiful 15 minute drive. This is the best family beach in the area, with water sports, fabulous beach restaurant, bar, sunbeds etc. The Puglian coastline offers some 500 miles of white sandy beaches. Whilst the local beach is our family favourite, there are beaches for every taste from tiny rugged coves to beautiful white sandy nature reserves.

Travel:

Ryanair, Easyjet, Alitalia and British Airways fly to Bari or Brindisi airports. Brindisi is our favourite (Ryanair or Alitalia from Stansted or Heathrow) and is about 55 minutes away by car. There is also a port at Brindisi offering ferries to Greece. Bari airport is about 65 minutes away.

Distances:

Villa Sant'Annina is wonderfully positioned to explore the whole region. It is a 5 mins drive to the beautiful old city of Cisternino with its lovely old cobbled streets, fantastic restaurants and bars and huge market. It is also a short drive to Ostuni, Martina Franca, Locorotondo and Alberobello (world heritage site/trulliland). The ancient site of Egnazia to the north is an easy drive and a must see stopping off at the port of Savelletri - great for buying fresh fish.

Further Details:

Activities locally available include: Fasanoland - a fantastic safari/theme park for kids, sea/ocean, watersports, tennis, Castellano caves (amazing), many wonderful towns to explore. We provide a detailed information pack for guests covering all aspects of the region. There is a huge 24 hour Conforama supermarket only 20 minutes away.

The swimming pool is normally open late April til mid October, but exact dates depend on weather.

Photos