Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Luxurious Cottage Nestled in the Idyllic Pembrokeshire Coast National Park

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxurious Detached Cottage In the woods...wake up to birds singing and soothing noise of the stream.

Originally built in 1840, Syke Mill has been converted from a pair of quarrymen's cottages on the banks of a woodland stream to a boutique holiday home. The cottage was completely rebuilt to a high standard and offers a cosy and homely accommodation. The ground floor has unrestricted access on one level, with further accommodation upstairs. The spacious open-plan living room is furnished in a contemporary style and it has a log burner. A large patio door open out onto the terrace, the ancient woodland and the bubbling stream. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. Downstairs the floors are covered throughout with travertine tiles.

The cottage is located within the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park and it's location makes perfect for walking the coastal path, right from our door step. The cottage comes with half an acre of outdoor space, to include a garden at the rear, it offers a great outdoor environment for children and for your family dog to play and explore. With unspoilt beaches and picturesque fishing villages, country pubs and a wide range of leisure facilities within easy reach. The cottage is perfect for couples, family and friends. The large detached cottage's luxurious finish and it's location makes it UNIQUE. It's truely a great place to relax and to enjoy life's little pleasures.

Don't take my word for it...try it!

More Details

Owner
Maison & Vacances Let
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, Welsh
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2017

About Maison & Vacances Let

Syke Mill or Melin (in Welsh) was derelict until 2012. The property comes with just under half of an acre of woodland.

I fell in love with Syke Mill the moment I saw it, a "hidden gem" right in the woods with diverse bird species, trees and a woodland stream. Syke Mill allows children to be children, to explore in a safe environment, to learn to keep themselves safe and develop outdoor skills. The cottage's location makes it ideal for exploring Pembrokeshire Coat National Park.

The property is in an ideal spot for Walking, Bird Watching, Surfing, Cycling or to unwind by the fire with a glass of wine. Perfect for family, friends and couples.

One of my favourite time of the year is winter, after a walk in the woodland or on the beach I look forward to a bubble bath and to relax by the fire with a glass of wine.

My children loves climbing trees, explore the woods and swing from the rope attached to a large tree. They also like to build dens.

We have recently rescued a puppy called Sonnet, she is a beautiful and loves the outdoor space.

Outdoor play keeps the doctor away!

Maison & Vacances Let purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Maison & Vacances Let chose St. Brides Bay. St Davids & The West Coast

Syke Mill is the perfect base for beach, walkers, bird lovers, surfers, cyclists and those who wish to be away from it all. Homely settings where you can chill by the fire, enjoy your favourite drink, a book or board games.

Please contact us for a list of our favourite, hidden...secret beaches...places to visit. We do have a list of walks ideal for wheelchair users.

What makes this cottage unique

Syke Mill is haven from everyday distractions of modern life. Relax and appreciate the beautiful and exclusive ancient woodland setting in luxury and comfort.

Explore the Pembrokershire Coast National Park Trail from our door step.

Amenities

Haverfordwest Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , Located on the ground floor near to the bedroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet , First floor, ensuite to the twin bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , bidet , First floor, an ensuite to the master bedroom/a king bed
  • The Master Ensuite bathroom has a deep and luxurious bath, with water fall taps. The twin bedroom has an ensuite wet room. Downstairs bedroom has a spacious wetroom with a large shower head with multiple settings and powerful, washbasin and wc. Tiled throughout with travertine tiles.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Notes on bedrooms: Ground floor (bedroom 1) with a double bed and adjacent wetroom. First floor (bedroom 2) twin beds with an ensuite shower room. Bedroom 3 with a king bed and an ensuite bathroom. Space for an additional cot. All the beds have a memory form top layer for a truly luxurious sleep.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 bicycles
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Penelope Keith's Hidden Villages. Channel 4 October 2016. Penelope crosses the stunning coastline of Pembrokeshire visiting communities, tea rooms, and a venue of the World Series of cliff diving. Rough Guide votes Wales best place to visit in 2014. ITV1. Episode 3. Pembrokeshire. A Great Welsh Adventure with Griff Rhys Jones. “I’m setting out on a personal odyssey, you see I was born in Wales but brought up in Essex and now I’m coming back. I want to get to grips with a wonderful country – Wales. The mill was beautiful, it was exactly what we were looking for. We were welcomed by John who gave us the keys and showed us round. There was also a welcome of tea, coffee and Welsh cakes which was marvellous. The house itself is spectacularly well appointed and I was highly impressed with the finishing touches. Kerri. Sept.2014

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

A Luxurious Cottage Nestled in the Idyllic Pembrokeshire Coast National Park
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
5

a relaxing private getaway

  • 5 of 5

Syke mill is a beautiful well furnished and equipped cottage, It is fantastically secluded and private, yet only a short drive to Haverford west, Milford Haven and some beautiful beaches.

The owners John and Hafida were most helpful and always prompt with communication via email.

Lots of fun to be had even in the rain, and it rained a lot.

Its well worth a visit and highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for leaving my home in a prestine condition. I'm trilled that you have enjoyed the cottage's home comfort and it's beautiful surroundings. We are looking forward to getting Syke Mill rated and to be granted a five star rating. We hope to welcome you, your family and friends soon. Kind regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Home from home!

  • 5 of 5

A great time had by every one of us. The cottage did exactly what we expected it to... peace and quiet, everything to make our stay comfortable. Great location for tripping out, small towns, beaches, anything that we required. Even the dog was happy! Beautiful beach at broad haven and the restaurants in little haven a must visit. Would recommend to anyone...

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sheila, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind words. I'm thrilled that you've all enjoyed your stay in our hidden gem. It gives me a great pleasure when our guests appreciate the high standard of finish and the home comfort that we offer. Yes, we are lucky to have fantastic pubs and a amazing great outdoor suitable for all family members, including family dog. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A little gem!!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this cottage and the location!

Hidden away in a quiet wooded area. Unimpressive from the outside but a pleasant surprise when you go inside. Lovely and cosy with modern finishes!

The bath with the waterfall tap was my favourite and just added to the experience.

Beds very comfortable! The seperate room with the washing machine and tumble dryer was very handy.

Great beaches and lovely coastal villages within reach.

Can definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Yolande, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I can't tell you how important it is for us that our guests have a fab time staying at the cottage. Thank you for your trust and for booking your stay almost a year in advance. Yes, the house was described by another guest as a 'tardis' We work really hard to offer our guests a good value for money stay combined with a bit of luxury and little extras. We are planning on getting our cottage rated next year and we are working towards a 5* accolade. In the spring, we have layed the half acre of garden in three different areas accessible by a set of stairs made of an old railway sleepers. By next spring, we are planning to build another decked area at the top of the bank to give us a fantastic view of the woodland and allow our guests to get very close to nature while enjoying a glass of wine. I look forward to welcoming you and your family at Syke Mill in the near future. Kind regards, Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Very Disappointed !!!!

  • 3 of 5

The cottage is quite nice, bathroom lovely, bed really comfortable good quality mattresses and bed linen. Sofa really uncomfortable and there was a strong musty damp smell in the lounge area.There is a small decked area outside The half acre of land is actually a piece of what I would call waste land full of weeds and overgrown grass. It slopes steeply towards the cottage with a 4ft wall at the bottom. The location of the cottage is very secluded and you need a car to get to beach, pubs or shops which should have been stated by owner John rather than telling me on three occasions that the pubs and beach were in easy walking distance in fact he told me it was a 15 min walk!!. My husband, dog and I tried this on our first day only to find after 45 mins of walking along narrow mostly uphill lanes dicing with death every time a tractor or car came speeding past us that we still had 2 miles to go to get to the beach. We had no choice but to turn back to the cottage and sit there miserable all day on the uncomfortable musty sofa. I am a 54 year old woman with arthritis in both knees there is no way I can do that kind of walk so I was literally trapped in the cottage all weekend. My husband could see how disappointed I was so the next day he said he would take the car down to the beach even though he did not want to drive because he likes to have a drink while on holiday. Any way we set off and when we got closer to the beach we noticed everyone was leaving there cars and walking down a very steep lane to get to the beach, there was no way in this world I could get down there because of my knees, so once again we had to turn back to the cottage. The next morning we were trying to give our dog some exercise in the "garden" with a ball when she tried to jump off the wall and injured her back leg that just about topped it off so we decided to go home a day early. We packed up and did the list of jobs that John sends you via a email that you must do such has strip the bed and wipe down all the surfaces and fridge and cooker. I suppose its saves on hiring a cleaner. We was also told that we had stated that there was only 2 adults and a dog coming so if anyone else came we would be charged and the money kept out of the deposit even though we paid the same amount as if 6 adults were staying. John totally misled just to get a booking. He should state that it is not suitable for anyone with walking problems, I would never have booked it if he had been honest.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sad to read that you were so disappointed with your weekend stay at Syke Mill, we went out of our way to answer all the questions that you asked prior to arriving and we provided a list of our favourite pubs, fish and chip shops and beaches. We had arranged for someone to meet and greet you at the property due to a last-minute booking. This is something that we don’t normally do as our guests often prefer to collect the key from the safe box. We left a map of directions to Little Haven and Broad Haven at the cottage as per your request but we are sorry to hear that you could not find your way there (it does sound as though you went to a different beach, both Broad Haven and Little Haven beaches are next to the road). We have exchanged numerous emails and at no point did you mention that you had mobility or any other health issues. Our cottage is suitable for wheelchair users but would not advise taking a cross country trek. If half an acre of land within a large and ancient woodland is not spacious enough for a dog walk then I’m not sure what else we could have provided. We strongly believe that your harsh review is based on the fact that you had two full days of constant rain, this was beyond our control. I’m afraid Wales can be a wet place sometimes. As far as the instructions regarding stripping the beds, etc are concerned, this is something that we have been asked to provide. We feel that it may have been better for you to have chosen B&B or hotel accommodation. It does make me wonder why you would have chosen a substantial, detached three-bed, self-catering traditional Welsh cottage in a semi-rural location for two adults and a dog. Regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
5

Quiet place, perfectly equipped, centrally located

  • 5 of 5

Syke mill is a quiet, hidden place ideally suited for a relaxing holiday. The old building was perfectly renovated, the entire interior meets highest quality requirements. We enjoyed one week in this nice cottage, woke up with the birds singing, explored the wonderful Pembrokeshire coast and enjoyed the evening at the wood stove. Many nice places of the Nationalpark are only a short distance away, the Green Bridge and the coastline around was our highlight. The owners Hafida and John provide an excellent service, we got all relevant information upfront.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay at our hidden gem and many of the attractions available in the heart of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Splendidly equipped, peaceful remote location

  • 5 of 5

A lovely cottage, equipped and furnished to a very high standard. The washing machine better than we have at home which is very welcome with beach obsessed children! 'Waterfall taps' in the bath were a big hit. Very comfortable bedrooms.

Beautifully remote location down a tunnel of trees and next to a stream. Refreshingly remote from the outside world - no wi fi, landline and mobile only on certain networks (Vodafone works). Enjoy the peace :)

Broad and Little Haven are very easily accessible, and the gorgeous Barafundle Bay is not too far - we visited twice. There are walks in the woodland around the cottage if you prefer to stay close to home. Blue Lagoon swimming pool is an easy alternative to the beach if it pours down as it did on one or two of our days!

John and Hafida were very helpful and pleasant in arranging our stay.

Generally highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Clare and Family, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you have had a fab time and you enjoyed Syke Mill's comfort. I would recommend Blue Lagoon in Abereiddy, used to be a quarry and it's a super place to dive off the rocks, to enjoy a swim or Coasteering. I recently enjoyed a dive off the rocks...it was amazing and so easy to get to from our cottage. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Swan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Swan Inn
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Little Haven
Car: recommended

Penelope Keith's Hidden Villages. Channel 4 (Wednesday 12th October 2016)

"Penelope crosses the stunning coastline of Pembrokeshire visiting communities, tea rooms, and a venue of the World Series of cliff diving...."

Let Syke Mill be your haven from everyday distractions of modern life, relax and appreciate the beautiful, exclusive ancient woodland setting in luxury and comfort.

***NEW FOR 2017...HOT TUB FOR AN EVEN MORE LUXURIOUS AND RELAXING BREAK****

Coast/Beach:

We are steps away from lake and short distance from various beaches.

Further Details:

We welcome our guests with Tea, Hot Chocolate, Roasted Coffee Beans for your first hot drink.

We would like to share the good news for 2016:

1) Our cottage will have WiFi up and running from 21st January 2016.

2) We have a two people Yurt that can be errected on the cottage private grounds available for hire, when booking the cottage itself. It's perfect for inviting extra friends and family members to share the fun while on holiday. Please contact us for more details

Photos

Rates & Availability

Haverfordwest Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Easter/May Bank Holiday
Apr 25 2017 - Apr 27 2017
Changeover Day: Tuesday
3 night minimum stay
$383
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
 
May Deal
May 1 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$141
$626
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer Deal
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$141
$824
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
 
Off Peak Summer Deal
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$767
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Holiday Break
Jul 15 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,329
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $13 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Rate
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 7 2017
4 night minimum stay
$158
$824
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn Rate
Oct 8 2017 - Oct 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $13 per night, per additional guest
 
Half-Term Break
Oct 21 2017 - Nov 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$158
$697
 
 
Pre-Christmas Rate
Nov 4 2017 - Dec 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
$569
 
 
Christmas Break
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$185
$895
 
 
New Year Celebration
Dec 30 2017 - Jan 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$185
$895
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$115
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $13 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Cleaning $63.91

A refundable Damage/Breakage deposit payment of £200 will be requested six weeks prior to your stay.

Best Rates:
Please contact us for our best rates. We offer a rate for a small group, couples and weekend rates throughout the year.

Changeover Day:
Saturday changeover is preferred, but we can be flexible. Usual arrival time is 4.00pm and usual departure time 10.00am to allow us time to prepare the cottage. Other times can be negotiated by prior arrangement when possible.

Notes on prices:
Choose Syke Mill for the perfect place to start your adventures on the beautiful Pembrokeshire Coast National Park with family, friends and a small dog. We do not charge for one family dog. We do not charge for infant.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties