Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bungalow With Spectacular Sea Views, Surrounded By A Garden With Seating Areas

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Bungalow in Whitsand Bay, Millbrook, Cornwall, England - In A Unique Position On The Cliff, 5 Minutes From Beach Where Dogs Are Allowed All Year Round

Seascape is a detached, fully insulated and double glazed bungalow. It is suitable for both summer and winter holidays, including Christmas. High on the cliff, it is only about 30 metres from the road. Free parking is available just a 3 minute walk away in Freathy Fields. Rebuilt in 1981, it has recently been modernised. It is well-equipped and has some interesting and attractive features making it feel like a real 'home from home'. An enclosed, mainly lawned garden surrounds the property and affords a choice of paved seating areas, making it ideal for relaxing whilst taking in the panoramic sea and coastal views towards the ancient fishing port of Looe in the west, and the Rame Peninsula in the east. Spectacular sunsets are also to be enjoyed. The garden gate opens onto a path down to the beach, which is just 5 minutes walk away. Inside, a stable door opens into hallway. There are 2 bedrooms, a lounge/dining room, a separate kitchen and a shower room with WC.


Owner
Jill Terry
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

"The view is indescribable."

"The view is unbeatable."

"Couldn't ask for a better location."

"The chalet is so welcoming and well-equipped, everything has been thought of, and very comfortable too."

"the perfect place to relax"

"a great place to stay and 'chill out'!"

Child's comment: "This place is AWESOME!"

"Our dog loved the beach - 4 days and never used the car."
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Saint John House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
General:
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 1 room with 4'6" double bed, 1 room with 3' bunk beds. Both rooms have wall-mounted radiators.
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The accommodation is suitable for a couple or small family. A stable door opens onto a tiled hallway with hooks for coats and a shoe rack. The kitchen, bunk bedded room, shower room and living room open off the hallway. The double bedroom has double doors opening off the living room. The bunk bedded bedroom and the lounge have carpets. There are electric radiators to keep it warm and cosy in the winter months. Outside: An enclosed garden surrounds the chalet. It is mainly lawned, but does have paved seating areas. Garden furniture is provided. The terrace is bordered by stainless steel and glass balustrade in order to enhance the sea view. Children will nevertheless need to be supervised at all times, owing to the cliff location. Utility Room: N/A Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels (but not beach towels) and linen are provided at no extra charge. The property is cleaned following each let. Other: N/A

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bungalow With Spectacular Sea Views, Surrounded By A Garden With Seating Areas
average rating of 4.952381 based on 43 reviews
5

amazing view

  • 5 of 5

we had a lovely relaxing holiday the view from the garden was breath taking nice safe garden for our dog didnt need to worry about her being out in the garden on her own as it was fully enclosed ,did not want to come home would recommend this stunning holiday home and hope to return next year

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - particularly for mentioning the enclosed garden as people with children or dogs will be interested to hear about that. A big thank you too, for leaving it so nicely! Please come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous facilities and vistas

  • 5 of 5

First class accomodation and hospitality.

The attention to detail within this property could not be bettered.

Jill and Roy were attentive at all times.

Our few days at Seascape will be long remembered.

Many thanks Linda, Seren , Norman and the dogs.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That's a very generous review. Thank you! We really love it when guests have such a good time. Hope you'll come and stay again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A view to chill !

  • 4 of 5

Clean and obviously well looked after and although it took a short while to adjust to the limitations of space, there was no chance of being bored because of the number of books, toys and knick-knacks to look at. Ideal for our old dog who just wanted a bit of grass to lie on. Even visiting in November the weather was warmer than Birmingham. Local food shops within a short distance meant we did not sample the local pubs until the end of our break, preferring to watch the sun go down over the sea at the bungalow.

Disappointed with the "homeaway" process of handling deposits.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Home Away have now insisted on holding the security deposit money and don't return it immediately. We used to have it in our account and pay it back as soon as we knew everything had been left okay. I have been totally confused by the way they changed to doing this without making it clear to owners. I'm sorry you have had this inconvenience. I hope it won't put you off booking in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Brilliant week away!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and are 2 mini schnauzers had a fabulous week in this beautiful little bungalow. I have never seen such a wonderful view from the lounge window. On our first night we saw the sun go down over the sea -magical!! We both needed to unwind as we have very stressful jobs and this was just the ticket. When we arrived there was a gorgeous cream tea waiting for us, the neighbours were lovely and the bungalow had absolutely everything you could possibly need even an electric blanket on the bed - bliss! We will definitely be returning and will recommend it to our friends.😀?

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply stunning place and views home from home

  • 5 of 5

We had a three night four day stay arranged as a surprise for my 40th and I was totally blown away, accommodation clean compact and everything you need to hand, the beds are so comfy

We took the path by the cottage down to the beach every morning and walked as far as we could with our two dogs and teen although very steep well worth every min to see the breathtaking views and a nice pit stop at the cafe at the top,

Jill very communicative and helped in every way poss, will defo be back and left with a heavy heart, can’t thank you everything for sharing your house and defo some fantastic memories made

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We always hope guests have a great time, but that was particularly so in your case as you were there for a special celebration. So pleased it was a success. Do come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful sea views!! Lovely chalet with everything you need for a comfortable,homely stay.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay, Jill & Roy really have thought about making their home welcoming for their guests, from supplying a cream tea on arrival down to DVD's and games for rainy days. Glorious views of the coast line whilst sitting out in the garden sipping a cool drink on sunny days. Jill checked made sure we arrived ok and was available if we needed any help. Thank you Jill & Roy, we hope to come back again.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - we do particularly aim for guests to feel at home and to be confident we can be called upon should any problems arise. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would be very happy to welcome you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Special interest holidays:

N/A

Coast/Beach:

The bungalow is located on the cliff at Freathy, which forms part of Whitsand Bay. At low water, the sandy beach is revealed and stretches for several miles. The beach is just a 5 minute walk down the cliff path. Many water sports can be enjoyed. The beach is ideal for family games or for running. Sandy pools form around the rocks, making it an exciting place for children to paddle and explore. At high tide, the sea comes right in and the beach is completely submerged and washed clean.

Travel:

The nearest airports are Exeter (50miles)

Plymouth channel port (7miles)

Plymouth railway station (8miles)

The use of a car is desirable, but not absolutely essential, as a bus service from Plymouth stops very close by.

Distances:

Plymouth - 7 miles

Millbrook village - 2 miles

Crafthole - 3 miles

Cawsand and Kingsand - 4 miles

Antony House NT - 6 miles

Mount Edgcumbe Country Park - 7 miles

Looe - 14 miles

Fowey - 20 miles

Whitsand Bay Hotel - 4 miles

Further Details:

The nearest shops are at Millbrook where there is a Spar supermarket, a pharmacy and a Post Office. Torpoint offers a wider choice, with banks and a Sainsbury's (6 miles). For a full range of shops, Plymouth is a short drive away.

The Cliff Top Cafe is within easy walking distance and can be approached by road heading east or, at low water, via the beach and up the cliff by the next path along. Drinks, snacks and cooked breakfasts and lunches are served all year round. The highly regarded View restaurant is also within walking distance. The Finnygook Inn at Crafthole serves excellent food and allows dogs. The Whitsand Bay Hotel is well known for its high standard of cuisine and also allows dogs. The old coastal villages of Kingsand and Cawsand are well worth a visit.

The historic City of Plymouth offers a full programme of events throughout the year and offers many attractions: a walk on the Hoe and a visit to Smeaton's Tower (the old lighthouse); a visit to the Barbican with its ancient buildings and many pubs and restaurants and the Plymouth Gin Distillery; shopping in the large, modern Drake's Circus shopping mall; a dip in the huge, recently restored, seafront lido and much more. Mount Edgcumbe is a country park (free entry) with far reaching views of the sound with its passing warships, ferries and yachts. It is also possible to look around the house. The ancient fishing port of Looe is within half an hour's drive. Fowey is very attractive, well worth a visit, and less than an hour away.

Water sports and horse riding are also available locally. Excellent walks along the south west coast path are available from the doorstep. A walk on Rame Head, which can be seen by looking to the east, is especially recommended.

For children, there is a playing field just across the road equipped for tennis and football. There is also a climbing frame and small 'pirates ship' suitable for younger children. The nearby Whitsand Bay Holiday Park has an indoor swimming pool.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $133.46

Booking Notes:
Provisional bookings and requests for booking forms can be made by phone or email. The booking form should be completed and returned to the owners with a non-refundable deposit of £80. On receipt of this, the owners will confirm the booking in writing. The full balance is due 6 weeks before the start date of the holiday, when it should be sent, together with a cheque for £100 as a returnable security deposit.

Changeover Day:
Guests need to arrive after 3pm and leave before 10.30am on day of departure, in order to allow time for cleaning. Changeover days are flexible.

Notes on prices:
Short breaks (minimum 2 nights) are available. Price on application.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties