Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern Cottage 2 Minutes Walk From Beach

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Broadstairs, Kent, England - Perfect Place To Come And Recharge Your Batteries Whatever The Weather

Modern cottage style property, close to beach (2 minutes walk), restaurants and shops (2 minutes walk away). Fully equipped features include wifi, phone, 32" wall mounted TV with Sky (features iplayer, Itv player, internet, Amazon prime, Netflix (with your own account), DVD, dishwasher, induction 2 ring hob and microwave oven, fridge (with no freezer), central heating, large walk in shower and plentiful instant hot water. Has a double bed, a single bed and a highchair and cot for under 3's can be available.

The property is all on one level (with 3 steps down to the main bedroom) and a walk in shower, so is suitable for people who are unable to manage stairs.

Property is pet free (we cannot accommodate your dog) and non smoking.

Location - We are very centrally located on a small lane between the promenade (Eastern Esplanade) that overlooks the beach and the road with restaurants, shops etc. Being so central, we have no parking attached to property. I will send you a map showing all the free parking in close vicinity with your check in details. You can pull up outside property to drop off people/bags/shopping/nip to the loo before parking.

Please see calendar for availability.

More Details

Owner
jo culf
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2017

About jo culf

We have owned Dickens Walk Cottage since 2007, and have equipped it as a holiday home that we enjoy using.

In 2012 we refurbished the property in a modern cottage style.

We bought the cottage as a bolt hole, somewhere to escape the hustle and bustle of daily life in a city, and use it as a place to recharge and refresh our bodies and mind, finding inspiration in simple pleasures such as; rockpooling, swimming in the sea, long windswept coast walks, eating fish and chips on the beach, meeting friendly people, buying food from the local baker, the butcher, the greengrocer.....

jo culf purchased this cottage in 2007

Why jo culf chose Kent

Living in London, its easy access and sense of 'getting away from it all' makes Broadstairs our favourite place to escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

Our favourite day features a long beach walk, fish and chips al fresco or lovely lunch out, reading or playing games in the afternoon and in the evening curling up on the sofa watching a movie with a Thai takeaway or simple home cooked supper.

What makes this cottage unique

"Why do you love Broadstairs so much?" is a question I get asked often. The answer is, each season has so much to offer:

In Summer - The Guardian voted Broadstairs one of the best seaside towns in Britain and we agree. We now have a small child, and he loves being on the beach. Dickens Walk Cottage is ideally situated two minutes walk from Viking beach and two minutes from shops and restaurants.

Spring and Autumn - The Viking trail (cycling/walking) and coastal walks are on your doorstep. Margate’s rejuvenated Old Town and the Turner Contemporary is worth a visit. Broadstairs historic streets are a joy to wander around, a picturesque place to get away from it all.

Winter - Dickens Walk cottage is warm and cosy in winter, making it the perfect place to retreat.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"cottage was ideal close to everything I needed" Oct 13

“Beautifully presented..nice finishing touches..lovely outside views..perfect seaside escape” Feb 2013

"We have been visiting Dickens Cottage for many years now, coming back over + over again. The owner Jo is always super friendly + accommodating. Finishing touches like biscuits, wine + slippers on arrival are a very welcoming special touch. We would throughly recommend the cottage to anybody wanting to visit Broadstairs 10/10"

“Perfect relaxing break by the sea” April 2012

"Have just returned from our 3rd visit to this cottage. As always, we had a thoroughly relaxing time, cottage comfortable, cosy and well equipped, so near to beach, shops and restaurants, making a stay here totally effortless. Perfect for recharging the batteries taking a break from city life."

“Nice little cottage” Nov 2012

"Stayed for a weekend, inside was well furnished nice size tv, modern bathroom/kitchen, bedrooms comfy, can not fault it!"
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Broadstairs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Shower room 1 - toilet , shower , Modern style walk-in shower
  • Modern bathroom - WC, basin, heated towel rail, tiled floor, large walk in shower with instant hot water.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , John Lewis travel cot for under 3's is available on request
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 3 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - Double bed, two bedside tables with lamp, wardrobe and plantation style shutters. Bedroom 2 - Single bed, bedside table with lamp, wardrobe and plantation style shutter. Travel cot (John Lewis) available with linen and pillow for under 3's
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Free Wifi, and a safe which accommodates most sized laptops. Telephone with free incoming calls. Linen and towels are provided. A travel cot (John Lewis) for under 3’s with linen and pillow is available on request. Hairdryer is available for your use. Complimentary Welcome Pack on arrival. Dickens Walk Cottage is non smoking. Sorry, we cannot accommodate pets. Parking - There is plenty of paid and unpaid parking close by (map supplied with arrival details). Outside: Outdoor space - The beach is literally on your doorstep, and if you appreciate a reflective cuppa, there is a grassy area next door, or Chiapinni’s cafe (20 paces away) overlooks the beach. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels are included. Cleaning and fresh linen weekly.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
38% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Modern Cottage 2 Minutes Walk From Beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 19 reviews
5

Highly enjoyable stay

  • 5 of 5

Crawling distance from the beach, restaurants and a fossil shop. Cottage clean, great shower. Ideal for 3 people. No need to go abroad for a great beach holiday / short break if Broadstairs and its beaches are around the corner.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Eric, I'm so glad you had such a lovely stay. We offer discounts for returning guests, so please drop me a line if you wish to return at any time in the future. And thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

needs an over haul

  • 3 of 5

our location was fabulous. the cottage had a very musty smell, especially in kitchen wall cupboards. we could not use the kitchen tap at all. water shot out the connection as soon as the tap was used. we had to use the bathroom tap.

the plug in the sink in the bathroom didn't work and we couldn't fill up the basin.

the shower was very slow to drain and the shower tray kept filling up so had to keep turning shower off to drain it.

there was no mobile phone signal at all tho we could use wifi and the phone in the cottage wouldn't make outgoing calls.

blinds and window sills in bedrooms where dusty and needed a wipe.

there was no way to lock the front door from the inside.

the cottage definately needs a bit of a spring clean.

the only reason we enjoyed our stay was the actual location.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our handyman has been in the property since your review and has attended to most of the points you have raised; the others will be looked into this week.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leeds, UK
5

Great place and location

  • 5 of 5

Location is great, home is clean and inviting. Would stay again

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I am so glad that you enjoyed your holiday. We offer discounts for returning guests, and would love to have you stay with us again. Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellently located as shown on the picure.

  • 4 of 5

Spacious apartment for the money, well decorated & equipped. No noise (apart from passers by, but they do pass by) in lounge, bathroom, kitchen and single bedroom due to being single storey. But the double bedroom is directly under the 1st floor of next door flat with a floor no thicker than a normal upstairs bedroom. Can hear every movement & conversation! So take earplugs (or make your own noises back!) and this a perfect getaway. Lovely old-fashioned seaside town, great walks & beaches, lots of independent shops & restaurants & on the doorstep of Margate & Ramsgate. Needs a tea towel in the kitchen though! And if you're over 6ft tall the fixed shower head will have you stooping. I'm 5'10", so I'll be booking another visit at some point.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We will be looking into the noise situation from above (this is the first time we have received a complaint about it) and also making sure the tea towels are left out in an obvious place from now on, so thanks for pointing that out. We look forward to welcoming you again, and we do offer discounts for repeat customers, so please message me before booking so I can give you the discount code. With best regards, Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

The property was clean, had everything you would need 'home from home'. It was very close to the sea, restaurants, bars & shops. (On a personal note, we found the shower difficult to control - ONE shower head would be much better than trying to control two ie: (separate power shower = which had no pressure control) & the overhead shower).

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again - we do offer discounts for returning guests. With best regards, Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Cottage close to beach

  • 4 of 5

Prompt response when making a last minute booking and queries. Compact cottage located very close to beach and restaurants. Had everything you require for a short break. My only complaint would be that the cottage was a bit dark, as when blinds were opened people walking through Dickens Walk tended to look in!! Had to have lights on during day. Would love to come back for another stay as didn't have enough time to sample all the restaurants that we wanted to. Recommend Sunday lunch at Tartar Frigate.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back another time so you can sample all those lovely restaurants !!! We do offer discounts for returning guests, so let me know before booking so I can give you the discount codes. On a practical note, the plantation style blinds installed throughout the cottage can be angled, so that you receive plenty of light in the cottage without anyone being able to see in. Thanks for flagging that as an issue, I'll amend our welcome information to make that clearer for future guests. thanks once again, Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Manston
Nearest Ferry
22 Miles
Dover
Nearest Golf
2.2 Miles
North Foreland Golf club
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Broadstairs
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
M2
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
2 minutes walk
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

The Viking trail (walking and cycling) is on our doorstep (50 feet away).

Coast/Beach:

2 minutes walk to be on Viking beach.

20 paces to the promenade which overlooks the beach.

20 paces to cafe overlooking the beach.

Viking beach is a family friendly safe bay with lifeguards, donkey rides, Punch and Judy and other kids activities in season.

Travel:

How to get to Dickens Walk Cottage

Driving - Easy access to London, 80 miles (about 2 hours). Channel tunnel - 18 miles, Dover - 22 miles, Canterbury - 19 miles, Folkestone - 32 miles,

Parking - There is plenty of paid and unpaid parking close by (map supplied with arrival details).

Train- the local railway station (main line from London) is a 2 minute taxi ride or 10 minute walk from the property.

Distances:

Margate (Turner Contemporary, recently regenerated Old town) - 4 miles (if you love long beach walks, it can be walked on beach (at very low tide only).

Ramsgate (pretty harbour, nice place for brunch or lunch) - 3 miles (again if you love walking it can be walked along cliffs or on beach at low tide, 2 miles).

Deal (pretty coastal town, nice for a day out ) - 17 miles.

Whitstable (fresh oysters, 'London on sea', especially at weekends) - 20 miles.

Canterbury (nearest city) - 19 miles.

Further Details:

Broadstairs is a coastal town that feels like a step back in time - we have a butcher, greengrocer, old fashioned sweet shop and cinema, lots of cafes, fish and chip shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance. There are several farm shops around, and if you want large supermarkets (Sainsbury's, Asda, Tesco and Co-operative), more shops and multiplex cinema, they are available at Westwood Cross 2.5 miles away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
You can book directly on our website www.broadstairscottage.co.uk
50% of accommodation cost as a non refundable deposit.





Changeover Day:
Mondays and Fridays, as we have many guests coming for short stays and weekends.
During July and August our changeover day is Friday.

Notes on prices:
Our website shows current availability of all our 2 and 3 night weekend stays, and 4 night midweek stays as well as week long holidays. If you are happy with one of these, you can book it on our website www.broadstairscottage.com
If you are requiring specific dates other than those shown, it may be possible to accommodate you. Please contact me by email to enquire (please do check we have availability for those dates before contacting me, thank you).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties